PROCLAMATION by hedongchenchen


									                           HUNTERDON COUNTY BOARD OF CHOSEN FREEHOLDERS
                              MARCH 2009 – BRAIN INJURY AWARENESS MONTH

WHEREAS, the theme for March 2009, to acknowledge Brain Injury Awareness Month for 2009 our theme is The
Face of Brain Injury; and

WHEREAS, Traumatic Brain Injury: It’s not just an injury – it’s people. People whose lives have been changed forever
by a blow to the head or a neurological event. There are many faces of brain injury – survivors, spouses, fathers,
mothers, sisters, brothers, significant others, friends, neurologists, nurses, service coordinators, occupational
therapists, legislators, advocates, brain injury association members, certified homecare aides and many others from a
host of disciplines and backgrounds – a community of people working together for a common cause; and

WHEREAS, with TBI occurring every 21 seconds, this public health concern ranks as the leading cause of death and
disability in children and young adults; additionally, on an annual basis, 40,000 individuals over the age of 65 visit
hospital emergency rooms for TBI as a result of a fall, leading to the hospitalization of 16,000 senior citizens and the
death of 4,000 senior citizens; and

WHEREAS, the Department of Health and Senior Services states that each year, one third of all injury deaths and
10% of injury hospitalizations in the State result from TBI, with the highest proportion occurring among young adults
and the elderly; and

WHEREAS, the costs relating to brain injury are staggering, and individuals with severe brain injury typically face five
to ten years of intensive rehabilitation with cumulative costs exceeding $35 billion annually;

NOW, THERFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Chosen Freeholders of the County of Hunterdon does
hereby recognize March 2009 as “Brain Injury Awareness Month” in the County.
                                   On behalf of the Board of Chosen Freeholders

     ______________________________                                        _____________________________
     William G. Mennen, Freeholder Director                                George B. Melick, Deputy Director

     _ _____________________________                                       ______________________________
     J. Matthew Holt, Freeholder                                           Ronald M. Sworen, Freeholder

     ______________________________                                       Adopted: April 21, 2009
     Erik C. Peterson, Freeholder

To top