Docstoc

Connecting Social Studies and Art Through Video Creation

Document Sample
Connecting Social Studies and Art Through Video Creation Powered By Docstoc
					Connecting Social Studies and Art Through Video Creation

Richard Byrne 7/30/2009

Why Video?
Why Images? Student Engagement
Students enjoy creating products that look "professional." Authentic audience.

Student Accessibility
Resources in this workshop are accessible by most 6-12 students.

Cross-platform Accessibility
All resources in this workshop are web-based.

Copyright-Safe Options
Safe Option #1 Student-created images, music, and animations. Eliminates all questions about copyright & fair use. Safe Option #2 Creative Commons licensed images, music, and animations. Safe Option #3 Fair use doctrine. In general allows for the use of copyrighted content for non-profit educational purposes.

Project Ideas
Mini-documentaries
Events Eras Trends Art and Architecture Biographies

Response to prompt(s)
How do artists reflect an era? What would have happened if...

Fair Use - The Government's Criteria
Section 107 of Copyright Act Four factors to be considered in determining whether or not a particular use is fair: 1. The purpose and character of the use, including whether such use is of commercial nature or is for nonprofit educational purposes 2. The nature of the copyrighted work 3. The amount and substantiality of the portion used in relation to the copyrighted work as a whole 4. The effect of the use upon the potential market for, or value of, the copyrighted work. 5.
6. *There is no specific number of words, lines, or notes that may safely be taken without permission.
7. http://www.copyright.gov/fls/fl102.html

Learn More About Copyright
Wesley Fryer - Copyright for Educators http://handouts. wesfryer.com/copyright http://www.slideshare.net/wfryer/copyright-for-educators American University - Center for Social Media http://centerforsocialmedia.org/ Temple University - Media Education Lab http://mediaeducationlab.com/topic/Copyright+and+Fair+Use US Copyright Office http://copyright.gov/

Free Video Creation Tools
Animoto for Education http://animoto.com/education Remix America http://remixamerica.org/ Photo Peach http://photopeach.com/ Xtra Normal http://www.xtranormal.com/

Additional Free Video Options
Stupeflix http://stupeflix.com Voki http://voki.com Photo Snack http://photosnack.com One True Media http://onetruemedia.com

Creative Commons and Public Domain Image Sources
Flickr The Commons http://www.flickr.com/commons Creative Commons Search http://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/

CompFight http://compfight.com/ Google Advanced Image Search http://images.google.com/advanced_image_search

Creative Commons and Public Domain Image Sources
Yahoo Advanced Image Search http://images.search.yahoo.com/images/advanced Fotopedia http://www.fotopedia.com/ Photos 8 http://www.photos8.com/ National Gallery of Art http://www.nga.gov/collection/index.shtm

Sources for Free Sounds and Songs
Free Music Archive http://freemusicarchive.org/ Podsafe Audio http://podsafeaudio.com/ The Free Sound Project http://www.freesound.org/ Soungle http://www.soungle.com/

Places to Share the Content Created
XTimeline http://xtimeline.com WikiSpaces http://wikispaces.com Your Classroom Blog Start one: http://edublogs.org SchoolTube http://schooltube.com

Now it's time to play...
If you would like to find more resources on this topic, please visit Free Tech 4 Teachers. If you would like a quick primer on other resources for creating technology-infused lessons, please visit view and download Twelve Essentials for Technology Integration. If you would like to contact me you can do so in three ways: Email: richardbyrne (at) freetech4teachers.com Twitter: twitter.com/rmbyrne FriendFeed: friendfeed.com/rmbyrne


				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Stats:
views:1045
posted:8/13/2009
language:English
pages:13
Description: Tools and ideas for connecting social studies and arts through video creation. All resources mentioned are free to students and teachers. Also contains brief lessons on copyright and fair-use.