Mortgage Security Association

Document Sample
Mortgage Security Association Powered By Docstoc
					,668                  HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY

Feb. 17, 1886, to Kamile H. Koppke, daughter of Hans Peter and Marie (Vichey)
Koppke. She was born in Norway, Jan. 19, 1859, and came to the United States
with her parents when three years old in a sailing vessel which took an unusually
long time to make the voyage. The family settled in Baraboo, where she was
reared. Mr. and Mrs. Brown had three children: Belva O., born in 1887, who
 is now assisting her mother in operating the Brown Hotel in Pittsville; Ernest F.,
born in 1891, who also resides in Pittsville; and Chauncey J., Jr., born Nov. 23,
 1908. Mrs. Brown reads and speaks four different languages, Norwegian, Danish,
German and English. She is managing the hotel with ability and has many
friends in Pittsville and the vicinity.
     Charles H. Dawes, a pioneer of Wood County, now living practically retired
:after a useful career here, was born in Jefferson County, N. Y., July 18, 1852,
son of William C. and Laura (Goodrich) Dawes. The father was a native of
England and came to the United States when 12 years old, his family settling
at Cape Vincent, N. Y., where William C. was raised. The mother was of Holland
Dutch descent. Mr. and Mrs. William C. Dawes came to Wisconsin in 1863,
and settled at Waterloo, where the father followed the trade of miller until 1876,
in which year they came to Wood County, driving overland with a team of oxen.
Here they purchased 80 acres of heavily timbered land in Section 24, of Wood
Township. The country was a most primitive one at that time. The Dawes
family on first coming lived in an old logging shanty while the father and sons
made a clearing and hewed logs for a more commodious, if no less primitive resi-
idence. This structure, when completed, was roofed with home-made shingles;
later it was converted into a frame house. The family of pioneers set to work
to clear the land, the age-old battle of the pioneer; there were hardships on every
hand, and the task before them was a formidable one. Gradually, however,
they accomplished it, and from their efforts there emerged a fine agricultural
property. This place was the home of the father and mother for the remainder
of their lives. The father died Aug. 22, 1892, and the mother Jan. 25, 1913.
Their family consisted of 14 children, nine sons and five daughters; of these Harriet,
John and Lewis are now deceased. Those living are Mary, James, Charles H.,
Abbie, Laura, William C., Jr., Fred, George, Albert, Sarah and Edward. Mary
 is the wife of George Pullen, and lives in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. James married
Mary A.-White, and is now living in Houston, Texas. Abbie married John Leppere,
and resides in Oregon. Laura is now Mrs. Grant Cage, of Omro, Wis. William
C., Jr., married Lucy Carll, and is the present owner of the old homestead. Fred
and Albert are single and are living in Pittsville, Wood County. Edward married
 Mrs. Lovisa Leitzinger, and for a number of years has been engaged in the restaurant
business in Pittsville. Harriet (deceased) married Lincoln Covey and lived the
greater part of her life in Pittsville. Sarah married A. C. Galloway, and lives in
Waupaca, Wis. Charles H. Dawes was 13 years old when he accompanied his
parents from New York State to Waterloo, Wis. After finishing school there
he worked in a flour mill until the family removed to Wood County in 1876. Here
he helped to clear the land and endured all the hardships of pioneer life. In
course of time he bought 65 acres of wild land, which he has since cleared and
which is now operated by his son Ernest. Mr. Dawes is now living practically
retired on the 65 acres above mentioned, which he himself farmed successfully
for many years. The place is well stocked with Holstein cattle, and is a finely
developed farm. From time to time Mr. Dawes has taken an active part in public
affairs. For nine years he was clerk of his school district, and he was one of the
U. S. census enumerators for the census of 1900, at which time the town of Wood
consisted of the present towns of Wood, Dexter, Hiles and Cary, which made a
 large stretch of country for him to cover. Many places had to be reached on
foot through the dense forest, while to-day automobiles drive past the doors of
the same places. Charles H. Dawes was married at Cape Vincent, N. Y., May
 26, 1880, to Laura Gardner, daughter of Henry and Maria Gardner. Mrs. Dawes'
parents were both born in New York State and spent their entire lives there en-
gaged in farming. Mr. and Mrs. Dawes have had five children, one of whom,
                              i~,!~i,~   ~~~~~~~~~~
                                             ~ ~~~
                            i~!i~!~i~~~~~~~~~~~~iii ~ ~
                                            ili ii~
                                       i~i~iiiii i~!~
                                       ~i!~ i!~~..................
                                         iii!~ i~ ii                                                 ...........               ..

                                                R                          ,  .,_,}
                                                                            s,,                  E       ¢22v                  S     % Et            SR   ~ ~ ~ixt                                     eij

                - ~~
   ~ .~... iSi ~R ~ ~~ ~-'
                .~                    ~
                                      ~ i.

                                                 :   :'. .......
                                                                                                                  .............. ...
                                                                                                             ......                .....



                s       a   s~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~..                                        .
                                                                                                 ,                                             §gs
                                                                                                                                               ..                 s                         ~
                                                                                                                                                                                          sl. ,$

                                      ,.                ............       g         g     g         s          t        R
                                                                                                                               .. .........
                                                                                                                                         t   B           e~                g
                                                                                                                                             _e.I. .
                                                                                                                                       ,S, R.R g ..............

                a_ -----------

                                      AND                   MRS.
                                                                               ~s.2Rt22%t~xts.%S^%2..2.%s ANDE2

                                                                                  WILLIAM   .CXges
                                                                                                                                                          Si          _.

                                                                                                                                                                                           :    9 i~~~l:~~:
                                                                                                                                                                                                     r __::~wi:~:i:~:::


                                                                       _            2§ii                                                              _X~
       _   _        _             _                 _

  _li                             _i                              Xi~iiiiii~iii~~ii~                ~
                                                                           :jaj:~:jj~:::::::~g:j __~~~~                                                               ~               iil
                                 ~          ~               ~ ~ ~                                         _~~~~~~~~l                                                            i:~~iiiblii
           ~ ~ eveesvevY_                                                                                    ;geilczXa>g,,va,,,,,,.,,g

           1S~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ji ~                             _                ii     Nl                 _                 _           t
     fa               i
                     _ _~              N

E~i~                ~j_~ ~ ~                    _~~C
                                     i~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~:~~~~~~~~~~~~~~j::::                        ~                      ~                  ~                  ~       iE~~~v..@.@z..x;^fiX-se

                                                  AND WILLIAM C. DAWES AND SONS~i~ilX~i~~j~~
                          HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY                                669-

Marvin, is now deceased. Those living are Ernest, Harry, Lewis and Amos.
Harry, who is a railway mail clerk, lives in Seattle, Wash. Lewis is farming in
North Dakota. Amos, who is now superintendent of a cement plant at Tridant,
Mont., served 18 months in the U. S. military forces during the World War.
    Ernest Dawes, son of Charles H. and Laura (Gardner) Dawes, was born on
the home farm in Wood Township, Wood County, Wis., April 12, 1881. As a.
boy he attended district school in his home locality and helped his father on the.
farm. He subsequently spent two years farming in New York State, and four
years as an employee in a piano factory in Rockford, Ill., and has since been farming-
in Wood County. He now lives on his own farm across from his father's and
operates both. He was married June 3, 1915 to Laura M. Potter, daughter of
Jerome D. and Mattie Potter. Her parents, both now deceased, were early settlers
in Wood County, and were engaged in cranberry growing here for many years.
Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Dawes have had two children, Reslo and Dale K. Reslo.
met an accidental death Jan. 31, 1920, being crushed beneath a wagon box.
     George S. Dawes, son of William C. and Laura (Goodrich) Dawes, was born at
Waterloo, Wis., Dec. 17, 1868. He attended school at Waterloo and later in
Wood County, having come here with his parents in 1876. He helped to clear
the original Dawes property here, and has lived here all his life with the exception
of four years spent in Minnesota, and the eight years at Waterloo. In 1917, he,
bought 120 acres in Section 25, Wood Township, and has since been engaged in
farming and dairying on this property, keeping a good herd of Holstein cattle.
He has taken an active and useful part in public affairs, and was for nine years
assessor of the township, for one year township supervisor, and for 12 years treasurer
of his school district. Mr. Dawes was married at Seneca Corners, Wood County,
March 30, 1897, to Bertha Leu, daughter of John and Louisa Leu. Mr. and Mrs.
Dawes have three children: Otto, a resident of Pittsville; Ruth, employed in a
woolen mill at Appleton, and Edna, who is attending the Teachers' Training School
at Wisconsin Rapids.
     John W. Dawes, who for many years before his death was a well-known resident
of Wood County, was born in Jefferson County, New York, May 2, 1855, son of
William C. and Laura (Goodrich) Dawes. In 1863 he came with his parents to
Waterloo, Wis., where at the age of 15 he began to learn the mason's trade. This
he subsequently followed at Waterloo during the summer months, spending the
winter months with his family in Wood County, assisting in the development.
of their property here. Later he bought a tract of wild land in this county, which
he and one of his brothers cleared, and where he established his home, being en--
 gaged in general farming until his death in 1908. On Aug. 17, 1894, John W.
 Dawes married Helen Meding, daughter of Frederick and Margaret (Leupold)
 Meding. Mrs. Dawes' parents were natives of Germany, and settled in Wood
 County, Wis., in 1889, buying 40 acres of wild land in Section 26, Wood Township.
 The father died in October, 1909, and the mother in December, 1901. Mr. and'
 Mrs. John W. Dawes were the parents of two children, Louisa and Carl.
     Frederick Schultz, one of the pioneers of northern Wood County, now living-
 retired in the city of Marshfield, was born in Pommern, Germany, Feb. 28, 1848,
 son of William and Lottie (Harp) Schultz. He attended school in Germany,.
 and came to the United States in June, 1870; here he worked for a short time on.
 a farm in New Jersey, and in the fall of 1870 he came to Menasha, Wis., at which
 city two of his uncles were living. In the spring of 1871 he went to work for the
 Wisconsin Central Railway (now the "Soo Line"), and as a member of one of'
 their construction crews he helped to build the line through Wood County into
 Marshfield. He continued to do construction work for them until 1873, when
 he was made section foreman of' the track from Auburndale to Marshfield; in
 this capacity he was stationed at Hewitt. He remained with the railway in this.
 work until the fall of 1877, when, having accumulated some means, he purchased
 80 acres of wild land in Section 20, Auburndale Township, two miles west of the
 village of Auburndale. Nov. 6, 1874, at Hewitt, he married Caroline Well, who
 was born in Germany May 2, 1855, and whom Mr. Schultz had known in that,
670                   HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY

country. Immediately following their marriage they settled on the farm Mr.
Schultz had purchased, on which he had erected a small log house to serve as a
residence. A hard worker and a thrifty, capable man, with an ideal mate to help
him along every step of the way, Mr. Schultz laughed at the hardships of pioneer
life (though they were bitter hardships indeed), and as the years passed the trees
and stumps fell away before his axe, buildings arose, and one of the wonderful
farms of the great Northwest emerged from out of the wilderness, a credit to Mr.
Schultz and to the community. He added to his holdings until the farm consisted
of 200 acres; he built a complete set of fine buildings; and he cleared almost the
entire acreage-a mighty accomplishment. Mr. and Mrs. Schultz lived on this
place with their family and carried on its operation until 1915, when they sold
it to one of their sons-in-law, and bought a comfortable home at 300 East Fourth
Street, Marshfield, where they have since lived retired. Mr. Schultz served in
many useful and prominent positions during the critical stage of the community's
development. He was chairman of the township board for several years, and
when the present Auburndale and Milladore Townships were united together
as Auburndale Township, previous to the forming of Milladore Township in 1882,
he was for eight years treasurer of Auburndale Township. When Marshfield
Township was yet a part of Auburndale Township, he hauled voters to the polls
at Auburndale on his handcar. He has always been Republican in politics, but
has never adhered strictly to party lines, voting rather for the candidate than for
the party represented. He is one of the stockholders in the Auburndale State
Bank, and was active in the organization of this bank. He is also a stockholder
in the Cloverland State Bank at Marshfield. He served as clerk of school district
No. 4, in Auburndale Township for many years, and has filled many other useful
offices. He and his wife are prominent members and strong supporters of the
Emanuel Luthern congregation at Marshfield, and the respect accorded them
throughout the community is richly merited. Mr. and Mrs. Schultz were the
parents of 11 children.
    John S. Eyers, a prosperous farmer living in Section 9, of Rock Township,
was born on his present farm Aug. 5, 1885, son of George and Mary (Hillebert)
Eyers. In 1917 he leased the home farm and has been highly successful
in its management; he is operating it in conjunction with an 80-acre tract adjoining
it on the south, which he purchased in 1910, and of which he has improved 15
acres, the balance being wild land; his place is well equipped and stocked, and is
in every way a representative Wood County farm. April 6, 1915, Mr. Eyers
married Ruth E. Dewey, daughter of William B. and Ella (Toombs) Dewey, of
Ottertail County, Minn. Mrs. Eyers was formerly a school teacher, and was
born in Ottertail County, Minn., Aug. 6, 1889; Mr. Eyers spent the harvest seasons
of seven years in that locality and became acquainted with her on those occasions.
Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Eyers: Hubert Nelson, born
Oct. 20, 1917; Willmer Dewey, born Sept. 8, 1919,; and Elizabeth Ellen; born
Dec. 6, 1921. Mr. and Mrs. Eyers were reared in the Presbyterian faith, but
there being no church of that denomination nearby they worshiped with the
Methodist Episcopal congregation at Lindsey. Politically Mr. Eyers believes
in the doctrines of the Republican party, but never permits this belief to cause
him to vote for a man he thinks not qualified for the office sought. He has a very
wide acquaintance in the community, and is well liked by all.
    Carl A. Ludewig, now living retired in Pittsville, in which place he first settled
34 years ago, is a man who has had a considerable share in building up the business
interests of the city. He was born in Germany, Jan. 8, 1869, son of Gottlieb B.
and Louisa (Brehme) Ludewig. The parents came to the United States in the
fall of 1880, settling on a farm in Vernon County, Wisconsin, where they sub-
sequently resided for the rest of their lives, the father dying Nov. 10, 1900, and
the mother March 10, 1911. They had six children: Christ, now in Hillsboro,
Vernon County, Wis.; Johanna, wife of William Carter of Vernon County; Mary,
now Mrs. Otto Schuman, of Monroe County, this state; William, also of Monroe
County; Carl A., of Pittsville, and Edward, of Little Falls, Minn. Carl A. Ludewig


                             .   ............

                          HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY                                 671

as a boy attended school in Germany, and in August, 1881, followed his parents
to America. After living on the home farm for a year he began to learn the harness
trade under G. W. Chapman, of Hillsboro, with whom he remained for three years.
In 1885 he went to Elroy, Juneau County, where for two years he operated a farm.
On March 24, 1888, he came to Pittsville, Wood County, and established the first
harness shop in the city. Four years later he erected the building now known
as the Ludewig hardware building, into which he moved his shop, and for 33 years
subsequently he carried on his harness business, becoming well-known to every-
body in this part of the county, and building up a considerable trade. In 1912
Mr. Ludewig enlarged the sphere of his operations by establishing a new depart-
ment of hardware and farm implements, and at the same time he enlarged and
improved his building, which is a substantial brick structure, the store measuring
18 by 100 feet. In 1919 he once more branched out, building a garage, 48 by
120 feet, of concrete construction, and fire-proof, which he operated until the
following year, when he retired from active business life, turning the garage over
to his son Hercel and the hardware business to The Ludewig Hardware Co., of
which Carl J. Ludewig is president, and manager, Mrs. Ludewig vice-president,
and John Pabst secretary and treasurer. His business career had been crowned
with success, and he had also taken no unimportant part in public affairs. He
was supervisor from the Third Ward, and a member of the county board for some
ten years, jury commissioner for 16 years, alderman for ten years, and mayor
of the city in 1908-09. Both as a private citizen and a public official he has worked
for the best interests of the community and did all in his power to promote its
development, and his efforts have been duly appreciated. Mr. Ludewig was
married July 3, 1890, at Wisconsin Rapids (then Grand Rapids), Wis., to Mary
Jane McConnell, who was his faithful wife and companion until March 5, 1915,
when she passed from this life. They became the parents of four children: Carl
J., born Dec. 10, 1892, now carrying on the hardware business established by his
father; Byron, born in May, 1894, who died in July the same year; Wesley, born
in 1896, who died in 1896; and Hercel, born April 19, 1898, who is now conducting
the garage. The Ludewigs are members of the Catholic Church.
    James K. P. Hiles, who during his lifetime was chairman of the township board
of Dexter Township for 35 years, and who was well-known in the lumber industry,
was born near Pontiac, Mich., May 22, 1845, son of George and Amanda (Brown)
Hiles. He came to Wood County with his parents in 1856, the family locating
at Dexterville, then known as Eagle Point. After attending the schools of that
neighborhood and spending one year at Point Boss near Dells, he became associated
with his father in the lumber business and, starting with such humble tasks as
teaming logs and shingle bolts, he thoroughly learned all the details of lumber
operations, including logging, rafting, and mill work. After his father built the
railroad from Babcock to Pittsville and Vesper in Wood County, and to Lynn
in Clark County, which was used for logging and freight and passenger service,
he became general manager of the road. He continued in business with his father
in this and other enterprises until the latter's death in 1896, and then formed a
partnership in the lumber business with his brother, Frank P. Hiles. Their
operations in Dexterville were discontinued in 1904, and James K. P. Hiles retired
from active life. He owned at that time 6,000 acres of land in Wood County.
His death, which marked the passing of one of the builders of the county, occured
March 21, 1915. Mr. Hiles was married Jan. 1, 1867, to Mary Jane Johnson,
who was born in Waco, Winnebago County, Wis., Oct. 27, 1850, daughter of
Mr. and Mrs. Henry Johhson. Mr. and Mrs. Hiles were the parents of six children:
George H., Samuel T., William, Catherine, Dexter, and an unnamed child who
died in infancy. George H., who was born Sept. 17, 1869, is now foreman of
road construction for Wood County, and a resident of Dexter Township. He
married Mrs. Olive Hotchkiss, and has three children, Beulah, Edna M., and
Pauline. Samuel T. Hiles, born May 10, 1872, is now a resident of Dexterville.
He married Alice Daurighty and has eight children, Hilda, Ralph, Avery, James,
Gerald, Mary Jane, Samuel and George. William Hiles, who was born Sept. 26,
672                    HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY

1874, is a prominent farmer of Wood Township, following general diversified
farming and dairying. His farm, in Sections 11, 13, and 14 of Wood Township,
is a model of efficiency in farming. He married Hattie Braun and has one child,
Dexter. Catherine Hiles, born Aug. 16, 1884, is now Mrs. Isaac P. Green, of
Providence, R. I., and is the mother of one child, James B. Dexter Hiles died in
infancy. James K. P. Hiles was a member of Pittsville Lodge No. 232, A. F. &
A. M. The family faith is that of the Methodist Episcopal Church. By virtue
of his service as chairman of the township board Mr. Hiles was a member of the
county board, and in these offices he set on foot many valuable projects carried
out by the local government.
     James W. Cameron, one of the most noted of the early Wood County lumber-
men, was born in Nova Scotia, June 15, 1848, and came to Wisconsin when quite
young. He operated with Wharton Bros., of Appleton for several years, and
when they purchased a large tract of pine timber near Vesper, about 1876, from
Gerard & Drake, Mr. Cameron moved his family to Vesper and took charge of
the lumbering operations. Henry Sherry, of Neenah, bought out the interest
of Wharton Bros. about 1880, and with Mr. Cameron formed a company which
was incorporated under the name of the Sherry-Cameron Co. They were very
successful in their operations at Vesper, which were continued until 1894, when
the sawmills and most of the village were destroyed by fire, and soon after that
event Mr. Cameron moved to Milwaukee. In 1890 Mr. Cameron was interested
with Henry Sherry and Walter S. Paddock in taking over the business of William
H. Smith and organizing the Cream City Sash & Door Co., of Milwaukee. He
was also interested in and at one time was president of the First National Bank
of Grand Rapids, and was a stockholder in the Grand Rapids Pulp & Paper Co.
 He was receiver for Henry Sherry after the latter's failure affecting interests in
the northern part of the state amounting to millions of dollars. Mr. Cameron
 died suddenly in Milwaukee, Sept. 29, 1902, while out driving with a friend. He
 left a widow and one son, Frank J. Cameron, both of whom are now deceased.
 Mr. Cameron was a man who made friends of all with whom he came into contact.
 His judgment and integrity were noteworthy. He took an active interest in the
welfare of his employees, as well as in the community and county in which he lived.
 For two terms he was chairman of the county board of Wood County.
     Joseph W. Cherney, Jr., now proprietor of a well equipped and sanitary meat
market in Milladore, who has also in the past promoted or carried on other leading
 industries of the village, and has rendered efficient service in more than one public
 capacity, was born in the little hamlet of Norman, Kewaunee County, Wis., July
 12, 1883. His parents, Joseph and Katherine (Tichy) Cherney, were natives
 of Bohemia who came to the United States in the sixties of the nineteenth century,
 settling in Kewaunee County, Wisconsin, where they engaged in farming. In
 1897 they moved to a farm in Portage County, also buying land in Milladore
 Township, Wood County, which is divided into two farms, on one of which they
 proposed to settle in the near future. At one time they owned 403 acres, practically
 all of which Joseph Cherney improved. Of the nine children of whom they have
 been the parents, eight are now living, the full list being as follows: Joseph W.,
 of Milladore; Wenzel, who is residing on his parents farm in Portage County,
 and is specially engaged in bee culture; Mary, now a resident of Milwaukee; Frank,
 a farmer in Portage County; Anna, who was the wife of James Wotruba and died
 Sept. 21, 1919; Antone, on the home farm; Elizabeth, wife of Joseph Wotruba
 of Hayfield, Minn., and Albion and Lambert, who are on the home farm. Joseph
 W. Cherney as a boy attended school in Kewaunee and Wood Counties successively,
 and worked on his parents' farm until 1906. He then took a dairy course in the
 University of Wisconsin, being graduated in 1907. In the same year he bought
 the creamery in Milladore and subsequently operated it until 1911, when he sold
 it to the Milladore Farmers Co-operative Creamery Co., of which since 1921 he
 has been secretary. After giving up the creamery he entered into a co-partnership
 in the hardware and implement business and was engaged in it until 1917, when
 he sold his interest and bought the butcher and meat business from John Becker,
                                      ~~~~i ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ..............
                                        ~~ ~

                               ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~i~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ii jj:~~~~~~~~:::ai--
                                             ~ ~~                                      g | ...~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                               ~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................: ::::::i~:::j
                            ~~·:~~~·:'i·~~~~I:~~".'''''::                              H
                                                                                    W 0 ..... ..................
                                                                                                  ... c~~~ii ::~::
                            it~~~~~~~~~iil ~ ¢~".'"|~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~.............
                               ~ ~~   ~~I
                            ~~~~1:1~~~~~81 ~
                             ~'1 ~~ ~ ~ ~                                                     ::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::a~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                          ~:~~~~~~:~~~~~~:~~~~~~:~~~~~:jjj:~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~:~~~~~~:ii~~~~~~~~~~jj::j:-a: X.......
                                     l¢~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ :.,J-~~~~I~~ 1-   ~ ~~iii.'....... li~lJ 8                          :i~.............
                                                                                       ~l| s~~~~
                             ~~i.----                                                          ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                                                                                    l a9 i ~~~ ll
                                                                                       E      ............
                                                                                                             ... .. ..
                                                                                                            .. .. ..
                             ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ::~~~~............

                          -Z;~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~_::                                                ~~~~~~~__:Z-'EE~~~~~~~

E                               E=g

        L-;-Z  _-_-.
...... ~ _-;Z_~_~-_-Z-Z

                            ANTOINE ARP:IN
                                    ARPIN   MR. AND      JOHN
                                            MR. AND MRS. JOHN B. ARPIN
                                      ARPIN BROTHERS GROUP
                           HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY                                  673

 which he is now successfully operating. Mr. Cherney has been a notary public
 since 1918; from 1912 to 1921 he was a director of the Milladore state graded
 school, and in 1919, he was elected township clerk, in which position he is still
 serving. Such have been his business and public records, both marked by honest
 service and successful achievement, for which his fellow citizens hold him in respect.
 For 17 years he has been an officer in the lodge of Mystic Workers at Milladore,
 while his religious faith is that of the Catholic Church, the family being members
 of St. Wenceslaus congregation. Some 16 years ago Mr. Cherney entered upon
 the matrimonial state of life, being wedded in Milladore, Aug. 27, 1907, to Mary
 Stech, who was born in Bohemia, daughter of Frank and Elizabeth (Bazal) Stech.
 Her mother is now dead and her father living in Europe. Mr. and Mrs. Cherney
have three children: Agnes, born June 24, 1908; Evelyn, born July 11, 1911,
 and Henrietta, born Aug. 28, 1915.
     John B. and Antoine Arpin. John Baptist Arpin and his twin brother, Antoine
Arpin, were born at St. Ours, Province of Quebec, Canada, on March 29, 1826,
sons of Michel and Mary Anne (Magnan) Arpin. They came together to Wis-
consin in 1848. John went to California in 1851, during the gold excitement,
and stayed near Grass Valley for about two years, where he had fair success, and
returned to Wisconsin in 1853. The two brothers married sisters. Antoine
married Mary Cotey on Dec. 13, 1858. From this union there was born to them
a daughter, Mary, who now lives on a large farm at Rockdale, Iowa, near Dubuque,
and is the wife of Alfred-Cholvin. Antoine Arpin passed away at the Cholvin
home on Aug. 18, 1896. John B. Arpin married Clarissa M. Cotey on Sept. 5,
 1859. To this union there were born 16 children, eight of whom are now living,
namely: Daniel J., Edmund P., Mrs. Georgianna Buckley, John B., Jr., all of
Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.; Joseph Z., of Bruce, Wis.; Arsin L., of Florence, La.;
Mrs. Mary Boisvert DeNevers, of Woonsocket, R. I., and Arthur M., of Green-
ville, Miss. John and his brother Antoine were interested in logging in the early
sixties on Yellow River, their logs being run down the Yellow River to Werner
and Germantown, and there sawed, and the lumber rafted down the Wisconsin
and Mississippi rivers to Dubuque and other markets along the Mississippi. The
twin brothers bore a strong resemblance to each other, and there are many amusing
incidents which happened during their early days. At one time the two brothers,
each having a fleet of lumber to run, arrived at Dubuque at the same time. John
and his crew went in to dinner at the Key City Hotel. His brother Antoine came
in soon after and sat at the table that John had just left. The waiters hesitated
about paying any attention to him until he called to them, and they reported at
the office that there was a man who wanted a second dinner. Orders were given
to furnish it, and Antoine, who had been anxiously waiting for his dinner, soon
was aware that something was in the air, and he set about to see how much he
could eat. He soon had quite a good audience watching him, and the result was
finally that the proprietor had to stand treats for the crowd after he tried to collect
for the second dinner. Logging operations were carried on in the early days
under very arduous conditions. It took courageous men to overcome the hard-
ships of pioneering operations. Communications were meager, distances were
great, and financial accomodations were difficult to secure. John Arpin became
interested in logging operations on the upper Wisconsin river in 1879, when he
and P. B. Champaigne of Merrill, Wis., purchased a large tract of pine timber
from the Francis Biron estate, and he also operated extensively in the northern
part of the county, near Auburndale, and on the Little Eau Pleine River. In
1884 he became interested with Henry Sherry in the purchase of timber lands,
and also a sawmill, at Germantown, Juneau County, Wis. In 1890 John Arpin,
with his sons, Daniel J. and Edmund P., organized the John Arpin Lumber Co.,
and purchased a large tract of timber from Sherry & Arpin, and located a sawmill
at Arpin, Wood County. These operations lasted until 1904. In 1900 the mem-
bers of the John Arpin Lumber Co., with some of the younger brothers, Joseph
Z. and Arsin L., organized the Arpin Hardwood Lumber Co., and built a large
sawmill plant at Bruce, Rusk County. They operated there until 1918, when
674                   HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY

the sawmill burned down and the balance of the timber was sold to the Edward
Hines Lumber Co., of Chicago. John Arpin's health began to fail in 1886, leaving
the business in the hands of his sons, Daniel J. and Edmund P. He passed away
on May 9, 1892. The two following obituaries, taken from local newspapers,
are added to this record: Elvina L. Arpin, daughter of John Arpin, died June
19, 1888, after a long sickness from consumption. She was a beautiful young
woman, age 21 years, six months and two days. Mamie, wife of Arsin L. Arpin,
died at Denver, Colo., July 17, 1898. She was born in Grand Rapids, May 6,
 1874, and was a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. E. C. Smith.
     Edmund P. Arpin, who for many years has been one of the most active busi-
ness men of Wood County, and has done advance the public interests,
is of good pioneer ancestry, belonging to one of the best known families in the
county. He was born at Grand Rapids (now Wisconsin Rapids), Wis., April
4, 1864, son of John Baptist and Clarissa (Cotey) Arpin. On June 9, 1880, he
was graduated with the first class of the Howe High School, Prof. Julius Rosholt,
now of Minneapolis, being superintendent. He attended the University of Wis-
consin for several months in 1881, but was obliged to quit on account of ill health.
In 1887 he traveled for his health in Colorado, accompanied by his sister Elvina,
who was also in poor health. There he met Miss Bertha Nienstedt, to whom
he was married later on, on Jan. 1, 1889, at her home in Clarinda, Iowa. Her
 parents were August and Wilhelmina (Wunderlich) Nienstedt, the father being
a merchant. In 1900 Edmund P. Arpin became interested with his father and
brother, D. J. Arpin, in the lumber business, the sawmill being located at Arpin,
 Wood County, Wis., and took charge of the books in the office at Grand Rapids,
 continuing in that position until the present time. Mr. Arpin has been connected
 with the lumber industry in one way or another for the last 22 years, or since his
 first experience in the business with his father and brother. He has also done
 much valuable work along various other lines of activity, and he has been especially
 active in originating or promoting a number of measures calculated to advance
 the public interests. In 1906 he became president of the Wisconsin Hardwood
 Lumbermen's Association, and remained as such until 1908. While serving in
 that office he performed an act of much service to the lumbermen by appearing
 before the Trans-continental Freight Bureau, the railroad association controlling
 freight rates west of the Mississippi River, to make a fight for lower rates. No
 one of any industry had hitherto ventured to appear before this committee, as
 Mr. R. H. Countis, the chairman, thought it to be useless. After some difficulty
 Mr. Arpin secured a hearing and proved to the officials the injustice of the pre-
 vailing rates, but it was only after a hearing before the Interstate Commerce
 Committee, that a reduction was made on lumber bound to West Coast points
 from 85 to 75 cents per hundred pounds. This was not as much as had been
 hoped for, but it afforded Wisconsin lumbermen some measure of relief. At the
 same time Mr. Arpin secured a reduction of the freight charges on cranberry
 shipments over the lines controlled by the bureau. He had become president
 of the Wisconsin Cranberry Sales Company, upon its organization in 1906, and
 was personally interested in the business, as were also other members of the Arpin
 family. The cranberry men had for years been obliged to pay the same rates
 on shipments to West Coast points as the growers in New England and the Eastern
 States, which was a manifest injustice. His argument on this subject before
 the bureau resulted in a reduction from $1.90 to $1.60 per hundred pounds. Mr.
 Arpin was one of the organizers and officers of the Wood County Telephone Co.,
 and was president of the Grand Rapids Electric & Water Co., during its existence
 and up to the time it was taken over by the city, both organized under a strictly
  co-operative plan. He was a member of the executive committee of the Wisconsin
 Advancement Association for 12 years, during which time many thousands of
 dollars were expended for advertising and general welfare work for the state of
 Wisconsin. While president of that Association he took charge of the Belgium
  Relief work in the state of Wisconsin, and as an appreciation of his services re-
 ceived a gold medal, and also a certificate signed by King Albert of Belgium and
                            HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY                                  675

  members of the Relief Commission for Belgium. Mr. Arpin was also president
  or secretary of the first Business Men's Association for a period of 18 years, during
  which time, in 1901, the cities of Grand Rapids and Centralia were united. His
  most important work has been along co-operative lines, and he was the chief
  promoter of that plan of financing pioneer settlers which is embodied in what
  is known as the County Reclamation Law, being Chapter No. 774 of Laws of
  1913 of the State of Wisconsin. The purpose of this law is to use the credit of
  the county to obtain money by the issue of county bonds, which bonds can be
  sold at rates varying from four and a half to five per cent, and the funds derived
  therefrom are made available for clearing lands for settlers within the county.
  The money may be paid either to the settler himself, or to some expert contractors,
  who may be able by the aid of machinery to clear the land quickly, and hence
  save the settler from three to five years' valuable time, besides giving him the
 benefit of the crops that could be grown during that time. The law provided
 for carrying on this work through the county board, which selects two commis-
 'sioners, a third to be appointed by the governor of the state. All the expenses
 of these commissioners, and the entire cost and expense of the reclamation are
 computed and payment provided for same by a tax lien placed on the lands re-
 ,claimed for a period of from five to 20 years. This plan has been recently adopted
 by Rusk County. Another enterprise in which Mr. Arpin took a leading part
 was the organization in 1913, of the Farm Mortgage Security Association, for
 the purpose of enabling farmers to borrow money on reasonable terms instead
 of being obliged to individual usurers, who, in addition to charging high rates
 of interest, exact bonuses and other extra charges. It was while he sat as president
 of the State Bankers' Association at Milwaukee, Wis., in 1913, that he proposed
 the founding of such an association and prophesied that if organized it would
 within three years handle two million dollars' worth of loans. After much discus-
 sion and argument, and correspondence with bankers all over the state, Mr. Arpin
 doing a great deal of individual work, the association was organized and went
 into operation. The result far exceeded even his own expectations, for by the
 end of three years the association had handled in farm mortgages, not two million,
 but ten million dollars, and the loans have now reached the total amount of 13
 millions. Mr. Arpin has done much to help the old soldiers of the Civil War,
 and for 30 years or more has been an honorary member of the local Post of the
 ,G. A. R., and since January, 1913, of the state department of the same organization.
 He has had a happy home life, and he and his wife have been the parents of six
 ,children: Harold A., born Oct. 11, 1889; George N., born Feb. 1, 1891; Daniel
 J. (2d), born Nov. 6, 1892; Edmund P., Jr., born Aug. 14, 1894; Cecile, born
 Dec. 20, 1897, and Richard, born Aug. 8, 1904. Harold A., who is now a resident
 of Solon Springs, Wis., married Beryle Thompson, and they have two sons, Thomas
 and Peter. George N., now of Minneapolis, married Nadjy Rost of Milwaukee,
 and they have one daughter, Lois Ann. Daniel J. married Helen Taylor, of
 Wisconsin Rapids, and has two sons, Lawrence and Webb. Cecile was graduated
 from Smith College in June, 1921. Richard Arpin is now a senior in the high
     Edmund P. Arpin, Jr., has an exceptionally fine war record. At the outbreak
of the war he attended the First Officers' Training Camp at Fort Sheridan and
was commissioned a lieutenant. He later became captain of Company F, 128th
 Infantry, 32d Division. He was cited for bravery several times and received
the Distinguished Service Cross. The following reference to his achievements
and their recognition appeared in the Wisconsin Rapids Tribune, Sept. 14, 1921:
 "Word has been received here of the award on Sept. 6, 1921, of the Distinguished
 Service Cross to Capt. E. P. Arpin, Jr., son of Mr. and Mrs. E. P. Arpin, of Wis-
 consin Rapids. The award was made and announced on the sixth of this month
by Adjutant General P. C. Harris, Washington, D. C., and a citation for extra-
ordinary heroism accompanied the announcement. Capt. Arpin, whose war
record is probably the most spectacular of any of the local ex-service men, is now
in the South. The cross will be sent to him, it is understood. The citation which
676                   HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY

Adjutant General Harris sent in connection with his announcement in which
the award was made to Capt. Arpin reads: 'Under the provisions of the Act of
Congress approved July 9, 1918 (Bul. No. 43, W. D. 1919) the War Department
has awarded you a Distinguished Service Cross for the following act: "For extra-
ordinary heroism in action near Gesnes, France, Oct. 7, 1918. He volunteered
to lead and led a platoon of 41 men in an attack on Hill No. 269. Although all
but four became casualties, this small group, under the leadership of Lt. Arpin,
continued on its mission, took the hill, and held it for some time without hope
of reinforcement." The award of the D. S. C. to Capt. Arpin is much delayed.
He was recommended for a Congressional medal of honor by his commanding
officers, but it is charged that favoritism and prejudice of regular army officers
toward national guard troops prevented the full honor reward. R. B. McCoy,
late colonel of the 128th Infantry, in which Capt. Arpin was serving at the time
as first lieutenant, recommended on March 15, 1920, that Capt. Arpin be granted
the Congressional Medal of Honor and the D. S. C. with oak leaves . In his recom-
mendation Col. McCoy declared "The bravery and leadership displayed and the
results attained by Capt. Arpin at Juvigny, at Fismes, and in the Argonne, were
equalled by few and surpassed by no officers dead or living who served in those
 battles in the 128th Infantry." Capt. Arpin received two other citations, one
 for gallantry in action in St. Gilles, France, Aug. 3, 1918, and again near Juvigny
 on Sept. 1, of the same year. He is entitled to wear two silver stars on his victory
 ribbon for those citations. Edmund P. Arpin, Jr., was married Jan. 8, 1921,
 to Janet Leavens, of Neenah, Wis., and they have a daughter, Helen, who was
 born Oct. 30, 1921. They reside at Bruce, Wis., where Mr. Arpin is a dredging
 contractor. Mr. E. P. Arpin has been president of the Wood County Teachers'
 Training School since it was organized in 1902, he at that time being a member
 of the county board and instrumental in its establishment. He is also treasurer
 of the Wood County Agricultural School.
      John P. Nash, of Nekoosa, a prominent representative of the paper manu-
 facturing industry, was born in Hartford, Conn., May 11, 1860, son of Patrick
 and Margaret (Barron) Nash, who were natives of Ireland. Patrick Nash came
 to the United States in 1847, locating first in Springfield, Mass., where he and his
 wife Margaret were married. Later he resided with his family in Hartford, Conn.,
 and in Greenfield, Mass., engaged in contracting and railroad work. In 1879'
 he came to Wood County and settled on a farm in Sigel Township, where he and
 his wife spent the rest of their lives engaged in farming. He died Feb. 1, 1913,
 and she on Feb. 8, 1903. They were the parents of 11 children, nine sons and two-
 daughters, and eight of these children are now living, namely, Thomas, James,
 John P., William, Michael, Richard, Frank and Catherine. Those deceased
 are Mary, Patrick and Lawrence. John P. Nash was educated in Greenfield,
  Mass., and came to Wood County with his parents. His first three years here
 were spent in farming in summer and logging in winter. He then took up railroad
  work, which he followed in different branches until 1892. In the fall of 1894
  he became connected with the Nekoosa-Edwards Paper Co., as shipping clerk
  and time keeper. He is now a stockholder in the concern and manager in the
  office of the Nekoosa mill. With F. X. Grode he is engaged in the real estate
  business, and in 1919, he, with Mr. Grode and Charles Trelevan organized the
  Grode-Nash Paper Co., dealers in all kinds of wrapping paper, of which concern
  he is treasurer. He is also a stockholder and director in the Nekoosa State Bank
  and a stockholder in the Beppler Roller Mill. A Catholic in religion, he belongs
  fraternally to the Knights of Columbus, the Catholic Order of Foresters and the
  Beavers. Mr. Nash was married at Wisconsin Rapids, in 1883, to Johanna Yager,
  daughter of Christopher and Minnie Yager, her parents, both now deceased,
  having been early settlers in Wood County. After a happy married life of 38
  years Mrs. Johanna Nash passed from this life in October, 1921. She had been
  the mother of four daughters, Margaret M., Elizabeth E., Mildred E. and Johanna
  D., all of whom are residing at home with their father, except Elizabeth, who
  is the wife of Carl Simon, and lives at Port Edwards.
                          HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY                                  677

      Peter P. Syms, a widely known and highly respected pioneer of Wood County,
 now living in Auburndale, was born 45 miles below Montreal in Lower Canada,
 July 15, 1838, son of Peter and Margaret (Boure) Couture. He changed his name
 after coming to the States, as he found that Americans of Anglo-Saxon origin
 -could not give his French name the correct pronunciation. The word "coure"
  is French for a seam, which latter word he modified into Syms. The parents
 of Peter P. were of French-Canadian birth and never came to the United States.
  In fact, though there were many children in their family, the only ones who ever
 crossed the line were the subject of this sketch and his brother Joseph, who once
 paid him a visit. When Peter P. was four years old his parents sold their farm
  and moved to the village of St. Geneva de Berthier on the St. Lawrence River.
 'There he attended a Catholic parochial school and when about 15 years old was
  sent to an academy to study for the priesthood. He was already pretty well up
 in French and English, and his principal study in the academy was Latin. But
  the tasks imposed on him were too hard, and after a year he took his books and
 left. During the next year he remained at home and then went to Bellville, Ont.,
 where he became clerk in a large store. Two years later he gave up that position
  and went into the woods of upper Canada as a laborer connected with the logging
  and lumbering industry. In February, 1865, or about a year after his marriage,
  he came to Stevens Point, Wisconsin, and was joined by his family in the following
  June. For awhile he followed lumbering in this region, then homesteaded 40
  acres of wild land in Auburndale Township, near the village, where he built a
  small log house and began the work of improvement. Later he bought 120 acres
  more, adjoining the village, this tract having on it a log barn and a small frame
  house. This place he subsequently developed, erecting a good set of buildings,
  which, however, were burned down. After they had been rebuilt they were again
  burned, and in fact Mr. Syms suffered loss from fire no less than five times, on
'two of which occasions he had no insurance. To-day he has on his place a good
  frame barn, a good brick house and other necessary buildings. He carries on
  general farming and dairying, keeping grade cattle and Shropshire sheep, and
  having a good operating equipment. In 1914 Mr. Syms retired from active work,
  on account of increasing years, and since then his son Henry has operated the
  farm, the soil of which is some of the best in this section. Mr. Syms was formerly
  active in public affairs, at various times serving in different township offices. For
  a number of years he was a justice of the peace and notary public. Though reared
  a Catholic, he is not now a member of any church. Politically he is a Republican.
  Mr. Syms was married Jan. 12, 1864, to Bretane Ellis, who was born at Tweed,
  Upper Canada, July 12, 1841, daughter of Stephen and Martha (Palmer) Ellis,
  and who at the time of her marriage was residing with her parents in Bellville.
  The parents have both passed away, the mother dying when Bretane (now Mrs.
  Syms) was a small child, and the father a number of years afterwards. Mrs. Syms
  is still living and in the enjoyment of good health, being quite able to attend to
  her household duties, and take care of the home. She and her husband have
  been the parents of seven children, Martha and Margaret (twins), born Dec. 22,
   1864; Charles, Armina, Philemon, Henry and Frances. Martha, who married
  Charles Dean, resides in Maurpas, La., and has two sons, Paul and Henry.
   Margaret married Solomon Wilcott, of Marshfield, this county, and died some
   years since. Charles is now living in Milwaukee. Armina married E. O. Cady,
   of Stevens Point, Wis., and has four children, namely: Margaret, now Mrs. Fred
   Tusing, of Chicago; Henry, of Clintonville, Wis.; Jerold, of Milwaukee; and
   Beatrice, who is living with her aunt Martha in Louisiana. Philemon lives in
   Stevens Point. Henry, on his father's farm at Auburndale, married Laura Laemle,
   of Wisconsin Rapids, and their children are Jane, Peter, Mary, Charles, Susan,
   Elizabeth, Jimmie. Frances is now Mrs. Benjamin Darms, of Auburndale.
       Frank Haselberger, a prominent farmer in Marshfield Township, was born
   in Germany Sept. 20, 1869, son of George and Caroline (Segel) Haselberger. The
   parents were natives of Germany, in which country the father was a cooper by
   trade; they came to America in 1881, settling first at Pittsburg, Pa., where the
678                   HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY

 father worked as a laborer for seven years. In 1888 the family came to Wood
 County and bought 80 acres of cutover land in Section 24, of Marshfield Township,
which place has since been their home. It was in a very primitive condition
when they acquired it, having by way of buildings only a log house and barn and
being covered with stumps and brush; out of it, however, by the slow magic of
 persistent effort with the courage to overcome obstacles and hardships, a modern,
 well-kept farm has been built up, which to-day takes its place among those
properties that are carrying Wood County to the front among the agricultural
 regions of the country. In 1890 a good frame barn with basement was built;
 in 1905 a good residence was added, and later a granary, machine shed, etc. brought
 the equipment up to first class condition. The property is now under the owner-
 ship and management of Frank Haselberger, who after finishing the grade schools
 near his home remained with his father assisting in the operation of the farm and
 later bought the place. He has it stocked with a good grade of cattle, with a
 pure-bred Holstein sire at the head of the herd, and is very successfully carrying
 on mixed farming and dairying. The mother, Mrs. George Haselberger, died
 in 1910; the father died Aug. 18, 1922, at the age of 93 years and four months.
April 25, 1906, Frank Haselberger was united in marriage with Mrs. Joseph Hirsch,
who in maiden life was Anastasia Habel. Mrs. Haselberger's parents were natives
 of Austria. One child, Mary Anna Hirsch, was born to her May 4, 1901, by her
marriage to Mr. Hirsch. Her union with Mr. Haselberger was blessed by two
children, Ottilia, born June 20, 1907, and Frank G., born Aug. 20, 1908, who died
at birth. Mrs. Haselberger is now deceased, her death on Jan. 19, 1911, being
an event mourned by the entire community, of which she was a highly valued
     Frank Swetz, proprietor of the Sigel Cheese Factory, was born in Sigel Town-
 ship, this county, April 23, 1898, son of John and Mary Swetz. The parents
were natives of Bohemia; the father came to the United States in 1897, and settled
in Wood County, Wis., buying 320 acres of wild land, which he and his sons sub-
sequently cleared and improved, and where he is now carrying on general farming
and dairying on the 160 acres he retains after having given 80 acres each to two
of his sons. The entire property has been converted into a modern, well-tilled
farm under their ownership, and they have erected good buildings throughout.
Mr. and Mrs. John Swetz have eight children: John, Stephen, Albert, Frank,
Sophia, Charles, Julia and Mamie. Sophia is now Mrs. F. Fait, living at Morris,
Wis. Frank Swetz was raised on the home farm, attending school in District
No. 6, and assisting in the operation of the farm. He then took up the profession
of cheese-making, spending four years in a cheese factory learning the various
operations and later taking up the dairy course with the State University at
Madison, from which course he graduated in 1918; he then worked as a cow tester
for one year, and in November, 1921, bought his present factory, which was orig-
inally started by a co-operative society of the farmers of the community about
 1912, and was operated by this society until it was taken over by Mr. Swetz.
The latter is remodeling the plant and converting it into a thoroughly modern
cheese factory, and is at present making about 1,000 pounds of cheese daily.
     Gilbert Nelson, a pioneer settler of Wood County, who has developed 80 acres
of wild land into a modern, well equipped farm, was born May 12, 1858, at Kongs-
venger, Norway, son of Nels and Meren (Gulbrandson) Nelson. The parents
both died in Norway, the father Dec. 31, 1918, and the mother April 30, 1913.
Their family consisted of six boys, Nels, Gilbert, Ole, (first), Albert, Karl, and
Ole (second), and two girls, Hedda and Maren. Three of the boys, Gilbert, Nels.
and Albert, came to America, and settled first in Waukesha County, Wis., later
sending for their respective wives. Gilbert came to Wood County, Nov. 11,
1899, and Albert in February, 1901; the latter, who settled inr Lincoln Township,
where he remained four years, is now in Burlington, Wis. Nels passed away
in Milwaukee, Feb. 14, 1919, a victim of the sleeping sickness resulting from
influenza; he was born March 14, 1856. Gilbert, with his wife, Betsy, born Nov.
10, 1857, at Ohdalen, Norway, a daughter of Arne and Marte Christopherson,
                          HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY                                 679

bought an 80-acre tract in Section 17, five and a half miles west of Marshfield,
and settled on this. It was entirely wild land at that time, with only logging
roads; to-day, 77 acres are cleared, 60 of them under cultivation and the balance
pasture; and the farm is equipped with good buildings, a silo, and modern machin-
ery, Mr. Nelson having constructed the buildings with his own hands; it is a splendid
example of what may be done in the way of land development. Ten children
were born to Mr. and Mrs. Nelson: Maggie, May 13, 1880, now Mrs. Arthur
Bever, of Stratford, Wis.; Nettie, born Oct. 20, 1881, now Mrs. William Voss,
of Waupaca, Wis.; Anna, born July 4, 1883, residing at home, who at the age of
22 years had the misfortune to suffer a stroke of paralysis; Martin, Jan. 23, 1886,
who is now farming in Marathon County, Wis.; Betsey, born Oct. 14, 1887, now
wife of Michael Steinwagner, of Marshfield; George, born Oct. 17, 1890, farming
in Clark County, Wis.; Jennie, born Aug. 28, 1892, now wife of Edwin Haultauf-
derheide, a farmer in Lincoln Township; Eddie, born Sept. 15, 1894, now on the
home farm; Gelda, born Aug. 27, 1896, who died in infancy; and Harry, born
 May 10, 1900, residing at home. The family were reared in theLutheranfaith;
they are now affiliated with the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Nelson's political
 affiliation is with the Republican party; his first vote as a citizen of this country
 was cast for Grover Cleveland. He was a member of the Road Commission for
 some time and has always taken an interest in the development of good roads.
      John Fritsche, a prominent farmer in Rudolph Township, was born June
 14, 1869, in Dodge County, Wis., son of Herman and Katherine (Reiss) Fritsche.
 The mother was a native of Washington County, Wis.; the father, a native of
 Germany, came to the United States in 1848, and settled at Richfield, in Wash-
 ington County, where he worked as a laborer until 1856, when he entered the
 employ of the United States government as a mule driver, in which capacity he
 drove from Ft. Wayne, Indiana, to the Pacific Coast, a route whose traveling
 was full of danger and adventure during those days of the Mormon trouble. He
 later worked on farms in Washington County, and in 1875 came to Grand Rapids
 (now Wisconsin Rapids), where he worked on the railroad for two years. In
 1877 he went to Dexterville, this county, and for four years he was section foreman
 there for the Green Bay &Western Railway. In 1881 he bought 80 acres of wild
 land in Section 28, of Rudolph Township, and proceeded to make a home on this
 property; the set of log buildings he erected at that time still stands on this farm,
 where he remained until his death, Dec. 7, 1897; his widow passed away July 20,
 1909. Mr. and Mrs. Herman Fritsche were the parents of two children, John,
 subject of this sketch, and Eda, who is now Mrs. W. J. Walsh, of Eagle River,
 Wis. John Fritsche received his education in Grand Rapids and Dexterville
 and subsequently assisted his father on the farm during the summer months and
 worked in the woods through the winters. Later he learned the trade of cooper,
 which he followed during the cranberry picking seasons for 27 years. After his
 father's death he purchased his sister's share in the home farm and has since
  operated the property; he has bought 120 acres more in the same section, now
 having a total of 200 acres; he has cleared 50 acres and erected a new set of build-
 ings, besides otherwise improving the property, and is now carrying on mixed
 farming and dairying, having a good herd of cattle with a pure-bred Guernsey
  sire at the head. On Jan. 12, 1892, at Rudolph, Wis., Mr. Fritsche married Miss
  Margaret Juneau, daughter of Paul and Katherine (O'Neil) Juneau. Mr. and
  Mrs. Fritsche are the parents of five children: Joseph, William, Leona, Nicholas
  and Isabelle. Joseph married Irma Perner and has four children, Francis, Florence,
  James and Dorothy; William is living at home; Leona is a school teacher in Sigel
  Township; Nicholas married Marie Kohnen, and is living in Waukegan, I1l.;
  Isabelle is attending the Wood County Normal School in Wisconsin Rapids.
  The family are members of the Catholic Church. Mr. Fritsche is a member of
  the E. F. U. Lodge No. 42 at Rudolph. He has taken an active part in the affairs
  of the community, and was treasurer of the board of Rudolph Township for six
  years; he is a stockholder in the South Rudolph Cheese Factory, and served as
  secretary and treasurer of this company for seven years. He is also a stockholder
680                   HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY

in the Farmers and Merchants Bank in Rudolph, and he has achieved a name
for himself as a man of exceptional business ability.
    Paul Juneau, a pioneer of Wood County, and a nephew of Solomon Juneau,
the founder of Milwaukee, was born Sept. 23, 1848, in Dodge County, Wis., son
of Narcissus and Amelia (Shura) Juneau. The parents were born near Montreal,
Canada, and were there married; they came to Milwaukee in 1848, where Mr.
Juneau worked for his brothers for a short time; he then bought 40 acres of land
at Theresa in Dodge County, and on this property he made his home for 19 years.
He came to Wood County in 1867, and purchased the John Wells homestead,
consisting of 80 acres in Section 17, Rudolph Township, all wild land and heavily
timbered. He was then over 70 years of age, and hence unable to perform any heavy
labor, so that the clearing and developing of the farm devolved upon his sons;
he made his home there until his death, May 8, 1875, being survived by his widow,
mother of Paul Juneau, until Jan. 14, 1888. There were six children in the family,
all of whom with the exception of Paul, are now deceased. Of these Odella was
a half-sister of the others, being a child of the father by a previous marriage; the
others were Eugene, Cleophus, Joseph, Solomon and Paul. Paul Juneau, after
finishing school in Dodge County, remained with his father, assisting in the work
of carrying on the farm, and came to Wood County with his parents in 1867.
Here he took charge of the farm purchased by his father and worked at its clearing
and development during the summer months, spending the winters for 23 years
in the lumber woods in the employ of Clark & Scott. He erected all the buildings
on the property, bought an additional 40 acres (making a total of 120 acres), and
has brought 80 acres into a tillable condition. Though 74 years old, he is still
active about his farm and is carrying on mixed farming and dairying. The debt
of gratitude owing to those who, like Mr..Juneau, came into the county when
it was a wilderness, and by incessant toil and the endurance of every conceivable
hardship built up an agricultural property cannot be over-emphasized; and this
debt is particularly heavy in its application to Mr. Juneau; for he not only built
up the farm he is now working in this manner, but was a powerful and devoted
worker in building up and developing the whole community, encouraging settlers
to emigrate to this part of the country and helping them to get a start after they
arrived. Always a prominent man in township and county, his influence was
of incalculable value in those first critical days of the development of the region.
He served on the township board for six years and for 12 years on the board of
School District No. 3. On Dec. 28, 1867, Mr. Juneau was married, in Dodge
County, to Miss Katherine O'Neil, daughter of Patrick and Mary (Hickey) O'Neil.
Mrs. Juneau was born Nov. 1, 1844, near Milwaukee, in Dodge County. Her
parents, natives of Ireland, came to the United States about 1840, and settled
in Milwaukee for a short time; they later moved to Theresa, in Dodge County,
Wis., and spent the remainder of their lives there. Mr. and Mrs. Juneau have
been the parents of eight children: Mary, now Mrs. O. Le Roux, of Wisconsin
Rapids; Joseph, now deceased; Margaret, wife of John Fritsche, of Rudolph
Township; Charlotte, now the wife of Charles Le Roux, who is a farmer in Sherry
Township, this county; Angeline, who survives her husband, Joseph R. Roy
and is bookkeeper for the Ragan Furniture Co. in Wisconsin Rapids; Eliza and
Elizabeth, who are deceased; and Theresa, who is now Mrs. V. Neuman, of
Sigel Township.
    George Hooper, the first settler in the village of Milladore, of which he is now
a resident, is a man who has had a long, active and interesting career in various
occupations and extending over a period of over 70 years. His industrial life
commenced in early childhood; as a sailor he visited many parts of the world;
as pioneer lumberman, track layer, farmer and hotel keeper he had part in the
upbuilding and development of Wood County, and as a public official he has
safe-guarded the interests of the community and won recognition as a man of
intelligence, foresight and firm moral principle. George Hooper was born in
Worcester, England, Sept. 6, 1844, son of William and Mary (Roberts) Hooper.
The father was a skilled gardener who made a specialty of raising fruit trees, and

.           t

                          HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY                                681

 also trees for ornamental purposes, and followed that occupation all his life. Both
 he and his wife died in England, the latter when over 90 years of age. They had
 a large family of 16 children, of whom George was the youngest. The size of
 the family, and the comparatively small wages paid in England in those days,
 made it necessary that the children should help to support themselves at an early
 age, and accordingly George was put to work when only six years old in a brick
 yard, where he was employed during the summers. The only education he ever
 had was what he subsequently picked up for himself. At the early age of nine
 he went to sea as a cabin boy in the British merchant marine service, and on his
 tenth birthday found himself in New York City. His life as a sailor covered a
 period of 14 years, six years of which were spent in the British navy, in which
 he rose to the rank of quartermaster. He also made one whaling voyage, and
 while following the sea he visited many of the principal ports of the world. While
 on a trip from Egypt he nursed a passenger on the vessel who had fallen sick.
 This passenger had a gentleman relative on board who expressed his gratitude
 to Mr. Hooper and gave him his card, telling him that he should be pleased if he
 would call on him whenever he should happen to be in London. It was not long
 before Mr. Hooper found an opportunity of doing so, and the gentleman, who
 was proprietor of a floor-cloth factory, offered him employment in it, which he
 accepted and he worked there for several years, learning the business in all its
 branches. In 1871 he left London and came to the United States, where he soon
 found employment as master of a brick sloop on the Hudson river, plying between
 New York and up-river points. After following that occupation for a year he
 went to Buffalo and shipped as a sailor on the Great Lakes on vessels plying be-
 tween Buffalo, Chicago and Superior. Not satisfied with that kind of a life,
 however, he sought other employment and became a lumberjack, working in
 camps in the northern part of Michigan. In the spring of 1873, when the Wis-
consin Central Railway was constructing its line through Wood County, he came
here as one of its workmen. The country around Milladore pleased him so well
that in the fall he homesteaded 40 acres of land just north of the village site, and
built a log house on it. It was soon after he had settled here that he was joined
by his wife, to whom he had been married about 1868 in London, where he had
left her. Her maiden name was Emma Fagan, and she was the daughter of Mr.
and Mrs. Edward Fagan, natives of England. The little log cabin was now a
home and Mr. Hooper started in to build up his fortunes. The process was one
of considerable difficulty and for the first few years he and his wife saw very hard
times. At first they had no stove and were obliged to build a mud oven in which
for many months they did their cooking. He worked at logging, chopped wood,
did railroad construction work or anything else he could find to do, but for months
at a time he never saw money, and for his work on the railroad and the wood he
sold he always had to wait about five months for his pay. In the meanwhile
as he found opportunity he cleared his land, which was covered with hard wood
timber. At the end of seven years he sold the place, but subsequently bought
it back again, and from that time on he engaged largely in buying and selling
farm lands, at one time owning several hundred acres. He was the first settler
in Milladore village, which was originally called Mill Creek. When the village
was laid out he helped to clear the site, and among its first buildings was a hotel
which he erected and which he and his wife operated for a number of years. As
time went on they witnessed great improvements. The old Indian trails gave
place to good roads, and instead of being obliged to carry supplies on his back
from Stevens Point, 25 or 30 miles away, a labor it would seem sufficient to dis-
courage the most enthusiastic pioneer, he was able to buy whatever he needed
within a few minutes walk from his house. The old log cabin had long since given
way to a good modern residence, and the village had grown up with school and
church and society organizations. With increasing years Mr. Hooper gave up
hard labor, but has never been satisfied to lead an idle life. He has accumulated
a competency, is a stockholder in the Milladore State Bank, and the heaviest
stockholder in the Co-operative creamery of Milladore, but he finds congenial
682                   HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY

employment in cultivating 20 acres of land. He is practically independent in
politics, though inclining to Democratic principles, and during his long career
in the township and village he has been closely identified with public interests.
As a member of the school board, and school treasurer, he helped to raise the
standard of education, and also to raise the money to build the schoolhouse. He
also rendered many years service as town clerk and town chairman, and as justice
of the peace, which office he still holds. He was reared in the Church of England
(Episcopal), but is not now a church member. He belongs, however, to the
Masonic order, being a member of the Blue Lodge at Marshfield. Now in his
79th year, he still enjoys good health and is one of the best known and most highly
respected citizens in the northeastern part of the county. For nine years he
has been a widower, Mrs. Hooper having passed from this life in August, 1913.
She left one daughter, Louise, who is now keeping house for her father.
     John P. Hardina, a prominent farmer of Milladore Township, was born in
Manitowoc County, Wis., Jan. 15, 1877, son of Jacob and Mary (Cisler) Hardina.
The parents were natives of Bohemia; the mother came to America with her
family when she was one year old, and the father came here as a young man.
They were married in Manitowoc County, Wis., and were engaged in farming
in that county until 1881, when they went to Portage County, and settled near
Junction City. There they remained until 1902, when they retired and moved
 to the village of Milladore, where the mother is still residing; the father died there
 Sept. 12, 1917. They were the parents of five children: George, now farming
 in Sherry Township, Wood County; Joseph, farming in Milladore Township;
John P., subject of this sketch; Adolph, now deceased; and James, also farming
 in Milladore Township. John P. Hardina received his education in the district
 schools of Portage County, and remained at home until 1904, but has earned
 his own living since reaching the age of 12 years. He worked on farms for a time,
 and at the age of 19 years was a teamster in the woods. During this period he
 also worked for the Sutton & Sherry Company in their stave factory. After his
 marriage in 1904 Mr. Hardina operated his father's farm in Portage County, to
 which place he was subsequently given a deed. He sold this farm in 1908, and
 bought 80 acres of land in Sections 25 and 26 of Milladore Township, which
 property he further improved, making it his home until 1911, when he sold it,
 and went to Junction City. After spending one year in a retail business, he traded
 his property there for 80 acres of land in Section 25, Milladore Township, which
 he sold one year later. He then operated a retail business in Milladore for nearly
 two years, again trading at the end of that time for a farm in Green Valley, Mara-
 thon County. In April, 1916, he purchased a butcher shop in Junction City,
 which he operated for a short time. After selling this place he lived on his farm
 in Marathon County for two years, when he sold it also and bought the old Frank
  Zinney farm, consisting of 80 acres in Milladore Township, which is his present
 home. He is carrying on general farming and dairying, having a good herd of
  Holstein cattle. Mr. Hardina is a man of fine business ability and a hard worker,
  and his career has been a very successful one; he is very well thought of in his
  community, and is always ready to lend a helping hand in forwarding its progress.
  May 23, 1904, Mr. Hardina was married at Milladore, Wis., to Anna Chinadle,
  daughter of John and Anna (Pumper) Chinadle, of Milladore, Wis. Mr. and Mrs.
  Hardina have been the parents of six children, of whom five are now living; the
  family was as follows: Sylvia, born May 4, 1907; Raymond, born Oct. 8, 1908;
  William, born Jan. 12, 1910; Elsie, born Dec. 23, 1911, died Jan. 9, 1916; Verna,
  born July 11, 1915; and Victor, born June 16, 1917. The family are members
  of the Catholic Church at Milladore.
      Michael Krings, a prominent and respected citizen of Milladore Township,
  was born in Theresa Township, Dodge County, Wis., June 27, 1856, son of Paulus
  and Susanna (Bauer) Krings. The father was born near Keln, Germany, and
  the mother in Luxembourg; they were married in Dodge County, Wis., the father
  having come there in 1844, when the country was one of virgin timber, and bought
   a section of wild land. He later sold portions of this, so that at the time of his
                          HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY                                683

 marriage the place consisted of 60 acres, and on this farm Mr. and Mrs. Krings,
 Sr. spent the remainder of their lives, and there Michael Krings grew to maturity;
 he attended the public school and remained with,his parents until the fall of 1879.
 May 5, 1880, he was united in marriage with Sophia Grube, at Auburndale, in
 this county. Mrs. Krings was born at Sheboygan, Wis., Dec. 18, 1863, daughter
 of Friedrich and Sophia (Zachow) Grube. Her parents, who came to Wood
 County in 1872, and are now both deceased. Following his marriage, Mr.
 Krings bought 115 acres of wild land in Section 7, Milladore Township and erected
 a log house; the country was then a most primitive one, without roads or con-
 veniences of any description, and the task of the pioneer in building up a farm
 out of this wilderness was a most arduous one, surrounded by difficulties on every
 hand which only the hardiest courage and the most incessant toil could surmount;
 and he who accomplished this feat conferred a benefit on the general community.
 Mr. Krings' farm as it exists to-day bears witness to the measure of his success
 in this accomplishment; he has equipped it with good buildings, has added 120
 acres to it, and has brought a large proportion of the whole under cultivation,
 so that it to-day takes its place among the leading agricultural properties in a
region famous for the quality of its farms. During the early period of his residence
here Mr. Krings, to obtain the means of livelihood until his farm could be put on
 a producing basis, did various sorts of work for others; during the winters he
worked in the woods, cutting bolts and collecting hemlock bark for the tanneries,
for which latter he received $2.25 per cord; he drove logs during the springs; and
he did surveying and cruising. The first five years he worked for Thomas Pettey
as buyer, scaler, and driver. Fourteen children have been born to Mr. and Mrs.
Krings: Sophia S., born June 12, 1881; Amanda L., March 2, 1883; Paul M.,
June 12, 1885; Martha M., April 29, 1887; Louisa I., May 28, 1889; Magdeline,
March 29, 1891; Frederick H., Jan. 19, 1893; Michael F., Nov. 21, 1895; Arnold
H., Feb. 28, 1897; Irving H., who died in infancy; Elva E., born April 11, 1900;
Alfred S., April 26, 1902; Alvin W., May 23, 1903; and Norman R., July 11, 1906.
Sophia S. is now Mrs. John P. Bauer, living on a farm in Auburndale Township;
Amanda L. is Mrs. William Kuehuhold, living on a farm in Milladore Township.
Paul M. is operating a farm in Green Valley Township of Marathon County.
Martha M. is Mrs. Ferdinand Deuk, living on a farm in Auburndale Township.
Louisa I. is Mrs. John W. Baker, and has her home on a farm in Milladore Town-
ship. Magdeline is the wife of Joseph Dellinger and lives with her parents; she
is the mother of one child, William. Frederick H., is in the garage business in
Auburndale village; he is a veteran of the World War, having entered the service
July 23, 1918, in Machine Gun Corps No. 1 of the 137th Division; he was sent
to Camp Grant for training, and from there to Long Island, from which he sailed
Sept. 7, 1918. From Brest he went to the front, Oct. 12, in the St. Mihiel sector
with Company D, included in the 137th Division. He was in action from Oct.
12 until Nov. 3; on the night of the latter date he was wounded in the arm, face,
and leg by a high explosive shell while participating in the Flanders drive. He
was taken to a hospital in England, where he remained 16 days, returning to the
United States when the armistice was signed; he landed April 22, 1919. Besides
the wounds mentioned, he suffered the loss of his hearing from the effects of the
heavy artillery fire. Sept. 23, 1919, he married Mary Becker, of Milladore Town-
ship; he owns a home in Auburndale village, and he and his wife are the parents
of one child, Phyllis, born Sept. 4, 1920. Michael F. Krings is living in Clark
County, and is the owner of a cheese factory there. Arnold H. is in the garage
business,in Auburndale village; he also was in the military service during the
World War, having joined on Oct. 7, 1918; as a member of the 9th Trench Mortar
Battery he trained at Camp Nichols at New Orleans, but the armistice was signed
before his organization was ready to leave for France, and he was discharged at
Camp Dodge, Iowa, Feb. 18, 1919, reaching home Feb. 21. On Nov. 4, 1919,
he married Mary Gotz, of Auburndale Township, she having been born there
Oct. 28, 1899; they are the parents of one child, Marion, born July 26, 1921. The
other children of Mr. and Mrs. Michael Krings are living at home. Mr. Krings,
684                    HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY

liberal in his political views but inclining toward the Democratic party, was
assesor for eight years, and has served efficiently as justice of the peace, and as
town chairman, being a very strong figure in the community. The sons Frederick
and Arnold are members of the Fred Grube Post of the American Legion at Auburn-
     Alphonse J. Gerend, M. D., of Milladore, is practicioner of his profession
at the above mentioned place. He was born in Sheboygan, Wis., Sept. 12, 1882,
son of Jacob and Mary (Gernbauer) Gerend. The parents came to the United
States when children. The father came from Trier, Germany, to Sheboygan
County in 1847, 'where his family settled in the northern part. In about the
 same year, 1852, Jacob Gerend left the farm and made his permanent home in
the village of Sheboygan, where he worked as an apprentice in a bakery and several
years thereafter established himself as a general merchant. He married in 1857.
 Later on he engaged in the flour and feed and furniture business. The latter
 is still operated by his son, Jacob, Jr., and is one of the oldest stores in Sheboygan.
 The mother, with her father, came to Milwaukee in 1849. The father, who had
been an architect in Austria, intended to continue in the same profession at Mil-
waukee. He, however, died shortly after his arrival there. The mother as a
 girl of 13 then came to Sheboygan, where she joined her brother, who had preceded
her there. The latter had studied for the priesthood in Vienna, Austria, and
had already taken up his duties in this new field at Sheboygan. Jacob Gerend,
 Sr., died April 1, 1895, and was survived by his wife nearly 14 years, her death
'occurring Feb. 24, 1909. They were the parents of eight children, of whom there
 are seven now living, the list being as follows: Rev. M. M. Gerend, president
 of St. John's Institute for Deaf Mutes at St. Francis, Wis.; John, who is in the
 furniture business at Los Angeles, Calif.; Jacob, of Sheboygan, Wis.; Alphonse
 J., of Milladore, Wis.; Mary, now Mrs. M. H. O'Keefe, of Waunakee, Wis.; Julia,
who was the wife of George Reichert, of Sheboygan, both, however, being now
 deceased; Elizabeth, now Mrs. John Gottsacker, of Sheboygan; and Frances,
 who is the wife of Frank P. Maersch, of Sheboygan. Alphonse J. Gerend was
 graduated from the Sheboygan High School in 1899, and four years later, in 1903,
 from the medical department of Marquette University. After receiving his
 medical diploma he gained practical experience in his profession as an interne
 for one year in St. Mary's Hospital at Superior. He then began the independent
 practice of his profession at Sheboygan. In 1907 he located at Cato, Manitowoc
 County, Wis., in which place he remained for 12 years. In June, 1918 Dr. Gerend
 enlisted for service in the U. S. army. He was commissioned first lieutenant,
 and assigned to duty at the Medical Officers' Training Camp at Fort Riley, Kansas,
  and several weeks later with the 18th Division at Camp Travis, San Antonio,
 Texas. In December, 1918, he received an honorable discharge. After a trip
  to California he returned to Cato, Wis. In January, 1920, he came to Milladore,
 Wood County, where he is now engaged in practice. He is a member of the
 Wisconsin State Medical Society, and the American Medical Association, and
  is also a charter member of the Wisconsin Archeological Society. His religious
 faith is that of the Catholic Church, and he is fraternally a member of the Knights
  of Columbus. His membership in the Archeological Society is indicative of his
  favorite line of study aside from his profession, the branch of archeological science
  to which he has for a number of years given special attention being that pertaining
  to the Potawatomi Indian tribes of Wisconsin. On this subject he has from time
  to time contributed carefully written articles to the society, or to the press, which
  have been duly appreciated. He possesses a large and valuable collection of
  Indian relics, both prehistoric and historic. The collection of prehistoric Indian
  artifacts is in the public library at Sheboygan. The historic material pertaining
  especially to the Potawatomi is at present in the State Historical Museum at
  Madison. The former collection he obtained mostly from the many sites of
  prehistoric Indian villages in Sheboygan County, his former home. That county
  is very rich in aboriginal history and monuments. Pursuing the study farther,
  he formed the acquaintance of some of the very old Sheboygan and Manitowoc
                          l    l    l    i   |    | ||ii~~·~ii         j~ji~ii        j    ~     l

                               I I          b t~~~ja~j::
                                         I Sg g | E .::j;                        i;·::

                         S a
                            .. . .,
                               || | |

                                         ~a:I I.
                                                               |   |                           .....
                                                                                                . k. ':''--.
                     l l lZ l|   ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~.
                                                   .. ,
                                                 . i..'.,B'''''...
                                                                   I 11111
                                                                                                      I I

                                              |    K
                         I I I Rb R_E.,N| .'....? -. e' ..
                                        l 9111

                 I I| | | _ 11|111_~~ji~ixj~~ii~i~i~~~
                                              |        |                | g

                     l         |1113                       |            |

                 |       I
                         |    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~I
                                   s11               E          E

                                                                            .        _~
                                                                                                | - 111I
           IA.    1§
                 J.            ERN,,. _'., D-i,:,

                                 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~pI                    WR
                                                                   I 1311

~~~~~~~~ B@g@

           A.    J.GR                                       ,          M.        l        -_
                         HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY                                685

County Indians, who had left there fifty and more years ago. These old Pot-
awatomi, and many of their descendants he found living in Forest County, and
some also in Wood County. His interest in this study has been the means of
preserving many historic data and other material pertaining to these as well as.
to other Wisconsin Indians.
     Alvin S. Pflum, D. D. S., who is engaged in the practice of his profession at
Milladore and Marshfield was born in Marshfield, Wood County, Feb. 25, 1896,
son of Frank X. and Mary (Mettelka) Pflum. The father was born in Washington
County, Wis., and came to Marshfield in 1879 with his parents, Mr. and Mrs.
Simon Pflum. Mrs. Mary Pflum, wife of Frank X., was born in Austria and came-
to Wisconsin when a young girl. She and her husband had four children: Laura
M., now a teacher in Milwaukee; Alvin S. and Roman J., who are engaged in
the practice of dentistry at Marshfield; Edward A., who is engaged in the practice.
of dentistry at Colby, Wis. Alvin S. Pflum was educated in Marshfield, being
graduated from the high school in the class of 1914. Having decided to follow
the dental profession, he enrolled himself as a student in the dental department
of Marquette University at Milwaukee, where he was graduated with the degree-
of D. D. S., in 1919. He then began the practice of his profession in St. Louis,
 Mo., where he remained for a year. In the fall of 1920 he came to Milladore,
Wood County, Wis., and took offices in association with Dr. Alphonse J. Gerend.
In March 1922 he and his brother Roman formed a partnership and began their
practice in Marshfield, Wis. He has already a good practice, which is gradually
increasing, and there is every indication that he has entered upon a successful.
 career. He is a member of the Catholic Church. In 1918 Dr. Pflum showed
his staunch American patriotism by enlisting in the Students Army Training-
 Corps at Marquette University.
     William Kuehnhold, a progressive farmer in Milladore Township and repre-
 sentative of a well-remembered family of Wood County pioneers, was born Aug.
 30, 1878, in Milladore Township, son of Barney and Caroline (Beigrow) Kuehn-
 hold. The parents were natives of Germany; the father came to the United'
 States in 1865, and the mother in 1866; they were married at Menasha, Wis.,
 and resided there until 1877, during which time the father worked at his trade
 as a stone-mason. They came to Wood County in 1877, and took a homestead'
 of 57 acres in Section 6, of Milladore Township, making their home with Christ
 Kuehnhold until the father could complete the building of a log house on their
 land, after which they established their home there and began the struggle which
 every pioneer of a primitive and timbered country must go through in order to-
 build up a farm from wild land. Mr. Kuehnhold carried provisions on his back
 from Auburndale and Stevens Point, and in order to obtain money to continue
 the development of his farm he worked in the woods and at every form of employ--
 ment that offered. He was of the hardy type that always wins in a struggle of-
 this kind, however, and as the years went by the farm throve; its cleared acreage
 increased, and good buildings arose; its area was added to by purchase from time
 to time, and the final result was a fine, modern agricultural property. Mr. Kuehn--
 hold Sr. lived on this farm until his death, Feb. 12, 1893; Mrs. Kuehnhold passed
 away Sept. 24, 1922. Their lives here were well spent, and exerted a permanent
 influence on the development of this section of the county. Mr. Kuehnhold
 was active in every movement that made for progress; he helped to build roads.
 and secure schools, and took part in many other forms of development, and his
 name will long be remembered for the work he did. Mr. and Mrs. Kuehnhold
 were the parents of four children: Tillie, Henry, Emma and William. Tillie
 and Emma are now deceased; Tillie was Mrs. Henry Frodl, and passed away
  May 7, 1906; Emma was the wife of Otto Klieve, and died Dec. 2, 1913. William
 and Henry, being the only sons, operated the farm for the mother after the father's
  death, and they subsequently received a dead to the property. They have pur-
  chased more land from time to time, and improved their property until to-day
  they both have fine farms with excellent buildings and all modern improvements.
  They are doing general farming and dairying and have a good herd of Holstein.
686                    HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY

 cattle with a pure-bred Brown Swiss sire at the head. William was elected a
 supervisor of Milladore Township in 1921, and he has served as a director in the
 school board of his district for several years. Both Henry and William have
 proved themselves worthy representatives of the fine family from which they
 come, and are highly respected by all who know them. William Kuehnhold
 was married at Auburndale, Wis., June 9, 1903, to Miss Amanda Krings, daughter
 of Michael and Sophia (Grube) Krings, of Milladore Township. Mr. and Mrs.
 Kuehnhold have seven children: Dorothy, born March 15, 1904; Hilda, Oct.
  13, 1905; William Jr., June 9, 1910; Edna, Oct. 24, 1912; Walter, Sept. 12, 1914;
 Ida, April 17, 1918; and Ruth, May 12, 1921. The family are members of the
 German Lutheran Church at Auburndale.
      William E. McDonald, a prominent farmer of Milladore Township, was born
 in Wiota Township, Lafayette County, Wis., Dec. 20, 1869, son of Eli B. and
 Amy (Sisson) McDonald. The father was born in Ohio, and the mother in Mich.,
 they were married in Lafayette County, to which locality the father had come
 after serving three years, nine months, and eleven days as a gunner with the 5th
 Wisconsin Battery in the Civil War, having taken part in much of the hardest
 fighting of the war. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Eli McDonald settled
 on a farm in Lafayette County, and remained there until Mr. McDonald's death,
 he being killed by a horse in March, 1891. Mrs. McDonald then moved to Beloit,
 Wis., in which city she spent the remainder of her life; she was killed there by a
 runaway team as she was crossing the street, August 5, 1917. Mr. and Mrs.
 Eli B. McDonald were the parents of seven children: William E., Cora, Lola,
 Mary, Annetta, Clarence and Pearl. Cora is now Mrs. James Connor, of Monroe,
 Wis.; Lola is the wife of John Sherman of Chicago; Mary is Mrs. William Vanda-
 grifth, of St. Louis, Mo.; Annetta married Charles Tuller, of Beloit, Wis.; Clarence
 is living in Beloit; Pearl is now Mrs. Ole Olson, of Beloit. William E. McDonald
 received his education in the district schools of Lafayette County and remained
 at home until he was 21 years of age. He then worked on farms in Illinois and
 Iowa for a time, and subsequently operated rented farms in Lafayette County,
 Wis., for seven years. During this time he purchased 40 acres of land there.
 He sold this property in the spring of 1914, and came to Wood County at that
 time, purchasing 80 acres in Section 22, Milladore Township, which land was
 known as the J. Quast farm. He has remodeled the barn and out-buildings on
 this place and improved the land, and is now carrying on general farming and
 dairying there, having the place well stocked with Holstein cattle. He has created
 a fine reputation for himself here as a progressive farmer and a valuable citizen;
 he took an active part in all the Liberty Loan and Red Cross drives during the
war and has always been a booster for Wood County. He has served as director
 in School District No. 4, and can always be found in the van in any moves made
for the betterment of his community. Nov. 20, 1895, at Monroe, Wis., Mr.
 McDonald married Clara Johnson, who was born July 18, 1876 at Wiota, Lafayette
 County, daughter of John and Ellen (Hanson) Johnson. Mrs. McDonald's
 parents were born in Norway, and came to America in 1866; they were engaged
in farming in Lafayette County until their deaths; the father passed away in
 1883, and the mother, who was born July 10, 1846, died Nov. 18, 1920. Mr. and
 Mrs. Johnson were the parents of eight children: Carrie, John, Clara, Henry,
 Anna, Jane, Oscar and Caroline. Carrie is now Mrs. Henry Gudmunson and
lives in South Dakota; John is a resident of Zahl, N. D.; Clara is Mrs. McDonald;
 Henry is farming in Lafayette County, Wis.; Anna is Mrs. Bennett Johnson,
,of Wiota, Wis.; Jane is the wife of William Gierhart, of Turtle Lake, Wis.; Oscar
.and Caroline are deceased. Mr. and Mrs. McDonald have nine children: Lela
 M., born Feb. 17, 1897; Esther M., Oct. 25, 1898; Willard E., March 3, 1900:
Verda R., Aug. 12, 1902; Olive E., Oct. 29, 1904; Clara A., March 29, 1910; Forest
 E., May 31, 1912; Bernice F., Aug. 17, 1917; and Theodore H., Jan. 30, 1922.
 Of these, the five youngest are living at home; Esther, Willard and Verda are
living in Milwaukee. Lela M. is now Mrs. Ralph Lienberger, of South Wayne,
r iS iiiir i+.i
         ill ii      !:^ ~ :i Q      iiiiii .
                    <11 'i~ :i : iiiii :l .         |

 ''~ .s,. :|
ii..... ii1i1 l
 E .:
-- C!             gA~ii~                         ::'''''''
                          HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY                                 687

Wis., and is the mother of three children, Marion G., Donald R., and Delores E.
    John G. Pavlik, proprietor of a flourishing shoe and harness shop in Milladore,
where he has been established for the last 26 years, and is recognized as a prominent
factor in the business, social and governmental life of the village, was born in
Kewaunee County, Wisconsin, April 24, 1869. His parents, Andrew and Mary
Pavlik, came to Wisconsin about 1867, while still unmarried, locating in Kewaunee
County. Andrew was a shoemaker and for many years contentedly followed
his trade until no longer able to do so on account of blindness. He is still living,
but without the company of his faithful wife, as she died Aug. 10, 1912. They
had five sons and five daughters, and of these ten children nine are now living,
namely, Mary, Anna, Sophie, Rosa, Dora, Joseph, Wenzel, Andrew and John.
Matthew is deceased. John G. Pavlik was reared in Kewaunee County, this
state, where he attended school until ten years old. At that early age he began
an apprenticeship in his father's shop to the shoemaker's trade. After working
at it there for 12 years, he went to Oconto, Wis., where he spent one year in a
lumber yard, and five years in a shoe store conducted by Daniel O'Keef. In
1896 he came to Milladore and opened his present shop, where he carries a full
line of ready-made shoes, does general shoemaking and repairing, and is also
engaged in harness work. For many years he has been well established, and by
honest business methods has gained the confidence of the community and enjoys
a profitable trade. He is a stockholder in the local telephone company. Mr.
Pavlik was instrumental, with George Hooper, in building up the Milladore school,
and he has served as school clerk for 23 years. He is a member of the Catholic
congregation and was one of the organizers of the local lodge of Catholic Foresters.
On Jan. 23, 1894 Mr. Pavlik was married in Kewaunee County to Mary Hruska,
daughter of Christopher and Katie Hruska, the parents being natives of Bohemia
and early settlers in Kewaunee County. The mother is now dead and the father
is living with a daughter at Oconto. Mr. and Mrs. Pavlik are the parents of
five children, two sons and three daughters, namely, Andrew, Edward, Martha,
Agnes and Milada. Andrew is section foreman on the railroad at Stevens Point.
Edward is on the section at Milladore. Martha married Reinhardt Klinkbaiel,
and lives at Schofield, Marathon County; Agnes is engaged in teaching and Milada
is attending high school. Two of the boys, Andrew and Edward have military
records in World War service. Andrew enlisted in 1917, in the Engineer Corps;
trained at Houston, Texas; was transferred to the 123d Field Artillery, and sailed
for France May 24, 1918. There he served in the 32d and 33d Divisions, seeing
action in the Meuse-Argonne and elsewhere. After the armistice was signed he
was with the army of occupation in Germany. He returned home and received
an honorable discharge in July, 1919. Edward enlisted in 1918, and went to
Beloit, Wis., where he was in training several months. He was discharged after
the armistice.
    Owen Oliver, real estate promoter and builder, residing at Vesper, Wood
County, was born in Waukesha County, Wisconsin, May 28, 1864, son of Owen
and Margaret (Rees) Oliver. The parents were natives of Wales who were brought
to America when very young by their respective parents, and were reared in
Waukesha County, this state, where they were ultimately married. Owen Oliver,
Sr., engaged in general farming, which was his chief occupation for the rest of
his life. In 1866 he purchased a farm in Waukesha County from Frank Duffy,
and this farm is still owned and conducted by the family. He died June 4, 1899,
and was survived by his wife until Nov. 19, 1913; both passed away on the old
farm. It is worthy of note that their respective parents, Mr. and Mrs. Robert
Oliver and Mr. and Mrs. Thomas S. Rees, came to Waukesha County at an early
day and took up government land. Mr. and Mrs. Owen Oliver, Sr., were the
parents of nine children, six of whom are living, the other three having died in
infancy. The survivors are: Owen, Jr., subject of this sketch; Mary, who is
now Mrs. D. C. Jones; Robert, Margaret, Ruth and Elizabeth, the last mentioned
being now Mrs. Evan G. Thomas. All but Owen reside in Waukesha County.
Owen Oliver, Jr., was educated in the Farmers McGee School, which was only
688                   HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY

a short distance from the Oliver farm. It is a matter of interest that he now
has in his possession a contract signed by his mother when a girl of 16 years to
teach that same district school where in later years her son was to obtain his educa-
tion. After doing so he remained on the home farm until 21 years old and then
took up and learned telegraphy at Genesee in Waukesha County. For ten years
he was employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway as operator at
various stations. In 1896 Mr. Oliver gave up that occupation and took up the
real estate business'at Waukesha. On Aug. 17, 1897 he came to Vesper, Wood
County, and established offices and headquarters here, since which time he has
devoted his entire efforts to locating settlers in Wood County, and assisting them
to build up their homes. In 1914 he established a colony of Hollanders, practically
in one string or row, in Green Valley and Milladore Township; the colony, in-
cluding elders and children, numbers 66 people in all.. Mr. Oliver has bought
and sold thousands of acres of land in the community, and in the last 25 years
has seen the county grow and develop to a wonderful extent, He is himself one
of Wood County's representative citizens, having been an active factor in its
upbuilding, and he has always taken a practical interest in works of public im-
provement and the welfare of the community. He is a member of the board of
education of Vesper, belongs to Robert Morris Lodge, No. 113, A. F. & A. M.,
of Eagle, Wis., and he and his family are affiliated with the Congregational Church.
Mr. Oliver was married Dec. 25, 1900, to Lydia Pfeiffer, of Monroe, Green County,
Wis., where she was born Nov. 12, 1871. He and his wife are the parents of one
child, Lawrence Herbert, who was born Nov. 22, 1906, and is now a student in
the high school.
    B. R. Downing, who has made a good start as a general farmer and dairyman
in Dexter Township, was born in Greenboro, Vt., March 8, 1874, son of Solomon
and Nancy (Miles) Downing. The parents were natives of Vermont and were
of English ancestry, with a little Dutch blood on the father's side. The paternal
ancestors settled in that state at an early date, and the grandfather there cleared
and developed a farm. Solomon Downing, who also was a farmer, resided in
Vermont until he came to Dexterville, Wis., in 1883, his wife and family joining
him here in the following year. Here he built a hotel which he and his wife con-
ducted for the rest of their lives, his death taking place in 1889 and hers in 1918,
nearly 30 years later. They had seven children, two of whom are now living:
B. R. and Etta, the latter being the widow of Guy Prentice of Enumclou, Wash.
B. R. Downing was ten years old when he came to Wisconsin, and for several
years he attended school in Dexterville. He then went to work on the Hiles
railroad as fireman and remained thus occupied until the road was sold to the
 C. M. & St. P. Railway, and for a short time afterwards. Then for six years he
 operated a butcher shop in Dexterville and another at Nekoosa. After that he
 was engaged for four years logging for the Hiles Land & Lumber Co. In 1921
 he bought 160 acres of land in Dexter Township and engaged in general farming
 and dairying. He is working hard to improve his place, and, considering the
 short time he has been here and the unfavorable conditions during the past year,
 is making satisfactory progress. The general improvement of business which
 has already begun is sufficient warrant for of his future success. Mr. Downing
 was married in Dexterville, July 31, 1895, to Bertha Hildebrandt, who was born
 in Germany, Dec. 23, 1878, daughter of Carl and Hannah Hildebrandt, the parents
 being natives of Germany. The mother is deceased but the father still living.
 They had six children who are now living. To Mr. and Mrs. Downing 11 children
 have been born, of whom the nine living are Guy, Julia, Lottie, Harold, Gertrude,
 Bert, Henry, Paul and Donald. Lloyd and Ira are deceased. Mr. Downing
 served four years as supervisor of Dexter Township, where he is well-known and
 equally well liked.
     August D. Daemmrich, one of the pioneers in the development of Wood
 County, was born May 21, 1842 in Saxony, Germany. He followed the occupa-
 tion of basket-maker in Germany until 1885, when he came to the United States.
 Here he worked for the first year in a cotton mill in New York, and in the fall of
                          HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY                                689

  1886 came to Wood County, where he bought 40 acres in Section 28, Wood Town-
 ship. This was all wild land, and the country was a wilderness; in the region
 west of the Yellow River, where Mr. Daemmrich's property was located, there
 were no roads except foot-paths through the woods; and there were obstacles
 and hardships on every hand. Undaunted by these, however, Mr. Daemmrich
 erected a small frame house and log barn and set to work to develop his property.
 Being a man of industry and initiative he was successful in this great task. Five
 years after coming here he bought a second 40-acre tract in the same section, to
 which he moved his home, erecting a frame house; he also developed this property,
 making it his home until 1889, when he sold his holdings to his sons and took a
 trip to his native land. On returning from this visit he bought a house in the city
 of Pittsville, where he took up his home. Mr. Daemmrich was married in Germany
 to Wilhelmina Wolfe, and to them ten children were born, two of whom died in
 infancy; those living are, Robert, Herman, Selma, Paul, Fred, Clara, Albert,
 and Lydia. Selma is now Mrs. Bruno Perner, of Pittsville; Clara is the wife of
 B. E. Walter, of Reedsburg, Wis. Fred, Herman and Paul, who were all born
 in Germany, came to the United States with their parents when young, and all
 three helped to clear and improve the farm in Wood County; this property they
 bought from the father in 1889, and they have since carried on its operation.
 They have brought its development to a very high point; in 1914 they built a
 stucco residence with eight rooms and bath, and they have installed gas lights
 in both house and barn; the barn, which they erected in 1907, is 34 by 80 feet
 in dimension, with 16 foot posts and a lean to 24 by 50 having 14-foot posts; this
 building is provided with a full basement and all modern equipment. The three
 brothers, with their mother and their sister Lydia keeping house for them, are
 operating the property along thoroughly modern lines, and have been very suc-
 cessful. They have added to the area of the farm since the original purchase
from the father, and now own 120 acres of cleared and fully improved farm land;
the mother also owns 40 acres in Section 29. They have a herd of 30 Guernsey
 cattle with a pure-bred sire at the head, and are milking 20 cows. Fred Daemmrich
was township clerk for six years and a member of the township board of super-
visors for two years; he is clerk of School District No. 6. He has taken an active
part in business affairs, and is connected with the Sigel, Seneca, and Rudolph
Mutual Fire Insurance Co. The notable success of the Daemmrich family in
Wood County is a fine example of what can be done by hard work and perseverance.
On first coming here they had little property beyond their team of oxen, and
father and sons worked in the lumber woods and in saw mills and stave and heading
mills in order to get money to keep up the home and continue the development
of their farm; what they have to-day was built up solely by their own efforts.
    Louis E. Livernash, a pioneer farmer in Wood County, and representative
of a family well-known in this section of the country, was born in Centralia (now
a part of Wisconsin Rapids) Wis., son of Louis and Delight (Babba) Livernash.
The parents were natives of New York State; the mother came to Watertown,
Wis., with her parents when she was eight years old and remained there until
her marriage, in 1855; the father came to the same city in the early 50's. They
removed to Wood County a few months after their marriage, driving through
with a team of oxen, and settled at Rudolph on 80 acres of wild land in Section
9. About 1869 they moved to Centralia, where Mr. Livernash, Sr., followed
the trade of carpenter for a short time, after which they returned to the farm in
Rudolph Township, and lived there until Mr. Livernash died, Nov. 2, 1901. He
took an active part in all public affairs and served for many years on township
and county boards, and in various capacities relating to the administration of
the school system. An excellent violinist, he was always in demand at the social
affairs of the pioneer community, and was known throughout the entire region.
Always ready to lend a helping hand to the new settlers as they arrived, he was a
very real factor in the development of the county. After his death his widow,
Mrs. Delight Livernash, made her home with her son Isadore at Wausau, Wis.,
until she died, Jan. 29, 1920. She was also very widely known throughout Wood
690                   HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY

County, and surrounding territory; she was one of those rare characters whose
delight it was to lighten the burdens of all about her, and to make their sorrows
hers. Living in a community where there were no doctors within a radius of
nine miles, when sickness visited the homes the first thoughts of the striken were
of her, and no matter what the weather or the circumstances she was always ready
to fare forth on these missions of mercy. A devout follower of Christ, she often
walked the nine miles through the woods to attend Mass at Grand Rapids, there
being then, no church in Rudolph; and she taught most of the children of her
community their prayers and catechism in both French and English. She was
deeply enshrined in the hearts of all, and her passing was a source of widely felt
grief. Mr. and Mrs. Livernash, Sr. were the parents of 13 children, six of whom
are now living, Mrs. Charles Fox, of Rudolph, Mrs. William McKindley, of Osakis,
 Minn., Louis Livernash, of Rudolph, Isadore of Wausau, William, is dead, and
 George, of South Dakota. Louis Livernash, Jr. was educated in Rudolph; after
 finishing school he worked for his father and later learned the stave manufacturing
 business, which he followed for 15 years, mostly in the employ of R. T. Doud.
 In April, 1896 he bought 49 acres of wild land in Section 3, of Rudolph Township,
 and from this built up the property he is now operating, having cleared the entire
 tract and erected a good set of buildings, enabling him to carry on mixed farming
 and dairying along modern lines; he has a pure-bred sire at the head of his herd
 of Holstein cattle, and has had a very successful career. Jan. 13, 1884, at Grand
 Rapids, (now Wisconsin Rapids) he married Selina Akey, who was born in Rudolph,
 this county, Oct. 28, 1865, daughter of John and Percelle (Rayome) Akey. Mrs.
 Livernash's parents were natives of Montreal, Canada, and came to the United
 States in 1865, settling at Rudolph; they at one time owned nearly all the land
 which is now the site of the village. Mr. Akey's name also is closely associated
 with the history of the development of this part of the county; operating a farm
 here for many years, he was a very active and useful citizen during the most critical
  stage of this development and was a strong worker in the interests of the com-
 munity. He retired from his farm in 1919, and built a home in the village of
  Rudolph, where he still resides; Mrs. Akey passed away March 11, 1922; they
  were the parents of eight children: Selina, wife of Mr. Livernash, subject of this
  sketch; Louis, now deceased; Adelina, who is Mrs. Carl Yetter, of Tomahawk,
  Wis.; Armine, now Mrs. Barney St. Denis, of Wisconsin Rapids, Laura, wife of
  John Weyers of Rudolph; Frank, of Rudolph; Aurelia, now Mrs. Charles Karnatz,
  of Milwaukee; and Alice, who is now Mrs. Fred Piltz, of Rudolph. Mr. and Mrs.
  Livernash are the parents of three children: Mamie, who married Albert Scott
  and lives in Tomahawk, Wis.; Edmund, a farmer in Portage County; and Ella,
  who lives at home. The family are members of the Catholic Church. Mr.
  Livernash is a stockholder in the Farmers & Merchants Bank at Rudolph, and
  in the Rudolph Telephone Company.
      Richard H. Greunke, proprietor of the Brookside Cheese Factory in Milladore
  Township, was born in Germany, Aug. 2, 1880. His parents, Frederick and
  Ernestine (Kuschel) Greunke, came to America in the spring of 1882, and settled
  on a farm in Dupont Township, Waupaca County, Wis., near Clintonville.
  Richard Greunke grew up on this place, attending school until 14 years of age,
  and then helping his father in the work of the farm until he was 21. He then
  worked in the sawmills and lumber woods during the winters and on farms through
  the summers until 1905, when he bought an improved 80-acre farm in Belle Plaine
   Township, Shawano County, which he operated until the fall of 1910, when he
   sold it. In 1911, with his brother Otto he started in the manufacture of cheese;
  in November of that year he went to Madison and enrolled at the State Agri-
   cultural School for the course in dairying, upon completion of which he went to
   Chili, Wis. After a few months there he went to McMillan, in Marathon County,
   Wis., and bought a cheese factory; he was there from July 16, 1912, until March,
   1915, when he came to Milladore Township, Wood County, and bought his present
   business, the Brookside Cheese Factory; the previous owner was Elmer Hitzke.
  This factory has a capacity of 12,500 pounds of milk daily, and in 1920 Mr. Greunke

                           HISTORY.OF WOOD COUNTY                                  691
  bought 1,742,265 pounds of milk and manufactured 166,821 pounds of cheese.
   March 28, 1906, Mr. Greunke married Anna Wepner, daughter of Fred and Pauline
   (Baeske) Wepner. Mrs. Greunke was born at Hurley, Wis., March 3, 1888,
  'one of a family of six children of whom the eldest five are now living; her parents,
  now living retired in Clintonville, Wis., were farmers in Waupaca County, having
   come there about 1892. Eight children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Greunke:
  Ella M., Feb. 7, 1907; Alma M., Nov. 30, 1908; Leonard A., Dec. 15, 1910; Irma
  A., Dec. 26, 1912; Estella E., Nov. 6, 1914; Helen P., Nov. 23, 1916; Viola M.,
  April 19, 1919; and Armin R., April 16, 1921. The family are affiliated with the
  Lutheran Church at Auburndale. Mr. Greunke has conducted his business in
  an honorable and efficient manner, and has gained the full confidence of the com-
      Peter Vander Ploeg, owner of the Village View Farm in Arpin Township,
  was born in Holland Nov. 25, 1872, son of Allie and Pietge (Noorde) Vander Ploeg.
  The parents were natives of Holland, and were prosperous farmers there for many
  years. The father still operates a small tract of land there, being now in his 80th
  year; the mother passed away in 1918. They were the parents of six children:
  Gertrude, now Mrs. A. Osenga, of Arpin Township, Wood County; Peter, subject
  of this sketch; Fred, who still lives in Holland; Bessie, now Mrs. John Vander
  Ploeg, of Holland; Lucy, now Mrs. Hassel Meyer, of Holland; and Rena, now
  Mrs. Richard Hoekstra, also of Holland. Peter Vander Ploeg received his educa-
 tion in Holland and after working for his parents and others for a time came to
 the United States in 1892. On arriving here he proceeded direct from New York
 to Racine County, Wis., where he worked for one year on farms and for two years
  as railroad section man, then for one year in a tile factory and for four years in
 the construction of tile ditches. In 1900 he came to Wood County and bought
 40 acres of wild land in Section 25, Arpin Township, to which he later added
 .another 40-acre tract. He erected a frame house and a log barn and proceeded
 to establish his home on this property. By years of faithful effort he brought
 it to a fine point of development; in 1909 he erected a 30 by 78 foot barn with
  16 foot beam, and in 1913 he built a good residence. He cleared 70 acres of the
 land, and carried on general farming and dairying, gradually working more into
 the pure-bred cattle industry. In 1918 he sold the property thus built up and
 bought 128 acres of partly improved land in Section 22, of Arpin Township. This
 he has made into one of the finest properties in the township. In 1918 he built
 a fine modern barn on it, 36 by 80 feet, with basement, and furnished with James
 equipment. The farm as it now exists, together with his methods of operation,
 furnish a fine example to encourage and teach others in the maintainance of high-
 grade cattle, which industry means much to the future of Wood County. Mr.
 Vander Ploeg has also furnished an excellent example in citizenship; he has helped
 to build many miles of road through this portion of the county, and has always
 stood ready to render every possible assistance to new settlers; he has been a
 constant "booster" for his township and county. He served as director of the
 school board of District No. 3, in Arpin Township for several years, and he has
been president of the Arpin Community Club since 1921. He was one of the
 organizers of the Midway Cheese Factory, which was owned by himself, Mr.
Ardeen Osenga, and two others until 1914, when Mr. Vander Ploeg and Mr. Osenga
 purchased the interest of the other two stockholders and subsequently operated
 the plant until 1920, Mr. Vander Ploeg being president of the new organization
up to the time of selling.       May 6, 1893, at Union Grove, Wis., Mr. Vander Ploeg
 was united in marriage with Miss Rena Terpstra, daughter of Simon and Tena
 (Swart) Terpstra. Mrs. Vander Ploeg's parents were natives of Holland and came
to the United States in 1907, making their home with Mr. and Mrs. Vander Ploeg
until they were claimed by death. Seven children have been born to Mr. and
 Mrs. Vander Ploeg: Mary, Allie, Tena, Simon, Laura, Rena, and Bessie. Mary
is now living in Gresham, Neb. Tena is Mrs. John Johnson of Nekoosa, Wood
County. The other children are living with their parents, Allie and Simon being
in partnership with their father in the dairy business. The family are members
692                   HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY

of the Congregational church at Arpin, and Mrs. Vander Ploeg is a member of the
Ladies Aid Society.
     Peter P. Bymers, a prosperous young farmer of Arpin Township, was born
in La Crosse County, Wis., July 30, 1896, son of Paul and Elizabeth (Rolsma)
Bymers. The parents, natives of Holland, were early settlers of Arpin Township,.
Wood County. Peter P. Bymers received his education in the district schools.
of Wood County and remained at home until 1913. For the next two years he
worked in the cheese factory operated by his brother John, but finding that the inside,
work affected his health he went to South Dakota at the end of that time and worked
there during the harvest and threshing season. He came home at the close of the
 season, but returned to South Dakota in February of the following year, 1917,
and remained there until that year's developments in world events induced him
to enter the military service. He enlisted in Milwaukee on May 27, 1917, in the
 Marine Corps, and was sent to Paris Island, S. C., to receive training. Aug.
 1. 1917, he went from there to Quantico, Va., and remained at the latter point,.
 assigned to the 6th Regiment, 83rd Company, until he sailed with that organization
 on the steamer Von Steuben, bound for Brest, France. He trained at Bordeaux,.
until Jan. 1, 1918, and was then sent to the Verdun front, where his organization
remained back of the trenches until March and then went into the line, remaining
for one month, after which they were called out and again placed in training. On
 Decoration Day they were called to the Chateau Thierry front, and, arriving there
 June 1, 1918, they remained in action in that sector for twelve days. They were
 then on the Soissons front for a short time, and returned to that front after taking
 part in the great Fourth of July parade in Paris. During their second assignment
 to the Soissons front they were in the big drive of July 18 and 19, and held the line
 there until July 28, after which they spent a month in rest and training. Sept. 1,
 they were sent to the St. Mihiel front, where, on Sept. 8, Mr. Bymers received an
 infection which resulted in blood-poisoning and placed him in the hospital, where
 he remained during the rest of his stay in France. Feb. 1, 1919, he sailed from
 Bordeaux; he landed in the United States Feb. 15, and was discharged at Quan-
 tico, Va., May 1, 1919. Returning home, he worked for his brother John again
 until July, and then took charge of the 80-acre farm his father had purchased for
 him in Section 36, of Arpin Township. He has since carried on general farming
 and dairying, having a good herd of Holstein cattle including 12 pure-breds. He
 has established an ecxellent record in the operation of this property. Mr. Bymers
 was married Dec. 16, 1920, at Wisconsin Rapids, to Rena Hoekstra, daughter of
 Peter and Nellie (Tjepkema) Hoekstra. Mr. and Mrs. Bymers have one child,.
 Howard E., who was born Nov. 15, 1921.
      Paul Bymers, who took a prominent part in the early settlement of Arpin
 Township and is now living retired in Sigel Township, was born Feb. 27, 1857, in
 Holland. His parents, John and Clara (Grafstra) Bymers, were natives of Hol-
  land, the father being a farmer in that country. They came to America in 1885,
 and in 1886 bought 80 acres of land in La Crosse County, Wis., meantime making.
 their home with the son Paul, subject of this sketch. They remained on their farm
  in La Crosse County for two years, after which they sold it and made their home
  in New Amsterdam until death; the father died Sept. 5, 1907, and the mother
  Feb. 5, 1916. They were the parents of six children: Hattie, now Mrs. Peter
  De Boer of La Crosse County; Peter, of northern Minnesota; Hessel, of South
  Dakota; Garrett, of La Crosse County, Wis.; Weiger, of South Dakota; and Paul.
  Paul Bymers received his education in Holland and worked there as a laborer until
  1883, when he came to America; landing at New York, he proceded direct to
  New Amsterdam, in La Croses County, this state, bought a home there, and re-
  mained there for three years, working in the village. In 1884 he rented a farm in
  the township of Holland, which he made his home until 1898, when he came to
  Wood County; here he bought 80 acres of wild land in Section 35 of Arpin Town-
  ship, and preceded to build up a farm out of this property. The only roads in
  those early days were the old logging trails, and to get his household goods and stock
  to the new home Mr. Bymers followed these from Cahil Switch, between Vesper
                        HISTORY OF WOOD COUNTY                                   693

and Arpin. They erected a small home, buying the lumber from the Arpin Lumber
Co., and until its construction was completed lived in a deserted logging camp
known as Camp No. 1. In spite of the obstacles Mr. Bymers made rapid progress
in developing his property. He cleared 40 acres, fenced the entire 80, and erected
 a set of modem buildings, thus building up a first-class farm; and being a man of
broad vision, he did not confine his efforts to this service alone, but interested
himself in all maters relating to the general development of the region. He
built roads through the wilderness; he was active in securing educational facilities;
he encouraged the immigration of new settlers to this section of the country, and
those that came in he helped to get a start. For all of these things he will long be
remembered, and a heavy debt of gratitude is due him by those who today enjoy
the prosperity of the region in whose development he played an important part.
Mr. Bymers made his home on the farm he had built up in Arpin Township until
1913, when he sold it and retired from active life, buying a home in Vesper, where
he resided until 1919, in which year he bought a farm for his son Peter in Arpin
*Township, subsequently making his home with him there until Mrs. Paul Bymrrs'
d.eath Nov. 2, 1920. Since this time he has made his home with his son John in
Sigel Township. Mr. Bymers was married in Holland, April 13, 1882, to Eliza-
beth Rolsma. Mr. and Mrs. Bymers are the parents of three children: John, a
record of whose life follows this sketch; William, of Portage County; and Peter,
now farming in Arpin Township, this county. The family are affiliated with the
Christian Reformed Church, and are well known members of the social life of the
     John Bymers, proprietor of the Hillside Cheese Factory in Sigel Township,
was born in La Crosse County, Wis., May 22, 1883, son of Paul and Elizabeth
 (Rolsma) Bymers, whose sketch precedes this. He was educated in La Crosse
County and came to Wood County with his parents in 1898, remaining with them
-on the farm until he was 25 years of age. He then entered the Fairview Dairy
Association factory to learn the manufacture of cheese, and after ten months with
them enrolled for the dairying course in the State University at Madison, from
which course he graduated in 1908. He then took charge of a cheese factory
in Iowa County, Wis., and after a short time there returned home and assumed
charge of the Fairview Dairy Association factory, remaining with them for two years
and nine months. In the fall of 1911 he and G. H. Ten Pas organized the Hill-
side Cheese Factory and in 1914 Mr. Bymers bought out the interest of Mr.
Ten Pas and has since been sole proprietor and manager. In 1912 he and Mr.
G. H. Ten Pas started the Sigel Cheese Co. and operated this also for the two
following years.    He then bought Mr. Ten Pas' interest in that factory and op-
erated it one year, then sold. The Hillside factory in Sec. 5, Sigel Township,
erected in the fall and winter of 1911-12, was equiped with thoroughly modern
machinery and electric lighting.     In 1918 an addition 30x30 feet was built for
the making of cheese and since that time the former factory has been used for a
making room. The first day of operation, May 11, 1912, 2,700 pounds of milk
were bought; on the same date in 1922 the amount purchased was 13,800 pounds.
The daily cheese output at first was 280 pounds; May 11, 1922, the output was
1,242 pounds. The total pounds of milk bought in 1921 was 3,450,153; butter
fat, 120,920 pounds; cheese manufactured, 325,207 pounds; whey cream received,
16,869 pounds; butter fat in cream, 7,830 pounds. The product is all sold to the
Blodgett Company at Marshfield.         Mr. Bymers was married at Wisconsin
Rapids May 11, 1909, to Emma Smith, daughter of John and Louisa (Mollet)
Smith. Mrs. Bymers' parents were natives of Holland; in 1888 they went
to South America, from which place they came to the United States in 1891,
settling in Henry County, Ill. In 1899 they came to Wood County and bought
.80 acres of wild land in Section 24 of Arpin Township, subsequently building the
property up into a modern, well-improved farm. Mr. Smith passed away Sept.
17,1911, and since his death Mrs. Smith has carried on the farm with the assistance
,of her children. Mr. and Mrs. Smith were the parents of fourteen children, five of
whom now survive, as follows: Thomas, living at home; Emma, wife of Mr. Bymers,
                                                                                    History of Wood County Wisconsin - Link Page

                                 History of Wood County Wisconsin - Link Page
    PREVIOUS...CH. XXXII BIOGRAPHY PART 14................................................................637
    NEXT.......CH. XXXII BIOGRAPHY PART 16................................................................694

Shared By: