Butkus Award Semifinalist Nominees by nuhman10


									                                                                                    Contact: Ron Arp

                       NOMINEES ANNOUNCED

CHICAGO – (October 21, 2010) – Collegiate and high school nominees were announced today for
the 26th Annual Butkus Award® honoring the nation’s top football linebackers, at a Butkus
Foundation Charity Fundraiser here.

The 15 collegiate semi-finalist nominees include three who were nominated last year: Greg Jones
of Michigan State; Travis Lewis of Oklahoma, and; Von Miller of Texas A&M, along with Manti Te’o
of Notre Dame, who won the high school Butkus Award in 2008. The 12 nominees for the high
school Butkus Award are from 11 states with two from Georgia. Finalists will be announced
November 23, and winners notified by December 8. Meanwhile, the Butkus Award professional
trophy winner will be announced in early 2011.

“This Award is about honoring linebackers, and reminding them that they have a responsibility to
serve as role models and to give back to society,” said Dick Butkus, the legendary Pro Football Hall
of Fame linebacker.

Collegiate 2010 Butkus Award nominees:
 Akeem Ayers, UCLA
 Bruce Carter, North Carolina
 Mason Foster, Washington
 Mario Harvey, Marshall
 Don’t’a Hightower, Alabama
 Justin Houston, Georgia
 Nate Irving, North Carolina State
 Greg Jones, Michigan State
 Luke Kuechly, Boston College
 Travis Lewis, Oklahoma
 Casey Matthews, Oregon
 Von Miller, Texas A&M
 Keenan Robinson, Texas
 Sean Spence, Miami (Fla.)
 Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

        18920 NE 227 Ave., Brush Prairie, WA 98606 360.601.2991 www.butkusfoundation.org
High School 2010 Butkus Award nominees:
 Stephone Anthony, Anson High, Wadesboro, NC
 Shannon Brown, Cook County High, Adel, GA
 Brent Calloway, Russellville, AL
 Trey DePriest, Springfield, OH
 Steve Edmond, Daingerfield, TX
 Christian French, JF Kennedy High, Cedar Rapids, IA
 Curtis Grant, Hermitage High, Richmond, VA
 C.J. Johnson, Philadelphia, MS
 Anthony Sarao, Holy Spirit High, Absecon, NJ
 Tony Steward, Pedro Menendez High, St. Augustine, FL
 Lawrence Thomas, Renaissance High, Detroit, MI
 James Vaughters, Tucker, GA

Butkus wants the Butkus Award® to draw attention to the I Play Clean™ campaign, which aims to
end steroid use in organized sports. He encourages past and current athletes, coaches and fans to
pledge their support at www.iplayclean.org. That campaign is presented by Old Spice, and
receives sports nutrition support from Abbott Nutrition’s EAS brand. The Butkus Foundation also
supports the Butkus Center for Cardiovascular Wellness that strives to control heart disease
through early detection and preventive lifestyle modification.

The Butkus Award is selected by a 51-person panel comprised of scouts, coaches and journalists.
Selectors follow all rules of their leagues, including limitations on contact with players. Individual
votes remain completely confidential.

Butkus Award winners in 2009 included Patrick Willis of the San Francisco 49ers and the first
person to win the collegiate and pro award, Rolando McClain of Alabama (now Oakland Raiders),
and Jordan Hicks of Lakota West High School near Cincinnati (now University of Texas).

Considered one of the greatest football players in history, Butkus was inducted into the Pro Football
Hall of Fame in 1979, following an illustrious career with the Chicago Bears, University of Illinois
and Chicago Vocational School. Meanwhile, his son Matt was a defensive lineman for the
University of Southern California’s 1990 Rose Bowl winning team, and joins his father in
philanthropic efforts. More information is at www.thebutkusaward.com

The Butkus Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association, a coalition of the
major collegiate awards. More information is available at www.NCFAA.org.

         18920 NE 227 Ave., Brush Prairie, WA 98606 360.601.2991 www.butkusfoundation.org

To top