Abraham Maslow - DOC - DOC by wulinqing


									                                    Abraham Maslow

       Abraham Maslow (1908 – 1970) was born in Brooklyn, New York. He had seven

siblings of which he was the eldest... His parents were Jewish immigrants from Russia

and expected him to do well in his studies and be successful in the land of opportunity.

Maslow first studied law at the City College of New York, transferring to Cornell

University and then back to New York. He received his B.A. in psychology in 1930, his

M.A. in psychology in 1931 and his PhD. in psychology in 1934. Dr. Maslow married

his first cousin, Bertha Goodman, and had two children. (Boeree 2006)

       Early in his career, Maslow studied with Harry Harlow and aided in research with

Rhesus monkeys and observations of their behavior dealing with attachment. According

to (Boeree 2006), it was during this time that Maslow’s interest in behavior began to

increase. Dr. Maslow noticed that there were definite needs that took precedence over

others such as water, food and shelter. It was during this time period that Maslow began

to form his signature work, The Hierarchy of Needs. (Table i)

       The Hierarchy of Needs developed by Abraham Maslow affirms that we as

human beings are motivated by certain needs and that these needs are prioritized by

importance. According to Boeree, the Hierarchy of Needs model aids our understanding

of how these needs affect our everyday lives. Many different versions of Maslow’s

original model have been developed to serve business and industry as well as personnel

management entities. The original model stated that there were five stages of needs that

built on one another.

       The first of these needs is grounded in the physical domain and is labeled

Biological and Physiological. This area is concerned with the basic needs of life such as:

air, water, food, shelter, sleep, warmth, sex and etc. The next in Maslow’s Hierarchy is
the Safety needs: they include law, security, order, limits and stability, as lower order

needs are met the other needs in the hierarchy can be addressed. Belongingness and love

are the next needs in the hierarchy and include need for family, affection, relationships,

work relationships and groups. Esteem needs that include achievement, status,

responsibility and reputation are next to last in the hierarchy of needs followed by self-

actualization that includes personal growth and fulfillment.

       In this inventory of needs the previous needs must be met before progress to the

next level can begin At the lowest level of the hierarchy are psychological needs such as

hunger and thirst, which must be attended to before one can deal with safety needs; those

dealing with security and protection. The remaining levels are belonging and love, self-

esteem and the need for self-actualization. This final need can be seen in a person’s desire

to become all that he or she is capable of becoming.

       The motivation to learn is intrinsic, it emanates from the learner. Self-

actualization is the goal of learning, and educators should strive to bring this about. For

Maslow, learning is not only a form of psychology but learning contributes to

psychological health. (Chapman 2004)

       In contrast to behaviorism views, Maslow’s emphasis is on human nature, human

potential, human emotions, and effect. Maslow understood that learning involves more

than cognitive processes and overt behavior. Maslow believed that human needs build

upon one another, as one need is met and attained we as humans move on to fulfillment

of other needs. If needs are deficient or not met, we dedicate our actions toward

accomplishing them. Much of Maslow’s theory, especially his ideas surrounding the

Hierarchy of Needs, is being advanced in today’s training and adult vocational education.

The role of the teacher must be, then, to arrange the learning environment to enable the
student to fulfill his or her own unique potential through individual discovery and goal


Boeree, C. George. (2006). Abraham Maslow. Biography. Retrieved October 6, 2008,

       from http://www.webspace.ship.edu/egboer/maslow.html

Chapman, A. (2008).Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. Abraham Maslow’s Hierarchy of

       Needs motivational model. Retrieved October 6, 2008, from


Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs (original five-stage model), alan chapman 2001-4, based

       on Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. Retrieved October 6, 2008 from


                         Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs
                                (original five-stage model)

                              personal growth and fulfilment

                                     Esteem needs
                      achievement, status, responsibility, reputation

                            Belongingness and Love needs
                    family, affection, relationships, work group, etc.

                                       Safety needs
                   protection, security, order, law, limits, stability, etc.

                           Biological and Physiological needs
            basic life needs - air, food, drink, shelter, warmth, sex, sleep, etc.

According to Chapman 2004, Maslow’s development of his hierarchy of needs occurred

between 1943 and 1954. In the 1970’s other needs were added to this list and include

Cognitive – knowledge and meaning and Aesthetic – appreciation and search for beauty,

balance and form


To top