Documents
Resources
Learning Center
Upload
Plans & pricing Sign in
Sign Out

ccd

VIEWS: 20 PAGES: 3

									Latest IRS Events and News Release

Recordkeeping for Small Business/Self Employed Individuals - National Phone Forum - FREE
http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=158856,00.html#4
October 22, 2008

Learn about recordkeeping for small business/self-employed individuals:
?     What books and records are
?     Why books and records are needed
?     Who should have books and records
?     How good books and records can shorten an audit
?     How long books and records should be kept

Sign up now (and no later than October 17, 2008). Select the time below that works best for
you.
Note: Time zones shown are Daylight Saving Time.
CONFERENCE ACCESS CODE
393508 - 10:00 a.m. (EDT); 9:00 a.m. (CDT); 8:00 a.m. (MDT); 7:00 a.m. (PDT)
125274 - 1:00 p.m. (EDT); 12:00 p.m. (CDT); 11:00 a.m. (MDT); 10:00 a.m. (PDT)
725297 - 4:00 p.m. (EDT); 3:00 p.m. (CDT); 2:00 p.m. (MDT); 1:00 p.m. (PDT)

Register at the AT&T TeleConference Services Web site (www.attevent.com) by October 17,
2008. Reservations are limited, so register at the earliest date possible. You will receive a
Personal Identification Number that you must use to join the conference. If you have never
registered with AT&T for a prior phone forum, you will first need to click on create a profile. If
you require special accommodations (for example, Braille, large print or interpreter services)
please contact Shane Ferguson at nationalphoneforum@irs.gov. We will e-mail presentation
materials on October 20, 2008. If you do not receive this e-mail by noon on October 21, 2008,
e-mail us at nationalphoneforum@irs.gov to request the materials. A question and answer
period will follow the presentation. However, due to the public nature of the call, we will not
be able to address specific client issues.


For more information, visit
http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=158856,00.html#4

Renton Technical College Presents: Almost Free Biz School
http://www.rentonbizschool.com/
October 4, 2008 · 8:30am-4:00pm · Technology Resource Center, Renton Technical College
A full day of classes and a light lunch for just $18
Get help and mingle with other start-ups, would-be start-ups and small business owners as you
explore topics such as starting a successful small business, financing, accounting and
bookkeeping, marketing your small business website, using blogs, online networking and other
social media, and presentation skills. Brought to you by Renton Technical College, the RTC
Small Business Development Center, Biznik, Renton Chamber of Commerce, Southwest King
County Chamber of Commerce and the City of Renton. Saturday BizSchool is for business-
minded people, start-ups and would-be start-ups, people who sell a product or service on a
part-time basis, the self-employed and business owners with fewer than 10 employees. Attend
your choice of classes and listen, ask questions and learn from small biz owners and experts.

For more information and to register, visit http://www.rentonbizschool.com/

U.S. Small Business Administration - Workshops & Events- Seattle and Spokane Areas
http://www.sba.gov/localresources/district/wa/wa_seattle_seaspecial.html
Mark Your Calendar!! Check out the list of events and on-going Training at the SBA Education
and Training Center and other locations.


IRS Updates & News Releases:

2008 Small Business Resource Guide (SBRG) CD-ROM Out of Stock
The Small Business Resource Guide 2008 CD is out of stock. Please use the online version at
http://www.missouribusiness.net/IRS. In order to provide you with the most up to date
information, beginning in 2009, The Small Business Resource Guide will be available exclusively
online.

Tax Credit to Aid First-Time Homebuyers; Must Be Repaid Over 15 Years
http://www.irs.gov/newsroom/article/0,,id=186831,00.html
First-time homebuyers should begin planning now to take advantage of a new tax credit
included in the recently enacted Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008.
Available for a limited time only, the credit:
?      Applies to home purchases after April 8, 2008, and before July 1, 2009.
?      Reduces a taxpayer's tax bill or increases his or her refund, dollar for dollar.
?      Is fully refundable, meaning that the credit will be paid out to eligible taxpayers, even if
they owe no tax or the credit is more than the tax that they owe.
However, the credit operates much like an interest-free loan, because it must be repaid over a
15-year period.

Recent Articles from e-News for Small Businesses
Small business retirement plan deadlines
Small business owners thinking about setting up retirement plans for their employees should be
aware of important deadlines coming up in October.
A SIMPLE, or Savings Incentive Match Plan for Employees, must be established by Oct. 1 for
2008 contributions. Business owners who requested an extension to file their 2007 tax return
have until Oct. 15 to set up a SEP, or Simplified Employee Plan and take a deduction for 2007.
Related Links:
Publication 3998, Choosing a Retirement Solution for Your Small Business
IRA Online Resource Guide
Order the IRA Resource Guide on CD-ROM
Publication 560, Retirement Plans for Small Business

Fall SSA/IRS Reporter
Some of the features in the fall issue of the SSA/IRS Reporter now available on IRS.gov:
?      Social Security enhancements to Business Services Online
?      Major changes to filing Forms 1042-S and 8027 electronically
?      How to protect against identity theft
?      Guidance on employee gifts

U.S. Department of Labor new "elaws" tool
The U.S. Department of Labor new FirstStep Recordkeeping, Reporting and Notices
Advisor helps employers determine which of the department's recordkeeping, reporting, and
notice requirements (including posters) apply to them.

New Web Page for Small Businesses
Small business owners and self-employed individuals who file Schedule C will find useful links
to information on the most common issues many small business owners face. Check out the
Self-Employed Individuals Tax Center.

Order a bookmark with IRS tax information for small businesses
Publication 4667, Tax Information for Small Businesses and the Self-Employed, provides Key
Search Words to help you locate important tax information on IRS.gov quickly and easily. Order
this free laminated bookmark on the Small Business Products Online Ordering page.

Subscribe to e-News for Small Businesses
If you would like to receive e-News for Small Businesses, please visit this link to subscribe:
http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/content/0,,id=154826,00.html

Recommend e-News for Small Businesses
If you already receive e-News for Small Businesses, you can share it with a business
acquaintance, colleague or employee. Just forward this link to them to view a sample edition
and subscribe.


For other information, contact:


Kari Gilje
Stakeholder Liaison
IRS Communications, Liaison & Disclosure
Ph 206.220.5469
kari.s.gilje@irs.gov

								
To top