Florida drunk driving fines _ penalties

Document Sample
Florida drunk driving fines _ penalties Powered By Docstoc
					1st Florida DUI Offense
First Drunk Driving Conviction (Note: BAL = Blood Alcohol Level)
  •   Jail – 6 Months Maximum (BAL from .08 to less than .15)

  •   Jail - 9 Months Maximum (BAL above .15)

  •   Fine – From $500 to $1,000 (BAL from .08 to less than .15)

  •   Fine – From $1,000 to $2,000 (BAL above .15) or Minor in Vehicle

  •   License – Suspended from 180 Days to 1 Year

  •   Hardship Reinstatement – Complete DUI School Prior to Hardship Application

  •   Ignition Interlock Device – Up to 6 Months (Hardship Reinstatement BAL above.15)

  •   Community Service Fine - $10 for Each Hour of Community Service Required

  •   Community Service – 50 Hours

  •   Treatment Program May Be Allowed in Lieu of Imprisonment

  •   Vehicle Impound – 10 Days

2nd Florida DUI Offense
Second Drunk Driving Conviction (Note: BAL = Blood Alcohol Level)
  •   Jail - 9 Months Maximum (BAL from .08 to less than .15)

  •   Jail - 12 Months Maximum (BAL above .15) or Minor in Vehicle

  •   Jail – Mandatory 10 Days (If within 5 years of Previous DUI)

  •   Fine – From $1,000 to $2,000 (BAL From .08 to less than .15)

  •   Fine – From $2,000 to $4,000 (BAL Above .15) or Minor in Vehicle

  •   License – Suspended for 5 Years (If within 5 years of previous)

  •   License Suspension – Eligible for Hardship Reinstatement after 1 Year

  •   Hardship Reinstatement - Complete DUI School

  •   Ignition Interlock Device – Required for 1 Year (BAL from .08 to less than .15)

  •   Ignition Interlock Device – Required for 2 Years (BAL above .15)
   •   Vehicle Impound – 30 Days (If within 5 years of previous)



3rd Florida DUI Offense
Third Drunk Driving Conviction (Note: BAL = Blood Alcohol Level)
   •   Third Degree Felony (If Within 10 Years)

   •   Jail – Up to 12 Months

   •   Jail – Mandatory 30 Days (If 3rd Conviction within 10 Years)

   •   Fine – From $2,000 to $5,000 (BAL from .08 to less than .15)

   •   Fine –$4,000 Minimum (BAL above .15) or Minor in Vehicle

   •   License – Suspended for 10 Years (If 3rd Conviction within 10 Years)

   •   License Suspension – Eligible for Hardship Reinstatement after 2 Years

   •   Hardship Reinstatement - Complete DUI School

   •   Ignition Interlock Device - Required for 2 Years

   •   Vehicle Impound – 90 Days (If 3rd Conviction within 10 Years)

4th Florida DUI Offense
Fourth Drunk Driving Conviction
   •   Fine - $2,000 Minimum

   •   Jail – Up to 5 Years

   •   License – Suspended For Life – No Hardship Reinstatement

Drinking and Driving Laws in Florida
The State of Florida drunk driving laws prohibits driving any type of vehicle with a blood
alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or above. The .08 percent BAC limit is the standard
measurement used across the United States for the "impaired" driver. This limit is lower for
drivers of commercial vehicles (.04%) and virtually non-existent for drivers under the age of 21
(.02%).
How many drinks does it take to reach the legal limit in Florida?

There really isn't a magic formula that can calculate exactly how much you can drink before you
become legally impaired. It is safe to say that for every drink you take, your level of impairment
increases. There have been studies that have shown that you blood alcohol concentration level
goes up approximately .05 percent for each drink taken. In fact, it takes very little alcohol to
become legally drunk.

The best answer is not to drink and drive . The State of Florida has strict laws for drunk driving,
and when you drink and drive in Florida, you risk your freedom, finances and your future.
A first time conviction of drunk driving in Florida will result in up to 6 months in jail. If a minor
was in the vehicle at the time of the arrest, or if the driver had a BAC of .15 percent or higher, a
sentence of no more than 9 months in jail will be issued. Unless the family of the DUI has no
other means of transportation the vehicle will be impounded for 10 days. The convicted driver
will also receive a fine of no less than $500 and no more than $1,000. If the driver's BAC was
.15 percent or higher or there was a minor in the vehicle the fine will be no less than $1000 and
no more than $2,000. A drivers license suspension of 6 months. You will also need to do 50
hours of community service or pay $10 for every hour of community service given. You must
also complete DUI school as directed by the court.
A second drunk driving conviction in Florida will result in up to 9 months in jail. If a minor was
in the vehicle at the time of the arrest, or the driver had a BAC of .15 percent or higher, a
sentence of no more than 12 months in jail will be issued. If the second conviction of drunk
driving is within 5 years of the first, the driver must be imprisoned for 10 days mandatory, 48
hours of the confinement must be consecutive. Unless the family of the convicted driver has no
other means of transportation the vehicle will be impounded for 30 days. The convicted driver
will also receive a fine of no less than $1,000 and no more than $2,000. If the driver's BAC was
.15 percent or higher or there was a minor in the vehicle the fine will be no less than $2,000 and
no more than $4,000. If within 5 years, a minimum drivers license suspension of 5 years. If
eligible, a hardship reinstatement will may be issued after 1 year. You must also complete DUI
school as directed by the court.
A third drunk driving conviction in Florida will result in up to 12 months in jail, 30 days of the
jail sentence is mandatory and 48 hours must be served consecutively. Unless the family of the
convicted driver has no other means of transportation, the vehicle will be impounded for 90 days.
The convicted driver will also receive a fine of no less than $2,000 and no more than $5,000. If
the driver's BAC was .15 percent or higher, or a minor was in the vehicle during the DUI, the
fine will be no less than $4,000. A minimum drivers license suspension of 10 years. If eligible, a
hardship reinstatement will may be issued after 2 years.
A fourth drunk driving conviction will result in up to 5 years in jail as provided in the State of
Florida statutes as a habitual offender. On your fourth drunk driving conviction, your license will
be revoked for life, without any possibility of receiving a hardship reinstatement. The fine will
be no less than $2,000.
Drunk Driving Laws in Florida
State of Florida BAC Laws:
   •   All drivers with a BAC of .08 or higher.

   •   Under 21 with a BAC of .02 or higher.

   •   Commercial Vehicle Driver with a BAC of .04 or higher.

The Implied Consent Law in the State of Florida
The implied consent law in Florida means that all drivers holding a valid Florida drivers license
agree to submit to a chemical test when they are suspected of a DUI. If you refuse to submit to a
chemical test, that refusal is evidence in a DUI criminal proceeding. Your drivers license will be
suspended for 1 year the first refusal and 18 months for subsequent refusals. In some cases such
as DUI's that include injury or death, your blood may be forcibly taken by reasonable force by
the arresting officer.
http://www.hsmv.state.fl.us/ddl/duilaws.html#dui1
State of Florida Website - More Information on Florida DUI Laws