caste and class system in india by ashrafp


									Explain the caste and class system in
The people who took over as the most powerful culture in India after the Indus Valley
people were the Aryans from the east.

The caste is separated into four levels. The Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishyas, Shudras. The
Outcasts or Untouchables, is the fifth group that does not fit into the caste at all.

The rules as to where people belonged were very strict. People were born into a caste and
that was where they and their families stayed. People cannot marry out of their caste
(Brahmins cannot marry Kshatriyas, for example). They also had to do work appropriate
for their caste.

The Brahmins consist of priests and religious teachers and could read sacred texts of the
society - the Vedas.

The Kshatriyas consist of kings, great landlords, warriors and soldiers. Rulers came from
this caste, though it is not the most important caste. This is because Brahmins are seen as
'holy men' who were not worldly enough to make good rulers.

The Vaishyas consist of merchants, craftsmen and farmers. The Shudras consist of
servants who were people who had non-Aryan ancestors who had lived in the Indus
Valley before the Aryan invasion.

The outcasts did the worst jobs of all like butchery, street cleaning and so on. They lived
in special places in the town or village and were supposed to keep well away from people
with caste.

As well as having the worst living conditions, the outcasts were not protected by the laws
of India. They were seen as non-people.

To top