EToN 4 XML web services

Document Sample
EToN 4 XML web services Powered By Docstoc
					EToN 4 XML web services

Title: Electronic Transfer of Notices (EToN 4)

Subject: Street Works, Local Government Services

Version: 1.0

Description: All Utility works in the public highway in England and Wales (street
works) must be carried out in accordance with the requirements of the New
Roads and Street Works Act 1991 (NRSWA) and associated secondary
legislation. NRSWA prescribes various formal notices which statutory
undertakers (i.e. utility companies mainly) must serve on street authorities. To
date this process has been supported by a simple, Internet-based system known
as EToN (Electronic Transfer of Notices) involving exchange of CSV batch files
via FTP. EToN-compliant notice management systems are used by all statutory
undertakers and local highway authorities (and others) in England and Wales.
The majority of systems are supplied by a small number of commercial software
vendors, and the remainder have been developed in-house. EToN has evolved
through two major revisions to meet changes in street works legislation and has
been extended to support two-way exchange of data.

The Traffic Management Act 2004 substantially amended NRSWA, resulting in
fundamental changes to the noticing regime and the requirements for EToN. As
part of the specification for the new system (EToN 4) a decision was taken by the
Department for Transport (DfT) to move to XML web services. The new
regulations will come into force on 1 April 2008 in England and EToN 4-compliant
web services and applications must be in operation by then.

The resulting EToN 4 protocol comprises XML data schemas and web service
WSDL for exchanging notifications between works promoter and authority
systems. EToN 4 web services will support secure delivery of all notifications
(i.e. notices from works promoters, and notices, directions and restrictions from
street authorities) plus other transactions to support the operation of EToN, e.g.
exchange of organisational data. An additional web service (involving return of
data) is also defined for testing and troubleshooting purposes. Over 30 different
notification types are supported initially using 3 data schemas.

The scope of EToN 4 will be gradually extended as the implementation of the
TMA continues over the next few years.

A detailed technical specification for EToN 4 is available on the DfT website at:

WRc/JAB 12 September 2007                                                     Page 1 of 1

Shared By: