VIEWS: 169 PAGES: 2 POSTED ON: 8/13/2011
Declaration of Homestead (Check One) Married (filing joint declaration) Head of Family By Husband (filing for joint benefit or both) Single, Married, Widowed By Wife (filing for joint benefit of both) Multiple Single Persons Other: (Describe) A. (Check One) Regular Home Dwelling Mobile Home Condominium Unit Other Name on Title of Property Do individually or severally certify and declare as follows: is / are now residing on the land, premises (or mobile home) located in the City of , County of , State of Nevada, and more particularly described as follows: (Set forth legal description and commonly known street address) Assessor’s Parcel No. B. I / We claim the land and premises herein above described, together with the dwelling house thereon, and its appurtenances, or the described mobile home as a Homestead. C. (Check One) (1) No former Declaration of Homestead has been made by me, or us, or either of us. (2) This Declaration constitutes an abandonment of the former Declaration recorded . In Witness, Whereof, I / We have hereunto set my hand / our hands this day of , 20 . (Signature) (Signature) (Print or type name here) (Print or type name here) STATE OF NEVADA ) COUNTY OF ) This instrument was acknowledged before me on (Date) (Person(s) appearing before notary) (Signature of notarial officer) My commission expires: (seal, if any) CONSULT AN ATTORNEY IF YOU DOUBT THIS FORM’S FITNESS FOR YOUR PURPOSE Recording Requested by and Mail to: Space Below this Line for Recorder’s Use Only Name: Address: City / St / Zip: This form provided as a courtesy to the taxpayer by: M. W. SCHOFIELD, CLARK COUNTY ASSESSOR The Assessor’s Office assumes no liability for the completion of the Homestead Declaration. NEVADA HOMESTEAD LAW Dear Homeowner , We hope this brief summary of the Nevada Homestead Law will be of assistance to you. If you have any legal questions regarding your Declaration of Homestead, please consult your attorney. Sincerely, M. W. SCHOFIELD Clark County Assessor What The Law Provides When you record a Declaration of Homestead, Nevada law protects the equity in your home up to $125,000. This protection precludes seizure or forced sale of your residence by general creditor claims (unpaid medical bills, bankruptcy, charge card debts, business/personal loans, accidents). A creditor may file suit and can record a judgement lien against any real property you own. Recording a Declaration of Homestead protects your principal residence up to the statutory maximum. For Example, if the value of your home is $145,000 and you have a first mortgage of $85,000 plus a second mortgage of $10,000, the equity is $50,000. What Is Not Protected The Homestead Law does not protect you against debts secured by a mortgage or deed of trust, payment of taxes, IRS lien, mechanic’s lien, child support or alimony payments. Procedure For Recording Declaration of Homestead 1. Complete the Homestead Declaration form. 2. Sign in the presence of a Notary Public. 3. Take or mail the completed document to: Clark County Recorder 500 S. Grand Central Pky 2 nd Fl P.O. Box 551510 Las Vegas, NV 89155-1510 4. The recording fee is $7.00. The Recorder’s Office does not review homestead forms for legality; recording the declaration is NOT a guarantee that is has been done correctly.
Pages to are hidden for
"Declaration of Homestead Declaration"Please download to view full document