Learning Center
Plans & pricing Sign in
Sign Out

2008 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prizes CSIR Young Scientist and CSIR


  • pg 1
different primer pairs specific for the      kungunya in five out of 20 samples of        cal management of the disease in devel-
envelope glycoprotein (E1) and non-          serum. According to them, RT–PCR is          oping countries.
structural protein (nsP1) genes of the       even more sensitive than ELISA, detect-
CHIK virus. The RT mixture was used to       ing three samples CHIK-positive which
synthesize and amplify cDNA, which           were earlier ELISA-negative.                 1. Joseph et al., Indian J. Exp. Biol., 2008,
                                                                                             46, 573–578.
was then sequenced for phylogenetic             Thus, RT–PCR is a cheaper but pow-
analysis.                                    erful tool for the detection and charac-
   The entire RT–PCR procedure takes         terization of CHIK viral infection,
less than 4 h. Joseph et al. detected chi-   helping in the prompt and effective clini-                         Abhay S. D. Rajput

2008 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prizes
The Ministry of Science and Technology,      tre for Cellular and Molecular Biology,        Mathematical Sciences: Jaikumar Radha-
Government of India has recently an-         CSIR, Hyderabad.                             krishnan, Tata Institute of Fundamental
nounced the winners of the 2008 Shanti          Chemical Sciences: Pradeep Tha-           Research, Mumbai.
Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Award for sci-        lappil, Indian Institute of Technology,        Medical Sciences: Ravinder Goswami,
ence and technology. The SSB prizes          Madras and Jarugu Narasimha Moorthy,         All India Institute of Medical Sciences,
comprising a citation, a plaque and a        Indian Institute of Technology, Kan-         New Delhi.
cash award of Rs 500,000 are given           pur.                                           Physical Sciences: Raghunathan Sri-
every year to scientists below 45 years of      Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Plane-       anand, Inter-University Centre for Astro-
age. The SSB prize winners for 2008 are      tary Sciences: P. N. Vinayachandran,         nomy and Astrophysics, Pune and
as follows.                                  Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.      Srikanth Sastry, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre
   Biological Sciences: G. P. S. Raghava,       Engineering Sciences: Ranjan Kumar        for Advanced Scientific Research, Ban-
Institute of Microbial Technology, CSIR,     Mallik, Indian Institute of Technology,      galore.
Chandigarh and L. S. Shashidhara, Cen-       Delhi.                                                            Abhay S. D. Rajput

CSIR Young Scientist and CSIR Technology Awards 2008
The CSIR Young Scientist Awards for          Dilip, National Institute of Oceanogra-         Innovation: ‘Team CDRI’ of the Cen-
the year 2008 and CSIR Technology            phy, Goa and Simanchal Padhy, National       tral Drug Research Institute, Lucknow
Awards 2008 under various categories         Geophysical Research Institute, Hydera-      won this award for discovering guggul-
were given away by the Union Minister        bad.                                         sterone and developing analogues with a
for Science & Technology and Earth Sci-        Engineering Sciences: Ranjan Kumar         novel mechanism of action as hypolipi-
ences, Kapil Sibal on the occasion of the    Sahu, National Metallurgical Laboratory,     demic agents.
66th CSIR Foundation Day in New              Jamshedpur and Satyajit Vishnu Shukla,          Business Development and Techno-
Delhi.                                       National Institute for Interdisciplinary     logy Marketing: ‘Team URDIP’ of the
   The 2008 CSIR Young Scientist             Science and Technology, Thiruvanan-          Unit for Research and Development of
awardees under the different categories      thapuram.                                    Information Products, Pune won this
are as follows.                                Physical Sciences: Pankaj Poddar,          award for creating a niche in the knowl-
   Biological Sciences: Beena Pillai, Ins-   National Chemical Laboratory, Pune.          edge-based service sector.
titute of Genomics and Integrative Bio-        The winners of the CSIR Technology
logy, Delhi.                                 Awards 2008 are:
   Chemical Sciences: Subhash Ghosh,           Life Sciences: ‘Team CCMB’ of the
Indian Institute of Chemical Technology,     Centre for Cellular and Molecular Bio-       Abhay S. D. Rajput (S. Ramaseshan
Hyderabad, and Melepurath Deepa, Na-         logy, Hyderabad won this award for de-       Fellow), H. No. 59, L. No. 1, Munshi
tional Physical Laboratory, New Delhi.       veloping a polymerase chain reaction-        Chak, Opp. Old Chungi, Camp Road,
   Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Plane-       based novel, universal technique for         Talab Tillo, Jammu 180 002, India.
tary Sciences: Sinai Khandeparker Lidita     forensic applications.                       e-mail:

CURRENT SCIENCE, VOL. 96, NO. 1, 10 JANUARY 2009                                                                                    15

To top