Download - Education New Zealand by chenmeixiu


									         NCEA &
Session 3
Sarah Cornish, Education New Zealand
NCEA (National Certificate of Educational Achievement) offered at all
NZ secondary schools. It is administered by NZQA.

NCEA is the national qualification for secondary students in Years 11-
NCEA creates a pathway from secondary education to New Zealand
tertiary education. All levels are recognised by New Zealand’s
tertiary education providers

The National Qualification Framework (NQF) is a system which
integrates all New Zealand Qualifications (including University
degrees) into an overall framework. The three levels of NCEA are
the first levels of the NQF.

NCEA is New Zealand’s national qualification so is automatically
observed by offshore governments


        NCEA is the first three levels
        of the National Qualifications

New Zealand’s 21st Century assessment system, which started
in 2002 (Level 1) and has been fully implemented since 2004.

An assessment system which recognises and reports on actual

A balance between external assessment (most commonly,
examinations) marked by NZQA and internal assessment
marked by school.

A way of breaking subjects into parts (which are called
standards), and reporting on each of the standards to give a
clearer picture of what a student can do.

NCEA works like a university paper credit system. Each
standard achieved gives a certain number of credits towards
the certificate.

There are two types of standards – ‘unit standards‘ and
‘achievement standards’, both of which are used to assess
programmes taught at school.

For achievement standards you can be graded ‘achieved‘,
‘merit‘ or ‘excellence’. Achievement standards can be either
internally or externally assessed.

Unit standards have just one level of achievement - ‘achieved’.
Unit standards are internally assessed

Allows teachers to assess skills not suited to exams - such as
making a speech in English, having a conversation in languages,
doing an experiment in Science.

This is also a recognition of the difficulty that some students had
with traditional examination-based assessment.

NCEA recognises the idea of a ‘subject’ as not being fixed for all
students at all schools. Schools can now better meet the needs of
students by designing courses to meet their needs, rather than a
unified, single syllabus - eg most schools offer a range of differing
courses in Maths and English with a different mix of Achievement
and Unit Standards, and a different mix of assessment types.
The result is that NCEA provides a large amount of
Assessment information, giving a clear picture of what
a student can achieve and what they know

NCEA Level 1 is gained by achieving 80 Level 1 Credits, of which 8
  must be in English (4 in Reading and 4 in Writing) 8 must be in

NCEA Level 2 is gained by achieving 80 Credits of which 60 must
  be Level 2 credits

NCEA Level 3 is gained by achieving 80 Credits of which 60 must
  be Level 3 credits

Credits can come from either Achievement Standards or Unit
Entrance to University from NCEA

 14 Credits at Level 3 in one approved subject
 14 Credits at Level 3 in one approved subject
 14 Credits at Level 3 in no more than 2 approved subjects

 14 Credits in Mathematics at Level 1 or higher
 8 Credits at Level 2 or above in Literacy (4 in Reading & 4 in
Entrance to University from
All New Zealand secondary schools offer NCEA, which is
recognised by all New Zealand tertiary institutions.

As New Zealand’s national qualification, NCEA is also recognised
by international universities.

NCEA Level 1 is broadly equivalent to the English General
Certificate of Education (GCE).

NCEA Level 3 is equivalent to English A Levels and Australia's
Higher School Certificate (HSC).
Disadvantages to NCEA
• Results are not marked as %
• Some think it favours vocational students rather than academic
• Is a fairly new system and was introduced quickly

Advantages to NCEA
• Students can study at multiple levels
• Part of the NQF (National Qualification Framework) so can gain extra
   credits at a tertiary provider
• Mixture of internal and external assessment
       - students accumulate credits throughout the year
       - students see their progress throughout the year
       - students try hard all year instead of for 3 hours only
       - students are able to re-sit assessments that they’ve failed
Originate from Cambridge, UK so exams are marked there

CIE exams are available from 6,000 schools in 150 countries around
the world

Qualifications cover the 14 – 19 year old age bracket. Including A & O

Some New Zealand secondary schools are introducing CIE exams as
an option, in addition to the national qualification, NCEA, to give
students a choice of qualification.

  The IB is administered by a head office in Geneva and the
  Curriculum and Examinations Centre in Cardiff.

  The IB Diploma programme is available at 1,000 schools in
  nearly 100 countries

  Only 7 New Zealand schools offer IB as an option, they are a
  mixture of primary and secondary schools.

To top