the seven sacraments (PowerPoint) by suchenfz


									The Seven Sacraments of the Holy Catholic Church
    [They are divided in tree groups so to say:]

           The Sacraments of Christian Initiation




                The Sacraments of Healing

               Penance and Reconciliation

                  Anointing of the Sick

       The Sacraments at the Service of Communion

                      Holy Orders

      The Sacrament of Baptism
• Holy Baptism is the
  basis of the whole
  Christian life, the
  gateway to life in the
  Spirit, and the door
  which gives access to
  the other Sacraments.
  Through Baptism we
  are freed from sin and
  reborn as children of
  God; we become
  members of Christ, are
  incorporated into the
  Church, and made
  sharers in her mission."
 The Sacrament of Confirmation
• "By the Sacrament of
  Confirmation, the
  baptized are more
  perfectly bound to the
  Church and are
  enriched with a
  special strength of the
  Holy Spirit. Hence
  they are, as true
  witnesses of Christ,
  more strictly obliged
  to spread and defend
  the faith by word and
  deed." (CCC1285)
    The Sacrament of the Eucharist
• "At the Last Supper, on the night He was betrayed, our
   Savior instituted the Eucharistic sacrifice of His Body
     and Blood. This He did in order to perpetuate the
     sacrifice of the cross throughout the ages until He
    should come again, and so to entrust to His beloved
      Spouse, the Church, a memorial of His death and
    resurrection "a sacrament of love, a sign of unity, a
   bond of charity a Paschal banquet 'in which Christ is
   consumed, the mind is filled with grace, and a pledge
         of future glory is given to us."(CCC1323)
 The Sacrament of Penance and
• " Those who approach
     the Sacrament of
 Penance obtain pardon
  from God's mercy for
 the offense committed
  against God, and are,
     at the same time,
    reconciled with the
    Church which they
 have wounded by their
     sins and which by
   charity, by example,
  and by prayer labors
   to their conversion."
The Sacrament of the Anointing
         of the Sick
 • "By the sacred
  anointing of the sick
 and the prayer of the
   priests the whole
   Church commends
those who are ill to the
 suffering and glorified
   Lord, that He may
raise them up and save
 them. And indeed she
    exhorts them to
 contribute to the good
  of the people of God
    by freely uniting
   themselves to the
  Passion and Death of
The Sacrament of Holy Orders
• "Holy Orders is the
  Sacrament through
   which the mission
entrusted by Christ to
His apostles continues
to be exercised in the
Church until the end of
  time: thus it is the
sacrament of apostolic
 ministry. It includes
    three degrees:
   presbyterate, and
  diaconate (bishops,
  priests, deacons)."
   The Sacrament of Matrimony
• "The matrimonial
  covenant, by which a
  man and a woman
  establish between
  themselves a
  partnership of the
  whole of life, is by its
  nature ordered toward
  the good of the
  spouses and the
  procreation and
  education of offspring;
  this covenant between
  baptized persons has
  been raised by Christ
  the Lord to the dignity

To top