Docstoc

METU-list

Document Sample
METU-list Powered By Docstoc
					                                      UCD-METU LIST – October 2005

Applied Mathematics Institute

Hakan Öktem               Hybrid Systems, Multistationary Dynamics, Computational Biology, Gene
hoktem@metu.edu.tr        Networks, Networks, Dynamical Systems, Orthogonal Transforms, Image Processing.

Archeometry

Omur Bakirer              Material characteristics and production technologies of ceramics and
bakirer@arch.metu.edu.tr glasses of Phrygian period (interested in Lynn E. Roller’s work)

Sahinde Demirci           Chemical and mineralogical analysis of archeologic materials
sahinde@metu.edu.tr       (Dept. of Chemistry)

Biology

Zeki Kaya                 Molecular genetics of trees and crops (QTL mapping, genomic mapping, DNA
kayaz@metu.edu.tr         markers), Conservation of genetic resources of crop and tree species, Population
                          genetics of forest trees, genetic adaptation and ecological genetics of plants, Breeding
                          of forest trees, and plant cell and tissue culture.

Ewa Dogru                 Experimental brain research, psychopharmacology, behavioral adult neuroplasticity
bioewa@metu.edu.tr        after alcohol abuse.Therapetic effects of nerve growth (Leo Chalupa’s work)


Ufuk Gunduz               Hydrogen production by microbial systems, drug resistance mechanisms
ufukg@metu.edu

Mesude Iscan              Biochemical and molecular toxicology, enzyme purification and kinetics, importance
miscan@metu.edu.tr        of glutathione S-transferases on environmental pollution in water systems and
                          insecticide resistance in fields; genetically engineered protein biosensors for heavy
                          metal monitoring

Chemistry

Gulsun Gokagac            Nanotechnology, preparation of catalyst for direct methanol fuel cells, fuel cells.
ggulsun@metu.edu.tr       (interested in Pieter Stroeve’s research)

Levent Toppare            synthesis and characterization of conducting polymers, electrochromic windows,
toppare@metu.edu.tr       organic light emitting diodes.

Erdal Bayramli            biodegradable polyesters, continuous fiber composites, liquid crystalline
bayramli@metu.edu.tr      copolyesters and blends, wetting, spreading and capillarity

Guneri Akovali            Polymer composites-nanocomposites, surface modification, Non Eql. Plasma
akovali@metu.edu.tr       applications and chemistry, polymer recycling

Nursen Coruh              Investigation of antioxidant properties of medicinal herbs and plants. Isolation of
ncoruh@metu.edu.tr        bioactive and also spectroscopically important components (especially fluorescent
                          ones) and their effects on phase I and or phase II enzyme activities.

Chemical Engineering

Pinar Calik               Metabolic Engineering, Biochemical Reaction Engineering, Genetic Engineering
pcalik@metu.edu.tr

Ufuk Bakir                Enzyme production, purification and immobilization. Biodegradable film production.
ubakir@metu.edu.tr        Photo-catalysis.
Güngör Gündüz          Flame retardant polymers and paints. Water dispersed paints. Dendrimer polymers.
ggunduz@metu.edu.tr    Structure-property relations in polymers. Polymeric and ceramic nano fibers. Carbon
                       nano tubes.

Gürkan Karakaş         Environmental catalysis. Semi-conductors. Sensors. Thin solid films. Photo catalysis.
gkarakas@metu.edu.tr

Tülay Özbelge          Ozonation kinetics in industrial waste waters. Removal of heavy metals
tozbelge@metu.edu.tr   by activated sludge processes. Hydrodynamics and heat transfer in gas-solid and
                       liquid-solid suspensions. Circulating fluidized beds.

Nurcan Bac             Composite fuel cell membranes
nbac@metu.edu.tr

Halil Kalipcilar       Zeolite films. Zeolite membranes.
kalipcil@metu.edu.tr

Isik Onal              Catalysis. Combinatorial catalysis. Application of quantum mechanics to catalysis.
ional@metu.edu.tr

Levent Yilmaz          Membranes and membrane processes.
lyilmaz@metu.edu.tr

Yusuf Uludag           Experimental and computational fluid mechanics and rheology.
yuludag@metu.edu.tr

Ali Culfaz             Zeolite synthesis and characterization. Zeolite membranes.
culfaz@metu.edu.tr

Gorkem Kirbas          Multiphase flows. Fluidization. Radiative heat transfer.
gorkemk@metu.edu.tr

Goknur Bayram          Polymer blends and composites. Polymer rheology.
gbayram@metu.edu.tr

N. Suzan Kincal        Extraction of seed and herb oils. Starch and inulin hydrolysis. Use of adsorbents
nskincal@metu.edu.tr   (zeolites, activated carbon) for separation and purification.

Naime A. Sezgi         Chemical reaction engineering. Degradation of polymers, Chemical vapor deposition.
sezgi@metu.edu.tr

H. Önder Özbelge       Chemical vapor deposition. Drying of solids. Separation of dilute ions by
oozbelge@metu.edu.tr   membrane processes.

Inci Eroglu            Biological Hydrogen Production, fuel cells, hydrogen infrastructure (interested in
ieroglu@metu.edu.tr    collaborations with Dewey Ryu, Ruihong Zhang, Uriel Rosa, Paul Erickson, Joan
                       Ogden and Anthony Eggert)

Timur Dogu             Chemical Reaction Engineering, Catalysis, Selective Catalytic Oxidation Reactions,
tdogu@metu.edu.tr      Mesoporous-Nanostructured Materials and Catalytic Applications, Novel Fuels and
                       Fuel Additives, Hydrogen Storage, Carbon Dioxide Utilization.

Civil Engineering

Uğurhan Akyüz          Structural, nonlinear mechanics, biomedical materials
han@metu.edu.tr

Can Balkaya            Structural dynamics, earthquake engineering
cbalkaya@metu.edu.tr
İsmail Aydın             Hydraulic modeling, hydraulic gates, CFD applications to 2D and 3D free surface
ismaydin@metu.edu.tr     flows, turbulence modeling based on RANS. (interested in Bassam Younis’
                          work on 'Computational Hydraulics & Turbulence Modeling'.)

Enviromental Engineering

Ayşegül Aksoy            Application of heuristic optimization techniques to ground water and surface
aaksoy@metu.edu.tr       water quality problems, ground water remediation, surface water quality modeling,
                         application of remote sensing for eutrophication monitoring, TMDL development

Kahraman Ünlü            Development, numerical implementation and application of mathematical models
kunlu@metu.edu.tr        for flow and contaminant transport in subsurface and waste disposal systems;
                         management of solid and hazardous wastes; environmental risk and impact
                         assessment; soil and groundwater remediation; soil-aquifer treatment systems.

Informatics Institute - Health Science

Erkan Mumcuoglu        Medical image analysis, medical informatics, data mining, bioinformatics
mumcuoglu@ii.metu.edu.tr

Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Cevdet Kaynak            Polymers, polymer based nanocomposites
ckaynak@metu.edu.tr

Macit Ozenbas            Structural analysis of the metallic artifacts of the Phrygian period. Magnetic
ozenbas@metu.edu.tr      nanoparticles, sol-gel processing of thin films, ferroelectric and dielectric thin films,
                         wear resistant coatings

Psychology

Faruk Gencoz             Cross-cultural issues in emotion and psychopathology
fgencoz@metu.edu.tr

Sociology

M. Kayhan Mutlu          Conventional and white collar crimes, police studies, religion, ethnicity.
kay@metu.edu.tr

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Categories:
Stats:
views:19
posted:6/12/2011
language:English
pages:3