sports recreation

Document Sample
sports recreation Powered By Docstoc
					                                     Sports and Recreation




Careers:
Advertising agent                                      Sports Team
Aerobics Instructor                            Official
Agent                                          Owner
Athletic Trainer                               Photographer
Broadcaster:                                   Physical Education Teacher
        Analyst                                Professional Athlete
        Color Commentator                      Program Coordinator
Buyer                                          Promoter
Coach                                          Psychologist
Corporate Sponsor                              Publicist
Designer:                                      Recreational Leader
        Apparel                                Scout/Recruiter
        Video Game                             Sports:
Dietician                                              Apparel Representative
Director:                                              Card Creator
        Athletic                                       Physiologist
        YMCA/YWCA                              Store Owner
Equipment Designer                             Statistician
Events Planner                                 Team Physician
Exercise physiologist                          Therapist:
Grounds Supervisor                                     Massage
Journalist/ Writer                                     Occupational
Lawyer                                                 Physical
Manager:                                               Recreational
        Facilities                             Tour Guide
        Sports Equipment                       Volunteer Coordinator
Environments:
Ad Agencies                                           Middle School
Arenas/stadiums                                       High School
Business                                              College
Clubs:                                         Government
       Private                                 Gyms
       Public                                  Halls of Fame
Corporate sponsored teams/programs             Health and Fitness Centers
Cruise Lines                                   Media:
Educational Institutions:                             Magazines
       Elementary                                     Newspaper
        Radio                                       Public Relations Firms
        Television                                  Religious Affiliation
Non-profit organizations                            Semi-professional Teams
Own home                                            Social Clubs
Park and Recreational Facilities                    Sports Facilities
Private studios/store fronts                        Video game companies
Professional Sports Organizations                   YWCA/YMCA
Professional Sports Teams
Professional Organizations:
Access Fund (http://www.accessfund.org): mountain climbing
Adventure Cycling Club (http://www.adv-cycling.org/)
Amateur Athletic Union (http://www.aausports.org/)
American Outdoors (http://www.americaoutdoors.org/)
American Water Craft Association (http://www.awahq.org/)
American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association
(http://beta.motorsportsforum.com/ris01/aarwba04.htm)
American Baseball Coaches Association (http://www.abca.org/): job listings
American Bicycle Association (http://www.ababmx.com/)
American Blind Skiing Association (http://www.absf.org/)
American Canoe Association (http://www.acanet.org/)
American College of Sports Medicine (http://www.acsm.org/)
American Hiking Society (http://www.americanhiking.org/): job listings for members
American Hockey League (http://canoe.ca/ahl/)
American Motorcycle Association (http://www.ama-cycle.org/index.asp)
American Running Association (http://www.americanrunning.org/)
American Sail Training Association (http://tallships.sailtraining.org/)
American Sailing Association (http://www.american-sailing.com/)
American Society of Golf Course Architects (http://www.asgca.org/)
American Sportscasters Association (http://www.americansportscasters.com/): job listings
American Sportsfishing Association (http://www.asafishing.org/asa/)
American Swimming Coaches Association (http://www.swimmingcoach.org/): job listings
American Trails Association (http://www.americantrails.org/)
American Volleyball Coaches Association (http://www.avca.org): job listings
American Water Skiing Educational Foundation (http://usawaterski.org/index1.html)
American Whitewater Affiliation (http://www.americanwhitewater.org/)
Aquatic Exercise Association (http://www.aeawave.com/): job listings
Association for the Advancement of Applied Sports Psychology
(http://www.aaasponline.org/flash/splash2.html)
Association for Environmental and Outdoor Experiences (http://www.aeoe.org/jobs/): CA jobs
Association for Renaissance Martial Arts (http://www.thehaca.com/)
Association for Women in Sports Media (http://www.awsmonline.org/): job listings for members
Association of Surfing Professionals (http://www.aspworldtour.com/)
Association of Volleyball Professionals (http://www.avptour.com/)
Athletic Equipment Managers Association (http://www.aema1.com/about.html)
Balloon Federation of America (http://www.bfa.net/)
Catalina2 National Sailing Association (http://www.catalina22.org/)
Champion Auto Racing Teams (http://www.cart.com/TVSpot.asp)
Collegiate Athletic Business Management Association
(http://nacda.ocsn.com/ot/cabma/nacda-cabma.html): job and internship listings
Diabetes Exercise and Sports Association (http://www.diabetes-exercise.org/)
Disabled Sports USA (http://www.dsusa.org/): job listings
Divers Alert Network (http://www.diversalertnetwork.org/)
Exercise Safety Association (http://www.exercisesafety.com/)
Far West Athletic Trainers' Association (http://www.fwata.org/)
Football Writers Association (http://www.sportswriters.net/fwaa/): job listings
Freestyle Players Association (http://www.freestyledisc.org/)
Golf Course Superintendents Association of America (http://www.gcsaa.org/): jobs and internships
Golf Writers Association of America (http://www.gwaa.com/)
Human Kinetics (http://www.humankinetics.com/): job listings
Institute of Athletic Motivation (http://www.athleticsuccess.com/)
International Association of the Philosophy of Sports
(http://www.iaps.paisley.ac.uk/jpspublisher.html)
International Association of Sports Museums and Halls of Fame (http://www.sportshalls.com/)
International Council for Health, PE, Recreation, Sport and Dance (http://www.ichpersd.org/)
International Hot Rod Association (http://ihra.com/)
International Inline Skating Association (http://www.iisa.org/)
International Mountain Biking Association (http://www.imba.com/)
International Sports Show Producers Association (http://www.sgma.com/index.html): job listings
International Surfing Association (http://www.isasurf.org/)
International Table Tennis (http://www.ittf.com/)
National Athletic Trainers' Association (http://www.nata.org/): job listings for members
National HS Sports Association (http://www.afca.com/lev1.cfm/56): coaches training, job listing
National Ski Area Association (http://www.nsaa.org/)
National Strength and Conditioning Association (http://www.nsca-lift.org/default.asp): CC for
members
North American Society for Sport Management (http://www.nassm.com/)
Resort and Commercial Recreation Association (http://r-c-r-a.org/): internships
Rugby Football Union (http://www.rfu.com/)
Sports Association Net (http://www.sportsassociation.net/)
Sports Bike Riders Association (http://www.sportbikes.com/)
Sports Law Association (http://www.sportslaw.org/)
USA Field Hockey (http://www.usfieldhockey.com/)
USA Gymnastics (http://www.usa-gymnastics.org/)
USA Water Polo (http://www.usawaterpolo.com/)
US Figure Skating (http://www.usfsa.org/)
US Lacrosse (http://www.lacrosse.org/)
US Martial Arts Association (http://www.mararts.org/)
US Soccer (http://www.ussoccer.com/)
US Tennis Association (http://www.usta.com/home/default.sps)
US Tour Operators Association (http://www.ustoa.com/): all areas of interest
Websites:
Action Jobs (http://www.actionjobs.com/)
Baseball Jobs.net (http://www.BaseballJobs.net/login.asp) job listings
Cool Works (http://www.coolworks.com/): job listing in a variety of arenas
Exercise Jobs (http://www.exercisejobs.com/)
Extreme Sports (http://www.thisisthelife.com/en/extreme-sports/index.htm)
Frank Covey sports (http://www.franklincoveysports.com/cbs/)
Jobs in Sports (http://JobsInSports.com): membership fee for jobs/internships
Jobs on the Ocean, River, Beaches & Lakes
(http://www.coolworks.com/showme/jobs-on-water.htm)
Major League Baseball (http://mlb.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/index.jsp): job listings
NCAA (http://www.ncaasports.com/) internships and scholarships
NOLS, National Outdoor Leadership School (http://www.nols.edu/): outdoor job listings
Olympic Movement (http://www.olympic.org/uk/index2_uk.asp)
Online Sports( http://OnlineSports.com): go to Career Center for job listings
Outdoor Network (http://www.outdoornetwork.com/): on hiatus
Racing: Speedvision (http://www.speedtv.com/) auto/motorcycle racing with job listings
Resort Jobs (http://www.resortjobs.com/)
720 Ice (http://www.720ice.com/): extreme sports
Sports & Recreational Jobs (http://jobsearch.about.com/msubsports.htm)
Sports Careers (http://SportsCareers.com): fee for newsletter
Sport Fishing website (http://mgfx.com/fishing/): list organizations and other links
Sports Link Central (http://www.sportslinkscentral.com/): job listings
       http://www.sports-central.org/other/sports_links.php: to other sports related links
Sports Management Worldwide
(http://www.sportsmanagementworldwide.com/coursedescription_revenue.asp)
Ski like a woman (http://www.skilikeawoman.com/): links
US Olympic Committee (http://www.olympic-usa.org/)
Women Sports Jobs (http://www.womensportsjobs.com/)
Work in Sports (http://workinsports.sportsillustrated.cnn.com/home.asp)
http://www.workinsports.com/home.asp
Women Sports Foundation (http://www.womenssportsfoundation.org/cgi-bin/iowa/index.html)
Career Center Resources:
Careers for Sports Nuts & Other Athletic Types, Wm Heitzmann
The Guide to Careers in Sports, Len Karlin                                                   3/05

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Categories:
Stats:
views:29
posted:6/9/2011
language:English
pages:4