Docstoc

The role of chronic infections in the development of cancer

Document Sample
The role of chronic infections in the development of cancer Powered By Docstoc
					                                                        INCA


         The role of chronic infections in the development of cancer


 Keywords                                                                     Expected results
 Virus, bacteria, HPV, HTLV, HCV, EBV, KSHV,                                  Based on this knowledge, INCA will develop and validate animal
 HHV8, Helicobacter pylori                                                    models to study chronic inflammation and cancer progression, and new
                                                                              diagnostic procedures for the identification of infected individuals likely
                                                                              to develop infection-associated malignancies. This will ultimately lead
 Summary                                                                      to the identification of new drugs and procedures to interfere with
                                                                              processes that are central to the development of infection-associated
 Approximately 17% of the human cancer cases occurring worldwide              cancer. The results of this joint effort will contribute to the understand-
 are caused by infectious agents, in particular by viruses, bacteria and      ing of malignant transformation and provide new tools to address an
 some parasites. Using a multidisciplinary approach, the INCA project         urgent socio-economic and human need.
 will investigate the role of six of these infectious agents in the patho-
 genesis of infection-associated cancers.
                                                                              Potential applications
 Problem                                                                      Diagnostics and therapy

 To date, nine infectious agents have been recognised as human car-           Project website: www.inca-project.org
 cinogens by the International Agency for the Research on Cancer:
 Epstein-Barr virus (EBV), Kaposi sarcoma herpes virus (KSHV), Human
 papillomavirus (HPV), Human T-cell lymphotropic virus (HTLV-I),
 Hepatitis B virus (HBV), Hepatitis C virus (HCV), Helicobacter pylori
 (HP), Schistosoma haemotobium and liver flukes (Opisthorchis viverrini,
 Clonorchis sinensis). These nine infectious agents are responsible for
 about 17% of cancer cases worldwide, i.e. approximately 1.6 million
 newly diagnosed cases of cancer annually. In addition, more recent epi-
 demiological evidence suggests that Chlamydiae could play a co-factor
 role in the development of cervical and lung cancer, and an involve-
 ment of enterohepatic Helicobacter in hepatobiliary tumours has been
 suggested. Moreover, infection-associated cancer is also of increasing
 importance in immunosuppressed individuals, i.e. transplant recipients
 and AIDS patients.


 Aim
 The INCA project will investigate the role of six of these infectious
 agents – EBV, KSHV/HHV8, HPV, HTLV-I, HCV, and HP – in the patho-
 genesis of infection-associated cancer. In addition, the co-factor role of
 enterohepatic HP will also be investigated.

 The INCA Integrated Project aims towards a better understanding of
 the molecular and cellular circuits involved in the development of can-
 cers caused by these infectious agents, of the mechanisms of long-term
 persistence of these infectious agents in apparently healthy hosts, and          Acronym: INCA
 of genetic factors contributing to the development of these types of             Project number: LSHC-CT-2005-018704
 cancer.                                                                          EC contribution: €12 400 000
                                                                                  Duration: 48 months
                                                                                  Starting date: 01/01/2006
                                                                                  Instrument: IP




            Cancer research

132
Coordinator                                            Agnès Labigne
                                                       Institut Pasteur
Thomas F. Schulz                                       Pathogenesis of Mucosal Bacteria Unit
Hanover Medical School                                 Paris, France
Department of Virology                                 E-mail: alabigne@pasteur.fr
Hanover, Germany
E-mail: schulz.thomas@mh-hannover.de                   Francis Megraud
                                                       Université Victor Segalen Bordeaux 2
Partners                                               C.H.U. Bordeaux
                                                       Laboratoire de Bactériologie
Sebastian Suerbaum                                     Bordeaux, France
Hanover Medical School                                 E-mail: francis.megraud@chu-bordeaux.fr
Institute of Medical Microbiology
Hanover, Germany                                       Jean Crabtree
E-mail: suerbaum.sebastian@mh-hannover.de              University of Leeds
                                                       St James’ University Hospital
Charles Bangham (Dept. of Immunology)                  Leeds, United Kingdom
and Paul Farrell (Dept. of Virology)                   E-mail: j.crabtree@leeds.ac.uk
Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine
Wright Fleming Wing                                    Jose Machado




                                                                                                                   Translating
London, United Kingdom                                 Institute of Molecular Pathology and Immunology
E-mail: c.bangham@ic.ac.uk                             University of Porto
p.farrell@imperial.ac.uk                               Cancer Genetics Group
                                                       Porto, Portugal
Maria Masucci                                          E-mail: josem@ipatimup.pt
Karolinska Institutet
MTC, Microbiology and Tumour Biology Centre            Susanne Kruger-Kjaer
Stockholm, Sweden                                      Danish Cancer Society
E-mail: maria.masucci@mtc.ki.se                        Department of Virus, Hormones and Cancer
                                                       Institute of Cancer Epidemiology
Thomas F. Meyer                                        Copenhagen, Denmark
Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science      E-mail: susanne@cancer.dk
MPI für Infektionsbiologie
Berlin, Germany                                        Massimo Tommasino
E-mail: meyer@mpiib-berlin.mpg.de                      and Silvia Franceschi
                                                       International Agency for Research on Cancer
Thomas Iftner                                          Infections and Cancer Biology Group
and Frank Stubenrauch                                  World Health Organisation
Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen                    Lyon, France
Institut für Med. Virologie                            E-mail: tommasino@iarc.fr
Tübingen, Germany                                      franceschi@iarc.fr
E-mail: thomas.iftner@med.uni-tuebingen.de
frank.stubenrauch@med.uni-tuebingen.de                 Pidder Jansen-Dürr
                                                       Amynon Biotech GmbH
                                                       Innsbruck, Austria
                                                       E-mail: p.jansen-duerr@oeaw.ac.at




                                                                                     Projects funded under the
                                                                                 Sixth Framework Programme
                                                                                                                 133
  Werner Zwerschke                                                  Mario Luppi
  Austrian Academy of Sciences                                      Università degli Studi di Modena e Reggio Emilia
  Institute for Biomedical Ageing Research                          Experimental Haematology Laboratory
  Innsbruck, Austria                                                Department of Oncology and Haematology
  E-mail: werner.zwerschke@uklibk.ac.at                             Modena, Italy
                                                                    E-mail: mluppi@unimo.it
  Luc Willems
  National Fund for Scientific Research                              Olle Nilsson
  Faculté Universitaire des Sciences Agronomiques                   CanAg Diagnostics AB
  Gembloux, Belgium                                                 Majnabbe Terminal
  E-mail: willems.l@fsagx.ac.be                                     Gothenburg, Sweden
                                                                    E-mail: olle.nilsson@canag.se
  Vincenzo Ciminale
  Università degli Studi di Padova                                  Bruno Cucinelli
  Department of Oncology and Surgical Sciences                      Annette Ringwald
  Padua, Italy                                                      and Carole Amroune
  E-mail: v.ciminale@unipd.it                                       ARTTIC SA
                                                                    Paris, France
  Ralph Grassmann                                                   E-mail: bcucinelli@arttic.fr
  Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg                 ringwald@arttic.fr
  Institute of Clinical and Molecular Virology                      amroune@arttic.fr
  Erlangen, Germany
  E-mail: ralph.grassmann@viro.med.uni-erlangen.de                  Harald Mischak
                                                                    Mosaiques Diagnostics & Therapeutics AG
  Lawrence Young                                                    Hanover, Germany
  University of Birmingham Medical School                           E-mail: mischak@mosaiques-diagnostics.com
  Institute of Cancer Studies
  Birmingham, United Kingdom                                        Michael Pawlita
  E-mail: l.s.young@bham.ac.uk                                      Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
                                                                    Heidelberg, Germany
  George Mosialos                                                   E-mail: m.pawlita@dkfz.de
  Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
  Thessaloniki, Greece                                              György Kéri
  E-mail: mosialos@fleming.gr                                        Vichem Chemie Research Ltd
                                                                    Budapest, Hungary
  Paivi Ojala                                                       E-mail: keri@vichem.hu
  University of Helsinki - Molecular and Cancer Biology Programme
  Biomedicum Helsinki & Haartman Institute
  Helsinki, Finland
  E-mail: paivi.ojala@helsinki.fi




           Cancer research

134
Jochen Koenig
Genedata AG
Basel, Switzerland
E-mail: jochen.koenig@genedata.com

Staffan Normark
and Birgitta Henriques-Normark
Swedish Institute for Infectious Disease Control
Solna, Sweden
E-mail: staffan.normark@stratresearch.se




                                                                                     Translating




                                                       Projects funded under the
                                                   Sixth Framework Programme
                                                                                   135

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Description: cancer research