Invocation to Patanjali _traditional mantra of ashtanga vinyasa yoga_

Document Sample
Invocation to Patanjali _traditional mantra of ashtanga vinyasa yoga_ Powered By Docstoc
					                    Yoga Philosophy and Chant Notes for Paul’s Class (very abbreviated)
                                   Copies available at

One intention for chanting might be to invoke yoga, union with truth. In a practical sense, chanting can mark a
division between everyday activities and the practice that has began. Chanting may call attention to ―this
moment‖; inspire us to fully arrive and to remember why we do this practice.

Om asato ma sadgamaya
tamaso ma jyotirgamaya
mrityorma amritam gamaya

lead me from the unreal to the real (by knowledge)
from darknes (of ignorance) to the light (of wisdom)
from death (sense of limitation) to immortality (liberation)

sarvesham svastir bhavatu
sarvesham shantir bhavatu
sarvesham purnam bhavatu
sarvesham mangalam bhavatu

may auspiciousness be unto all
may peace be unto all
may fullness be unto all
may prosperity be unto all
(may my actions influence myself and others in a positive way)

lokha samasta sukhino bavantu
may the actions of my life cultivate liberation and bliss for all beings in all realms

shanti shanti shantihi
peace, peace, peace

om bolo sat guru, maharaj ji qi: jai!
honor the supreme teacher within, our own innate wisdom and intution
(jai! means-huray)

To our teachers:
om vande gurunam charanaravinde
sandareshita svaatma sukhavabodhe
nishreyase jangalika yamane
samsara hala hala moha shantieh
I bow to the lotus feet of the gurus (teachers) who help awaken insight into the happiness of pure Being. With
the skill of the jungle physician who heals a snakebite, removing the delusion, poisonous herb of samsara
(conditioned existence) and help us reveal our essential nature
I.2 yogash chitta vritti nirodha
yoga- union with Universal consciousness; chitta –mind; vritti -fluctuations of mind, thoughts; nirodha -
cessation, restriction, to allow or nurture stillness. When you stop identifying with your thoughts, (fluctuations
of the mind), then there is yoga, identity with true Self, our essential truth.

II.1 tapah svadhyaya ishvara pranidhanani kriya yogah
The yoga of action consists of austerity or disciplne; self study and inquiry; surrender to the supreme being.

II.28 From practicing the 8 limbs of yoga, the impurities are removed, uncovering the light of knowledge and

Patanjali’s 8 limbs of yoga (extremely simplified)
1. Yama— self restraints or ethical code of conduct (outward)
2. Niyama— spiritual disciplines (inward)
3. Asana— posture or position (the physical positions we practice in class)
4. Pranayama— breathing exercises/awareness (see below)
5. Pratyahara—directing attention inward
6. Dharana— concentration/focus
7. Dhyana— meditation
8. Samadhi— super-consciousness—object and subject become indistinguishable—bliss

1. Ahimsa— non-violence, non-harming
2. Satya— truthful, genuine
3. Asteya— non-stealing
4. Brahmacharya— not squandering or mis-using our vital energies.
5. Aparigrahah— non-hoarding, non-greediness

1. Sauca—purity
2. Santosha—contentment, acceptance
3. Tapah—aspiration, diligence
4. Svadhyaya—study leading to knowledge of the Self
5. Ishvara Pranidhana—reverence towards source energy—creative life force

Seven main chakras:
7 Crown chakra
white or violet, space, pituitary gland, higher consciousness and spiritual connection, silent or OM,
sometimes ng…
6 Third Eye chakra
indigo, light, pineal gland, intuition and imagination, seed sound: AUM
5 Throat chakra
azure blue, ether, thyroid gland, creative expression and communication, seed sound: HAM
4 Heart chakra
green, air, thymus gland, love and compassion, seed sound: YAM
3 Navel/Solar plexus chakra
golden yellow, fire, adrenal glands, will and personal power, seed sound: RAM
2 Sacrum chakra
orange, water, below naval, sexual energy and desire, seed sound: VAM
1 Root chakra
red, pelvic floor, earth, survival and grounding, seed sound: LAM

Shared By: