Help with Filling Out Loan Applications by ouw17449


Help with Filling Out Loan Applications document sample

More Info
									                                                                                Joint Information Center
                                                                                Wichita, Kansas

                                                                          July 19, 2007
                                                                          Media Contacts:

Disaster News                                                             FEMA: News Desk 316-524-1006
                                                                          KDEM: Sharon Watson 785-274-1192
                                                                          SBA: Kevin Wynne 916-847-2638


WICHITA, Kan. - The Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency
(FEMA) announced today that three additional counties are now eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance
to help homeowners, renters, and businesses recover from the effects of the severe storms, tornadoes and
flooding from May 4 to June 1.

McPherson, Smith and Pottawatomie counties were added to the May 6, 2007 major disaster declaration. A
total of 24 counties in Kansas are now eligible for Individual Assistance as a result of the May storms.

The earlier 21 counties designated to receive Individual Assistance are; Barton, Clay, Cloud, Comanche,
Dickinson, Edwards, Ellsworth, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lyon, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Pratt, Reno,
Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee and Stafford.

Residents of all 24 counties may be eligible for assistance under FEMA’s Individual Assistance program.
The Individual Assistance program can help eligible applicants with temporary housing assistance, uninsured
personal property and medical, dental, and funeral expenses caused by the disaster, and other serious unmet

Those who suffered damage from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding are encouraged to register online
at or call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech-
impaired. The toll-free numbers are available from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. CDT daily.

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) representatives are at all Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs)
locations to explain how SBA low-interest disaster loans can help homeowners, renters, businesses of all
sizes, and private non-profit organizations pay for their disaster losses. They also will meet with applicants
one-on-one and assist them in filling out their loan applications. Anyone not able to visit a center should call
1-800-659-2955 for SBA assistance or visit the website at

FEMA has also expanded its public assistance to seven more Kansas counties to aid local governments
and certain private nonprofit organizations. This assistance includes debris removal, emergency services
related to the disaster, repair or replacement of damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities, and
parks and public recreational facilities damaged by the May 4 through June 1 storms.

New Counties Added for May Storms – Page 2

Governmental entities, municipal authorities, and certain private nonprofit organizations in Cowley, Harvey,
Marshall, McPherson, Morris, Pawnee, and Smith counties are now eligible for all categories of the FEMA
Public Assistance program.

This brings the total amount of eligible counties to 39 that are now eligible for the FEMA Public Assistance
program as a result of the May storms.

Public Assistance was already available in 32 counties; Barton, Brown, Clay, Chase, Cherokee, Comanche,
Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Edwards, Ellsworth, Harper, Jackson, Kingman, Kiowa, Leavenworth,
Lincoln, Lyon, Nemaha, Osborne, Osage, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee,
Stafford, Wabaunsee and Washington counties.

Applicants' Briefings will be held in the add-on counties. Further information is available through the Kansas
Division of Emergency Management Public Assistance Branch.

The Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) was also authorized to the counties approved under the
federal disaster declaration on July 2, 2007. HMGP provides grants to states and local governments to
implement long-term hazard mitigation measures after a major disaster declaration.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of,
responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age,
disability, economic status or retaliation. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, you
should call FEMA toll-free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or contact your State Office of Equal Rights. If you
are suspicious of any abuse of FEMA programs, please contact the Fraud hotline at 1-800-323-8603.

SBA is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private
property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or
rebuilding efforts, and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans
cover uninsured and uncompensated losses and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.


Editors: for more information on the Kansas disaster recovery, visit or


To top