Car Accident and No Insurance Advice

Document Sample
Car Accident and No Insurance Advice Powered By Docstoc
					  Car Accident and No Insurance Advice
Approximately 16 percent of drivers in 2009 didn't have auto insurance, "Smart Money" magazine reports. With the chance of getting into an
accident with such a driver being at 1 in 7, knowing what to do if you get into an accident--either as an insured driver colliding with an uninsured
driver, or as an uninsured driver yourself -- can help you make the most of the situation and alleviate the stress inherent in getting in an accident.



Don't Change the Scene
      o      When you're insured, it's important not to move the vehicles or change the scene at all after an accident until the police have arrived
             and documented what has happened. This is even more critical when one of the driver's is uninsured and every little detail can
             affect the outcome. Make sure the police issue a written report and review it carefully to ensure accuracy if you are asked to sign it.



Accept the Ticket
      o      The police may issue a ticket to you or to the other driver after the accident. Note that accepting this ticket does not constitute
             acceptance of any at-fault claims, either by you or the other driver.



Call the Insurance Company
      o      If you're insured and the other driver isn't, or if you're uninsured and the other driver is, call the insurance company immediately to
             notify them of the accident. In many states, car insurance held by either driver sometimes includes coverage of the uninsured driver
             in the case of an accident. This is often mandated by law. For example, the Oregon Department of Transportation requires a
             minimum of $25,000 in uninsured motorist coverage per person, as does the Idaho Transportation Department. For the uninsured
             coverage to kick-in, however, the uninsured driver often has to be declared at-fault.



Be Willing to Pay
      o      If you're uninsured and are found at fault, you'll generally be taken to court to arrange a payment plan. The penalties for not
             following through with the court-mandated payment plan often carry stiff penalties, although this varies by state. Penalties may
             include license suspension, monetary fines and interest rates on the balance owed. Because these are so steep, if you can't afford
             the payments, it may be beneficial to apply for a loan to cover your payments rather than allow your account to become delinquent.

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Stats:
views:17
posted:4/1/2011
language:English
pages:1
Description: Car crashes can be financially devastating if you don't have insurance.