THIS IS AN UPDATE FOR IMPLEMENTATION OF FL SB 2534,
AMENDING §§ 627.6562 AND 641.31, FLORIDA STATUTES.
In 2008, the State of Florida created legislation giving eligible dependents
the option to continue their dependent coverage to the end of the calendar
year in which they reach age 30.
Important Note: The law does not apply to life, dental, vision, disability
income, Medicare supplemental or long-term care.
To be eligible, the parent(s) of the over age dependent must be actively
covered under a Florida issued group health contract.
Eligible dependents must be the insured's child (by blood or by law) and
must be dependent upon the employee for support.
In addition, he or she must meet the following criteria:
1. is at least 25 years of age and less than 30 years of age; and
2. is unmarried; and
3. has no dependents; and
4. is a resident of FL or if not a resident of FL is enrolled as a full or part-
time student; and
5. is not provided coverage as a named subscriber, insured, enrollee or
covered person under any other group, student, or franchise health
plan (including COBRA) or individual health benefits plan, or is not
entitled to benefits under Medicare.
Eligible dependents must make written election for continued coverage as
Dependents who aged-out of the group policy before October 1,
2008 have until April 1, 2009 to enroll, regardless of the anniversary
date of the plan.
Dependents who aged out of the group plan on December 31, 2008,
may apply for continuous coverage through April 1, 2009.
Dependents who age-out of an in-force group policy after April 1,
2009, must enroll as follows:
within 30 days prior to the termination of coverage at the specific
age in the policy;
within 30 days after meeting the requirements for dependent status
when coverage for the dependent under the policy previously
During an open enrollment period, as provided under the policy, if
the dependent meets the requirements for dependent status during
the open enrollment period.
Coverage will be provided until the earlier of:
the end of the calendar year in which the dependent reaches his or her
the dependent no longer meets the eligibility criteria above;
the date on which coverage ceases for failure to make a timely
the date on which the employee's coverage ceases.
The Florida statute allows the insurer the right to medically underwrite and
charge appropriate premium, and allows the employer to charge the insured
the cost of coverage provided for a dependent under this new statute FS
§627.6562 4(c).) If the addition of a 25-30 year old dependent changes the
insurance coverage tier, for example single to 2 person coverage, the
deduction will be taken on a post-tax basis.
Enrollment Forms – (2 Forms Required)
Employees and eligible dependents must complete Humana’s Supplemental
Enrollment Information Form and the PCS Enrollment and Change form and
return them to Risk Management. Please indicate the effective date you
desire. Additional premium may be required. Please contact Risk
Management for specific details on the amount of premium due.
Form 1: Humana Supplemental Enrollment Form
Form 2: PCS Enrollment & Change Form 2010