Page 1 of 2

                                                               FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
                                                                       February 26, 2008

                        OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENTS

58 Remarkable Women to be Celebrated at the 2008 Women of Distinction Awards

WINNIPEG – The YMCA-YWCA announced today that fifty-eight nominations have been
received for the 2008 Women of Distinction Awards. These Awards continue to turn the
spotlight on some of Manitoba’s most accomplished women. Pat Flaws, Committee Chair for
the 2008 Women of Distinction Awards says, “Once again, we are very pleased with the
outstanding group of women, who join the hundreds of women who have been nominated for
the Women of Distinction Awards, over the past thirty-two years. They deserve our
congratulations and thanks for all that they have contributed to the vibrant life in our

For 2008, forty women were nominated in nine categories: Young Woman of Distinction;
Health and Wellness; Business and the Professions; Arts and Culture; Education and
Training; Research and Innovation; Community Voluntarism; Sport and Recreation;
Creative Communications. The Gerrie Hammond Memorial Award of Promise which goes
to a graduating grade 12 student has 18 nominees.

The 32nd annual awards dinner will be held on Wednesday May 7, 2008 at the Winnipeg
Convention Centre. The YMCA-YWCA is pleased to welcome, as Master of Ceremonies for
this year’s event, the Host of "The Morning Show" on Radio Southern Manitoba (AM1250
Radio), Michelle Sawatsky. Michelle is a motivational speaker, pianist and singer and a
former member of Team Canada 1996 Olympic volleyball team.

The annual presentation of the Women of Distinction Awards reflects the YMCA-YWCA of
Winnipeg’s ongoing effort to increase public awareness of local women committed to making
Winnipeg and Manitoba a great place to work and live.

Last Year Tickets Went Fast - Call: 831-2974 to book your tickets today!
Come and enjoy a delicious meal, good company and celebrate the accomplishments of our
nominees. Women of Distinction Awards Dinner tickets are $125 each and a tax-deductible
receipt will be issued for the donation portion of the ticket. Your support of the YMCA – YWCA
is an added bonus. Proceeds from the dinner will go to support various YMCA-YWCA of
Winnipeg women’s and girls’ programs and community initiatives. The awards dinner is made
possible through the generous support of many local sponsors and volunteers.
                                                                 Page 2 of 2

For more information, visit www.ywinnipeg.ca or contact:
Caroline Winston
YMCA-YWCA of Winnipeg
Phone: 831.2974

Nominees for the 2008 Women of Distinction Awards

Kelley Beaverford                  Rekha Malaviya
Clara Bohm                         Valerie McCaffrey
Janice Currie                      Christine Nnadi
Rayleen De Luca                    Pamela Okano
Marianne D'Elia                    Debra Parkes
Darlene Dufily                     Kimberly Pearson
Suzanne Dunwoody                   Christine Penner
Nahanni Fontaine                   Jane Polak Scowcroft
Margo Goodhand                     Christa Pragnell
Heather Grant-Jury                 Diana Rasmussen
Lynda Gunter                       Shaneen Robinson
Gwen Hatch                         Billie Schibler
Laurie Helgason                    Deborah Schnitzer
Carol Hussa Harvey                 Trudy Schroeder
Kim Jasper                         Lisa Shaw
Carole Johnson                     Lynne Skromeda
Susan Kathler                      Michelle Thompson
Debra Lane                         Megan Turner
Kim Le                             Karin Wittenberg
Betty Lindsay                      Elizabeth Wolff

Nominees for the 2008 Gerrie Hammond Memorial Award of Promise

Breanna Pullis
Sara Pizzy
Carollyn Kriski
Natica Warmington
Kyra Moshtaghi Nia
Amanda Bawdon
Inderveer Mahal
Stephanie Gutnik
Alaina Edwards
Krupa Kotecha
Ashley Alberg
Ruchi Chhibba
Maala Sharma
Angela Cung
Holly Setlack
Shondra Stadnyk
Gladys Yeung
Brianne Hellrung

To top