Good Vibrations - ultrafast excitation_ decay and echoes from by bnmbgtrtr52

VIEWS: 53 PAGES: 7

									                     SDG 2007, University of East Anglia

                                       Programme

                                Monday 17 December 2007
17:00 – 19:00   Registration (Conference Office)
18:30           Dinner (Zest) – dinner will be served cafeteria style until 19:00.

Session 1 (Arts 2.02)                                    Chair: Prof. Andrew Orr-Ewing
19:30 Opening Remarks
19:35 High Resolution Photofragment Translational Spectroscopy
       Prof. Michael N.R. Ashfold (University of Bristol)
20:30 Does Phase Matter?
       Prof. Benjamin J. Whitaker (University of Leeds)

                              Tuesday 18 December 2007
08:15 – 08:45 Breakfast (Zest)
Session 2 (Elizabeth Fry Building 01.08)                        Chair: Dr Nicholas Walker
09:00 Gas-phase infrared ion spectroscopy using a free electron laser.
        Dr Jos Oomens (FOM Institute for Plasma Physics)
09:50 Velocity map imaging of the photofragmentation of the (2)2B2 state of NO2.
        I. Wilkinson & Benjamin J Whitaker (University of Leeds).
10:10 Setting the quantum clock: localization of electronic wave packets in H2
        Adam Kirrander, Christian Jungen and Helen H. Fielding (University College
        London)
10:30 Complete determination of the photoionization dynamics of a polyatomic molecule:
        A1Au state acetylene.
        Paul Hockett, Adrian K. King, Ivan Powis, Katharine L. Reid (University of
        Nottingham)
10:50 Coffee (Elizabeth Fry Building Foyer)

Session 3 (Elizabeth Fry Building 01.08)                            Chair: Dr Eckart Wrede
11:30 The near ultraviolet spectrum and dissociation in CH2.
       Zhong Wang, Yangsoo Kim, Gregory E. Hall, Trevor J. Sears (Brookhaven
       National Laboratory / Stony Book University)
11:50 Peroxy Radicals, an insight of the NIR electronic transition by high Resolution
       CRDS: Internal Rotation and Spin-Rotation Coupling.
       Patrick Dupré P. Rupper, S. Wu, T.A. Miller (University of York)
12:10 In search of geometric phase effects in molecular photodissociation.
       Michael G.D. Nix, Adam L. Devine, Richard N. Dixon and Michael N.R. Ashfold
       (University of Bristol)
12:30 Inelastic and elastic scattering: Polarisation spectroscopy experiments and state-of-
       the-art QM calculations on OH + Ar/He.
       S.Marinakis, G. Paterson, M. L. Costen, J. Klos, K. G. McKendrick (Heriot-Watt
       University)
12:50 Recent Advances In Ion Time Slicing Equipment.
       Jon Howorth, James Milnes, & Martin Ingle (Photek Ltd)
13:00 Lunch (Gurney room)

Session 4 (Gurney Room)
14:30 Poster session
16:00 Tea will be served in the Elizabeth Fry Building Foyer
15:30 Annual General Meeting of the SDG: Elizabeth Fry Building 01.08
18:30 Close of session
Conference dinner
19:00 Bar opens (Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts, Garden Restaurant)
19:30 Dinner (Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts, Garden Restaurant)
       The bar will only remain open until 10.30 pm

                             Wednesday 19 December 2007
08:15 – 08:45   Breakfast (Zest)

Session 5 (Elizabeth Fry Building 01.08)                        Chair: Dr Stuart Mackenzie
09:00 The PCCP lecture.
       Preparation, properties and chemical applications of ultracold ions.
       Dr Stefan Willitsch (University of Oxford)
09:50 S1 benzene photochemistry.
       H.H.Fielding, R. Minns, D.S.N.Parker, G.A.Worth, M.A.Robb, B. Lasorne, M.
       Bearpark, T. Penfold (University College London)
10:10 Collisional Depolarisation of Angular Momentum Distributions.
       Chris Eyles (University of Oxford)
10:30 Observation of Condensed Rydberg Clusters: A New Form of Matter?
       J. Guo and Prof. K. Muller-Dethlefs (University of Manchester)
10:50 Coffee (Elizabeth Fry Building Foyer)

Session 6 (Elizabeth Fry Building 01.08)                           Chair: Dr Matt Costen
11:20 Metastable States of Al I Trapped on Helium Nanodroplets.
       Jay Jeffs, Adrian Boatwright, Hisham Al-Zubaidi, Anthony Stace (University of
       Nottingham)
11:40 Highly excited molecular states of H3+.
       P Barletta, B. C. Silva, J. Tennyson (University College London)
12:00 Whispering Gallery Modes and their applications in chemical sensing.
       Anna Boleininger (University of Oxford)
12:20 Ion Imaging Photodissociation Studies of the H2S+ and H2O+ Ions.
       Alan G. Sage, Alexander D. Webb and Michael N.R. Ashfold (University of
       Bristol)
12:40 Orientation and Alignment of Nascent CN(X2Σ+, v=0,1) fragments from ICN
       photolysis.
       S. Taylor, G. Richmond, G. A. D. Ritchie and G. Hancock (University of Oxford)
13:00 Session Close
13:05 Lunch (Zest)

Session 7 (Elizabeth Fry Building 01.08)                         Chair: Dr Claire Vallance
13:50 Roaming atoms: new insights from high resolution imaging and photofragment
       excitation spectroscopy.
       Prof. Arthur Suits (Wayne State University, Michigan USA)
14:40 Reactivity of NO on transition metal clusters - experiment and theory.
       Dan Harding, Stuart Mackenzie and Tiffany Walsh (University of Warwick)
15:00 Inverse velocity dependence for vibrationally promoted electron emission from a
       metal surface.
       N.H. Nahler, J.D. White, J. LaRue, D.J. Auerbach and A.M. Wodtke (Durham
       University)
15:20 Imaging the dynamics of polyatomic reactions.
       Stuart J. Greaves, Bertrand Retail, Rebecca Rose, Andrew J. Orr-Ewing (Bristol
       University)
15:40 IVR studies using time-resolved photoelectron velocity-map imaging with improved
       resolution.
       M.J. Simpson, R.P. Tuckett, K.F. Dunn, C.A. Hunniford and C.J. Latimer
       (University of Birmingham)
16:00 Tea (Elizabeth Fry Building Foyer) and Close of meeting
                                          Posters
1. Two-colour polarisation labelling spectroscopy in NaK: the D 1Π state.
    A. Adohi-Krou , P. Kowalczyk, W. Jastrzebski and A.J. Ross
2. EW-CRDS study of Au nanoparticle deposition on functionalised silica surfaces.
    M. Mazurenka, S.M. Hamilton, P.R. Unwin and S.R. Mackenzie
3. Photodissociation Dynamics of Nitrites: UV Photolysis of NO2, HONO and H3CONO
    W. S. Hopkins, J. G. Crouse, Z. Hudson & H.-P. Loock
4. LIF measurement of the angular momentum depolarization
     Yuan-Pin Chang and Chris Eyles
5. Chirped Pulse FTMW Spectroscopy of Hexane and 1-Heptene
    Nicholas R. Walker, Alberto Lessari, Gordon G. Brown, Steven T. Shipman, Brooks H.
            Pate, Lu Kang, Richard D. Suenram
6. Dynamics of Reactive and Inelastic Scattering at the Gas-Liquid Interface
    C. Waring, M. Allan, P. A. J. Bagot, M. L. Costen, K. G. McKendrick
7. Imaging the predissociation dynamics of the A state of SH
     Rebecca Rose, Chung-Hsin Yang, Konstantin Vidma, Andrew Orr-Ewing, David Parker
8. Ultrafast dynamics of N-H and O-H bond dissociation in biomolecules
    K.L. Wells, A. Janjuah and V.G. Stavros
9. Investigation of Adsorption and Dissolution of Ag Nanoparticles by combining
   Electrochemistry with Evanescent Wave Cavity Ringdown Spectroscopy
     M. Schnippering, M. Zhang, H. V. Morley, M. Mazurenka, S. R. Mackenzie and P. R.
              Unwin
10. A New Experimental Scheme for Broadband Cavity-Ringdown Spectroscopy
      Mr E Wilman
11. Metastable States of Metals on Helium Nanodroplets
     Hisham Al-Zubaidi & Dr Adrian Boatwright
12. Recombination of dications in fast collisions
     A. Nielsen, A. J. Stace
13. Investigating Shape Resonances in Substituted Benzenes
      Michael Staniforth, Adrain King, Paul Hockett, Chris Hammond
14. H-atom photofragment translational spectroscopy studies of N-heteroaromatic systems
     Graeme A. King, Thomas A. A. Oliver, Michael N. R. Ashfold
15. Insights into the Structure of Heparin: a highly charged sugar in the gas phase
      C.J. Taylor and C.E.H. Dessent
16. Gas phase spectroscopy of biomolecules
     Joseph Beames, Dr. Andrew Hudson
17. Is there chemical bonding in gold-rare gas complexes? A model potential analysis
       Victoria L. Ayles, Bill H. Breckenridge and Timothy G. Wright.
18. State Resolved Ion Imaging of the H*(n) + D2 Reaction.
      Emma Flynn, Alex Trottier, Scott Sanders, Laura Harris, Gemma Johnson and Eckart
              Wrede
19. Towards NICE-OHMS - Ultra Sensitive CEAS Techniques
     C. L. Bell, N. J. van Leeuwen, L. J. Russell and G. Hancock
20. A new femtosecond photoelectron spectrometer for anionic clusters
      G. M. Roberts, J. L. Nixon, S. J. Saville and J. R. R. Verlet
21. Interaction of Rydberg Molecules with Metallic Surfaces
      Elin McCormack, Eric So, Mark Ford and Tim Softley
22. The road to state-selected ultracold chemistry of CH3F
         Christopher T. Rodgers, Martin Bell, Jennifer Johnson, David Carty and Timothy P
              Softley
23. Couomb Crystals: A Laboratory for Ultracold Chemistry
     James Oldham, Alexander Gingell, Martin Bell, Stefan Willitsch and Timothy P. Softley
24. Speed dependent rotational angular momentum polarization of the O2 (a 1∆g) fragment
    following Hartley Band Ozone Photolysis
      T. Sharples, S. Horrocks and G. A. D. Ritchie
25. The photophysics of zinc phthalocyanines: time-resolved thermal lensing vs.
    comparative techniques
      M. van Leeuwen and S. H. Ashworth
26. Spectroscopic Studies of Metal and Metal-Containing Clusters
     Suzanne Hamilton, Paul McNaughter, Dr W. Scott Hopkins and Dr Stuart Mackenzie
27. IVR studies using time-resolved photoelectron velocity-map imaging with improved
    resolution
      Christopher Hammond and Katharine Reid
28. Spectral Phase Interferometry for Direct Electric-field Reconstruction using a Dazzler
     Kiera Jones, Andrew Spencer and Benjamin J. Whitaker
29. REMPI and MATI studies of Phenol.Argon clusters.
     Antonio Armentano, Xin Tong and Mehran Taherkhani, Klaus Muller-Dethlefs.
30. ISpectroscopy study of biomolecules using laser desorption/ionisation techniques
      Mehran Taherkhani, Med Benyezzar, Klaus Muller-Dethlefs
31. UV and IR photodissociation spectra of metal dication complexes
     H Stewart, G. Wu and A. J. Stace.
32. Infrared-Spectroscopy of Alkali Metals - Solvent Clusters
       Luigi Varriale, Nitika Bhalla, Nicola M. Tonge, Tom. E. Salter and Andrew M.Ellis
33. Photoejection of the molecules from liquid microjet
     Veronika Barinkova and Andrew M. Ellis
34. The spectroscopy of the Au - Rg series
     Hisham Al-Zubaidi & Dr Adrian Boatwright
The Spectroscopy and Dynamics Group are very grateful for the generous
       sponsorship supplied by:




                                            Travel Grant & Local section committee
                                                                         Delegate list
Mr      Hisham        Al-Zubaidi    pcxha@nottingham.ac.uk                     Mr        Jay         Jeffs          pcxjaj@nottingham.ac.uk
Prof.   Michael       Ashfold       mike.ashfold@bris.ac.uk                    Mr        Alexander   Johnsen        alexander.johnsen@chem.ox.ac.uk
Dr      Stephen       Ashworth      S.Ashworth@uea.ac.uk                       Ms        Kiera       Jones          cmkmj@leeds.ac.uk
Miss    Victoria      Ayles         pcxvla@nottingham.ac.uk                    Mr        Graeme      King           graeme.king@bris.ac.uk
Miss    Veronika      Barinkova     vb46@le.ac.uk                              Dr        Adam        Kirrander      a.kirrander@ucl.ac.uk
Dr      Paolo         Barletta      p.barletta@ucl.ac.uk                       Mr        Matthew     Lawson         mal54@cam.ac.uk
Mr      Joseph        Beames        joe.beames@bris.ac.uk                      Miss      Jun         Liu            jl198@le.ac.uk
Mrs     Claire        Bell          claire.bell@chch.ox.ac.uk                  Dr        Stuart      Mackenzie      srm49@cam.ac.uk
Mr      Martin        Bell          martin.bell@chem.ox.ac.uk                  Dr        Sarantos    Marinakis      sarandis.marinakis@gmail.com
Prof.   Peter         Bernath       pfb500@york.ac.uk                          Dr        Mikhail     Mazurenka      mm652@cam.ac.uk
Miss    Nitika        Bhalla        nb91@le.ac.uk                              Miss      Elin        McCormack      elin.mccormack@chem.ox.ac.uk
Dr      Adrian        Boatwright    pcxab4@nottingham.ac.uk                    Prof.     Kenneth     McKendrick     k.g.mckendrick@hw.ac.uk
Ms      Anna          Boleininger   anna.boleininger@hertford.ox.ac.uk         Mr        Paul        McNaughter     pdm36@cam.ac.uk
Mr      Ewen          Campbell      ewen.campbell@merton.ox.ac.uk              Dr        Russell     Minns          uccarmi@ucl.ac.uk
Miss    Helen         Chadwick      helen.chadwick@new.ox.ac.uk                Dr        Hendrik     Nahler         n.h.nahler@durham.ac.uk
Mr      Yuan-Pin      Chang         yuan-pin.chang@chem.ox.ac.uk               Mr        Anders      Nielsen        pcxabn@nottingham.ac.uk
Dr      Matt          Costen        m.l.costen@hw.ac.uk                        Dr        Mike        Nix            mike.nix@bristol.ac.uk
Dr      Julia         Davies        julia.davies@nottingham.ac.uk              Mr        James       Oldham         james.oldham@new.ox.ac.uk
Mr      Kevin         Douglas       uccakmd@ucl.ac.uk                          Mr        Tom         Oliver         t.a.a.oliver@bristol.ac.uk
Mr      Khadar        Duale         pcxkd2@nottingham.ac.uk                    Mrs       Bodunde     Olusegun       kogiliasonintl@yahoo.com
Dr      Patrick       Dupre         pd520@york.ac.uk                                     jumoke
Mr      Chris         Eyles         chris.eyles@trinity.ox.ac.uk               Dr        Jos         Oomens         joso@rijnhuizen.nl
Miss    Emma          Flynn         emma.flynn@durham.ac.uk                    Prof.     Andrew      Orr-Ewing      a.orr-ewing@bris.ac.uk
Dr      Mark          Ford          Mark.Ford@Chem.ox.ac.uk                    Mr        Dorian      Parker         dorian.parker@ucl.ac.uk
Dr      Stuart        Greaves       s.j.greaves@bristol.ac.uk                  Mr        Michael     Parkes         uccakmd@ucl.ac.uk
Mr      Alistair      Green         pcxag2@nottingham.ac.uk                    Mr        Richard     Plowright      pcxrp2@nottingham.ac.uk
Mr      Jingwei       Guo           jingwei_guo@hotmail.com                    Prof.     Stephen     Price          s.d.price@ucl.ac.uk
Miss    Suzanne       Hamilton      smh55@cam.ac.uk                            Prof.     Katharine   Reid           katharine.reid@nottingham.ac.uk
Mr      Christopher   Hammond       pcxch@nottingham.ac.uk                     Dr        Graham      Richmond       Graham.Richmond@chem.ox.ac.uk
Mr      Dan           Harding       daniel.harding@warwick.ac.uk               Mr        Gareth      Roberts        g.m.roberts@durham.ac.uk
Miss    Laura         Harris        l.j.harris@durham.ac.uk                    Dr        Chris       Rodgers        rodgers@physchem.ox.ac.uk
Mr      Paul          Hockett       pcxph@nottingham.ac.uk                     Miss      Rebecca     Rose           r.rose@bristol.ac.uk
Dr      Scott         Hopkins       wsh25@cam.ac.uk                            Dr        Amanda      Ross           ross@lasim.univ-lyon1.fr
Dr      Jon           Howorth       jon.howorth@photek.co.uk                   Mr        Alan        Sage           alan.sage@bristol.ac.uk
Dr      Andrew        Hudson        andrew.hudson@bris.ac.uk                   Mr        Scott       Sanders        s.e.sanders@dur.ac.uk
Mr      Azhar         Janjuah       A.I.Janjuah@warwick.ac.uk                  Mr        Mathias     Schnippering   m.schnippering@warwick.ac.uk
Dr      Trevor        Sears        sears@bnl.gov
Mr      Tom           Sharples     thomas.sharples@balliol.ox.ac.uk
Mr      Matthew       Simpson      mjs161@bham.ac.uk
Prof.   Ian           Smith        i.w.m.smith@bham.ac.uk
Mr      Eric          So           eric.so@chem.ox.ac.uk
Prof.   Tony          Stace        tony.stace@nottingham.ac.uk
Mr      Michael       Staniforth   pcxms1@nottingham.ac.uk
Dr      Vasilios      Stavros      v.stavros@warwick.ac.uk
Prof.   Arthur        Suits        asuits@chem.wayne.edu
Mr      Mehran        Taherkhani   Mehran.Taherkhani@postgrad.manch
                                   ester.ac.uk
Mr      Christopher   Taylor       cjt500@york.ac.uk
Dr      Nicola        Tonge        nt74@le.ac.uk
Dr      Dave          Townsend     D.Townsend@hw.ac.uk
Prof.   Richard       Tuckett      r.p.tuckett@bham.ac.uk
Dr      Claire        Vallance     claire.vallance@chem.ox.ac.uk
Miss    Magda         Van          m.van-leeuwen@uea.ac.uk
                      Leeuwen
Mr      Luigi         Varriale     lv16@le.ac.uk
Dr      Jan           Verlet       j.r.r.verlet@durham.ac.uk
Dr      Nicholas      Walker       Nick.Walker@bristol.ac.uk
Miss    Carla         Waring       cw112@hw.ac.uk
Mr      Kym           Wells        k.l.wells@warwick.ac.uk
Dr      Colin         Western      C.M.Western@bristol.ac.uk
Prof.   Benjamin      Whitaker     b.j.whitaker@leeds.ac.uk
Mr      Iain          Wilkinson    jhs1iw@leeds.ac.uk
Dr      Stefan        Willitsch    s.willitsch@ucl.ac.uk
Mr      Edward        Wilman       edward.wilman@hertford.ox.ac.uk
Dr      Eckart        Wrede        eckart.wrede@durham.ac.uk
Dr      Shengfu       Yang         sfy1@le.ac.uk

								
To top