Docstoc

THE CARDINAL VAUGHAN MEMORIAL SCHOOL CALENDAR OF EVENTS Academic

Document Sample
THE CARDINAL VAUGHAN MEMORIAL SCHOOL CALENDAR OF EVENTS Academic Powered By Docstoc
					                                                                     Tuesday 5 October                                                   Friday 26 November
                                                                     Schola sing Monteverdi Vespers, Durham Cathedral , 7.30 p.m.          School begins with Registration 10.00 a.m.
          THE CARDINAL VAUGHAN                                       Wednesday 6 October                                                 Banding & Music Test First Form 2011 Applicants (2nd) (am/pm)
            MEMORIAL SCHOOL                                            Early Evening Recital (Piano) New Music Suite 6.00 p.m.           Commendation Day Forms 1-4
                                                                       Vaughan Parents’ Reading Group (Library) 6.30-8.00 p.m.           Saturday 27 November
                                                                     Thursday 7 October                                                    Associated Music Board Examinations, New Music Suite
                                                                       Open Evening: Sixth Form External Applicants 2011                 Tuesday 30 November
                                                                       6.00-8.00 p.m. Head of Upper School address 6.00 p.m                Junior Concert, New Hall 6.15 p.m.
                                                                     Friday 8 October                                                    Wednesday 1 December
                                                                       Henry Taylor School Outfitters, 12.30 – 1.30 p.m.                   Schola Cantorum & Brass Ensemble, Carol Concert
                                                                       Quiz Night in aid of The Vaughan Parents’ Association 8.00 p.m.     Oriental Club, London 7.00 p.m.
                                                                     Sunday 10 October                                                   Thursday 2 December
                                                                       Big Band at the Bull’s Head, Barnes 1.00 p.m.                       Sixth Form Concert, St Annes’, Kew Green 7.00 p.m.
                                                                     Tuesday 12 October                                                  Friday 3 December
                                                                       Open Evening Sixth Form Internal Applicants 2011                    Senior Citizens Tea Dance 4-6 p.m.
                                                                        4.00-6.00 p.m. Head of Upper School address 4.00 p.m.            Saturday 4 December
             CALENDAR OF EVENTS                                      Wednesday 13 October                                                  Christmas Dance in aid Vaughan Parents’ Association 7.30 p.m.
                 Academic Year                                         Early Evening Recital (Strings) 6.00 p.m.                         Sunday 5 December
                                                                     Tuesday 19 October                                                    Big Band play the Bull’s Head, Barnes 1.00 p.m.
                                                                        Open Evening: Sixth Form External Applicants 2011                Monday 6 December
                        2010 – 2011                                    6.00-8.00 p.m. Head of Upper School address 6.00 p.m                VCYM Concert, New Hall 5.00 p.m.
                                                                     Wednesday 20 October                                                Tuesday 7 December
2010 MICHAELMAS TERM                                                      Early Evening Recital (Woodwind) 6.00 p.m.                       Performance of Brahm’s German Requiem, St James’
Friday 3 September                                                   Friday 22 October                                                     Spanish Place, 7.30 p.m.
    Michaelmas Term begins for First Form                              Closing date for First Form 2011 Admissions                       Thursday 9-Thursday 16 December
    Mass & Induction: 9.00 a.m.- 12 noon                                                                                                   Internal Mock Examinations Period
                                                                                        Monday-Friday 25 - 29 October
    Henry Taylor School Outfitters                                                                                                       Friday 10 December
                                                                                                   Half Term
    Lower Sixth Form Uniform Collection                                                                                                    Henry Taylor School Outfitters, 12.30. – 1.30 p.m.
                                                                     10.00 a.m. – 3.00 p.m. The Vaughan Sports Foundation Basketball
Monday 6 September                                                                                                                       Saturday 11 December
                                                                                                      Camp
    Michaelmas Term begins for Second- Lower Sixth Forms                                                                                   First Performance of Wagner’s Tanhauser, Royal Opera House
Wednesday 8 September                                                                                                                      (subsequent performances 15, 19, 22,27 & 30 December)
                                                                     Monday 1 November
    Michaelmas Term begins for Upper Sixth Form                                                                                          Monday 13 to Thursday 16 December
                                                                     Banding &Music Test First Form 2011 Applicants,(1st) (am/pm)
Thursday 9 September                                                                                                                       School Examinations Period Forms 1-4
                                                                     Tuesday 2 November
    First Form Parents’ Social Evening, 6.30-8.00 p.m.                                                                                   Thursday 16 December
                                                                       Pupils Return
Friday 10 September                                                                                                                        Carol Service, Our Lady of Victories Church 7.30 p.m.
                                                                     Wednesday 3 November
    Henry Taylor School Outfitters, 12.30 – 1.30 p.m.                                                                                    Friday 17 December
                                                                       Early Evening Recital (Brass & Organ) Addison Hall 6.00 p.m.
    Schola to sing in the BBC Proms, Royal Albert Hall 7.30 p.m.                                                                           End of Michaelmas Term
                                                                     Thursday 4 November
Tuesday 14 September
                                                                       Senior Mathematics Challenge
    Open Evening: First Form Admissions 2011, 5.00- 8.00 p.m.
                                                                     Wednesday 10 November
    The Acting Headmaster will address parents at 5.00 & 6.30 p.m.                                                                       2011 LENTEN TERM
                                                                       Fifth Form (1st) Staff & Parents’ Meeting 5.00-8.00 p.m.
16-19 September Papal Visit to UK                                                                                                        Wednesday 5 January
                                                                       Early Evening Recital (Singing) New Music Suite 6.00 p.m.
Monday 20 September                                                                                                                        Lenten Term begins for Pupils
                                                                     Friday 12 November
   VCYM (First Meeting) 4.30 p.m.                                    Closing date for Internal/ External Sixth Form 2011 Admissions      Monday 10 January
Thursday 23 September                                                  Henry Taylor School Outfitters, 12.30 – 1.30 p.m                    VCYM begins 4.30 p.m.
Mr Gormally’s Retirement Mass, Westminster Cathedral, 7.00 p.m       Saturday 13 November                                                (10 January – 4 February)
Friday 24 September                                                    The Vaughan Sports Foundation Ball, 7.30 p.m.                       Public Examinations Period
    School begins with 10.00 a.m. Registration                       Sunday 14 November                                                  Thursday 14 January
    Henry Taylor School Outfitters, 12.30 – 1.30 p.m                   Remembrance Sunday                                                  OCR GCSE Science Examinations, Forms 4S2-5 (a.m.)
    Schola to sing Mass for the Papal Knights 6.00 p.m.              Tuesday 16 November                                                 Friday 14 January
Sunday 26 September                                                  Upper Sixth Form Staff & Parents Meeting (1st ) 5.00-8.00 p.m.        Henry Taylor School Outfitters, 12.30. –1.30 p.m.
10.00 a.m. Ten Mile Walk in aid of The Vaughan Sports Foundation     Vaughan Parents’ Reading Group (Library) 6.30-8.00 p.m.             Wednesday19 January
Thursday 30 September                                                Thursday 18 November                                                  OCR GCSE Science Examinations, Forms 5S2-5 (a.m.)
    Open Evening: First Form Admission 2011, 5.00- 8.00 p.m.         Concert for St Cecilia, St Paul’s Church, Hammersmith 7.00 p.m .      Vaughan Parents’ Reading Group (Library) 6.30-8.00 p.m.
    The Acting Headmaster will address parents at 5.00 & 6.30 p.m.   Thursday 25 November                                                Saturday 22 January
Saturday 2 October                                                     Speech Day, 7.30 p.m.                                                  Race Night in aid of The Vaughan Parents’ Association 7.30 p.m
 Schola Cantorum sing at Sheldonian Theatre, Oxford 7.30 p.m
                                                                     Thursday 17 March                                                Wednesday 25 May
Tuesday 25 January                                                     Third Form Options Afternoon 1.30-3.30 p.m.                      OCR Fourth Form GCSE Science Examinations
     Lower Sixth Form Staff & Parent’s Meeting 5.00 -8.00 p.m.         Third Form Options Evening 6.15 p.m.                             4S1 Physics (a.m.)
Wednesday 26 January                                                   Vaughan Parents’ Reading Group (Library) 6.30-8.00 p.m.        Thursday 26 May
  ‘Battle of the Bands’, New Hall 6.00 p.m.                            Sixth Form Opera Production 7.00 p.m.                            Fourth Form Geography Field Trip
Friday 28 January                                                    Friday 18 March                                                  Friday 27 May
      Henry Taylor School Outfitters, 12.30 – 1.30 p.m.                Sixth Form Opera Production 7.00 p.m.                            Fourth Form Geography Field Trip
Friday 28 January – Sunday 30 January                                Friday 25 March                                                    Henry Taylor School Outfitters, 12.30. – 1.30 p.m
   HCPT Group 21 Residential Preparation Weekend                       Henry Taylor School Outfitters, 12.30. – 1.30 p.m                (27 May – 1 June) Race to Ben Nevis
Wednesday 2 February                                                 Saturday 26 March                                                  In aid of The Vaughan Sports Foundation
    Annual Music Competition, (Piano) New Music Suite 6.15 p.m.        Associated Board Music Examinations (a.m. & p.m.)
Thursday 3 February                                                  Wednesday 30 March                                                                Monday-Friday 30 May – 3 June
  Third Form Staff/Parent Meeting 5.00 – 8.00 p.m.                    Annual Music Competition (Final), New Music Suite, 6.15 p.m.                              Half Term
  Intermediate Mathematics Challenge                                 Monday 4 April
Wednesday 9 February                                                   VCYM Concert New Hall 5.00 p.m.
     Fifth Form Staff & Parents Meeting (2nd) 5.00-8.00 p.m.         Thursday 7 April                                                 Monday 6 June
Thursday 10 February                                                   Visit of Southbank Sinfonia 9.30 a.m.-12.30 p.m.                 Pupils Return
Annual Music Competition, (Strings) New Music Suite 6.15 p.m.        Friday 8 April                                                   Tuesday 7 June
Friday 11 February                                                     Easter Concert, School Choir sing Bach’s B Minor Mass            OCR Fourth Form GCSE Science Examinations
   ‘Evening with the Big Band,’ Addison Hall 7.30 p.m.                 St John’s Smith Square, 7.00 p.m.                                4S2-4S5, B2, C2, P2 (a.m.)
   Henry Taylor School Outfitters, 12.30 – 1.30 p.m.                   Henry Taylor School Outfitters, 12.30. – 1.30 p.m              Friday 10 June
Wednesday 16 February                                                  Commendation Day Forms 1-4                                       Henry Taylor School Outfitters 5.30 – 7.00 p.m.
   Annual Music Competition (Woodwind) 6.15 p.m.                     Monday 11 April                                                  Saturday 11 June
Thursday 17 February                                                   Visit of Southbank Sinfonia 2.30-5.30 p.m.                       Henry Taylor School Outfitters 11.00 a.m. – 2.00 p.m.
     Upper Sixth Form Staff & Parents Meeting (2nd) 5.00-8.00 p.m.   Wednesday 13 April                                               Wednesday 15 June
Friday 18 – 23 February                                                End of Lenten Term                                               Lower School Chamber Music Competition,
    Schola Cantorum Tour                                             ________________________________________________________           New Music Suite, 6.15 p.m.
                  Monday-Friday 21 - 25 February                            25 April-1 May HCPT Group 21 Pilgrimage to Lourdes        Saturday 18 June
                             Half Term                                                                                                  Associated Board Music Examinations, New Music Suite
      10.00 a.m. – 3.00 p.m. The Vaughan Sports Foundation           2011 TRINITY TERM                                                Monday 20 – Friday 24 June
                          Basketball Camp                            Monday 2 May                                                       School Examinations Period, Forms 1-4
                                                                       May Bank Holiday                                               Wednesday 22 June
Monday 28 February                                                     Visit of Southbank Sinfonia 9.30 a.m.-12.30 p.m.                 Vaughan Parents’ Reading Group (Library) 6.30-8.00 p.m.
  Pupils Return                                                      Tuesday 3 May                                                    Sunday 3 July
Wednesday 2 March                                                      Trinity Term begins for Pupils                                   Vaughan Parents’ Association Summer Fête 1.00 p.m.
    First Form Staff & Parents’ Meeting 5.00 – 8.00 p.m.               Concert with Southbank Sinfonia (Venue tbc) 7.30 p.m.          Monday 4 July
    Third Form Geography Field Trip Form 3G3-3G5                     Friday 6 May                                                       School Sports Day
Thursday 3 March                                                       Junior Mathematics Challenge                                   Thursday7 July
Annual Music Competition (Singing) New Music Suite, 6.15 p.m.        Wednesday 11 May                                                   Summer Concert, Addison Hall, 7.00 p.m.
     Third Form Geography Field Trip Form 3G1-3G2                      Electric Guitar & Drum Competition, 6.00 p.m.                    First Form Geography STEM Trip
Saturday 5 March                                                     Friday 13 May                                                    Friday 8 July
  St Patrick’s Night Dinner & Dance in aid of                          Henry Taylor School Outfitters, 12.30. – 1.30 p.m.               Commendation Day Forms 1-4
  The Vaughan Parents’ Association 8.00 p.m.                           OCR Fourth Form GCSE Science Examinations                        First Form Geography Stem Trip
Tuesday 8 March                                                        4S1, Biology (a.m.)                                            Monday 11 July
  Fourth Form Staff & Parents’ Meeting 5.00-8.00 p.m.                Saturday 14 May                                                    VCYM Concert, New Hall, 5.00 p.m.
Thursday 10 March                                                      Auction in aid of the Vaughan Parents’ Association 7.30 p.m.   Monday 11 July – Friday 22 July
  The Spring Concert, St Paul’s Church, Hammersmith, 7.00 p.m.       Monday 16 May – Monday 27 June                                     Fourth Form Work Experience
Friday 11 March                                                        Public Examinations Period                                     Monday 18-Wednesday 20 July
  Henry Taylor School Outfitters, 12.30 – 1.30 p.m.                  Wednesday 18 May                                                     School Activities Days
Tuesday 15 March                                                       Junior Concert, New Hall 6.15 p.m.                             Tuesday 19 July –Thursday 21 July
  Second Form Staff & Parents Meeting 5.00-8.00 p.m.                   Vaughan Parents’ Reading Group (Library) 6.30-8.00 p.m.          School Drama Production 7.30 p.m.
Wednesday 16 March                                                   Friday 20 May                                                    Friday 22 July
  Annual Music Competition (Brass) New Music Suite 6.15 pm              OCR Fourth Form GCSE Science Examinations                       CVMS Golf Day
                                                                       4S1, Chemistry (a.m.)                                            End of Trinity Term



                                                                                                                                                               Version 1 4.8.2010