Calm waters set the scene for some spectacular racing today (16th June) as the
Isle of Man’s Douglas Bay hosted the third round of the Honda Formula 4-Stroke
Powerboat Series.

The mid-week high swells and heavy winds which had threatened this weekend’s
racing cleared and large crowds gathered on Douglas Promenade to witness
some exhilarating racing in both 150hp and 225hp series.

Neil Crabb and Lee Darbyshire in ‘Premier Cru’ were in startling form holding off
a formidable challenge from the championship’s two new ‘hotshots’ Jak Cockman
and Andy Phipps in ‘Cider Daze 150’.

“The boat was set up well and we got a great start,” said Crabb. “Credit to Jak
and Andy who pushed us extremely hard from the word go. Even on the last lap
we couldn’t let up. A slight lapse in concentration would have resulted in a
different outcome. I think they’ll get stronger as the season develops so we’ve
got some exciting racing ahead of us.”

In an equally thrilling 225hp race, Gavin Parsonage and Nathan Libby in
’Negotiator’ stormed home in first place ahead of a newly invigorated Shelly Jory
and Libby Keir in‘Team Raymarine’ who finished in second.

“We’re thrilled,” said Parsonage. “It was a great race with an extremely close
start and I was pleased we got out in front. It was then just a question of holding
our position.”
HF4S’s presence in Douglas not only adds to the island’s portfolio of high-profile
sporting events, but also strengthens Honda’s own links with the venue.

“It’s been a great couple of weeks for Honda on the Isle of Man,” said Martin
Sanders, General Manager Power Equipment, Honda (UK). “John McGuinness
became the first rider in TT history to break the 130mph (average) barrier last
week when he won the legendary race on a Honda. The spectacular Honda
Formula 4-Stroke Series made its first appearance on the Isle of Man in 2005,
and following its huge success in 2006, it was natural to return here for 2007.”

The Steam Packet Company Grand Prix continues tomorrow (17th June) starting
at 13:00.

For further information on the Honda Formula 4-Stroke Powerboat Series go to

                                      - Ends -

 For more information please contact Peter Panarisi on 020 7565 3265.
2007 Isle of Man provisional race results - Saturday 16th June
HF4S 150 Series – 9 laps

1.    PREMIER CRU – Neil Crabb / Lee Darbyshire
2.    CIDER DAZE 150 – Jak Cockman / Andy Phipps
3.    M & M RACING – Jerry McArthur / Jonny Twelvetrees
4.    LINGS RACING – David Cowley / Paul Barkshire
5.    DELMAR GROUP – Tony Crossley / Mark Glanville
6.    QUALITY JOBS – Tom Plant / James Plant
7.    LOCAMOTION – Rose Lores / Sharyn Brown
8.    TEAM EBEL – Graham Foster-Vigors / Harry Armer
9.    CLAYGATE AIRWAVES – Nick Clemson / Paul Trow-Smith
10.   CONSTRUCTION RACING – Marcus Bradshaw / Aron Jackson
11.   APP MERMAID – David Hobson / Kirsty Clark
12.   SPIRIT RACING – Lee Smith / Suzy Smith
13.   ALIEN – Ian Bull / Rob Chambers
14.   NEPTUNE – Graeme Haggar / Darren Graham
15.   XPOLE – Clive Coote / Tim Coote
16.   TEAM EARLS COURT – James Brooke

H4FS 225hp Series – 12 laps

1.    NEGOTIATOR – Gavin Parsonage / Nathan Libby
2.    TEAM RAYMARINE – Shelly Jory / Libby Kier
3.    SALCOMBE HONDA SPECIALISTS – Rhys Evans / Haydn Evans
4.    CLAYGATE AIRWAVES – Jack Glendinning / Simon Bucknall
5.    TEAM WILLIAMS – Scott Williams / David Williams
6.    GSS MERMAID – Paul Charman / Andy Brown
7.    ENGLISH HERITAGE BUILDINGS – Darren Hook / David Harwood
8.    POWER OF DREAMS GERMANY – Mike Heijmans / Olaf Ziegs
9.    CLAYGATE BATHROOMS – Martin Marsh / Roger Marsh
10.   BUILDBASE – Kevin Marshall / Adam Ford
11.   DON’T PANIC – Miles Dobson / Phill Haynes
12.   VORTIGEN – Stephen Baggs / Michael Baggs
13.   VECTOR – David Baker / Cally Hocknell
14.   DELMAR SUFACE PREP – Sarah Donohue / Jo Dixon
15.   SCREAM-IT.COM – Richard George / Danny Bamping
16.   CIDER DAZE – Dave Cockman / Mark Cockman

To top