Docstoc

Reviews

Document Sample
Reviews Powered By Docstoc
					Reviews: Science Museum of Virginia                                               Name:
keerstn, Maryland, Nov 14, 2010
I took my six-year-old son to this museum from out of town. We enjoyed the        Positive OR Negative
traveling 'goosebumps' exhibit most, but would go back to see the rest of the
museum as well. Rat basketball was great - and my son came out of it              Reasoning:
knowing all about how to train animals (a bonus!) I would highly
recommend going to any of the live shows and demonstrations - they were
our favorite parts of the museum. We knew from tripadvisor that some
exhibits wouldn't work - but we found very few that weren't working. My           Potential Bias (Why they
son's favorite (other than goosebumps) was Science Unplugged - all hands-         might have prejudged the
on, and a definite must if you have kids under 12. We're already planning a       museum):
trip back so my older son (9) can go along next time! And my husband's
looking forward to it, too.

Ironleague, Ontario, Jul 15, 2010
We decided to go to the museum as a back up plan due to bad weather at            Positive OR Negative
Kings Domnion. I have been to many different science museums in Canada
and the United States, and I must say, this one falls short. Price was            Reasoning:
reasonable $44.00 for two adults and a child. This included admission,
IMAX and planetarium. It is in a beautiful old train station and is a good
size. Unfortunately, many of the exhibits were broken and missing parts.
This was disappointing as it is supposed to be a hands on museum. IMAX            Potential Bias (Why they
was great, but the planetarium was garbage. Not worth the extra money.            might have prejudged the
With a little bit of TLC and repairs, this could be a great museum.               museum):

Missty, Alexandria, Mar 23, 2010
My almost 11yo daughter and I spent 3 hours here and plan to go back as           Positive OR Negative
there's lots more to discover and do. Being from Northern Virginia, it was a
treat to enjoy so many interesting exhibits in a non-crowded museum ~2            Reasoning:
hours from home! The museum's facilities are beautiful and spacious.
Several minor exhibits weren't working, but the majority were. We
particularly enjoyed the Rat basketball demonstration (worth the price of
admission alone!), science demonstrations, and being Science Sleuths.             Potential Bias (Why they
                                                                                  might have prejudged the
                                                                                  museum):


Ibeplato, Mar 8, 2010
We stayed here on an overnight camp-in with our scout troop. This is a kid's      Positive OR Negative
dream for anyone from around 1st to middle-school. The museum sits in the
old Richmond rail station and features a giant rotunda when you initially         Reasoning:
enter. From there there are 3 floors of exhibits, plus an combination
IMAX/planetarium. All the exhibits are hands on. Let me repeat, ALL the
exhibits are hands on. The real problem here is that there is just too much
stuff for a single visit without spending 8 hours inside. The only other minor
complaint was that there a few exhibits that were out of order and there aren't   Potential Bias (Why they
good dining options inside (though there are lots of fast food places in the      might have prejudged the
immediate area).                                                                  museum):
But as far as a place to bring a kid for an afternoon (or an overnight camp-
in), it's hard to top the Science Museum.
Mybelle StauntonVA Jul 7, 2009
The building itself is definitely worth the ticket price. Spectacular inside and      Positive OR Negative
out. We loved the locomotive out back and touring a luxury private rail car.
The Mind Bender exhibit was different and interesting. There was lots more            Reasoning:
in the museum than I expected. My 13 and 14 year old foster sons kept busy
for 3-4 hours. As a science teacher, I liked the frequent live demonstrations
(we were there on a busy summer day). It would be nice if all the exhibit             Potential Bias (Why they
parts worked, there were 4 or 5 things that couldn't be operated and that was         might have prejudged the
frustrating. Great place to hang out, I would enjoy going back.                       museum):

Bigdaddy, Halifax, VA, Jan 2, 2009
My family was eager to visit the Science Museum, as we had thoroughly                 Positive OR Negative
enjoyed visiting the art museum. We were very disappointed, as some of the
exhibits were not working and many were designed for elementary school                Reasoning:
children (many of whom where running around willy nilly without
supervision). With some exhibits, one would have to arrive at a specific time
to see the exhibit or wait around for it to start. The building itself is very nice
and historic in nature, but I would never pay $10 admission prices to see this        Potential Bias (Why they
museum again.                                                                         might have prejudged the
                                                                                      museum):


Ginger W., Richmond, VA, 5/19/2010
Now here's a great use for an old train station. This is a really interesting         Positive OR Negative
museum, with plenty of stuff for both kids and adults. I loved the Virginia
Tech Solar house, and I always find cool presents for my nieces and                   Reasoning:
nephews in the gift shop. There's a nice little café, with some tables outside
on the front portico, and they have both free Wi-Fi and Starbucks.
         I've been to a couple of the lunchtime lectures, a regular free series
called Lunch Break Science on Wednesdays at noon. You can brown bag if
you want and feed your mind and your mouth at the same time.                          Potential Bias (Why they
         Kids love the hands-on exhibits on electricity and other neat stuff          might have prejudged the
they're not allowed to touch at home, and they'll willingly sit through a             museum):
movie at the IMAX theater. For teens and adults, there's an "adventure" that
takes you through the museum, sending clues via text to your cell phone as
you discover the different exhibits.

Megan M., Richmond, VA, 6/23/2010
After going to the Science Museum in Pittsburgh, Pa., I had high                      Positive OR Negative
expectations for Richmond's science museum, and it was just okay. As Sean
mentioned, on my visit many of the hands-on exhibits weren't working. Also,           Reasoning:
for such a big, elegant space, there weren't that many exhibits. I expected
more for my money. It also seems like they could do more with the neat old
train tracks out back.
          There is an IMAX theather, and there isn't one of those anywhere            Potential Bias (Why they
else in town, so that's cool. I also like that all kinds of events like sales and     might have prejudged the
galas are held here. The lobby does make for a really nice venu with its              museum):
grand old train station look.
          I like having a science museum and think this one is trying hard. It
just needs to keep getting better.
Reviews: Science Museum of Virginia                                                 Name:
emilyg28, Boulder, CO, Jun 16, 2008
This science museum is an excellent place to spend a day with kids of a wide
variety of ages. Our two science-oriented boys are 13 and 15, but there are         Positive OR Negative
many exhbits/activities for younger chidren also. We thought we would be
there a couple of hours, but we ended up staying most of the day. They have         Reasoning:
an expansion in progress, and when that is complete, SVM might even beat
our current favorite science center, OMSI in Portland. Their staff were
extremely helpful, friendly, and flexible - when we were there, school was
still in session in Richmond, so the facility wasn't busy and they did two
demonstrations off-schedule just because we asked them when they would
be occurring. They have a Segway that they taught us how to ride
(awesome!) and they have a rat-training demonstration, magic/optical
illusion demonstration, and others too. Our favorite exhibits were Newton in
Space, Seeing Things, Matter & Molecules, and Electriworks. The outdoor
exhibits of the Aluminaut and Steam locomotive were cool too. (Thanks
SVM for keeping the train station platforms, too!) Trivia - the Earth Kugel
sitting in front of the museum s a replacement kugel. The original one was          Potential Bias (Why they
the biggest kugel of granite in the world, but it started cracking soon after       might have prejudged the
installation and now sits out back at the "Track level" where you can see the       museum):
crack that goes all the way around it. The new kugel is fine, but it's cool to
be able to see the original one too. (Thanks to wikipedia for this
information.) The Cafe Portico even had a few tasty items that satisfied our
vegetarian lunchtime appetites. (They serve Starbucks too.) Highly
recommended!!!

jordan F., Fremont, CA, 12/1/2010 A fantastic museum, in Richmond, VA.
My girlfriend took me here the first day we met knowing that I have an              Positive OR Negative
attraction to any and all things science. Great exhibits, a decent store, and a
couple of cool optical illusions i hadn't seen before. For instance, one was a      Reasoning:
mirror in a room that changed how you saw yourself in terms of height.
Think of the shrinking/growing hallway in Willy Wonka and The Chocolate
Factory. My girlfriend is six foot two, and I stand at about five foot eight, but
in that room it seemed I was the taller one. Overall I really loved the
museum, the only reason I didn't give it five stars was because of it being a       Potential Bias (Why they
somewhat small museum.                                                              might have prejudged the
                                                                                    museum):



Megan M., Richmond, VA, 6/23/2010
After going to the Science Museum in Pittsburgh, Pa., I had high                    Positive OR Negative
expectations for Richmond's science museum, and it was just okay. As Sean
mentioned, on my visit many of the hands-on exhibits weren't working. Also,         Reasoning:
for such a big, elegant space, there weren't that many exhibits. I expected
more for my money. It also seems like they could do more with the neat old
train tracks out back.
          There is an IMAX theather, and there isn't one of those anywhere
else in town, so that's cool. I also like that all kinds of events like sales and   Potential Bias (Why they
galas are held here. The lobby does make for a really nice venu with its            might have prejudged the
grand old train station look.                                                       museum):
          I like having a science museum and think this one is trying hard. It
just needs to keep getting better.
Ronnie B., Richmond, VA, 8/29/2010
B.O.R.I.N.G. You're better off going to the Air & Space Center in Hampton
VA. Yes it is a long drive however it is worth it. The SMV is SERIOUSLY             Positive OR Negative
outdated. This is supposed to be the science museum of VIRGINIA. The
STATE. And yet it's just dullsville.                                                Reasoning:
          At first you will notice there is a rock outside you can push around
because it is being supported by water.. or something. All I know is that
Virginia has the nation's largest estuary and I think of all places ..the Science
Museum of Virginia could make more practical uses of something as
precious like water. Inside you can watch the pendulum swing.. all. year.
long. They redid the entire place that was once nothing but broken junk so
that now it features new broken junk. Basically they add new things then
wait 30 years to follow up on the condition of it.
          SMV tries to have it 2 ways. It tries to live on the crutch of being
the old train station at the same time it attempts to be a science museum. I
will admit the history of train station is by far more interesting than the
science "exhibits" frankly because all you're doing is reading about the
history on the various mural along the wall vs tinkering with broken devices.       Potential Bias (Why they
          The IMAX is a joke, I believe at best you will get a 15 minute            might have prejudged the
movie that will cost you nearly $9 per PERSON, as in per adult AND per              museum):
child. The VA Air & Space Museum has a better IMAX and features actual
movies such as Avatar and other mainstream movies you actually want to
see vs 15 minute documentaries shot PBS style. Also they play the same
movies for MONTHS. I highly doubt little kids will enjoy it here, even teens
don't enjoy it here.
          I would not go back to the SMV if I were paid to. It's just so boring.
 You will see people standing around and wondering how some of the
exhibits work (because they're broken so pieces are missing) and it is just
depressing. You will hear some of the machines humming and the a/c
blowing but that's about it as far as soun
          Oh yeah upstairs they have these rats, snakes, roaches and other
"creatures" you can get/watch from the James River basically. They have
"rat basketball" which must be a Southern thing because I fail to see
entertainment in playing with full grown rats..
          You see the other reviews say the same thing yet they rate this place
entirely too high, let's be honest here. This place is a huge waste of time and
money.

Ginger W., Richmond, VA, 5/19/2010
Now here's a great use for an old train station. This is a really interesting
museum, with plenty of stuff for both kids and adults. I loved the Virginia         Positive OR Negative
Tech Solar house, and I always find cool presents for my nieces and
nephews in the gift shop. There's a nice little café, with some tables outside      Reasoning:
on the front portico, and they have both free Wi-Fi and Starbucks.
         I've been to a couple of the lunchtime lectures, a regular free series
called Lunch Break Science on Wednesdays at noon. You can brown bag if
you want and feed your mind and your mouth at the same time.
         Kids love the hands-on exhibits on electricity and other neat stuff        Potential Bias (Why they
they're not allowed to touch at home, and they'll willingly sit through a           might have prejudged the
movie at the IMAX theater. For teens and adults, there's an "adventure" that        museum):
takes you through the museum, sending clues via text to your cell phone as
you discover the different exhibits.

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Categories:
Tags:
Stats:
views:68
posted:1/20/2011
language:English
pages:6