Best Selling Author Sue Grafton Author Biographies

Document Sample
Best Selling Author Sue Grafton Author Biographies Powered By Docstoc
					Sue Grafton was born on April 24, 1940 in Louisville, Kentucky where she and her
sister were also raised. Her parents were Attorney C.W. Grafton and Vivian
Harnsberger Grafton. Her father also wrote in his spare time had four mysteries

After graduating with a BA in English Literature from the University of Louisville in
1961, Sue worked in Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, California, cashier, medical
secretary and hospital admissions clerk.

Although Sue started writing when she was 18 years old, she wasnt published until
1967.She started writing screenplays, Television movies, and television pilots.

Sue is married to Steven F. Humphries and has three children from previous marriages.
She was in the middle of a divorce in the 1980s when she started writing her Kinsey
Millhone books. She joking says, Your homicidal urges can be turned to good in this
world. Dont let that ex-husband get you down! Just start a new job.

She lives in Santa Barbara where her Kinsey Millhone Protagonist lives, but she has
renamed it Santa Theresa in the books. Sue says that when she first did book signings,
most of the people in line were women, but now there are at least as many men if not
more. She is not a gender neutral writer.

Sue was writing one book a year but decided that was too much, so now she publishes
a book about every eighteen months. She says that when she dies, she will leave all of
her papers to Boston University. She absolutely refuses to let Hollywood get hold of
Kinsey Millhone.

Books by Sue Grafton:

Kinsey Millhone Series:
A is for Alibi (1982)
B is for Burglar (1985)
C is for Corpse (1986)
D is for Deadbeat (1987)
E is for Evidence (1988)
F is for Fugitive (1989)
G is for Gumshoe (1990)
H is for Homicide (1991)
I is for Innocent (1992)
J is for Judgement (1993)
K is for Killer (1994)
L is for Lawless (1995)
M is for Malice (1996)
N is for Noose (1998)
O is for Outlaw (1999)
P is for Peril (2000)
Q is for Quarry (2002)
R is for Ricochet (2004)
S is for Silence (2005)
T is for Trespass (2007)
U is for Undertow (2009)

Kinsey Millhone Omnibus:
Three Complete Novels 1: A, B and C (1990)
Three Complete Novels 2: D, E and F (2001)
Three Complete Novels 3: G, H and I (2002)
Three Complete Novels 4: J, K and L (2007)
Three Complete Novels 5: M, N and O (2008)

Keziah Dane (1967)
The Lolly-Madonna War (1998)

Anthologies Edited:
The Best American Mystery Stories: 1998 (1998) with Otto Penzler

Writing Mysteries: A Handbook by the Mystery Writers of America (2002)