Btec National Business Unit 37 Starting a Small Business - PDF by ddb80330


More Info
BTEC Extended Diploma in Business (Triple Award)

Specification Details:

What is a BTEC Extended Diploma?

A BTEC Extended Diploma is a practical, work-related
course.     Students learn by completing projects and
assignments that are based on realistic workplace
situations, activities and demands. Students focus on a
particular subject area and develop a range of specialist
skills and knowledge.

It is equivalent to three GCE A levels or a Triple Award
Applied A level. It helps students to enter employment or
to use it, together with other qualifications, to progress to
higher education.

What is the course structure?

The Edexcel Level 3 BTEC Extended Diploma in Business consists of four core
units plus fourteen specialists units which explore particular topics in more

What subjects will I study?

   Business (Core)           Business (Option)          Business (Option)

Unit 1- Exploring         Unit 13- Investigating     Unit 17- Fashion
Business Activity         Recruitment & Selection    Retailing
Unit 2- Investigating     Unit 15- Career            Unit 9 – Creative
Business Resources        Development Planning       Product Promotion

Unit 3- Introduction to   Unit 16-Human Resource Unit 12 – Internet
Marketing                 Management             Marketing in Business
Unit 4- Effective People, Unit 18- Managing a        Unit 14 – Aspects of
Communication &           Business Event             Employment Law
Unit 5 – Introduction to Unit 37- Starting a small Unit 17 – Training in the
Accounting               Business                  Business Workplace

Unit 19 – Exploring       Unit 39- Exploring the     Unit 28 – Business
Team Development          Business & Economic        Project Management

How is the course assessed?

All units are assessed and graded, and an overall grade for the qualification is
awarded. Grades awarded are Pass, Merit or Distinction. You will obtain UCAS
points just as with ‘A’ levels. (For the Extended Diploma you will receive three
grades as with three ‘A’ levels – PPP, PMM, MMM, MDD, DDD, D*D*D*)

A Pass Grade is equivalent to Grade E at A Level and is worth 40 UCAS points.
A Merit Grade is equivalent to Grade C at A level and is worth 80 UCAS points.
A Distinction Grade is equivalent to Grade A at A level and is worth 120 UCAS

How will I work?

On the BTEC Extended Diploma in Business you will be expected to take more
responsibility for yourself and your own learning almost from the outset. You will
quickly be expected to start thinking for yourself. This means planning what to
do and carrying out a task without needing constant reminders. This doesn’t
mean that your tutor won’t give you help and guidance when you need it. It does
mean, though, that you need to be ‘self-starting’ and to be able to use your own

You also need to be able to assess your own performance and make
improvements when necessary. If you enjoy having the freedom to make your
own decisions and work at your own pace then you will welcome this type of
learning with open arms.

However there are dangers! If you are a procrastinator (look up this word if you
don’t know what it means!) then it’s quite likely you will quickly get in a muddle.
Your learning will be assessed in a variety of ways, such as by assignments,
projects and case studies.

What can I do at the end of the course?

BTEC Extended Diplomas are valued by employers and higher education
(universities and colleges).

Learners may progress to university or college for a degree or a BTEC Higher
Extended course in Business.

The Diploma supports learners in applying for jobs in business-related careers
such as accounting, administration, customer service, finance, ICT, personnel or

How can I find out more? Ask your careers teacher or advisor for more
information or see the Edexcel website for the full specification.

Entry requirements:
Grade C in at least one GCSE English


To top