Docstoc

vol - Georgia Southern University

Document Sample
vol - Georgia Southern University Powered By Docstoc
					                                Statesboro Area Volunteer Agencies
Thanks for your interest in volunteering! This is a list of agencies around Statesboro that would love to have Georgia
Southern students volunteer with them! Please contact the agency(ies) of your choice, and keep track of your volunteer
hours on our volunteer log sheet. Log sheets should be submitted to the Volunteer Services Office by the end of each
semester. When you have 200 or more service hours, you are eligible for a Volunteer Services Transcript. For more
information, visit our office in Russell Union, Room 2022, call us at 912-871-1435 or visit us online at
http://students.georgiasouthern.edu/volunteer/.

On Campus
Academic Success Center          Janet O'Brien     681-5371   jlobrien@georgiasouthern.edu

Botanical Garden of GSU          Julie Churney     871-1149   garden@georgiasouthern.edu

Center for Wildlife Education    Scott Courdin     681-0831   jscott@georgiasouthern.edu
Cross-Cultural Friendships
(International Programs)         Joan Stalcup      681-0693   jstalcup@georgiasouthern.edu
Educational Opportunity
Programs                         Sue Hawks-Foster 681-5458    sfoster@georgiasouthern.edu

GSU Career Services              Amy Rowell        681-5197     awilliams@georgiasouthern.edu
Project Sense                    Ruby Ashley       871-1115     rashley@georgiasouthern.edu
Red Cross Blood Drives           Nancy Martin      685-5391     martinN@usa.redcross.org
Shuttle Gus (Safe Rides)         Jon Simpson       912-536-7722 jsimpso9-gw@georgiasouthern.edu
Student Disability Resource
Center                           Wayne Akins       871-1566   cwakins@GeorgiaSouthern.edu

Upward Bound Project             Sue Hawks-Foster 681-5458    sfoster@georgiasouthern.edu

Animals

Animal Rescue Division of    Christina Lemon       681-9393 or
Humane Society of Statesboro or Renee Durfee       481-3365    clemon@georgiasouthern.edu

Bulloch County Animal Shelter    Wendy Joiner      764-4529   shelterbabies@yahoo.com
Center for Wildlife Education    Scott Courdin     681-0831   jscott@georgiasouthern.edu
Humane Society of Statesboro
& Bulloch County                 Christina Lemon   764-5724   clemon@georgiasouthern.edu
Pets and People Pets Store       James Sullivan    489-7388   petsandpeople@enia.net

Around Town

Averitt Center for the Arts      Tim Chapman       212-2787   exec@averittcenterforthearts.org
                                 Brooke
Keep Bulloch Beautiful           Brandenburg       764-6147   Kbb@keepbullochbeatiful.org

Statesboro Regional Library      Cora Fay          764-1336   loisr@srls.public.lib.ga.us
Statesboro Chamber of                                         jenruffin@statesboro-
Commerce                         Jen Ruffin        489-9116   chamber.org
Statesboro-Bulloch County
Convention & Visitors Bureau   Sandi Kirkland    489-1869   scvb@frontiernet.net

Education (out of school)/Children
Boys & Girls Club of Bulloch
County                        Tammy Horton       764-9696   thorton@bgcbulloch.org
Conner's Place                Betsey Blair       764-7751   betseycarlisle@yahoo.com
Educational Opportunity
Programs                      Sue Hawks-Foster   681-5458   sfoster@georgiasouthern.edu
Girl Scout Council of
Savannah, Inc.                Amanda Lienhard    489-3269   amandaL@girlscouting.org
Joseph's Home for Boys        Amy Futch          681-8526   amyjhb@frontiernet.net

Mt Zion Outreach Center        Pastor Williams   871-7395   mzorc-statesboro@earthlink.net
Ogeechee Tech Adult
Education                      Jo Ann Hickman    871-1798   jhickman@ogeecheetech.edu
Project Sense                  Ruby Ashley       871-1115   rashley@georgiasouthern.edu
Statesboro Library & Family
Literacy                       Elaine McDuffie   764-1345   elainem@srls.public.lib.ga.us

Upward Bound Project           Sue Hawks-Foster 681-5458    sfoster@georgiasouthern.edu
Whitesville Full Gospel
Worship Center                 Tamika Porter     541-2977   wfgwc@yahoo.com

Education (in school)
Brooklet Elementary School     Julie Blackmar    842-2734   pclifton@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Bulloch County Performance     Brian
Learning Center                Gunningham        764-1645   bgunningham@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Charter Conservatory for       Dr. Kathy
Liberal Arts and Technology    Harwood           764-5888   kharwood@chartercat.org
Julia P. Bryant Elementary     Patrick Hill      764-7585   phill@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Langston Chapel Elementary     Amber Price       681-3637   jlanier@bulloch.k12.ga.us

Langston Chapel Middle         Ann Mons          681-8779   amons@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Mattie Lively Elementary       Sheryl Littles    764-6271   slittles@bulloch.k12.ga.us
                               Dr. Trey
Mill Creek Elementary          Robertson         764-5979   trobertson@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Portal Elementary School       Paul Hudson       865-9550   jturner@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Sallie Zetterower Elementary
School                         Sue Smith         764-6392   dlong@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Southeast Bulloch High         John Frasier      842-2131   jfrasier@bulloch.k12.ga.us
Southeast Bulloch Middle       Ed Davis          842-9555   edavis@bulloch.k12.ga.us
                               Almarita
Statesboro Head Start          Donaldson         764-5330   bullochhs@csraeoaheadstart.org
Statesboro High School                           489-8751
William James Middle School    Darryl Fineran    764-2752   edupree@bulloch.k12.ga.us

Hunger and Homelessness
Area Christians Together in    Nancy Collins     489-4588   nan4cl@yahoo.com
Service (ACTS)
Habitat for Humanity              Vicki Davis         489-2076    director@habitatbulloch.org
Kingdom Builders                  Joey Fennel         489-5252    info@kbministries.org
Statesboro Food Bank              Effie Burns         489-3663              With ?s, email Dr Whittle at

Medical/Health
American Cancer Society           Tonya Randall       764-7410    tonyarandall2001@yahoo.com
American Red Cross                Mary Ball           764-4468    redcross@bulloch.net
Amethyst                          Debb Blackburn      764-6923    amethyst@frontiernet.net
E. Georgia Regional Medical
Center                            Darrell Waters      486-1575     johnny.waters@egrmc.hma-corp.com
Pineland CSB                      Cathy Rockett       764-6906     crockett@pinelandcsb.org
Red Cross Blood Drives            Nancy Martin        685-5391     martinN@usa.redcross.org
Siver Lining Club                 Lois Roberts        764-1328     thesilverliningclub@yahoo.com
United Hospice                    Ashlie Mills        478-237-7798 adminasst_hsw@uhs-pruitt.com


Outdoor Activities/Sports
                           Melanie Hendrix
Ogeechee-Canoochee Riverkeeper                        764-2017    mhendrix@ocrk.org
Statesboro-Bulloch County
Parks & Recreation Dept.                              764-5637

Stirrup Some Fun Therapeutic
Horseback Riding             Alison Brown             764-5637    abrown@bullochrec.com
Special Olympics - Georgia
(area 13)                    John Locke               688-6035 jlocke@ogeecheetech.edu

Public Safety/Social Justice
Bulloch County Sexual Assault     Dr. Linda Rohrer-
 Task Force                       Paige                           lpaige@georgiasouthern.edu
CASA for the Ogeechee
Judicial Court                    Carolyn Fields      764-4849    casaogee@frontiernet.net
Citizens Against Violence
(Safe Haven)                      Luke Martin         764-4605    volunteercoordinator@nctv.com
Prevent Child Abuse Bulloch
County                            Lora Cooper         764-9462    pcabc@bulloch.net

Working with the Elderly
Coastal Long Term Care                                877-236-
Ombudsmen Program                 Windy Spell         6720        windyspell@bellsouth.net
Concerted Services, Inc.          Mary Phillips       489-1604
Gentilly Gardens                  Blair Huff          681-1923    blairhuff@gentillygardens.com
Heritage Inn and Rehabilitation   Michelle Alstron    764-9011

Southern Manor Retirement
Inn                               Judas Eastman       681-2686    director@southernmanor.biz
Statesboro Nursing Home           Dana Lloyd          764-6108    dlloyd@ethicahealth.org

Statesboro Summit Apartments Julie Harris   489-3761              juliebharris@frontiernet.net
Westwood Nursing Home        Ms. Cunningham 764-6005
Willow Pond Assisted Living  Karen Martin   489-4774              willow3@frontiernet.net
Other
Hands On Ogeechee          Jeremy Foreman 212-HELP   volunteer@handsonogeechee.org
United Way of SE Georgia   Carey Cassedy  489-8475   ccassedy@unitedwaysega.org
Worn Threads               Joanne Glenn   489-5204
esboro that would love to have Georgia
 choice, and keep track of your volunteer
 eer Services Office by the end of each
unteer Services Transcript. For more
35 or visit us online at




               http://academics.georgiasouthern.
               edu/success
               http://welcome.georgiasouthern.edu/ga
               rden/




               http://students.georgiasouthern.
               edu/career/

               http://www.redcross.org




               http://www.biar.petfinder.com
               http://www.petfinder.org/shelters
               /GA157.html


               http://www.biar.petfinder.com




               http://www.averittcenterfortheart
               s.org
               http://www.keepbullochbeautiful.
               org

               http://www.srls.public.lib.ga.us/
http://www.visit-statesboro.com




www.bgcbulloch.org
http://www.connersplace.com




http://www.girlscouting.org




http://www.ogeecheetech.edu


http://www.srls.public.lib.ga.us/
http://students.georgiasouthern.edu/eo
p/

http://www.wfgwc.org




http://www.cisga.org

http://www.chartercat.org


http://www.bulloch.k12.ga.us/lc
ms

http://www.bulloch.k12.ga.us/mc
es
http://www.habitatbulloch.org

awhittle@georgiasouthern.edu


http://www.cancer.org
http://www.redcross.org
http://www.geocities.com

http:/www.egrmc.com
http://www.pinelandcsb.org
http://www.redcross.org




www.ocrk.org

http://www.bullochrec.com


http://www.bullochrec.com

http://www.specialolympicsga.org/




http://www.pcabc.org


http://www.georgiaombudsman.
org/
http://handsonogeechee.org
http://www.unitedwaysega.org

				
DOCUMENT INFO