Minnesota Insurance Continuing Education
Changes effective July 1, 2010
The continuing education requirement will be changed from 30 credit hours during the license
period (2 years) to 24 credit hours.
There is no longer any limit on the number of hours that can be obtained through the Internet or
other distant learning programs.
The limit on company sponsored coursework will continue. No more than one-half of the
required credit hours per licensing period (12 hours) may be credited for courses either
sponsored by, offered by, or affiliated with an insurance company.
All producers will be required to obtain three hours of continuing education in ethics. Course
will be approved for ethics by the commissioner.
License renewals after August 2010 will occur during the month of your birth. Initial license
renewals issued under the new law during October, 2010 will be issued for at least 12 months but
no more than 24 months. (For example for an agent born in January, his or her initial license
under the new system will be renewed for 16 months [October 2010 to January 2012]. In
January 2012, the renewal period will be two years.)
Licenses will expire on the last day of the producer's birth month.
There will no longer be a continuing education waiver or limited license for retired insurance
producers. The commissioner will still be able to waive CE requirements for good cause such as
illness or military duty.
A complete overview is available at Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes:
Please forward any regulatory questions regarding these changes to the Insurance Division at
651.296.4026 or firstname.lastname@example.org