Documents
Resources
Learning Center
Upload
Plans & pricing Sign in
Sign Out

smb_ub_timeline

VIEWS: 227 PAGES: 38

									                                                                            UNIVERSITY OF BALLARAT TIMELINE


   The compilation of this timeline is an ongoing project. If you have any comments or additions please email the curator c.gervasoni@ballarat.edu.au


                                                                        Blue relates to State, National or International events
                                                                      Light blue relates to local non-education related events


     1835                       Port Phillip district established
     1 Jul 1851                 The first official, payable gold was discovered in Victoria at Clunes.

     1856                       Ballarat Municipal Council formed
     1856                       Construction of Wesley Church in Lydiard St (later to become part of the Ballarat School of Mines)

     Aug 1857                   Ararat Mining District, extending from Pleasant Creek and Navarre to Raglan was created. (Banfield: 42)

     1858                       Telegraphic connection made between Sydney, Melbourne and Adelaide
     20 Sep 1858                Municipal District of Ararat proclaimed. (Banfield: 55)

     1859                       Ballarat Mechanics‟ Institute formed. Begins offering classes and promoting education of adults. (The Flag, Nov 1997; Beggs-Sunter: x)

     1861                       Telegraph line links up Brisbane and Sydney
     24 Apr 1862                Formation of the Horsham Districts Road Board. (Brooke: 13)

     1863                       Ararat municipality was declared a Borough. (Banfield: 64)
                                Establishment of the School of Mines, London
     4 Mar 1864                 Shire of Wimmera was proclaimed. (Brooke: 13)

108 474 536-7 564-5

D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 1
     1868                       Establishment of the Technological Commission
                                Ballarat Supreme Court built (later to become part of the Ballarat School of Mines)
     1869                       The Victorian Government established a Commission to promote technology and industrial instruction among the working classes.

     6 Oct 1869                 At the suggestion of Harrie Wood, and the motion of James Bickett, the Ballarat Mining Board adopted a motion to establish a school of mines at
                                Ballarat.

     Nov 1869                   Sir Redmond Barry of the Supreme Court of Victoria, and Chancellor of the University of Melbourne, accepted the position of provisional President
                                of the Ballarat School of Mines (SMB). Judge Rogers of the Mining Court in Ballarat accepted the position of provisional Vice President of the
                                proposed School Council. (Perry: 6)
     1870                       The School of Mines was established in 1870 to provide technical training for people working on the goldfields. (SMB Annual Report 1985; Beggs-
                                Sunter: x)
                                SMB was established through the initiatives of the Ballarat Mining Board which felt there was a need for such an institution because of the
                                declining number of mine managers for the goldfields. (SMB Report 1987)
                                SMB‟s Constitution gave the school‟s name as The School of Mines and Industries and Library and Museum of Ballaarat, but in legal and other
                                documents it could be cited as The School Of Mines, Ballaarat.. (Perry: 108)
                                Ballarat Mechanics Institute Art School established. (Beggs-Sunter: x)
                                Ballarat East Library Art School established. (Beggs-Sunter: x)


     25 Jan 1870                Founding of the Ballarat School of Mines (SMB) when the Ballarat Mining Board approve a draft outline of the Constitution prepared by Judge
                                Rogers, James M. Bickett and Harrie Wood.
     7 Apr 1870                 The Provisional Ballarat School of Mines Council applied to Government for the lease of the former Circuit Court House. It was approved for a 15
                                year period at a nominal rent. The first trustees were Sir Redmond Barry, Somerville Livingstone Learmonth and Rivett Henry Bland.
     28 Jun 1870                Ballarat Courier reports on the progress of converting the old Circuit Court House into the original School of Mines building. “The old Court House
                                was „putting on a new dress‟ in preparation for the new role it was to play, not only in Ballarat, but in the Colony.”



D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 2
                                                                                                                                                                   st
     2 Sep 1870               The Ballarat Courier reports “Arrangements have been made for the official opening of the School of Mines to take place in the 1 week of October
                              by His Honor Sir Redmond Barry, President of the new School. The trustees have to pay a rent of one shilling per annum to the Government for the
                              use of the abandoned Court-House.”
     Oct 1870                   Alterations and renovations to Court House completed in October 1870.

     26 Oct 1870                Official opening of the Ballarat School of Mines featuring the inaugural address by Sir Redmond Barry. “… the lecture hall was well filled with
                               ladies and gentlemen representing leading citizens of Ballarat and the various industries, and the President, Sir Redmond Barry, on taking his seat
                               was loudly applauded.” (SMB Official Minutes). The Ballarat School of Mines Constitution was adopted and Council named. The First Council
                               comprised of His Honour, J.W. Rogers; J.M. Bickett; H.B. de la Poer Wall; Dr J.F. Usher; Thomas Gray; R.W. Newman; Robert Lewis; James
                               McDowall, Henry Richards Caselli; Edwin Trenerry; L.S. Christie; C.S. Reeves; R.M. Serjeant; T.D. Wanliss and Sir Redmond Barry.

     9 Sep 1870                City of Ballaarat proclaimed. Previously Borough of Ballaarat

     2 Nov 1870                 Ballarat School of Mines Administrative Council named.

     17 Nov 1870                Joseph Flude appointed as first member of teaching staff.
     7 Dec 1870                 The Ballarat School of Mines constitution and statutes were amended and adopted by the general Council.
     Dec 1870                   Ballarat School of Mines Examination Statutes adopted.

     1870-1876                  Sir Redmond Barry was President of SMB.
     1871                       Australian Natives‟ Association founded. Membership is open to Australian born men only
                                                                                                                                                      th
     23 Jan 1871                An announcement by the Ballarat School of Mines (SMB) Vice President was published in the Ballarat Courier of 5 January 1871 and informed
                                the public that the School would open on Monday, 23 January 1871 for the reception of students. (Bowers: 39)
                                Classes in surveying, mathematics and chemistry began on the date with 2 teachers and 5 students. (SMB Report 1987)

     24 Jan 1871                Ballarat Courier reports, “As all things have a beginning, the signs are favourable that the Ballarat School of Mines will yet prove a benefit to the
                                community“.
     1 Mar 1971                 Automatic Telephone Exchange introduced to Ballarat

     4 May 1871                 Mr Brough Smyth visited the Ballarat School of Mines


D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 3
     30 May 1871                Ballarat School of Mines Chemical Laboratory erected and fitted up at a cost of £200 opened. Joseph Flude in charge.

     28 Jun 1871                Ballarat Courier “The Council of the School has done its work well in providing proper accommodation for instructors, visitors and students.”
     11 Sep 1871                 The SMB Administrative Council resolved that SMB afford every facility and assistance to Students of the University of Melbourne visiting Ballarat
                                 to obtain practical knowledge of mining, surveying and engineering, and that such students being accredited by the University be admitted as
                                 honorary members of the school during their visit to Ballarat and its neighbourhood.

     29 Sep 1871                Grant in Aid of £500 to Ballarat School of Mines received from Government.
     Dec 1871                   Grant in Aid of £500 received from the Government, Metallurgical Laboratory erected and fitted up at a cost of £200 opened. J. Flude in charge.

     1872                       Introduction of free, secular and compulsory education in Victoria
                                First Ballarat School of Mines Certificate of Competency Awarded. (Bowers: 39)
                                Ballarat School of Mines Museum established (Bowers: 39). Officially opened in 1885. (Perry: 141)
                                First Ballarat School of Mines Annual Report

     16 Jan 1872                Ballarat School of Mines Metallurgical Laboratory opened with 4 pupils.

     9 May 1872                 Hon. C. Gavan Duffy consented to be Honorary Governor of the Ballarat School of Mines.
     26 May 1873                The Governor of Victoria visited Ballarat School of Mines.
     Jun 1873                   Ballarat School of Mines Council invited to erect apparatus for proper treatment of test samples of Pyrites.

     11 Oct 1873                Mr Steinfeld visited the Ballarat School of Mines, was very gratified with the progress, and immediately became a Governor.
     16 Dec 1873                Harrie Wood was again thanked for his services, made a Life Governor of the School. And appointed an Honorary Correspondent for Sydney,
                                NSW.
     1874                       Colarado School of Mines established. (Beggs Sunter: 131)
                                First Certificates of Competency awarded to women, in Telegraphy, at Ballarat School of Mines. (Bowers: 39)

     19 May 1874                Steps were taken to establish classes in Telegraphy. Te Postmaster General sanctioned the loan of instruments.

     Jul 1874                   Gallery in Ballarat School of Mines Lecture Hall erected at a cost of £100. Later used for museum purposes.


D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 4
     Dec 1874                   As a result of the December examination, the first Certificates of Competency was awarded to seven women in Telegraphy. Five were credit
                                passes.
     1876                       A new Chemical Laboratory capable of accommodating 18 students at a time was built at SMB, at a cost of £350. (1898 SMB Students Magazine;
                                Bowers: 39)
                                Sir William Stawell K.C.M.G. elected SMB President. (Bowers: 39)

     20 Jan 1876                The resignation of Sir Redmond Barry was accepted with regret. A letter was written conveying the regret of the Council in losing that Gentleman‟s
                                very valuable assistance and advice as president.
     9 Mar 1876                 Ballarat School of Mines unanimously elected the Hon. Sir William Foster Stawell President of the School.

     1876-1889                  Sir W.F. Stawell was President of SMB.
     1877                       SMB considers incorporation. The 1877-8 Annual reports states: „Incorporation and Endowment – That The School may attain a position of
                                importance and become of the greatest practical use to those persons – miners and others- for whom it was designed, it appears essential that is
                                should be incorporated, as well as endowed. Thus, on the one hand its teaching power would be augmented and freed from considerable
                                uncertainty, whilst on the other hand its authority to examine persons desirous of employment as skilled workmen, and of issuing them certificates
                                of competency, would be effected. (SMB Annual Report 1877-8)
     18 May 1877                Dr Michael O‟Connor, first Catholic Bishop of Ballarat, visited the School of Mines and Industries, Ballarat. His entry in the Visitor‟s Book states “It
                                is very much regretted that greater interest is not taken in this School by the Government and the Public generally.”

     1878                       Enrolment of Ballarat School of Mines students reached 80. (Bowers: 39)
                                Ballarat School of Mines Battery built. Demolished c1976.

     1879                       Government assumes responsibility for technical education.
                                Otago School of Mines established. (Beggs Sunter: 131)
                                Ballarat’s Royal South Street Competitions start when a debating and literary society was formed.
                                School of Pharmacy established at Ballarat School of Mines (Bowers: 39). This enabled students to sit for examinations for registration by the
                                Pharmacy Board of Victoria. An important aspect of the course was the study of “Materia Medica”, botanical materials used for medicinal
                                purposes. (SMB Report 1987)
                                The land on which the SMB buildings were situated were vested in the Minister of Public Education for purposes of the School of Mines. (1898
                                SMB Students Magazine)

D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 5
      26 Feb 1879               Rt Rev. Samuel Thornton, MA (Oxon), DD., C of E (1835-1917) appointed to the SMB Council as a Crown Nominee. He was the first Anglican
                                Bishop of Ballarat.
      April 1879                Pharmacy and botany were added to the subjects offered by the Ballarat School of Mines. (SMB Annual Report 1879)
      1880                      SMB‟s growth and reputation received considerable impetus, due in part to the creation of professorships, and affiliation with the University of
                                                                                                     1
                                Melbourne, offering degree course work in various sciences and arts.
                                Death of Sir Redmond Barry, Ballarat School of Mines first President, who from his election in 1870 until his death, spared no efforts in furthering
                                the best interests of the School. (1898 SMB Students Magazine)
                                The Ballarat and Bendigo Schools of Mines were placed under the supervision of the Education Department; and the Ballarat institution obtained
                                a permanent grant of the land on which its buildings stood. Additional rooms were built, and new appliances added. (1898 SMB Students
                                Magazine)
                                Establishment of the SMB botanical garden for the purposes of “Materia Medica”, important to the study of pharmacy. (SMB Report 1987)
                                The Field Club and Science Society were established in connection with SMB. Around 90 members were under the presidency of Mr James
                                Oddie F.G.S. (1898 SMB Students Magazine)
                                A proposal was put forward to establish art classes, apart from mechanical drawing, mine sketches, etc. Council resolved to establish art classes
                                (oil painting, etc). First record of art classes held. (Bowers: 39)
                                Ferdinand Krause devoted a great deal of attention to the Museum, re-arranging and scientifically classifying specimens. He also went through a
                                large quantity of undetermined minerals, which had accumulated during several years and drew up a descriptions catalogue of all the specimens
                                in the Museum. (1898 SMB Students Magazine)

      1881                      500 certificates had been issued in subjects such as metallurgy, chemistry, assaying. Geology, telegraphy, logarithms and Euclid at Ballarat
                                School of Mines. (SMB Report 1987)
                                Mr Barnard resigned as SMB Registrar, and was given an illuminated address testifying to the good service he had rendered to the School. (1898
                                SMB Students Magazine)
                                Owing to ill health Joseph Flude was compelled to resign his position which he had held since the inception of SMB. (1898 SMB Students
                                Magazine)
                                A class in oil painting was offered at SMB, although SMB Councillor Thomas Mann did not think oil painting was within the proper programme of

1
    Reg No 5521
D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 6
                                the Institution. The classes conducted by Mr Price were superseded in 1882 by a class of advanced art students desirous of progressing beyond
                                the limits of instruction ordinarily imparted at drawing classes or schools of design. (SMB Annual Report 1880 and 1882)
     Jan 1881                   Andrew Berry was appointed SMB Registrar. (1898 SMB Students Magazine)
     4 Aug 1881                 SMB Council exercised its power to appoint Professors for the first time. Chairs in Chemistry and Geology established at Ballarat School of Mines,
                                and Professors Alfred Mica-Smith and Ferdinand M. Krause appointed. (Bowers: 39; 1898 SMB Students Magazine)
     1882                       Horsham becomes a Borough with the first meeting being held on 1 January 1883. (Coulson:9)
                                The Ironworkers’ Association (Ballarat) was established, and held regular weekly meetings at SMB. At this time the association number
                                120 members and possessed a well-selected library of 250 volumes. (1898 SMB Students Magazine)
                                Mr Oddie established “The Ballarat Boys Telescope Company” with 600 shares being sold at 3d each to raise funds for a telescope for SMB.
                                An Inspector of Schools suggested that Stawell should establish a School of Design. In September 1882 a committee was
                                                                       st
                                formed to establish the School. The 1 class was advertised from Friday 12 October 1882 in the Mechanics Institute. A
                                month later it was transferred to the W esley Hall in lower Main S t. (Visions and Realisations, Vol 2, pg171)
     Jun 1882                   Ballarat Field Club and Science Society formed under the presidency of James Oddie.

     02 Jun 1882 –              Ballarat Ironworkers and Polytechnic Association. The library of the Association is donated to SMB when the association ceased to exist.
     22.Jul 1931
     1883                       Purchase of Wesleyan Church and land on northern boundary of the Ballarat School of Mines. (Bowers:39). Negotiations for the purchase of the
                                Wesleyan Church for £2000 began in 1883; the last service in the Church was conducted on Sunday 7 December 1884.
                                SMB receives a £2000 grant from the Government, and has built a 2-storey brick building (88x34 ft). Top floor is used for technical drawing.
                                Ground floors are labs for Physics, Mechanics and Chemistry. Initially only one chemistry lab is set up. (SMB Annual Report 1884, p11)
                                SMB enlarged its sphere of usefulness by establishing classes in applied electricity and magnetism and in astronomy. Henry Sutton was
                                appointed lecturer of the former, and John Wall the later. (1898 SMB Students Magazine)
                                SMB Gauge Tower in Albert Street completed to the design of H.R. Caselli. The tower cost £335 and provided apparatus for calibrating steam and
                                vacuum gauges.
                                SMB instituted a Scientific Society, meeting weekly to read and discuss papers on various scientific subjects. (1898 SMB Students Magazine)

     1884                       Loreto Sisters commence Dawson Street Training College for teachers. (Closes 1906) (Beggs-Sunter: x)
                                SMB made application for affiliation with the University of Melbourne without success. (1898 SMB Students Magazine)
D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 7
     1884                       Victorian Women‟s Suffrage Society established

     1885                       James Oddie, SMB vice-President, undertook to build and equip an astronomical observatory on a Mt Pleasant site reserved at the instance of the
                                School. During the course of the year a 12½ inch Newtonian reflector was placed in position. (Bowers: 39; 1898 SMB Students Magazine)
                                The Ballarat School of Mines undertook to furnish for the Colonial and Indian Exhibition, London, a collection of rocks and minerals representing
                                the geology of the Western districts. The 581 specimens were to be presented to the museum of Geological Survey of Great Britain after the
                                exhibition.
     14 Jan 1885                A ₤200 deposit was paid on the Wesleyan Church

     8 Oct 1885                 Ballarat School of Mines Museum opened in the former Wesleyan Church by Governor of Victoria, Sir Henry Loch. (Perry: 141) The SMB Museum
                                was transferred to the building which was formerly used as the Wesleyan Church. This gave the Museum a more suitable and permanent location,
                                and at the same time allowed the hall in the main building which it had occupied to be used as a library and reading room. (1898 SMB Students
                                Magazine)
     1886                       First professional associateship (Metallurgy) awarded.

     11 May 1886                The Ballarat Astronomical Observatory was officially opened on a site of 3 acres at Mt Pleasant in Ballarat East in the presence of James Oddie at
                                whose expense the Observatory had been erected and equipped. The large 26 inch speculum was nearly finished, and the sidereal clock and
                                transit instrument was placed in position. (1898 SMB Students Magazine)
     1887 - 1894                Ballarat School of Mines affiliation with University of Melbourne. Bachelor of Arts subjects are conducted by Bella Guerin. (Bowers: 39; SMB
                                Report 1987; Beggs-Sunter: x; 1898 SMB Students Magazine)
                                Changes to SMB‟s constitution changes the schools legal name from The School of Mines and Industries and Library and Museum of Ballaarat, to
                                The School of Mines, Industries and Science in the University of Melbourne, but in all legal and other documents it could be cited as The School
                                Of Mines, Ballarat. (Perry: 109)

     c1887 – 1907               Ballarat Technical Art School.
     1887                       RMIT, then known as the Workingman‟s College, commenced lectures in assaying. (Beggs Sunter: 131)

     1888                       A new SMB Mining Laboratory is erected and equipped. It was formally opened in May 1902. (SMB Annual Report 1888, p12; 1898 SMB Students
                                Magazine)
     23 Jan 1888                Degree course at SMB, under the terms of affiliation between SMB and the University of Melbourne, began from the School‟s first term in 1888
                                that started on this day.
                                                                 nd
     19 Oct 1888                SMB Council appoints its 2            professor. Ferdinand Moritz Krause (1841-1918) was appointed to the Geology Chair.
D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 8
     1889                       South Australian School of Mines and Industries was formed in Adelaide. (Beggs Sunter: 131)
                                Andrew Anderson elected President of the Ballarat School of Mines. (Bowers: 39) He served in that position until 1910.
                                Construction begins on the new Ballarat School of Mines Classrooms (now the administration building)
                                First mention of the Ballarat School of Mines Model Mine which was erected in the school grounds to afford special facilities for the practical
                                instruction of miners.

     1890                       „Old‟ Chemistry building at SMB built, and construction of the SMB model mine and mine plant.
                                With the demise of the Technological Commission, technical schools came under the direction of the Minister of Education who published new
                                regulations for Art Schools, which encouraged schools to improve their standards.
                                Ballarat School of Mines branch classes at Clunes established.
                                Stawell Market buildings and grounds were transferred to the Education Department for a School of Mines, incorporating the former Stawell
                                School of Design. The large Market Building was weatherboard, and new brick front and north rooms were built. (Visions and Realisations, Vol 2:
                                171)
                                Stawell School of Mines was in operation, with William Henry Seville Osmand as President. (Prospectus of the Stawell School of Mines, 1904-
                                5:16)
     1890s                      Bridging courses were created to help mine employees with little or no formal education to gain the knowledge necessary to undertake
                                professional level courses. (SMB Report 1987)
     1891                       Ballarat Fine Art Gallery School begins, replacing the Mechanics Institute School. (Beggs-Sunter: x)
                                Horsham Working Men‟s College in Roberts Ave commenced night classes in technical subjects. (Visions and Realisations, Vol 2: 266, 301) The
                                original site of the Horsham working Men‟s College was later used as the infant school of Primary School 298. (Visions and Realisations, Vol 2:
                                302)
     Jan 1891                   Electric Light introduced to Ballarat.

     1892                       Dr Usher resigned as lecturer in Materia Medica. E. Gutheil, M.B. et. Ch. B., Melbourne, succeeded to the appointment. (1898 SMB Students
                                Magazine)
     1893                       Gold discovered at Kalgoorlie
                                New „Rules for the Management of Technical Schools‟ came into operation from the beginning of 1893. (1898 SMB Students Magazine)

D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 9
     24 Jun 1893                Clunes branch of the Ballarat School of Mines closed. (Perry)

     26 Aug 1893                The SMB Council protested strongly against the classification of SMB with technical schools. The main concern was the reduced subsidy. The
                                SMB Council requested it be transferred to the Mining Department. (1898 SMB Students Magazine)
     20 Sep 1893                Bill introduced to the Legislative assembly to incorporate the School of Mines and Industries, Ballarat. This Bill was not proceeded with as the
                                school had its own special legislation. (correspondence from Tom Evans MLA 1 July 1970.

     15 Dec 1893                The connection between the University of Melbourne and SMB was terminated. This step was taken by Council owing to the repeated failure of
                                their efforts to obtain any concession with regard to fees paid by students of the School proceeding to examinations for degrees. (1898 SMB
                                Students Magazine)
     1894                       SMB enters upon the third epoch in its history, that during which it was classed with the other schools of the colony under the supervision of the
                                Education Department. (1898 SMB Students Magazine)

     1895                       Frederick J. Martell appointed first School Director and Registrar at the Ballarat School of Mines. (Bowers: 39) He served in that position until
                                1912.
     16 Aug 1895                Professor Ferdinand Krause resigns from The Ballarat School of Mines.

     1896                       Kimberley (South Africa) School of Mines established. (Beggs Sunter: 131)
                                First professional Associateship of Ballarat School of Mines (in Metallurgy) awarded to Charles Burbury. (SMB Annual Report 1980; SMB Report
                                1987; Beggs-Sunter: x)
                                SMB organised first public demonstration of X-rays experiments in Ballarat. (SMB Report 1987)
                                J. M. Sutherland demonstrated the X-Ray to the public of Ballarat.
     1897                       First professional Engineering diplomas awarded at Ballarat School of Mines. (Bowers: 39)
                                 First associateships in Engineering awarded at Ballarat School of Mines to Israel Flegeltaub, James Gibson and Herbert Sleeman. (Beggs
                                 Sunter: 131)
                                Stamp Battery. (Perry: 455, Annual Report 1998 pg 21)
                                A small cyanide plant was completed at SMB. (1898 SMB Students Magazine)
                                The installation of 60 additional chemistry benches made the Ballarat School of Mines Chemistry Laboratory the largest in Australia.

     1898                       First Women‟s Federal League formed
D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 10
                                First volume of SMB students‟ magazine published. (Bowers: 39)

     14 Apr 1898                Foundation stone for new Lydiard Street frontage, a 2-storey administration and classroom facility to cost £6000.


                                The Mines Department provides £5000 to SMB for the new Metallurgy Laboratory (Battery Building)
     Jul 1899                   The Ballarat School of Mines colour committee decided on blue and gold – a narrow band of gold between the blue. Badge to be a shield
                                surmounted by a scroll bearing the school motto.

     1892-1902                  Boer War
     14 Apr 1899                Foundation stone of the present SMB Administration Building laid. (Bowers: 39; SMB Calendar 1900, p12)
     1900                       SMB Battery Building completed. This was an addition to the Mining Laboratory.
                                Royal Commission into Technical Education chaired by Theodore Fink (1900-01).
     29 Jun 1900                Bishop Thornton resigns from the SMB Council, returning permanently to England, where he died on 26 June 1917.

     1 Jan 1901                 Inauguration of the Commonwealth of Australia in Centennial Park, Sydney, In this constitutional change the Colony of Victoria became
                                the State of Victoria.
     1901                       SMB had 352 students enrolled in mining courses. (Beggs Sunter: 131)
                                A „temporary building‟ to be erected for an Engineering Laboratory and equipment ordered (Council Minutes). The Davey-Paxman experimental
                                steam engine was being installed in the new Engineering Laboratory. (Annual Report pg 21)
     May 1902                   The Ballarat School of Mines mining laboratory was formally opened.

     1903                       Proclamation of Empire Day – A national day of celebration
                                Western Australian School of Mines established. (Beggs Sunter: 131)

     14 Aug 1903                Vice-Regal opening of new Ballarat School of Mines Engineering Laboratory by H.E. Sir Sydenham Clarke. The facility was named the Thomas
                                Bath Engineering Laboratory. (Bowers: 39, Council Minutes)
     1904                       Ballarat School of Mines Sports Association formed. (Bowers: 39; SMB Mag. 1904)


D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 11
     1905                       Commonwealth Bureau of Census and Statistics established under the Census and Statistics Act, 1905
                                Herbert H. Smith appointed Principal of Ballarat Art School, an amalgamation of three separate art schools. (Bowers: 39)
     1906                       Ballarat’s Phoenix Foundry closed
                                Loreto sisters Teacher training college closes. (Beggs-Sunter: x)
     1907                       SMB Technical Art School established taking over from the Ballarat Fine Art Gallery School. It was not housed on SMB ground until 1915. (SMB
                                Report 1987; Beggs-Sunter: x)
     Sep 1907                   Herbert Henry Smith appointed Principal of the Ballarat Technical Art School of the SMB. His tenure was long and not always a peaceful one. He
                                resigned on 31 March 1940, and died on 21 Feb 1957 at Point Lonsdale.
     1908                       The Ballarat School of Mines became a registered (not-for-profit) Company.

     1908                       Australian Coat of Arms adopted
                                Canberra selected as the site for the federal capital
                                SMB incorporation under Companies Act. (Bowers: 39; SMB Annual Report 1980) Ballarat School of Mines becomes a registered (non-profit)
                                Company.
                                The first associateship in Electricity at SMB was awarded. (Beggs Sunter: 131)

     1909                       Aquinas Training College established at Ballarat East by Sisters of Mercy as a training College for Catholic teachers. (Beggs-Sunter: x)
                                Open night at SMB attracted 4000 visitors.
                                Ballarat School of Mines Ambulance class was established. The course dealt with first aid to sick and injured under the leadership of Dr Sloss.
     1910                       SMB had 98 students enrolled in mining courses. (Beggs Sunter: 131)
                                Richard Poole appointed first Principal and William H. Middleton appointed President of the Ballarat School of Mines.

     1910                       Richard Maddern elected President of Ballarat School of Mines. He served in that position until 1912. (Bowers: 39)
                                Name of the Ballarat School of Mines was changed to the The School of Mines and Industries (inc), Ballarat, Victoria, Australia.

     1911                       Buildings and equipment at Observatory handed over to Ballarat School of Mines. (Bowers: 39)


D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 12
     1912                       William Poole appointed first Principal. (Bowers: 39)
                                Trade classes commenced in carpentry, fitting and turning and plumbing begin at Ballarat School of Mines. (SMB Report 1987)
                                Former Circuit Court House demolished (Courier 14 December 1912)

     1912-1914                  W. Poole served as Principal of SMB.
     1912-1940                  W.H. Middleton was President of SMB.

     1913                       Ballarat Junior Technical School (BJTS) established. (Bowers:40; SMB Annual Report 1980) The Junior Technical School came into existence
                                and on this date for instruction under its headmaster, Mr Albert A. W. Steane (1877-1970) When the Chief inspector of Technical Schools in
                                Victoria, Mr Donald Clark, inspected the School in October 1913 he reported that “The classes are still carried on in 5 different sites vix Dana St
                                State School, SMB buildings and in Ballarat East.” Albert Steane was the first Principal.
                                Observatory handed over to Ballarat East Town Council. (Bowers: 40)
                                An allocation of £599 was received for the erection of new Trade classrooms.

     1914-1918                  World War One

     1914                       Charles Fenner appointed Principal of the Ballarat School of Mines (SMB), and H.H. Smith appointed Principal of the SMB Technical Art School.
                                (Bowers: 40) Both served until 1916.
                                Construction of the Ballarat School of Mines Technical Art School begins.
                                SMB Caretaker‟s Cottage relocated.
                                First Associateship in municipal engineering at SMB awarded. (Beggs Sunter: 131)

     1915                       Ballarat Technical Art School opened on the site of the former Circuit Court building. (Bowers: 40) The Government spent £12,000 on the
                                construction on the site of the original court house.
                                The Ballarat School of Mines Museum closed. (Spielvogel)

     8 May 1915                 Inaugural meeting of the SMB Science [and Field Naturalists‟] Club. (Minute Book, Cat. No. 4818)
     1916                       First commercial classes at Ballarat School of Mines. (Bowers: 40; SMB Annual Report 1980)
                                Maurice Copland appointed Principal of Ballarat School of Mines after the resignation of Dr Fenner. (Bowers: 40; Spielvogel)
                                Stawell Junior Technical School commenced under J.H. Harriott, later an Inspector of Technical Schools. Stawell Junior Technical School
D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 13
                                commenced under J.H. Harriott, Later an Inspector of Technical Schools. At this time the school becomes known as Stawell
                                Technical School. (Visions and Realisations, Vol 2: 171)
     1917-1920                  Maurice O. Copeland served as Principal of SMB.
     1917                       The last mine in Ballarat closed. (Beggs Sunter: 131)

     1918                       Oxford Chambers used for commercial classes. (Bowers: 40)
                                Lecturer in Chemistry Daniel Walker resigned after 30 years work at the Ballarat School of Mines. He was replaced by J.R. Pound. (Spielvogel)
                                At the request of the Repatriation Department the Ballarat School of Mines started classes for the training of Returned Soldiers. Classes included
                                bricklaying, plastering and carpentry. Over 400 men received training between 1918 and 1922. (Spielvogel)
     Oct 1918                   SMB started Returned Soldiers Classes under the auspices of the Repatriation Department. They closed in 1922. (SMB Annual Report 1922)

     1919                       The Ballarat Gaol Governor‟s Residence was transferred to the Ballarat School of Mines. Girls classes were conducted in the building. (Bowers:
                                40)
                                Planning commenced for the Ballarat Junior Technical School building at SMB. (SMB Report 1987)

     1920                       Ballarat School of Mines Jubilee celebrations.
                                Remodelling of the front of the former Wesley and Church / Museum, now part of Ballarat School of Mines. (SMB Handbook 1973F:13)
                                A.F. Heseltine appointed Principal at Ballarat School of Mines. (Bowers: 40)
                                Herald Shield retained. This was the third time it was won by the Ballarat School of Mines.
                                The Ballarat Arch of Victory was opened by the Prince of Wales.
     1 Aug 1920                 Death of Maurice Osric Copland in the office of Principal of SMB which he held from Jan 1917.

     26 Oct 1920                Golden Jubilee of the founding of the Ballarat School of Mines. (Bowers: 40)
     9 Sep 1921                 Ballarat Junior Technical School accommodated in new building which was opened by Sir Alex Peacock. (Bowers: 40; (Spielvogel)
     1921-1946                  A.F. Heseltine served as Director of SMB.

     1922                       The Ballarat School of Mines Past Students‟ Association was formed. (Bowers: 40)
                                The idea of a university college, affiliated with the University of Melbourne, was raised again, and promoted by the editor of the Ballarat Courier
D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 14
                                and secondary school teachers. (The University of Ballarat: An Overview)
                                This was proposed to be separate from SMB. SMB again offered to do University work.
                                The Technical Division of the Horsham Working Men‟s College closed due to low student numbers. (Visions and Realisations, Vol 2: 301)

     14 Dec 1922                Professor Alfred Mica Smith was entertained at Dinner by the President and Council of the SMB at the President‟s House.
                                               st
     1923                       A range of 1 year university classes in Science and arts were offered at the School of Mines and Industries, Ballarat.

     1923                       Melbourne University established a Chair in Metallurgy. This was forty years after Ballarat. (Beggs Sunter: 132)

     28 Nov 1923                The 80 year old lecturer of Chemistry and Metallurgy, Prof. Alfred Mica Smith, resigned his position at the Ballarat School of Mines.

     1926                       Wool-classing instruction started at the Ballarat School of Mines. (Bowers: 40)
                                 The timber Stawell Market Building was demolished and a new brick wing was built on the south side of the existing building. The Stawell School
                                 of Design became Known as Stawell Technical School. The first Principal was W.E. Mathews who was succeeded by B. Whitington. (Visions and
                                 Realisations, Vol 2: 171)
                                 Ballarat School of Mines Woolclassing commenced.
     04 May 1926                 Ballarat Teachers‟ College commenced at Dana Street State School (No. 33). Sixty one students enrolled, and the staff consisted of Mr W.H.
                                 Ellwood, Miss A. Bouchier, Mr A.B. Jones. (The Flag, Nov 1997; The Flag, Nov 1996; BTC Handbook 1965)
     1927                        Ballarat Teachers‟ College moved to the former Ballarat East Town Hall in Barkly Street, where it remained until its temporary closure in
                                 December 1931 during the Great Depression. Miss P.A. Hamono joined the staff. During 1927 the college numbers were augmented by 26
                                 Manual Arts students, who had formerly received their training at Ballarat High School. Manual Arts students continued until 1930 when, on
                                 grounds of economy of economy, their training was concentrated at Melbourne Teachers‟ College. (The Flag, Nov 1996; BTC Handbook 1965)
     1930                       Ballarat School of Mines Technical Art School exhibition held. (Bowers: 40)

     Dec 1931                   Ballarat Teachers‟ College closed. (BTC Handbook 1965)
     1932-1945                   Ballarat Teachers College temporarily closed. The 1931 compulsory closure were the results of severe retrenchments during the Great
                                 Depression. (Beggs-Sunter: x, 84; BTC Handbook 1965)
     1932                       Horsham proclaimed a town. Its population was 5,000. (Coulson:10)
                                66 SMB diploma students were in attendance, with over 700 and 800 students in trade courses.

D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 15
                                                                                                          th
     1935                       Ballarat School of Mines won the Herald Shield for Athletics for the 8 time.

     1937                        Pharmacy classes revived at the Ballarat School of Mines. Dr Pound taught Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Mr H. Gear taught Materia Medical.
                                 (Bowers: 40)
     29 Jun 1939                Tenders close for new Ballarat School of Mines Engineering Workshops, to be erected in Albert Street. In early July F. N. Wilson is named the
                                successful tenderer, at the cost of £6,100
                                Gauge Tower, designed by Henry Richards Caselli to be demolished to make way for the new engineering workshop.
     1939                       New Engineering shop (Fitting & Machining) built at the Ballarat school of Mines at a cost of ₤6,100.
     3 Sep 1939                 Outbreak of World War II
     1 Jun 1940                 Death in office of W.H. Middleton. He served the SMB with great devotion and industry for almost 28 years in the office of President to which he
                                was elected in November 1912.

     1940                       E.J. Tippett MBE elected SMB Council President. (Bowers: 40) He served in that position until 1960
     1941                        A technical annex of the Horsham High School commenced. In this year the full junior technical course was offered and 60 students
                                 enrolled. Rising Postwar enrolments caused overcrowding and a new site was selected for expansion. Materials were short
                                 and long delays forced temporary repair to the old building. (Visions and Realisations, Vol 2: 302)

     1944                       Commonwealth Reconstruction Training Scheme commenced at Ballarat School of Mines. (Bowers: 40)
     Apr 1944                   The Former Supreme Court House was vacated by Federal Authorities and was allotted for SMB purposes. (Ballarat Courier 19.4.1944)

     May 1944                   Detailed plans are made for a new trade block on the Albert Street frontage of SMB, at an estimated cost of £18000. (Ballarat Courier 13 May
                                1944)
     8 May 1945                 VE Day. Cessation of hostilities in Europe in the War of 1939-1945.

     15 Aug 1945                VJ Day. All offensive action against Japan ceased in the War of 1939-1945.

     1946                       Dr Sydney Pern presented his private collection of Aboriginal weapons and items to the Ballarat School of Mines Museum.
                                Ballarat School of Mines library established in the Assaying Department. Books were collected from all departments.

     2 Feb 1946                  Ballarat Teachers‟ College reopens at Dana Street State School (no. 33) offering a one year course. The principal was W.F. Lord, and the staff
                                 consisted of Miss E.B. Hughes, Mr C.B. Bryan, Miss M.H. Millar (music), Miss G. Kentish (physical education) (The Flag, Nov 1997; BTC
D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 16
                                 Handbook 1965; Beggs-Sunter: x, 84
     25 Oct 1946                A.F. Heseltine, Principal of SMB, retired.
     1946-1958                  R.W. Richards served as Principal of SMB.

     1947                       Ballarat School of Mines Electrical Department transferred to Former Courthouse in Lydiard Street. (Bowers: 40)
                                Ararat High School became a multi-purpose school offering both high and technical school courses. (Visions and Realisations, Vol 2: 137)
     Jul 1947                   A new pottery facility, sited at the top end of the Battery Building, is in operation. A high temperature gas kiln has been installed. (Ballarat Courier
                                28 July 1947)
     1948                       Richard W. (Dick) Richards appointed as SMB Principal (at the beginning of the school year) having already “acted” in the role throughout 1947.

     Apr 1948                   Dr J.R. Pound retires from SMB. M. Aston appointed in the position of Instructor in Charge of Applied Chemistry

     1949                       The idea of university colleges gained support nationally after Canberra University College was established in 1949, sponsored by the
                                University of Melbourne. The university college was seen as an ideal way of bringing university education to non-metropolitan areas.
                                (The University of Ballarat: An Overview)
     Jan 1949                   E.J. Barker joined the Mechanical Engineering staff.

     25 May 1949                Horsham declared a town. Its population was 5,000. (Coulson:11)
     Aug 1949                   Geoff Mainwaring appointed as head of the SMB Art School.

     1951                       Ballarat Teachers‟ College offers a two year trained Primary Teachers‟ Certificate for the first time. (BTC Handbook 1965)
                                Ballarat Girls‟ Junior Technical School established. (Bowers: 40; SMB Annual Report 1980; The Flag, Nov 1997)
                                Ballarat Gold Centenary year.

     1953                       First Ballarat Begonia Festival.
     22 Mar 1954                 Ballarat Girls‟ Junior Technical School occupied building in Grant St (Bowers:40) . The new school in Hickman St was occupied, opposite White
                                 Flat on 22 March 1954. (1954 Student Magazine)
     Dec 1955                    Ballarat Teachers‟ College held its first Graduation Ceremony. The words of the Graduation Hymn were written by Mavis Canty. (BTC Handbook
                                 1965)


D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 17
     1956                       Corbould Hall built at the Ballarat School of Mines.

     Jul 1956                   Tenders were called for the first section of the new Ballarat Teachers‟ College to be built in Gillies St. (BTC Handbook 1965)
     1957                       Murray Report on Universities in Australia. (Beggs-Sunter: x; The University of Ballarat: An Overview)
                                Corbould Hall completed at the Ballarat School of Mines. (Bowers: 40)
                                SMB Lydiard Street War Museum closed.
                                M.B. John Building site purchased by SMB from Ballarat Brewing Co. It was proposed that Motor Mechanics and Panel Beating be transferred to
                                the ground floor of the M.B. John factory, but this was not implemented.
     1958                       R. W. Richards retires as Principal of SMB.
                                Harry E. Arblaster appointed Principal of Ballarat School of Mines (Bowers: 40) to take effect from January 1959.
                                John Clelland completed his Australian experience for the Mica Smith travelling scholarship awarded to him from the Corbould Bequest, in 1957.
                                As travelling expenses in Australia amounted to more than anticipated the Council agreed to increase the value from £1,000 to £1,250.
                                Horsham Technical School established at the instigation of local citizen Claude Brand who was elected as President, a position he held until 1970.
                                (Visions and Realisations, Vol 2: 302)
     Feb 1958                   Classes commence at the new Gillies Street location of Ballarat Teachers‟. (BTC Handbook 1965; Beggs-Sunter: 84)

     1959                       Former Wesley Church converted from SMB Museum to E.J. Tippett Recreational Hall (Bowers: 40)
                                Student room transferred to ground floor of the former museum which was originally the Wesley Church, and named the E. J. Tippett Recreation
                                Hall. The former students‟ room became a metallurgy lecture room.
                                Plans to demolish the SMB „Museum Building‟ were abandoned due to lack of finance.
     1959-1964                  Harry E. Arblaster served as Principal of SMB.
                                                                                                          th
     1960                       E.J. Tippett retired as President after 20 years. He was only the 6 president in the school‟s 90-year history.
                                Morgan B. John elected President of SMB (Bowers: 40) He served in that position until 1977.
                                First time SMB held a formal ceremony at which diplomas were conferred. It was held in the Lower Civic Hall on 22 July. The speaker was H.W.
                                Warner, Dean of Engineering, Uni of Melbourne and member of SMB Council.


D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 18
                                Alfred Reid offered a gift of 120 acres at Mt Clear for use for a university. (He was still alive in 1967.)
                                Premier Bolte announced in November 1960 that the government would raise SMB to university college status. The Ballarat City Council
                                coordinated a support group in Ballarat and a site of 150 acres a Mt Clear was made available by a benefactor in condition that a university be
                                established. The land was eventually sold and resold and became the site of the Catholic Secondary College.
                                The Grant St site for a new Girl‟s Technical School was scrapped in favour of a new school to be erected in Smythe‟s Rd, Sebastopol. There will
                                also be a new school for boys on this site.
     Nov. 1960                  The Premier stated publicly that SMB would become a University College, but efforts to implement it for 1961 received no Government support.
     1961                       R.W. Richards Medal award established. Awarded to the final year student who is considered to have achieved the most outstanding academic
                                performance in the latter years of any Engineering or Science diploma course. Although originated in 1861 awards were made for 1959 and 1960
                                to preserve continuity with Richards‟ years of association with the school. The Commonwealth Government established the Martin Committee to
                                report on Tertiary Education in Australia.
                                Plans were made to move several Trade sections to the M.B. John factory building, moving the library into the Plumbing building and Council into
                                the present library room,. This was abandoned in 1964.
     1962                       Ballarat School of Mines Humanities department took over Girls Junior Technical School in Grant Street. (Bowers: 40)
     1963                       Ramsey Report on Tertiary Education in Victoria. VIC established. (Beggs-Sunter: x)
                                Percy Baxter Trust donated £3,200 for purchase of variable compression engine.
     Nov 1963                    A Fluids Mechanics laboratory is developed in the old SMB Battery building. The in-ground cyaniding pits are adapted to accommodate the
                                 recently acquired pump-and-turbines experimental equipment. (Ballarat Courier 2 November 1963)

     1964                       H.E. Arblaster resigned as SMB Principal.
                                Buildings cleared from the M.B. John Factory site.

     1964-1976                  E.J. (Jack) Barker served as Principal of SMB.
     7 Mar 1964                 The former Ballarat Gaol was opened for public viewing

     1965                       Victoria Institute of Colleges (VIC) set up
                                Martin Report on Tertiary Education in Australia VIC Vols.1 & 2 released. (Beggs-Sunter: x)
                                Tertiary Division of SMB affiliated with VIC.
D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 19
                                End of SMB Magazines.

     21 Jun 1965                On the recommendation of the Martin Committee, the Commonwealth made a special grant of $700,000 for capital works to SMB and later added
                                a further $344,000 – all to be spent at the Lydiard Street Campus. This condition was to prevent any diversion of the funds to a possible
                                competing university development at Mt Clear. The funds were to be committed by the end of 1966.
                                The Ballarat Gaol, Lydiard St, closed officially as a penal institution. The Premier said the gaol site would be available to the School. The gaol and
                                its grounds were later occupied by SMB.
     1966                       Efforts made to re-site the tertiary section of the School in a spacious area, it being felt that the large sums available for extensions should be used
                                as the basis for a fresh start rather than for further consolidation on an inadequate site, but the State refused permission because of the
                                Commonwealth condition.
                                Permission was granted for the SMB Council to seek a new site for the tertiary section of the School, due to VIC intervention.
                                The Victorian Government‟s Ramsay Committee recommended the establishment of a University College in Ballarat.
                                Ballarat School of Mines Business studies courses commenced. (Bowers: 40)

     1967                       At Mt Helen a 240 acre site was purchased for $63,000 in January for use as a campus. The first sod turned by Governor-General Lord Casey on
                                19 October 1967. (Bowers: 40; SMB Annual Report 1980)

     1968                       Site works and buildings begin at Mt Helen Campus in March. (Bowers:40; The Flag, Nov 1997; Beggs-Sunter: x)
                                Construction of 2 storey building in the Albert Street frontage of SMB to house the Motor Mechanics and Woolclassing Departments. (SMB
                                Handbook 1973:14)
                                A three year Diploma was offered at the Ballarat Teachers‟ College for the first time. (Beggs-Sunter: 84)
                                 Ararat City Council and the Rotary Club were concerned that a separate technical school be established in Ararat. Jack Kepert, chief
                                 Inspector of Technical Schools, visited Ararat and recommended to the Minister that a Technical school be formed. (Visions
                                 and Realisations, Vol 2: 137)
     Sept 1968                  The Ballarat Gaol cells and wall were demolished but National Trust opposition prevented walls and buildings on the Lydiard Street
                                frontage from being demolished.
     15 Nov 1968                The first sod was turned for the Sovereign Hill Poppet-head legs by Cr Maurice Brown.

     1969                       Women win equal pay rates for equal work.

D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 20
                                Computer purchased and installed at the Ballarat School of Mines. (Bowers: 40)
                                Completion of new Motor Mechanics and Woolclassing building at SMB. (Bowers: 40)
                                SMB Council decides on separate names for SMB divisions:

                                    Ballarat Institute of Advanced Education for the Diploma School

                                    The Ballarat School of Industries for the Trades School.

                                    The Ballarat Technical School for the secondary School (SMB Annual Report 1968/9, pg 2)
     Feb 1969                    The Ararat Technical School commenced with an enrolment of 222 boys. Plans for a new school in Gordon Street were planned. (
                                 Visions and Realisations, Vol 2: 137)

     Oct 1969                   SMB Council decide to launch Centenary Appeal to finance the Great Hall and Sports Centre at Mt Helen. (SMB Annual Report 1970)
     1970                       Victoria Institute of Colleges policy on degrees announced. Proposals being developed for degree Programs. (Courier 10.04.1994)
                                Ballarat School of Mines Centenary. (Bowers: 40)
                                 The Tertiary section of the Ballarat School of Mines first offers classes on a new campus at Mt Helen. (SMB Handbook, 1970)
                                First students and staff commence work at Mt Helen Campus Stage 1 buildings (Mechanical, Civil, Mining Engineering, Geology and Metallurgy.
                                (Bowers: 40; Beggs-Sunter: x; The Flag, Nov 1997)
                                The Victoria Institute of Colleges (VIC) approves Brewing Education at Ballarat in late 1970. It was expected that the course would comprise of a
                                mixture of Australian and overseas students (Gower:2, 5)
     Jul 1970                   BIAE commenced its first degree course – for B.App.Sc (Chemistry).
                                A modern multi-storey brick building was opened on the east end of the Stawell Technical School site. This was the first part of a completely new
                                school. (Visions and Realisations, Vol 2: 171)
     30 Oct 1970                Official opening of Mt Helen Campus by Nigel Bowen, Federal Minister of Education. (Courier 10.04.1994)

     29 Nov 1970                Official opening of Sovereign Hill.

     1971                       Contracts for construction of Union buildings, four storey library and student housing at Mt Helen signed in November and December.
                                       st
                                The 1 student in the Graduate Diploma of Brewing was enrolled at Ballarat Institute of Advanced Education (BIAE). Chemistry lecturer GW

D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 21
                                Barrell had developed the course and was in charge with Neville Gower appointed as Brewing lecturer in March 1971. (Gower:3)
     1 Sep 1971                 The Australian Natives‟ Association, in their centenary year, handed over 1,500 Australian Native Trees for the Mt Helen Campus.
     1972                       A Degree in Metallurgy was introduced at Ballarat. (Beggs Sunter: 132)

     Dec 1972                   State College of Victoria Act passed. (Courier 10.04.1994)
     Dec 1972                   Contract for the Mt Helen Physics/Chemistry building signed. (SMB Annual Report 1973, pg 38)

     3 Mar 1972                 Governor General Sir Paul Hasluck visits Mt Helen Campus

     1973                       First degrees awarded to graduates in Applied Science from Ballarat Institute of Advanced Education (BIAE) (Beggs-Sunter: x)
                                 st
                                1 stage of the Library building, the Union Building and the residences at Mt Helen occupied. (SMB Annual Report 1973, pg 38)
                                Construction of Applied Science (Physics/Chemistry) and Electrical Engineering buildings is well advanced and to be ready in 1974. (SMB Annual
                                Report 1973, pg 38)
                                Mt Helen Founders Hall project given the go ahead. (SMB Annual Report 1973, pg 38)

     3 Aug 1973                 Ballarat Teachers‟ College becomes State College of Victoria at Ballarat (SCVB). (The Flag, Nov 1997; Beggs-Sunter: x)
                                                                                th
     Nov 1973                   Australia Universities Commission 4 University Committee visits Ballarat. (Courier 10.04.1994)

     14 Nov 1973                Mrs Dorothy Elsie Molloy became the first woman appointed to the SMB Council. She retired from Council 15 December 1976.
                                                                                th                                                      th
     Dec 1973                   Australia Universities Commission 4 University Committee recommends Geelong for Victoria‟s 4 University and mergers of the two
                                CAE‟s at each of Ballarat and Bendigo. (Courier 10.04.1994)
     1974                       Library transferred to Mt Helen. (Courier 10.04.1994)
                                Teaching of Chemistry, Electrical Engineering, maths and physics transferred to Mt Helen. (Courier 10.04.1994)
                                Joint Committee formed re proposed merger of Ballarat Institute of Advanced Education and State College of Victoria (Ballarat)
                                Physics/Chemistry building at Mt Helen occupied. (SMB Annual Report 1974, pg 54)
                                A Bachelor of Engineering was introduced at Ballarat. (Beggs Sunter: 132)
                                Construction is started At Mt Helen for a sports oval, two tennis courts and two squash courts (SMB Council Report 1974, p54)

D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 22
                                SCVB refused to become part of SMB. Thus SMB had to split so that its tertiary division (BIAE) could merge with SCVB to form a new institution
                                (BCAE). This left SMB as a TAFE college.

     1 Jan 1974                 Federal Government assumes full responsibility for funding Tertiary Education
                                Dr Graham Trevaskis begins as Principal of State College of Victoria (Ballarat). (Courier 10.04.1994)

     26 Jun 1974                Letter from Minister stating State College of Victoria (Ballarat) must proceed at Mt Helen as part of the newly merged College. (Courier
                                10.04.1994)
     7 Aug 1974                 First meeting of the Joint BIAE and SCVB Council Committee. M.B. John and I.A. Gordon alternating chair. (Courier 10.04.1994)
     1975                       Student Housing Stages 2 and 2a completed. Total residence capacity by the end on 1975 is 175.
                                Contract signed for erection of General Purpose Teaching Building [Business Studies and General Studies]. (SMB Annual Report 1975, pg 57)
                                2 squash courts and 2 tennis courts completed. Football oval nearing completion. (SMB Annual Report 1975, pg 63)
     10 Jun 1975                Ballarat College of Advanced Education (BCAE) agreed to as name of the combined BIAE and SCVB.

     29 Nov 1975                Order in Council passed establishing Ballarat College of Advanced Education Council. (Courier 10.04.1994)

     Dec 1975                   The Wimmera Institute of TAFE (WIT) was formed by the Wimmera TAFE College Steering Committee which represented the 12 sub-regional
                                municipalities, schools, community organisations and community service groups. The Steering Committee suggested the establishment of a TAFE
                                College in the Wimmera to the technical School s Division in 1876. The suggested campus involved no major building works, and a campus
                                comprising an integrated network of existing resources and agencies in the Wimmera and southern Mallee. These included Horsham Education
                                Centre; Longerenong Agricultural College; Horsham Technical school and the Secondary schools. As a result of strong community pressure the
                                Wimmera Community College of TAFE was incorporated in 1984. (The Flag, Issue 5, November 1997)
     1976                       Ballarat College of Advanced Education (BCAE) Act was proclaimed. Separation of tertiary sector from SMB. After open advertisement of the
                                position E.J. Barker appointed first Director with G.A. Travaskis the Assistant Director..
                                Ballarat School of Mines became a Regional College of Technical and Further Education (TAFE), with Graham Beanland appointed Principal..
                                (SMB Report 1987)
                                Plans to merge the Ballarat Technical School with the newly created Mt Clear Technical high School were accelerated, with responsibility for
                                Forms 3 and 4 passing to the new school at the end of 1976. (SMB Annual report 1976) General Purpose Building at Mt Helen Campus
                                completed in early 1976. (SMB Report 1976, p42)
                                Merger of the State College of Victoria, Ballarat (Formerly Ballarat Teachers‟ College) and the Ballarat Institute of Advanced Education. (Beggs-

D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 23
                                Sunter: 85)
     1976-1982                  Graham H. Beanland served as Principal of SMB (TAFE).
     1 Jul 1976                 Ballarat College of Advanced Education separates from the Ballarat School of Mines. (SMB Report 1987). The Ballarat College of Advanced
                                Education (BCAE) located at Mt Helen came into existence officially as a tertiary level institution, separate from and independent of SMB. This
                                was a merger of the State College of Victoria, Ballarat (SCVB – formerly the Ballarat Teachers‟ College) and the Ballarat Institute of Advanced
                                Education. (The Flag, Nov 1997; Beggs-Sunter: x)
     31 Dec 1976                Responsibility of the SMB Council for secondary technical education ceased.
     1977                       Ballarat School of MInes Bricklaying school and Vehicle Repair Trades Buildings opened. Bodymaking trade training and Farm Apprenticeship
                                courses commenced. New TAFE teaching and Farm Apprenticeship courses commenced. New TAFE teaching departments established in Art,
                                Business Studies, Humanities, Mathematics and Physics.
                                Ballarat School of Mines campus plans developed.

     01 Jan 1977                Former Ballarat Junior Technical School of the School of Mines was officially incorporated into the new Technical High school at Mt Clear that
                                came into existence on this date. (SMB Annual Report 1980)
     02 Jun 1977                Official opening of the Bricklaying School at the Ballarat School of Mines.

     26 Oct 1977                Official opening of the Vehicle Repair Trades Building at SMB.
     26 Oct 1977                Official opening of the Vehicle Repair Trades Building at the Ballarat School of Mines.
     1977-1978                  W.J.C. North was President of SMB.

     1978                       Ballarat School of Mines (SMB) extension of link courses with secondary schools.
                                Pedestrian linkways constructed between major old SMB buildings at Lydiard Street (ie between Administration, art and Chemistry buildings)
                                SMB development of Women‟s Access Programmes and Certificate Course in Community Welfare.
                                The Old Chemistry Building at the Ballarat School of Mines was undergoing refurbishment. New features would include an auditorium, audio
                                visual and staff room. (SMB Strategic Directions 1994-6)
                                The Physical Education complex completed at Mt Helen. (BCAE Annual Report 1978, p 21 & 24)
                                Contract signed for the construction of the Mt Helen Art Building and Great Hall. (BCAE Annual Report 1978, p 22)
                                The Graduate Diploma of Brewing lapsed for a year due to insufficient candidates to make a viable course. The resignation of Geoff Barrell after a
D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 24
                                                                                                                                                                  rd
                                sabbatical year resulted in the closure of the course. A broader based unit called Food Science and Technology was offered in the 3 year of the
                                Bachelor of Applied Science in Food Science and Technology. (Gower:5)
                                The BCAE School of Education introduced the four year Bachelor of Education. (Beggs-Sunter: 85)

     4 Jul 1978                 Official opening of the E. J. Tippett Library at the Ballarat School of Mines/TAFE, Lydiard Street.
     1978-1981                  Rex H. Hollioake was President of the Ballarat School of Mines.

     1979                       Williams Report (Fed. Gov‟t) on Education and training argues that tertiary Education must be more closely tied to the labour market.
                                (Courier 10.04.1994)
     1979                       Opening of the Ballarat School of Mines (SMB) Community Resource Centre.
                                SMB Civil and Survey Certificate introduced.
                                Old Chemistry Building renovations at SMB were completed, and included an auditorium, audio visual facilities and staff room.
                                The Mt Helen Education building, the largest single project undertaken by the college, was completed and occupied in stages. (BCAE Annual
                                Report 1979, p 24-5)
                                The School of Arts building project proceeded in stages and was occupied with great urgency. (BCAE Annual Report 1979, p 24-5)
                                The Mt Helen 1870 Founders Hall and Music & Drama wing construction was expected to be completed by mid-1980. (BCAE Annual Report
                                1979, p 24 -5)
                                Mt Helen Campus buildings were connected to natural gas reticulation system, replacing numerous gas cylinders located at various points. (BCAE
                                Annual Report 1979, p 26)

     15 Feb 1979                A $2.75 million development for SMB was announced. The development included student amenities centres, with plans to include a building
                                linked to the remaining buildings of the former Ballarat Gaol.
     14 Nov 1979                SMB Botanical Garden Centenary.

     1980                       The Fraser Government‟s „Razor Gang‟ recommends mergers to save money. Former Teachers‟ Colleges merge with former VIC
                                colleges. (Courier 10.01.1994)
                                Major redevelopment of the SMB Lydiard Street Campus commenced. (SMB Annual Report 1980)
                                Ballarat School of Mines Land Laboratory (Agriculture Training Centre) opened


D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 25
                                Centre for Computer Studies Established.
                                Common Room at Mt Helen resident students constructed.
                                Third wing of the Art School Building and the connected 1870 Founders Hall Building was completed. (BCAE Annual Report 1980), p 37)

     12 Nov 1980                Official opening of the SMB Land Laboratory by Dr D.F. Smith, Director General of Agriculture.
     1981                       Barkly Street Campus occupied by SMB (TAFE). Programs included Business Studies, Computer Studies (from 1986) and Hairdressing (1983,
                                1984 and 1986)
     28 Mar 1981                Official opening of 1870 Founders Hall by Governor General of Australia, Sir Zelman Cowen.

     29 Sep 1981                Allan Thomas Bernaldo former art student of SMB, returned to the Principal, Mr G.H. Beanland, the gold medal presented to him in 1916. He also
                                presented a copy of his book A Lifetime with Watercolours.

     7 Oct 1981                 Ballarat School of Mines Amenities Building was officially opened by Gov of Victoria, The Hon. Sir Henry Winneke. (Perry: 569)

     1981-1988                  K.J. Flecknoe was President of SMB.
     1982                       SMB Vocational Skills Centre opened. Programs included Plumbing and Sheetmetal, Electrical/Electronics, Drafting and Computing.
     1982-1993                  Peter R. Shiells served as Principal of SMB.

     24 Mar 1982                Reopening of Museum. “Our thanks go to Graham Beanland who reopened the Museum and to John Tippett who so ably supported Mr Beanland
                                on this historic occasion.” (SMB Annual Report 1882)
     1983                       Apprenticeship courses established in Hairdressing and Horticulture at the Ballarat School of Mines.
                                Ballarat College of Advanced Education Mineral Industry laboratory completed
     9 Mar 1983                 SMB Hairdressing School officially opened by Peter Cutter, General Manager – Programs, TAFE Board.

     13 Apr 1983                Land formally occupied by the Ballarat East Free Library in Barkly St gazetted as a reserve for educational purposes and allocated to SMB.
     20 Apr 1983                Two advisers of the Indonesian Minister of Education visit SMB.
     29 Apr 1983                Opening of the SMB Vocational Skills Centre by Hon. Robert Fordham M.P. Minister of Education.

     1984                       New entrance road to Mt Helen Campus completed. (BCAE Annual Report 1984, p 46)


D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 26
                                Dual water mains connected to supply tank on Green Hill.
                                Athletics oval and running track under construction at Mt Helen.
                                Former Court House building restored and rebuilt for SMB (TAFE).
                                SMB‟s L.F.J. Hillman Recreation Centre (Stage 1) was opened.
                                Motor cycle rider training facility established at the Ballarat School of Mines.
                                E.J.T. Tippett appointed as the first Ballarat School of Mines Patron.
     30 Mar 1984                Opening of the Motor Cycle Facility at SMB.
     4 Jul 1984                 Opening of the Learning Resource Centre (library), Lydiard Street Campus, SMB TAFE.
     3 Aug 1984                 L.F.J. Hillman Recreation Building (Stage 1) was opened at SMB by Lindsay F.J. Hillman himself who had been associated with SMB in various
                                capacities for about 63 years.
                                Former Court House building restored and rebuilt to accommodate Performing Arts at SMB TAFE.
     Nov 1984                   The Wimmera Community College of TAFE was incorporated as a multi-campus college and commenced operations in February 1986. (The Flag,
                                Issue 5, November 1997)
     1985                       Contract signed for Stage 3 Student accommodation units at Mt Helen. 72 bed/study units to be complete by February 1986.
                                Metallurgy Mineral Industry Laboratory building completed at Mt Helen.
                                Launching of the official School history The School of Mines and Industries Ballarat: A history of tits first one hundred and twelve years, 1870-
                                1982 by Warren Perry.
     1986                       120 additional student residence places completed in December. (BCAE Annual Report 1986, p 44)
                                Building contract signed for Human Studies Building (BCAE Annual Report 1986, p 44)
                                New Central Store building completed at Mt Helen. (BCAE Annual Report 1986, p 45)

     22 Jan 1986                Contract signed for Department of Nursing and Department of Humanities and Social Sciences building at Mt Helen. To be completed by February
                                1987.

     Feb 1986                   The Wimmera Community College of TAFE, a multi-campus college, commenced operations in February 1986. It took over TAFE programs and
                                staff from Horsham Technical School and occupied just one new building and gradually acquired a range of very old temporary facilities until
D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 27
                                taking over buildings from the former Horsham West Primary School in 1988. (The Flag, Issue 5, November 1997)
     9 May 1986                 Opening of a new Carpentry & Joinery facility at SMB, and remodelling of the Corbould Building. .
     4 Jul 1986                 Governor of Victoria, Dr J.D. McCaughey officially opened the E.J. Tippett Library on its new site and renamed it the E.J.T. Tippett Learning
                                Resource Centre.

     14 Nov 1986                Opening of the Corbould Hall at the Ballarat School of Mines.

     1987                       International Students allowed entering Australian Universities as full fee paying students. (Courier 10.01.1994)
     Jul 1987                   John Dawkins appointed as Minister for Employment, Education and Training. Fundamental changes begin. (Courier 10.01.1994)
     1987                       Dawkin‟s Green Paper signals demise of binary system of Universities and CAE‟s. (Beggs-Sunter: x)
                                Former Gaol Information and Enrolment Centre refurbished at SMB.
                                Ballarat School of Mines crèche under construction.
                                Groundwork started on renovating the old Stawell School of Mines – Technical School building in Skene St. The project was funded by the
                                Commonwealth Government and the State Training Board to the tune of $21,000. The building dated back to the 1880s and was restored to its
                                original, historical condition. It was equipped as a restaurant and is known as the Jacaranda Restaurant because of the two flourishing Jacaranda
                                trees behind the building. It opened in 1989 catering for enrolments for the Basic Commercial Cooking Certificate and for the Advanced
                                Certificate in Hospitality Studies.

     11 Jun 1987                The M.B. John Trade–Art building (Albert Street front) of SMB was officially opened by the Hon. John Cain, Premier of Victoria, in the presence of
                                Morgan B. John. Programs include 3 Dimensional Art, Painting & Decorating, and Engineering Trades.
     11 Aug 1987                Former Ballarat East Library reopened after extensive renovations and repairs, as the Management Training Centre of SMB, under the Direction
                                of John Crowe.

     31 Aug 1987                BCAE Director E.J. Barker retires. (BCAE Annual Report 1987)
     6 Sep 1987                 The Hon. Ian Cathie, Minister for Education, opens the Mt Helen Humanities and Nursing Building. (BCAE Annual Report 1987)

     Sep 1987                   Dr John Sharpham becomes BCAE Director. (BCAE Annual Report 1987)

     Dec 1987                   Green paper on education released signalling the end of the Binary system – the system under which universities and CAE‟s operated.
                                (Courier 10.01.1994)
     1988                       Unified National System of tertiary education ends CAEs. Many amalgamations. (Beggs-Sunter: x)
D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 28
                                SMB Campus established at Ararat Technical School. (SMB Report 1987)
                                Official opening of the Ballarat School of Mines Crèche and hospitality facility.
                                                     st
                                Appointment of 1 woman, Kerrie Cross, as SMB Council President. She served in that position until 1991.
                                Contract signed for new administration building, and extensions to the Union building, at Mt Helen. (BCAE Annual Report 1988, p 41)
                                SMB‟s A.W. Steane Building (Stage 1) refurbished.
                                Wimmera Community TAFE took over buildings from the former Horsham West Primary School.
     1 Jan 1988                 Professor David Penington, AC, was appointed Vice-Chancellor of the University of Melbourne.
     9 Mar 1988                 Council meets and endorses response to Dawkins Green Paper , strongly favouring „stand alone” policy for Ballarat Council as it has over 2000
                                students. It argues that Federal Government figures saying 8000 students needed for a research institution is not correct. (Courier 10.01.1994)
     14 Sep 1988                New management structure proposed, partially to please Department of Education, Employment & Training. Ballarat is invited to join the National
                                                                                                                                                                                   st
                                Unified System as Ballarat meets basic criterion of 2000 students. College granted “Declared Status” – ability to accredit own course. It is the 1
                                regional campus to achieve this status. (Courier 10.01.1994)

     1989                       Evan walker becomes Victoria‟s State Minister for Education. On 28 Feb he releases his plan for higher education. It is a ministerial
                                statement which introduces the idea of “University of Western Victoria.” A partnership between Ballarat and Deakin Warrnambool.
                                (Courier 10.01.1994)
                                SMB campus established at Ararat Prison. (SMB Report 1987)
                                Administration building and Geology annexe & Creche building completed during 1989. (BCAE Annual Report 1989)
                                Stage 2 of the Ballarat School of Mines A.W. Steane Building (applied Science)
     24 Apr 1989                Task force on Amalgamation proposes that Ballarat And Deakin become part of a new regional university. (Courier 10.01.1994)

     27 Apr 1989                Negotiations with Deakin, Bendigo, Warrnambool and the minister break down. (Courier 10.01.1994)

     28 Apr 1989                Prof. David Penington, A.O. Vice-Chancellor of the University of Melbourne, is the guest speaker at Ballarat‟s Graduation Ceremony. He supports
                                Ballarat‟s independent stand and suggests a form of association with the University of Melbourne could be possible. (Courier 10.01.1994)
     13 Sep 1989                Ballarat College of Advanced Education agrees to affiliate with the University of Melbourne, as an affiliated college. (Beggs-Sunter: x; Courier
                                10.01.1994)

D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 29
     13 Dec 1989                “EJ Barker Library” so named.

     1990                       Refurbishment of SMB‟s Victoria Street Student Residence.
                                Closure of southern end of Lydiard Street making a pedestrian zone for the SMB campus.
                                Extension of SMB Child Care Centre
                                Upgrade of SMB Agriculture Training Centre.
     1 Jan 1990                 Ballarat College of Advanced Education becomes affiliated with the University of Melbourne and in April changes its name to Ballarat University
                                College (BUC). (BCAE Annual Report 1990)
     24 Apr 1990                Ballarat University College Order in Council signed by new minister Joan Kirner. Ballarat College of Advanced Education becomes the Ballarat
                                University College, an affiliate college with the University of Melbourne. (The Flag, Nov 1997; Beggs-Sunter: x)
     7 May 1990                 University of Melbourne Council agrees to confer title of Professor on John Sharpham, who is the head of the University of Melbourne Department
                                at Ballarat. (Courier 10.01.1994)
     1 Jul 1990                 Ballarat University College officially formed. (Courier 10.01.1994)
     1991                       Aquinas College becomes a campus of the Australian Catholic University. (Beggs-Sunter: x)
                                Student Accommodation extensions completed. Total capacity on Mt Helen Campus in 394 students.
                                Building works begin in Mt Helen Lecture Theatre complex and Laboratory/Sports facility Complex. (BUC Annual Report 1991)
                                Opening and naming of SMB Facilities (A.W. Steane Building, E.J. Barker Building, K.J. Flecknoe Building, Carpentry and Joinery [stages 3&4]

     Feb 1991                   The Ballarat University College Council is re-organised. Resources board meets and strategy committee formed. (Courier 10.01.1994)

     Sep 1991                   The Ballarat University College Council accepts the strategy committee recommendation to revise the master plan. Also to promote director‟s
                                concept of University City for Ballarat. (Courier 10.01.1994)
     1991-1992                  E.J., (Jack) Barker was President of SMB Council.

                                Agreement for BUC/SMB cooperation signed (Courier).
     1992                       Mabo judgement – High Court overthrows the legal doctrine of terra nullius and acknowledges Native Title.
                                Mt Helen Lecture Theatre Complex and Laboratory/Sports Facility Complex buildings completed within budget. (BUC Annual Report 1992)

D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 30
                                W.J. Gribble was appointed President of SMB Council.

     10 Sep 1992                The Strategy Committee prepares long term visions plan, which centres on achieving university status. (Courier 10.01.1994)
     Oct 1992                   Liberal Government is elected in Victoria. The BUC Council asks the Director and the President to push for University status by 1995. (Courier
                                10.01.1994)

     1993                       Native Title Act passed
     1993                       Plaque in memory of SMB Art Teacher, Neville Bunning, unveiled at SMB. (SMB Review 1993)
                                SMB purchases Former Ballarat (CUB) Brewery site in Lydiard Street.
                                SMB‟s Hickman Street Student Residence constructed.
                                Ron Wild appointed Director of SMB
     1 May 1993                 More than 16,000 people sign a coupon petition printed in the Courier and send to Parliament. (Courier 10.01.1994)
     4 May 1993                 BUC signs a further agreement with SMB. (Courier 10.01.1994)
     7 May 1993                 Premier Jeff Kennett addresses the BUC graduation and gives “cautious support.” The submission “Ballarat University College – An Overview” is
                                prepared. (Courier 10.01.1994)
     8 Oct 1993                 A Bill, The University of Ballarat Act 1993, that established the new University of Ballarat was introduced into the Parliament of Victoria. The Bill
                                included an agreement for a five year sponsorship of the new university by the University of Melbourne.

     13 Oct 1993                University of Ballarat (UB) planning Advisory Committee established to appoint chancellor, Vice-chancellor and council. (Courier 10.01.1994).
     1994                       Relocation of Ballarat School of Mines Bricklaying training to Yuille St. (SMB Strategic Directions 1994-6).
                                Relocation of Ballarat School of Mines Painting and Decorating training to Mair St. (SMB Strategic Directions 1994-6).
                                Conversion of former Ballarat School of Mines Painting and Decorating area to general purpose classrooms. (SMB Strategic Directions 1994-6)
                                Completion of Gant St retaining walls. (SMB Strategic Directions 1994-6).
     1 Jan 1994                 The University of Ballarat Act 1993 came into existence. (UB Annual Report 2006).

     2 Dec 1994                 Installation of University of Ballarat Foundation Chancellor Professor Geoffrey Blainey.


D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 31
     10 Dec 1994                Professor John Sharpham received proclamation of the Act from the Premier of Victoria Jeff Kennett. (Courier 10.01.1994)

     1994                       Contract signed with Integrated Systems Solution Corporate Australia Ltd (ISSC) for a long-term lease in a special-purpose building in the
                                Technology Park site adjacent to the Mt Helen Campus. (BUC Annual Report 1994, pg 26)
                                Representatives from SMB & Ararat Secondary College signed a Memorandum of Understanding detailing the commitment of each institution in
                                the formation of the Ararat Community College. (SMB Annual Review, 1994)

     1 Jan 1994                 University of Ballarat was created under the sponsorship of the University of Melbourne. (The Flag, Nov 1997; Beggs-Sunter: x)
     10 Aug 1994                SMB signed an affiliation agreement with the University of Ballarat. (SMB Review 1994)
     20 Nov 1994                Bill passes through Victorian Lower House with b-partisan support, and by the end of November has passed through the Upper House with
                                bipartisan support. (Courier 10.01.1994)
     1995                       Ballarat Technology Park opened on land adjacent to the UB Mount Helen Campus. The technology park is on 29 hectares of land. In November
                                the first tenant, IBM Global, moved into a custom built facility.
                                IBM Global Services starts operation on the Ballarat Technology Park.
                                First PhD awarded to Wilhelmus (Bill) Vermeend.

     9 Aug 1995                 A ceremony was held to name the south wing of the Education building at Mt Helen campus the Ian Gordon Wing. (Cat. No. 10657)
     24 Nov 1995                Premier of Victoria, The Hon. Jeffrey Kennett, opened the ISSC building on the Technology Park site.
     8 Dec 1995                 State Minister for Natural Resources opened the ALCOA laboratory for Soil and Land Management.

     18 Dec 1995                The Hon. Simon Crean, Commonwealth Minister for Employment, Education & Training, opened the Institute of Sport and Human Performance
                                facilities known as the Aquatics Laboratory.

     1996                       Wik judgement

     May 1996                   The University of Ballarat Mace was carried at the Graduation Ceremonies for the first time. (The Flag, July 1996)
     1997                       The University of Ballarat Act 1993 was amended to provide for the merging of the University with the Ballarat School of Mines and the Wimmera
                                Institute of TAFE. The merged institute came into existence on 1 January 1998. (UB Annual Report 1998 and 2006)
                                SMB Brewery Complex officially opened by Hon John Howard MP Prime Minister. (The Flag, Nov 1997)
                                University of Ballarat granted Coat of Arms Heraldry.
D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 32
                                Time capsule buried at SMB commemorating Australia‟s oldest technical college, and the merger between University of Ballarat, Wimmera
                                Institute of TAFE and SMB.
                                Mt Helen Behavioural & Social Studies & Humanities Annex completed.
     22 Apr 1997                Professor Emeritus Tom O‟Donnell was awarded the degree of Doctor of Science Honoris Causa. (Kau: 12)

     23 Apr 1997                Professor Emeritus David Pennington AC was awarded the degree of Doctor of Science Honoris Causa. (Kau: 14)
     17 Jun 1997                The Victorian Minister for Tertiary Education and Training announced that the School of Mines and Industries Ballarat Limited would merge with
                                the University of Ballarat and the Wimmera Institute of TAFE to form a new multi sector university for the Central Highlands and Wimmera
                                regions. (The Flag, Nov 1997)
                                                                                                                                                                   nd
     31 Oct 1997                Official opening of Greenhill Enterprise Centre by the Hon. Alan Stockdale, Treasurer and minister for multimedia. This is the 2        major building on
                                the Technology Park Site. (Annual Report 1997)
     1998                       Planning starts for the university Arts Precinct on Camp St. (Annual Report 1998)
                                New Building on Horsham Campus nearing completion. (Annual Report 1998)
     1 Jan 1998                 Merger of University of Ballarat, the School of Mines & Industries (SMB) and the Wimmera Institute of TAFE, effective 1 January 1998. This
                                required the establishment of a Technical and further Education Division in addition to a Higher Education Division. The merged institution
                                resulted in five University campuses in Central and Western Victoria, situated at Ararat, Ballarat city, Horsham, Mt Helen and Stawell. (UB Annual
                                report 1998, pg 27)
     1 Apr 1998                 The new TAFE facility at the Ararat Community College site was officially opened by the Minister for tertiary Education and Training, The
                                Honourable Phil Honeywood. (UB Annual report 1998, pg 37)
     6 May 1998                 Sir Edward Woodward AC OBE was awarded the degree of Doctor of Letters Honoris Causa. (Kau: 12)

     12 Jun 1998                Information Technology & Mathematical Science (ITMS) Annex opened on the Mt Helen Campus by The Hon. Dr David Kemp, MP. (UB Annual
                                report 1998, pg 37)
                                                        nd
     28 Oct 1998                Installation of the 2        Chancellor of the University of Ballarat, Professor Emeritus David Caro

     Dec 1998                   New Stage 2 building on the Horsham Campus of the Wimmera Community College of TAFE. (SMB Annual Review, 1994)
     31 Dec 1998                Termination of the formal sponsorship agreement with the University of Melbourne and the University of Ballart following a review of the University
                                in October 1998. (UB Annual report 1998, pg 27)

D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 33
     1999                       Republic referendum defeated
                                Camp Street Redevelopment approved (June). Then becomes UB‟s Camp St campus known as the Arts Academy.
                                Regional connectivity Project implemented
                                Stage 2 development building works completed on Horsham Campus. Official opening by the Hon. Phil Honeywood, Minister for Tertiary
     2000                       University of Ballarat celebrated 130 Years of Tertiary Education in Ballarat.
                                Victoria State Government announces a new “Cluster Development Building” on the Mt Helen Technology Park. (Annual Report 2000, p5)
                                3000 trees planted and an interpretive centre built as part of the Stage 2 Canadian Wetlands Project. (UB Annual Report 2000, p11)
     Jan 2000                   Camp Street Project launched
     18 May 2000                Jeffrey Kennett AC was awarded the degree of Doctor of Business Honoris Causa. (Kau: 24)

     19 May 2000                Mary Atkinson was awarded the degree of Doctor of the University Honoris Causa. The award recognised her outstanding community service,
                                particularly through her tole in advancing the education of Aboriginal people. (Kau: 24)

     23 Aug 2000                Opening of the Industry Science Centre at the Mt Helen Campus by the Hon. Steve Bracks, Premier of Victoria
     6 Sep 2000                 Official opening of the extended and refurbished Student Union Buildings (now Albert Coates Centre), by former student and Olympian Peter
                                Blackburn. (UB Annual Report 2000:11)

     26 Oct 2000                The Technical Art Building at SMB Campus was officially named the W.J. Gribble Building. (UB Annual Report 2000:11)
     19 Dec 2000                Emeritus Professor David James was awarded the degree of Doctor of Science Honoris Causa. (Kau: 29)

     2001                       Last classes within the Faculty of Art held at Mt Helen Campus. Camp Street campus opened.
                                State Revenue Office decides on the Mt Helen Technology Park site as its new location.
                                Mt Helen student accommodation residences increase to 644.
                                Purchase of Nanya Station under discussion. Nanya Station covers 30,000 hectares and is located in NSW close to the South Australian border.
     1 Jan 2001                 Prof. Kerry O. Cox appointed Vice Chancellor of the University of Ballarat

     1 May 2001                 Bill Pryor AO was awarded the degree of Doctor of Science Honoris Causa. (Kau: 34)

D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 34
     3 May 2001                 Stephen Moneghetti was awarded the degree of Doctor of the University Honoris Causa. (Kau: 37)

     17 Dec 2001                Catherine freeman OAM was awarded the degree of Honorary Doctor Honoris Causa. (Kau: 39)

     2002                       Faculty of Art relocated to Camp Street Campus. The school was renamed The Arts Academy.
                                The Premier of Victoria (and former student), The Hon. Steve Bracks, opens the State Revenue Office on the Technology Park at the Mt Helen
                                Campus. (Annual Report 2002)
                                Global Innovation Centre building being constructed on the Mt Helen Technology Centre. (Annual Report 2002)
     7 May 2002                 David Haymes was awarded the degree of Doctor of Business Honoris Causa. (Kau: 44)

     9 May 2002                 Professor Emeritus Geoffrey Blainey AC was awarded the degree of Doctor of Letters Honoris Causa. (Kau: 47)

     10 May 2002                Ewan Jones was awarded the degree of Doctor of the University Honoris Causa. (Kau: 48)

     11 Oct 2002                Official opening of the University of Ballarat Arts Academy at Camp St by the Hon. Steve Bracks, Premier of Victoria. (Annual Report 2002)
     2003                       The Global Innovation Centre at the Ballarat Technology Park was completed. (Annual Report 2004, pg13)

     13 May 2003                Alan Webb was awarded the degree of Doctor of Science Honoris Causa. (Kau: 55)

     2004                       The Rural Ambulance Victoria‟s head office was opened at the Ballarat Technology Park. (Annual Report 2004, pg13)
     31 Mar 2004                Professor David Caro Retires as Chancellor.
                                Official opening of Caro Convention Centre at Mt Helen by Foundation Chancellor, Professor Emeritus Geoffrey Blainey AC.

     1 Apr 2004                 John McGrath appointed as Chancellor Pro Tempore following the retirement of Professor Emeritus David Caro.
     2005                       Construction of the State Library of Victoria storage facility was started. (Annual Report 2004, pg26)

     10 May 2005                Emeritus Prof. Robert H. T. Smith, AM, was installed at Chancellor of the University of Ballarat by Lieut. Governor of Victoria, Lady Southey, AM.
     2006                       SMB‟s L.F.J. Hillman Hall demolished to make way for the Building and Construction Training Centre (BCTC).
     6 Mar 2006                 Vice-Chancellor Prof. Kerry O. Cox leaves the University of Ballarat to take up the position of Vice-Chancellor at Edith Cowan University in Perth.

     7 Mar 2006                 Prof. Kwong Lee Dow AM, takes up the position of University of Ballarat Vice-Chancellor pro tem.


D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 35
     Jul 2006                   Commencement of Professor David Battersby as University of Ballarat Vice-Chancellor .

     2007                       The University of Ballarat celebrates 100 years of continuous tertiary art education at Ballarat.
     13 Jun 2007                Opening of the Building and Construction Training Centre (BCTC) by the Premier, the Hon. Steve Bracks. The BCTC is a groundbreaking training
                                facility that applies environmentally sustainable practices to building construction. It was constructed between 2005 and 2007, and houses the
                                University‟s bricklaying, building and construction, furniture making, painting and decorating, carpentry and joinery, building design and drafting,
                                plumbing and electrical programs.

     2008                       Opening of UBTech.
     2020                       Time Capsule buried at SMB in 1997 to be opened.




D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 36
   BIBLIOGRAPHY
   Banfield, Lorna L. Green Pastures and Gold, Mullaya Publications, 1974
   Banfield, Lorna L. Shire of Ballarat: Its Settlement and Development, Shire of Ararat, 1964
   Banfeild, Lorna Green Pastures and Gold: A History of Ararat, Mullaya, 1974
   Beggs Sunter, Anne Rich Vein of Learning
   Beggs Sunter, Anne 9th National Conference on Engineering Heritage: Proceedings; pages: 129-134. Martin, Ray L (Editor). Melbourne, Vic.: Institution of Engineers, Australia,
   Victoria Division., 1998.

   Bowers, D.H The Ballarat School of Mines Retrospect 1970
   Brooke, Brian & Finch, Alan A Story of Horsham: A Municipal Centenary, City of Horsham, 1982
   Coulson, Helen Horsham Centenary Souvenir Booklet: One Hundred Years of Progress.
   Gower, Neville, Brewing Education at Ballarat Institute of Advanced Education, UP (Cat. No. 6593)
   Perry, Warren The School of Mines and Industries Ballarat : a history of its first one hundred and twelve years, 1870-1982
   Speilvogel, Nathan. A Survey of the Early Days of the Ballarat School of Mines, 1944


   Periodicals and handbooks
   Ballarat Teachers College Handbook, 1965
   Courier Ballarat University Supplement, 10 January 1994
   SMB Annual Reports
   SMB Minute Books
   SMB Student Magazines
   SMB Strategic Directions, 1994-6
   The Flag, Nov 1997

D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 37
   The University of Ballarat: An Overview (Cat.No. 9495)




D:\Docstoc\Working\pdf\3035a48a-4d9f-43cf-867f-379d4fd3e3dd.doc Update February 2009
Prepared by Clare Gervasoni, Curator: Art and Historical Collections, University of Ballarat.
                                                                                                Page 38

								
To top