Indiana Attorney Lemon Law

Document Sample
Indiana Attorney Lemon Law Powered By Docstoc
					                                                                                        As found on:
                                                                            www.LemonLawOffice.com
                                                                              under “Lemon Wisdom”




                  STATE RV LEMON LAW SUMMARIES

In addition to the federal “lemon law” (the Magnuson Moss Warranty Act), each state has its
own state Lemon Law. In the chart below, “Rv’s Covered” means whether or not a recreational
motor vehicle (or some part of it) is normally covered by the lemon law of a state.
“Presumptions” means what it takes to be a “lemon” vehicle, and “Required First Step” means
what you may have to do in order to be able to claim your vehicle is a “lemon” under the law.
These summaries prepared end of year 2003 by Ronald L. Burdge, Attorney,
www.RvLemonLaw.com.


Alabama     Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                 Required First Step:
            No

Alaska      Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                 Required First Step:
            Yes           3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business         Written notice by certified
                          days out of service within shorter of 1       mail to manufacturer +
                          year or warranty. State has certified         dealer (or repair agent)
                          guidelines for arbitration.                   that problem has not been
                                                                        corrected in reasonable
                                                                        number of attempts +
                                                                        refund or replacement
                                                                        demanded within 60 days.
                                                                        Manufacturer has 30
                                                                        calendar days for final
                                                                        repair attempt.

Arizona     Rv’s Covered?    Presumptions:                              Required First Step:
            Vehicle          4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar      Written notice +
            Portions Only,   days within shorter of 2 years or 24,000   opportunity to repair to
            no more than     miles.                                     manufacturer.
            10,000 lbs

Arkansas    Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                             Required First Step:
            Vehicle       3 unsuccessful repairs, or 1 unsuccessful Certified or registered mail
            Portions Only repair of a problem likely to cause death notice to manufacturer.
                          or serious bodily injury within longer of Manufacturer has 10 days
                          24 months or 24,000 miles.                to notify consumer of
                                                                    repair facility. Facility has
                                                                    10 days to repair.
California    Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                 Required First Step:
              Chassis,         4 times subject to repair or 30 calendar Direct written notice to
              Chassis Cab days out of service (can be non-                manufacturer + delivery of
              and Drive train consecutive) within shorter of 18 months car to repair facility for
              Only, if vehicle or 18,000 miles, or a reasonable number repair attempt within 30
              under 10,000 of attempts during entire express              days.
              lbs              warranty period. UPDATE: As of
                               1/1/01, only 2 times subject to repair
                               allowed for safety defects likely to cause
                               death or serious bodily injury. Coverage
                               also expanded to include small
                               businesses registering up to 5 vehicles,
                               weighing up to 10,000 pounds each.

Colorado      Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                  Required First Step:
              No

Connecticut Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                    Required First Step:
            No

Delaware      Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                  Required First Step:
              Vehicle       4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar          Written notice +
              Portions Only days out of service within shorter of 1        opportunity to repair to
                            year or warranty. Law specifically             manufacturer.
                            applies to leased vehicles.

District of   Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                  Required First Step:
Columbia      No

Florida       Rv’s Covered?    Presumptions:                               Required First Step:
              Most Vehicle     3 unsuccessful repairs or 15 calendar       Written notice by certified
              Portions Only,   days within 24 months from delivery.        or express mail to
              no more than     State has certified guidelines for          manufacturer who has 10
              10,000 lbs       arbitration. State-run arbitration          calendar days for final
                               mechanism available. Law specifically       repair attempt after
                               applies to leased vehicles.                 delivery to designated
                                                                           dealer.

Georgia       Rv’s Covered?    Presumptions:                               Required First Step:
              Vehicle          3 unsuccessful repair attempts or 30        Certified mail notice
              Portions Only,   calendar days out of service within         return receipt requested.
              no more than     shorter of 24,000 miles or 24 months,       Manufacturer has 7 days
              10,000 lbs       with 1 repair or 15 days out of service     to notify consumer of
                               within shorter or 1 year or 12,000 miles;   repair facility. Facility has
                               or one unsuccessful repair of serious       14 calendar days to repair.
                               safety defect in braking or steering
                            system within shorter of 1 year or 12,000
                            miles. State-run arbitration mechanism
                            available. Law specifically applies to
                            leased vehicles. Note: Proceeding under
                            this state’s lemon law may cause
                            consumer to lose other important rights
                            regarding the manufacturer and dealer.

Hawaii     Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                Required First Step:
           Yes, no more 3 unsuccessful repair attempts, or 1          Written notice +
           than 10,000 lbs unsuccessful repair attempt of defect      opportunity to repair to
                           likely to cause death or serious bodily manufacturer.
                           injury, or 30 business days out of service
                           within shorter of two years or 24,000
                           miles. State-run arbitration mechanism
                           available. Law specifically applies to
                           leased vehicles.

Idaho      Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                               Required First Step:
           Yes, no more 4 repair attempts or 30 business days out Written notice to
           than 12,000 lbs of service within shorter of 2 years or manufacturer or dealer and
                           24,000 miles, or 1 repair of a complete opportunity to repair.
                           failure of the braking or steering system
                           likely to cause death or serious bodily
                           injury. State-run arbitration mechanism
                           available. Law specifically applies to
                           leased vehicles.

Illinois   Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                  Required First Step:
           Yes, if       4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business          Written notice +
           motorized     days out of service within shorter of 1        opportunity to repair to
                         year or 12,000 miles. Law specifically         manufacturer.
                         applies to leased vehicles.

Indiana    Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                  Required First Step:
           No

Iowa       Rv’s Covered?    Presumptions:                               Required First Step:
           No
Kansas     Rv’s Covered?    Presumptions:                               Required First Step:
           Vehicle          4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar       Actual notice to
           Portions Only,   days out of service or 10 total repairs     manufacturer.
           no more than     within shorter of 1 year or warranty.
           12,000 lbs       State has certified guidelines for
                            arbitration.
Kentucky    Rv’s Covered?     Presumptions:                               Required First Step:
            No
Louisiana   Rv’s Covered?     Presumptions:                               Required First Step:
            Chassis and       4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar       Report to manufacturer or
            Drive train       days out of service within shorter of 1     dealer.
            only              year or warranty. State has certified
                              guidelines for arbitration. Law
                              specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Maine       Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                 Required First Step:
            Yes if use is 3 unsuccessful repairs (when at least 2 Written notice to
            noncommercial times same agent attempted repair) or 15 manufacturer or dealer
            ; Commercial business days out of service within            only if required in
            use vehicle is shorter of warranty or 2 years or 18,000 warranty or owner"s
            covered if      miles. Applies to vehicles within the first manual. Manufacturer has
            under 8,500 lbs 18,000 miles or 2 years regardless of       7 business days after
                            whether the claimant is the original        receipt for final repair
                            owner. State-run arbitration mechanism attempt.
                            available. Law specifically applies to
                            leased vehicles.

Maryland    Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                   Required First Step:
            No

Massachuset Rv’s Covered?     Presumptions:                               Required First Step:
ts          No
Michigan Rv’s Covered?        Presumptions:                               Required First Step:
            No
Minnesota Rv’s Covered?       Presumptions:                               Required First Step:
            Chassis Only      4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business       Written notice +
                              days or 1 unsuccessful repair of total      opportunity to repair to
                              braking or steering loss likely to cause    manufacturer, agent or
                              death or serious bodily injury within       dealer.
                              shorter of 2 years or warranty. State has
                              certified guidelines for arbitration. Law
                              specifically applies to leased vehicles.

Mississippi Rv’s Covered?     Presumptions:                               Required First Step:
            Yes but not the   3 unsuccessful repairs or 15 business       Written notice to
            portions added    days out of service within shorter of 1     manufacturer who has 10
            by the Rv         year or warranty.                           business days to repair
            Company                                                       after delivery to
                                                                          designated dealer.

Missouri    Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                   Required First Step:
            Chassis,      4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business           Written notice to
             Engine, Power days out of service within shorter of 1    manufacturer who has 10
             Train and     year or warranty.                          calendar days to repair
             related parts                                            after delivery to
                                                                      designated dealer.

Montana      Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                              Required First Step:
             Vehicle       4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business      Written notice +
             Portions Only days out of service after notice within opportunity to repair to
                           shorter of 2 years or 18,000 miles. State- manufacturer.
                           run arbitration mechanism available.

Nebraska     Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                              Required First Step:
             Yes           4 unsuccessful repairs or 40 calendar      Certified mail notice +
                           days out of service within shorter of 1    opportunity to repair to
                           year or warranty. State has certified      manufacturer.
                           guidelines for arbitration.

Nevada    Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                 Required First Step:
          No
New       Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                 Required First Step:
Hampshire Only 4 wheeled 3 unsuccessful repairs by same dealer or     Report to manufacturer,
          vehicles under 30 business days out of service within       distributor, agent or dealer
          9,000 lbs      warranty. State-run                          (on forms provided
                         arbitration mechanism available. Law         by manufacturer) + final
                         specifically applies to leased               opportunity to repair
                         vehicles.                                    before arbitration.

New Jersey Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                              Required First Step:
           Vehicle       3 unsuccessful repairs or 20 calendar      Certified mail notice,
           Portions Only days out of service within shorter of 2 return receipt requested to
                         years or 18,000 miles. State has certified manufacturer who has 10
                         guidelines for arbitration. Law            days to repair.
                         specifically applies to leased vehicles.

New Mexico Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                Required First Step:
           Yes if less than 4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business     Written notice +
           10,000 lbs       days out of service within shorter of 1   opportunity to repair to
                            year or warranty.. State has certified    manufacturer, agent or
                            guidelines for arbitration.               dealer

New York     Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                              Required First Step:
             Vehicle       4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar      Notice to manufacturer,
             Portions Only days out of service within shorter of 2 agent or dealer.
                           years or 18,000 miles. State has certified
                           guidelines for arbitration. Law
                           specifically applies to leased vehicles.
North      Rv’s Covered?   Presumptions:                               Required First Step:
Carolina   Yes if not a    4 unsuccessful repairs within shorter of    Written notice to
           house trailer   24 months, 24,000 miles or warranty or      manufacturer +
           and if under    20 business days out of service             opportunity to repair
           10,000 lbs      during any 12 month period of               within 15 calendar days of
                           warranty.Law specifically                   receipt only if required in
                           applies to leased vehicles.                 warranty or owner's
                                                                       manual.
North      Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                 Required First Step:
Dakota     No

Ohio       Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                             Required First Step:
           Vehicle       3 unsuccessful repairs of same            Report to manufacturer, its
           Portions Only nonconformity, 30 calendar days out of agent or dealer.
                         service, 8 total repairs of any
                         nonconformity, or 1 unsuccessful repair
                         of problem likely to cause death or
                         serious bodily injury within shorter of 1
                         year or 18,000 miles. Law specifically
                         applies to leased vehicles.

Oklahoma   Rv’s Covered?   Presumptions:                               Required First Step:
           Vehicle         4 unsuccessful repairs or 45 calendar       Written notice +
           Portions Only   days out of service within shorter of 1     opportunity to repair to
           and if under    year or warranty. State has certified       manufacturer.
           10,000 lbs      guidelines for arbitration.

Oregon     Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                 Required First Step:
           No

Pennsylvani Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                Required First Step:
a           No

Rhode      Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                 Required First Step:
Island     No            .

South      Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                                 Required First Step:
Carolina   Vehicle Portion 3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar       Written notice by certified
           Only            days out of service within shorter of 1     mail + opportunity to
                           year or 12,000 miles. State has certified   repair (not more than 10
                           guidelines for arbitration. Law             business days) to
                           specifically applies to leased vehicles.    manufacturer only if
                                                                       manufacturer informed
                                                                       consumer of such at time
                                                                       of sale.
South       Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                             Required First Step:
Dakota      No

Tennessee   Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                             Required First Step:
            No

Texas       Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                             Required First Step:
            Yes           4 unsuccessful repairs when 2 occurred Written notice to
                          within shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles, manufacturer.
                          + other 2 occur within shorter of 1 year
                          or 12,000 miles immediately following
                          second repair attempt; or 2 unsuccessful
                          repairs of a serious safety defect when 1
                          occurred within shorter of 1 year or
                          12,000 miles + other occurred within
                          shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles
                          immediately following first repair; or 30
                          calendar days out of service within
                          shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles + at
                          least 2 attempts were made within
                          shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles. State-
                          run arbitration mechanism available.

Utah        Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                             Required First Step:
            Vehicle       4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business     Report to manufacturer,
            Portions Only days out of service within shorter of 1   agent or dealer.
                          year or warranty. Law specifically        (Manufacturer's informal
                          applies to leased vehicles.               arbitrations process serves
                                                                    as prerequisite to
                                                                    consumer refund or
                                                                    replacement.)

Vermont     Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                             Required First Step:
            No

Virginia    Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                              Required First Step:
            Chassis Only 3 unsuccessful repairs, or 1 repair         Written notice to
                          attempt of serious safety defect, or 30 manufacturer. If 3
                          calendar days out of service within 18 unsuccessful repairs or 30
                          months. State has certified guidelines for days already exhausted
                          arbitration. Law specifically applies to before notice,
                          leased vehicles.                           manufacturer has 1 more
                                                                     repair attempt not to
                                                                     exceed 15 days
Washington Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                             Required First Step:
           Yes           4 unsuccessful repairs, 30 calendar days Written notice to
                         out of service (15 during warranty        manufacturer.
                         period), or 2 repairs of serious safety
                         defects, first reported within shorter of
                         warranty or 24 months or 24,000 miles.
                         one repair attempt + 15 of the 30 days
                         must fall within manufacturer's express
                         warranty of at least 1 year of 12,000
                         miles. State-run arbitration mechanism
                         available. Law specifically applies to
                         leased vehicles. Note: Consumer should
                         receive replacement or refund within 40
                         calendar days of request.

Wisconsin   Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                           Required First Step:
            Yes           4 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar   Report to manufacturer or
                          days out of service within shorter of 1 dealer.
                          year or warranty. Law specifically
                          applies to leased vehicles. Note:
                          Consumer should receive replacement or
                          refund within 30 calendar days after
                          offer to return title.

West        Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                              Required First Step:
Virginia    Chassis Only 3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 calendar       Written notice +
                          days out of service or 1 unsuccessful      opportunity to repair to
                          repair of problem likely to cause death manufacturer.
                          or serious bodily injury within shorter of
                          1 year or warranty. Law specifically
                          applies to leased vehicles.

Wyoming     Rv’s Covered? Presumptions:                              Required First Step:
            Yes if under 3 unsuccessful repairs or 30 business       Direct written notice +
            10,000 lbs    days out of service within 1 year.         opportunity to repair to
                                                                     manufacturer.
                                                                     (Manufacturer's informal
                                                                     arbitrations process serves
                                                                     as prerequisite to
                                                                     consumer refund or
                                                                     replacement.)

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Description: Indiana Attorney Lemon Law document sample