Learning Center
Plans & pricing Sign in
Sign Out
Your Federal Quarterly Tax Payments are due April 15th Get Help Now >>

Book Of Kings


									Presnted by : Kunhiraman Sathianathan Subject: Why is the Bible opened at First Book of Kings in The Lodge of Perfection (#13) The First and Second Book of Kings are called by Hebrews The Book of Samuel because they contain the History of Samuel, and of the two Kings Saul and David whom he anointed. They are commonly named by the Fathers The First and Second Book of Kings. As pertains to the Author of them, from historical records it is widely believed that Samuel composed the first Book comprising the first twenty five chapters and that the Prophets Nathan and Gad completed the remaining Chronicles and also authored The Second Book of Kings. Based on its contents the book may be divided into four parts: 1. The beginning of I Chronicles (Chapters 1-10) mostly contain genealogical lists, concluding with the House of Saul and Saul’s rejection by God, which sets the stage for the rise of David. 2. The remainder of Chronicles Chapters (11-29) is a History of Davids reign. 3. The beginning of Chronicles II Chapters (1-9) is a History of the reign of King Solomon, son of David. 4. The remainder of Chronicles II Chapters (10-36) is a chronicle of the Kings of Judah to the time of the Babylonian exile of Joachin their King concluding with their subsequent release by Cyrus the Great King of Persia who granted them freedom and permitted them to return to their native land.
The fourth book of the Former Prophets section of the Bible. In Jewish tradition, Kings is a single book. The division into two books, I Kings and II Kings, comes from the Seftuagint and the Vulgate, according to which the Books of Samuel and Kings are a single unit divided into four books of Kings. The name of the book is derived from its content, which deals with Kings David and Solomon, and the subsequent kings of Judah and of Israel. The books deal with the period from the time that Solomon assumed the throne (approximately 970 BCE) until the release from imprisonment in Babylonia of King Jehoiachin (561 BCE). In terms of content, the volume is divided into two parts: 1) the story of Solomon's reign (I Kings 1-11); 2) the story of the kingdoms of Judah and Israel (I Kings 12-II Kings 25). The latter can be subdivided further: a) From the ascent of Rehoboam to the throne (I Kings 12) to the destruction of the kingdom of Israel (II Kings 17:6); b) From the fall of Samaria to the conquest of Jerusalem and the Babylonian Exile (II Kings 25:1). The history of Solomon's reign is described at length, and includes an account of the building of the Temple. This is followed by a description of the division of the kingdom at the time of Rehoboam. The northern and larger kingdom, that of Israel, comprises ten tribes, while the smaller kingdom, Judah, comprises the two tribes of Judah

and Benjamin. The volume continues with a combined account of the history of the two kingdoms. The political history and biographical information are seen in a religious light, and the rulers are assessed according to their faithfulness to God. An important role is played by Prophets, notably Elijah and Elisha, who serve as the conscience of the rulers, guiding them along the right path and castigating them when they or the people go astray. A recurrent theme is the centralization of worship, as prescribed in Deuteronomy and effected by the seventh century king of Judah,Josiah. In addition to various archives, the volume notes three sources: the book of Solomon; the book of the Chronicles of the Kings of Judah; and the Book of the Chronicles of the Kings of Israel. According to Jewish tradition (BB. 14b), the book was written by the prophet Jeremiah.

However it is also possible to divide the book into three parts rather than four combining the sections relating to David and Solomon, since they both ruled over a united Judah and Israel., unlike the last section that contains the Chronicle of the Davidic Kings who ruled the Kingdom of Judah alone. The Books of Kings are part of Judaists TANAKH the Hebrew Bible. The First Book of Kings contains the History of the Israelite Monarchy related in the Book of Samuel, that is the succession of Solomon as King of Israel and Judah and the death of his father King David. King David a commoner and the chosen man of the Lord God to rule Israel after Saul who was rejected by the Lord God due to his disobedience could not build a Temple to his Lord God mostly because of the constant warring with neighbouring clans and enemy countries until his Lord God made him victorious over all his enemies could only build an Altar to pray to The Almighty God. When King Solomon became the Ruler of Israel and his Lord God had given him peace on all his boundaries , his Lord God gave him permission to construct a Temple, a sacred place to worship his Lord God and he was assisted by Hiram King of Tyler who supplied him with men and materials. The Presiding Officer of The Fourth degree is called the Thrice Potent Master and he represents King Solomon who presides over the Lodge in The Fourth degree. Considering all these factors it is only appropriate to open The Bible at The First book of Kings in The Lodge of Perfection.

To top