2007-2008 Report of the University-School Teacher Education Council by whereitsat

VIEWS: 16 PAGES: 5

									University-School Teacher Education Council (USTEC)
2007-2008 REPORT
USTEP HISTORY
USTEP was an idea conceived in 1996 by leaders of the fifteen Teacher Education Programs in
the UNC System. Its aim was to strengthen involvement of communities and school systems in
the preparation and development of teaching professionals. Approved by the UNC Board of
Governors and funded with its own budget by the North Carolina General Assembly in 1997, the
initiative set forth five guidelines:

       1.) Early, frequent and focused field experiences in public schools for pre-service
           teachers.
       2.) Professional development opportunities collaboratively planned and
           implemented by and for pre-K through university educators.
       3.) Increased communication at all levels.
       4.) Collaborative research opportunities.
       5.) Collaboration in curriculum planning and program development.

Although strong ties between UNCA and public schools existed long before the
establishment of USTEP, they were largely dependent on individual efforts by committed
professors in the Department of Education. USTEP reinforced and supported programs
already in existence while codifying goals for Partnership initiatives and greatly
extending opportunities for collaboration. USTEP at UNCA has remained true to these
goals, as evidenced by its diverse membership and the work planned and implemented by
its subcommittees. USTEC was created by combining USTEP advisory committee and
the Council on Teacher Education, a University standing committee.

USTEC MEMBERSHIP
UNCA
ADMINISTRATION                       Lisa Friedenberg       friedenberg@unca.edu

 EDUCATION DEPARTMENT
  USTEC CHAIR                        Jeanne McGlinn         jmcglinn@unca.edu
  USTEP DIRECTOR                     Mary Beth Decatur      mdecatur@unca.edu
  OUTREACH                           Kim Kessaris           kessaris@unca.edu
  TEACHING FELLOWS                   Brenda Hopper          bhopper@unca.edu
  TECHNOLOGY                         Fran Randall           frandall@unca.edu
  COMMUNITY LIAISON                  Maggie Smith           mmsmith@unca.edu

 USTEP CO-CHAIRS
 PROFES. DEVELOPMENT                 Kim Brown              kbrown@unca.edu
 PROFES DEVELOPMENT                  Mark Sidelnick         sidelnick@unca.edu
 INDUCTION                           Reid Chapman           rchapman@unca.edu
 INDUCTION                           Nancy Ruppert          nruppert@unca.edu
 INITIAL PREPARATION                 Jim McGlinn            mcglinn@unca.edu
 FACULTY                             Janet Bowman           jbowman@unca.edu
LICENSURE CANDIDATES
 K-6                                 Maggie Harvin        mlharvin@unca.edu
 K-6                                 Mary Gwen Kistler    mgkistle@unca.edu
 9-12 Latin                          Nicholas Mauriello   namaurie@unca.edu

ARTS & SCIENCES
 CLASSICS, USTEC CO-CHAIR            Lora Holland         lholland@unca.edu
 ART                                 Megan Wolfe          mwolfe@unca.edu
 DRAMA                               Danelle Smith Cauley dksmith@unca.edu
 FOREIGN LANGUAGES                   Michelle Bettencourt mbettenc@unca.edu
 MATH                                Cathy Whitlock       cwhitlock@unca.edu
 PHYSICS                             Judy Beck            jbeck@unca.edu

SCHOOL PARTNERS
 ASHEVILLE CITY
 Bob McGrattan                             robert.mcgrattan@asheville.k12.nc.us
 Lisa Gibson                               lisa.gibson@asheville.k12.nc.us
 Mike Lodico , Prof.Dev. Co-chair          michael.lodico@asheville.k12.nc.us

 BUNCOMBE COUNTY
 Ximena Del Corral                         ximena.delcorral@bcsemail.org
 Kris Moore, Initial Prep Co-chair         kristen.cari@bcsemail.org
 Judy Lewis                                judy.lewis@bcsemail.org
 Judy McGuire                              judy.mcguire@bcsemail.org
 Judy Smith, Induction Co-chair            judy.smith@bcsemail.org
 Shirley Young                             shirley.young@bcsemail.org

HENDERSON COUNTY
 Lynn Carter                               lcarter@rug.henderson.k12.nc.us
 Virginia Haynes                           vchaynes@hotmail.com
 Bill Parker                               bparker@henderson.k12.nc.us
 Karen Sumner                              ksumner@bal.henderson.k12.nc.us
MCDOWELL COUNTY
 Michael Ayers                             michael.ayers@mcdowell.k12.nc.us
 Gail Bailey                               gail.bailey@mcdowell.k12.nc.us

COMMUNITY PARTNERS
ASHEVILLE AREA ARTS COUNCIL
 Susanne Hackett               susannehackett@ashevillearts.org
CENTER FOR DIVERSITY EDUCATION
 Debi Miles                    dmiles@unca.edu
WESTERN REGION EDUCATION SERVICE ALLIANCE (WRESA)
 April Spencer                 aspencer@wresa.org
 Carol Bennett                 cbennett@wresa.org
FALL PLANNING RETREAT                                        October 11, 2007
Representatives from UNCA and its 4 partner school systems met to report on the
previous year’s goals and activities, to share current goals and concerns, to determine
mutual goals for the partnership subcommittees and to begin planning activities to
address the goals. Complete minutes available on the USTEP website
www.unca.edu/USTEP

Present:
Asheville City Schools-Lisa Gibson, Bob McGrattan
Buncombe County Schools-Judy Lewis, Susanne Swanger
Henderson County Schools-Sherrie Pridmore, Kathy Revis
McDowell County Schools-Luanne O’Neill
UNCA Arts & Sciences Faculty-Judy Beck, Danelle Cauley, Evelyn Chiang,
       Lora Holland, Jason Schmeltzer
UNCA Department of Education Faculty- Janet Bowman, Kim Brown, Carole Becker,
       Reid Chapman, Mary Beth Decatur, Kim Kessaris, Jeanne McGlinn,
       Jim McGlinn, Fran Randall, Eula Shaw
UNCA Licensure Candidates-Maggie Harvin, Nich Mauriello
Asheville Graduate Center-Elaine Fox

2006-2007 USTEP goals as determined at the Fall 2006 retreat and activities reported
toward their accomplishment:
       1. Recruit and retain quality teachers
       2. Improve graduation rate and student achievement
       3. Align curriculum with SBE 21st Century Goals
Recruitment: Implemented or participated in Opening Doors to Teaching, Road Trip 2
Teach, Admissions Open Houses and Career Fairs.
Retention: Induction Subcommittee-Planned and implemented ILT/Mentor Summer
Planning Institute and joint New Teacher Orientations with partners focused on planning
and classroom management. Professional Development Subcommittee-Sponsored
learning circles on Ralph Fletcher’s book, Boy Writers: Reclaiming Their Voices;
awarded professional development mini-grants to classroom teachers and licensure
candidates. UNCA and A-B Tech collaborated on online courses for Lateral entry
teachers.
Improving graduation rate and student achievement: AVID and tutoring programs.

2007-2008 USTEP Goals developed during discussion at Oct. 2007 retreat:
      1. Provide training, support and follow-up for academic coaches
      2. Improve graduation rate through continued tutoring programs
      3. Continue recruitment, minority recruitment and retention efforts
      4. Continue preparation of quality teachers at UNCA
      5. Continue UNCA assessment system development and diversity initiatives.
SUMMARY REPORT OF USTEP SUBCOMMITTEE ACTIVITIES
2007-2008
1. INITIAL PREPARATION SUBCOMMITTEE
Recruitment: Delivered Introduction to Teaching course for Teacher Cadets at Enka
High School.

            Report of Teacher Cadet Matriculation at UNCA 1991-2005
             n=85 students in UNCA-sponsored Teacher Cadet Courses
                  Total number    Percentage of      Minority    Percentage of
                    of students     total n=85        students     total n=85
Enrolled in      15              17.6%            2             2.4%
UNCA courses
Graduated from 4                 4.7%             2             2.4%
UNCA

Improved student achievement/graduation rate: Co-sponsored AVID Summer Bridge
2007, academic enrichment and teambuilding activities for rising 8th-10th grade AVID
Asheville Middle and Asheville High School students.
Preparation of quality teachers: Worked with UNCA’s Institutional Research Team
and USTEP partners to study the validity and reliability of our assessment system and
instruments.
Diversity: Co-sponsored a diversity activity for student teachers, a bus trip to meet with
student teachers and faculty at Winston-Salem State University following their
participation in a semester-long online discussion of teaching issues.

Plans for 2008-2009:
Co-sponsor AVID Summer Bridge 2008
Sponsor focus groups in support of curriculum re-envisioning based on new standards.

2. INDUCTION SUBCOMMITTEE
Retention: Planned and implemented 2 Saturday orientations for teachers hired after the
beginning of the school year. Orientation topics were based on needs of new teachers as
reported by new teacher support personnel in each partner school system and by
participants in previous orientations.

Retention: Planned and implemented a 2-day planning institute for new teachers and
their mentors in August 2007. Teachers worked together with the help of technology
support to plan for the new school year.

Plans for 2008-2009:
Plan and implement the 4th ILT/Mentor Summer Planning Institute Aug.4-5
Assess the changing needs of new teachers and develop initiatives to support them.

3. PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT SUBCOMMITTEE
Retention: Awarded small grants to educators from UNCA, Asheville City, Buncombe
County, Henderson County and McDowell County for attendance and presentations at
professional conferences or workshops.
Retention: Convened partnership administrators and master teachers to plan a science
initiative for elementary teachers. The result is a 9-day science institute for K-2 teachers
which will take place in June at UNCA with follow-up during the 2008-2009 school year.

Retention and diversity: Continued learning circles centered on the book Boy Writers:
Reclaiming Their Voices by Ralph Fletcher for 60 Asheville City and Buncombe County
teachers and administrators and UNC-Asheville Arts and Sciences and Education
Department faculty. Sponsored 2 UNCA and 5 Asheville City, Buncombe County
educators to attend Ralph Fletcher’s lecture at WRESA on September 12, 2007.

Plans for 2008-2009:
Science Institute follow-up
Mini-grant awards

2007-2008 Tutoring Programs-Kim Kessaris
See the full report on the Tutoring page of the USTEP website:
www.unca.edu/ustep/tutoring_programs

Improved student achievement/graduation rate and diversity initiatives: Trained,
placed and evaluated tutors in several settings with Partner schools-
  Freshmen Teaching Fellows were placed for tutoring at Vance Elementary, Vance
       After-School program and Asheville High School.
  Tutored AVID students (270 Fall and 265 Spring) at Asheville Middle and Asheville
       High.
  Through the Education Coalition, tutored students (56 Fall and 51 Spring) at Vance
       After-School; Hillcrest Enrichment Center; Asheville Middle School;
  Through the SILSA program, 5 tutors worked with the 9th grade Survivor class (approx.
       40 students) fall 2007.

Plans for 2008-09:
   AVID Summer Bridge
   Funding for student intern, tutor leaders, paid tutors, training materials and food for
       Summer Bridge and pay rate for paid tutors
   Procedures for working with volunteer tutors
   Choose focus of AVID Advocates Committee

RECOMMENDATION FOR CHANGE IN STRUCTURE:
Liaisons to Arts & Sciences departments serve as members of USTEC.

USTEC GOALS FOR 2008-2009:
Support mandated revisioning process for teacher education programs.

Mary Beth Decatur
USTEP Director

								
To top