Refresher exam 20072008
1. With Team A in control of the ball, A4 is tied up by B4 and a held ball is called. The alternating possession
arrow favours Team A. Shall the shot clock be reset?
2. A4’s try for goal is in the air when the 24second clock expires. The ball does not strike the ring but is
immediately controlled by B4. Shall the official blow the whistle for a shot clock violation and award a throwin
to Team B?
3. A4 is holding the ball in his/her backcourt and is closely guarded by B4 for 5 seconds. Is this a closely guarded
situation resulting in a violation charged against A4 ?
4. A1 drives to the basket, becomes airborne, releases the ball and, before coming down on the floor crashes into
B1 who is in a legal defensive position. The official correctly calls a foul on A1. Since A1 is still in the act of
shooting when the contact occurs, is this a team control foul ?
5. Team A is entitled to a throwin by virtue of the alternating process. A1’s throwin lodges directly between the
ring and the backboard. As a result, should Team B be awarded an alternating possession throwin ?
6. Team A is awarded 2 free throws plus possession as a result of an unsporting foul. The officials erroneously
allow players to take positions along the free throw lane. After the second unsuccessful throw, the ball is
rebounded by B4 who advances the ball and scores a field goal. The error is then discovered. Is the error
7. With 1:27 to play in the game, Team A scores and the game clock is stopped. Substitute B6 who has reported
to the scorer’s table wishes to substitute. Should B6 be allowed to enter the game at this time ?
8. A4 passes to A5. A5 and B5 jump and simultaneously grab the pass. They both return to the floor with a firm
hold on the ball and with A5 having one foot touching the sideline. The official calls a jump ball and decides
that play will resume according to the alternating process. Is the official correct?
9. B5 commits an unsportsmanlike foul on A5. A5 is awarded two free throws to be followed by a Team A throw
in at midcourt. A5 misses his last free throw. Shall A10 be allowed to substitute for A5 at this time ?
10. Team A is awarded two free throws. After the ball is handed to the free thrower for the final free throw, A5 fills
a vacant lane space. The official immediately calls a lane violation on A5 and awards the ball to Team B. Is the
11. During a throwin from Team A’s back court, A5 jumps from the front court, catches A4’s throwin pass and
lands in the back court in control of the ball. Is this play legal ?
12. Players A4 and B4 commit a double foul while Team B is in control of the ball. Shall the shot clock be reset?
13. During an interval of play, A4 and A5 are each charged with a technical foul. The officials instruct the scorer to
count the fouls as player fouls leading to the disqualification of A4 and A5, and as Team A’s fouls leading to
the free throw penalty in the next period. Are the officials correct?
14. On a final free throw, B4 commits a lane violation and then free thrower A4 violates. The officials call a double
violation and award a throwin according to the alternating possession rule. Is this correct?
15. During the third quarter Team A has already used one of its timeouts. May Team A use either or both of the
remaining timeouts during the third quarter?
Answers: 1. No 2. No 3. Yes 4. No 5. Yes 6. No 7. Yes 8. Yes 9. Yes 10. No 11. No
12. No 13. Yes 14. No 15. Yes