Docstoc

online international newspapers

Document Sample
online international newspapers Powered By Docstoc
					Political Systems and Leaders Pathfinder:

This compilation of resources has been put together to help you gather information on political
systems and leaders. This pathfinder is meant to be a leaping off point. Explore…

General Advice for Researchers:

    -   Remember the best information is likely to be on the invisible web—you’ll need
        databases and internet portals
    -   Try to think of as many supporting questions as possible. This will make putting your
        argument together much easier
    -   Keep a word document with the URLs (addresses) of the sites that you use…you will
        need these on day 2 in the lab.
    -   Keep track of your sources on Noodletools. In the annotation box, write a brief note about
        why each resource is useful ** What supporting questions does it address?**

  Subscription Databases:

       Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: from GaleNet, you'll find viewpoint essays,
        reference, magazine and newspaper articles, primary sources, and Web links!
       Use all the databases on the Sal Library Webpage.

Gateway or Portal Sites on the Internet:

Global Affairs/Politics/Government

       O'Keefe Library Hot Paper Topics http://library.sau.edu/bestinfo/Hot/hotindex.htm
       *CNN In-Depth Specials http://www.cnn.com/SPECIALS/
       Human Rights Watch http://www.hrw.org/
       International Affairs Resources http://www.etown.edu/vl/
       Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory ELSI Project (science-based issues)
        http://www.lbl.gov/Education/ELSI/ELSI.html
       Links to the News http://poynter.org/dj/shedden/
       *OneWorld http://www.oneworld.net/
       Political Resources on the Net
       Women's Human Rights Resources http://www.law-lib.utoronto.ca/diana/
       *Yahoo: Government: Political Issues
        http://dir.yahoo.com/Government/U_S__Government/Politics/Political_Issues/

       Incore Country Guides http://www.incore.ulst.ac.uk/cds/countries/index.html
       CNN Special (select World) http://www.cnn.com/SPECIALS/
       Global Issues http://www.global-issues.net/
       Globalization101.org http://www.globalization101.org/
       Global Issues on the UN Agenda http://www.un.org/partners/civil_society/agenda.htm
       UN Collection on Critical Global Issues http://www.sadl.uleth.ca/nz/cgi-
        bin/library?a=p&p=about&c=ccgi
       PBS FRONTLINE/World http://www.pbs.org/frontlineworld/
       Out There News: Megastories http://www.megastories.com
       Economist Country Briefings http://www.economist.com/countries/
       One World http://www.oneworld.net/article/frontpage/10/3
       Freedom in the World http://www.freedomhouse.org/research/
       CSIS http://www.csis.org/
      Open Directory (Regional) http://dmoz.org/Regional/
      Amnesty International Annual Report http://www.amnesty.org/ailib/aireport/
      Contemporary Conflicts http://conconflicts.ssrc.org/
      Global Witness http://www.globalwitness.org/
      Human Rights Watch http://www.hrw.org/
      Yahoo: Full Coverage World http://dailynews.yahoo.com/full_coverage/world/
      Watching America (Discover what the world thinks about the U.S. Translated foreign
       news)
      World News.com http://worldnews.com/
      World Newspapers, Magazines, and News Sites in English http://www.world-
       newspapers.com/
      Online Newspapers.com http://onlinenewspapers.com/
      Newslink.org http://newslink.org
      Global Issues that Affect Everyone http://www.globalissues.org/
      LIU Institute for Global Studies http://www.ligi.ubc.ca/
      Simultaneous Policy http://www.simpol.org/dossiers/dossier-UK/html-UK/interface-
       UK.html
      World News Links stucurre.html#International
      Least Developed Countries Report
       http://www.unctad.org/Templates/webflyer.asp?docid=4810&intItemID=3074&lang=1&mo
       de=toc

Web Portals for Biography

      Biographical Dictionary http://www.s9.com/biography/
      Biography.com http://www.biography.com/
      Lives, the Biography Resource http://amillionlives.com
      Multnomah Homework Center: Biographies
       http://www.multcolib.org/homework/biohc.html
      Gale (free resources) http://www.galegroup.com/free_resources/
      LibrarySpot: Biographies http://libraryspot.com/biographies/
      Who2? (check out the links!) http://www.who2.com/
      Academy of Achievement
       http://www.achievement.org/autodoc/pagegen/mainmenu.html?hb=1
      Historic Figures http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/historic_figures/
      Presidential Biography
      Grolier's American Presidency http://gi.grolier.com/presidents
      POTUS http://www.ipl.org/ref/POTUS
      President of the United States
       http://www.whitehouse.gov/history/presidents/index.html
      Presidents of the United States http://www.presidentsusa.net/
      Presidents Index http://odur.let.rug.nl/~usa/P/
      National Portrait Gallery Search
       http://npgportraits.si.edu/code/emuseum.asp

Use these resources to locate news sources from outside the United
States.
         *Yahoo! Newspapers by Country
    http://dir.yahoo.com/News_and_Media/Newspapers/By_Region/Countries/
         *HeadlineSpot: International Newspapers
    http://headlinespot.com/international/
         *The Paperboy (newspapers from each country) http://thepaperboy.com
         * Internet Public Library Online Newspapers http://www.ipl.org/div/news/
         Watching America (Discover what the world thinks about the U.S.
    Translated foreign news)
         Online Newspapers.com http://onlinenewspapers.com/
         World Press Review http://worldpress.org/
         WorldNews.com http://worldnews.com
         World Press http://www.theworldpress.com/
         World News Network http://www.wnnetwork.com/
         Newslink http://newslink.org/
         OneWorld http://www.oneworld.net/
         Newseum: Today's Front Pages
    http://www.newseum.org/todaysfrontpages/
         Foreign Newspapers http://www.lengua.com/zeitung.htm
         All You Can Read l http://allyoucanread.com/
         Press Display http://www.pressdisplay.com/pressdisplay/viewer.aspx
         Online Magazines http://www.lengua.com/zeitung.htm
         Department of State offers Foreign Media Reaction
    http://usinfo.state.gov/products/medreac.htm
         Yahoo! Newspapers by Region
    http://dir.yahoo.com/News_and_Media/Newspapers/By_Region/Regions/
         News and Newspapers Online http://library.uncg.edu/news/
         World Tribune.com http://www.worldtribune.com/worldtribune/
         World Newspapers (and magazines) http://www.world-newspapers.com/
         GlobalHealthReporting.org http://www.globalhealthreporting.org/
    International Broadcast News
    Euronews http://www.euronews.net/
    BBC News in 33 Languages http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/languages/
    Bates College: Language Learning and Technology http://abacus.bates.edu/lrc/
    BRS Radio Directory (International) http://www.radio-directory.com/in_list.cfm
    Radio Locator http://www.radio-locator.com/cgi-bin/home

         Spanish http://abacus.bates.edu/lrc/spanish.html
         French http://abacus.bates.edu/lrc/french.html
         German http://abacus.bates.edu/lrc/german.html

    Librarian’s Internet Index –Government
    http://search.lii.org/index.jsp?more=SubTopic3

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Stats:
views:627
posted:4/8/2009
language:English
pages:4