Continuing Education Requirements for Pennsylvania Title Insurance Agents
1. TITLE INSURANCE AGENT CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS: All Title Insurance Agents
must complete 24 hours of continuing education within their 2-year licensing period. There is no pre-licensing
education requirement for Title Insurance Agents.
2. ATTORNEY AGENTS CE CREDIT REQUIREMENTS: Licensed Pennsylvania attorneys who are also
licensed Title Insurance Agents need only three (3) continuing education (CE) credits in a two-year licensing
period, provided their attorney’s CLE requirement is fulfilled. However, the attorney must complete a
continuing education declaration of CE status as a Title Insurance Agent.
3. LICENSE RENEWALS: If you are not compliant with CE requirements on the date your license expires,
you have 60 days to complete the education requirement, submit a renewal form and pay the lapsed license
fee of $165.00. If those items are received by the Department of Insurance within 60 days of the date of
expiration, the license will be reinstated retroactively, with no gap in licensure. However, if those materials are
received by the Department of Insurance more than 60 days after your license has lapsed, your license is
lapsed and you are not allowed to sell, solicit or negotiate insurance. Act 147 imposes criminal and civil
penalties for violation of this law. Persons whose license has been expired for one year or more must reapply
and sit for the licensing examination in order to be re-licensed.
4. EXCESS CREDITS EARNED: Credits earned in excess of the required number (24 for Title Insurance
Agents, 3 for attorney Agents may be carried forward into the next licensing period up to the same amount as
needed in each licensing period. That is, Title Insurance Agents may carry forward a maximum of 24 CE
credits into the next licensing period; attorney-Agents may carry forward a maximum of 3 CE credits into the
next licensing period.
5. MISSING CREDITS: If you believe that your current compliance report is not correct and that there are
missing credits, please call Thomson Prometric 1-866-241-3113. Or you may go onto the State Insurance
Regulations Connection (SIRCON) www.sircon.com and follow the prompts. You will need your social
security number and agent’s license number.
a.) If Thomson Prometric has the correct number of credits listed, but the PA Insurance Department is
missing that information, request Thomson Prometeric to correct this error 1-866-241-3113
b.) If Thomson Prometric is missing any courses that you may have taken through the Pennsylvania Land
Title Institute, call the PLTI office to research your credit status at 1-800-545-PLTI (7584). Please have the
missing course date(s) in question available at the time of your call.
c.) If the missing courses are from a provider other than the PLTI, you must contact that provider to inquire
about the missing credits.
6. NOTICE: If you need both CE and CLE credits, you must turn in both the CE and the CLE form on the day
of the seminar. There will be a late filing fee of $15, over and above the seminar fee, if PLTI receives the
second form after the day of the seminar. This charge will be payable by those who need both CE and CLE
credits and fail to turn in one or the other (not both) of the required forms on the day of the seminar.
If a Title Insurance Agent has more specific questions, please call the Department of Insurance at
717-783-2181 or 717-787-3840 or go to www.ins.state.pa.us and click on Producer Services.