Clerk's Office by pfe15066


									Clerk’s Office

The Clerk, like others officers of Parliament, is appointed by the Standing Rules and Orders
Committee (SROC) in terms of Section 48 of the Constitution of Zimbabwe. The Clerk is the head
of Administration and Accounting Officer of the institution and reports to the Speaker of the
House of Assembly and the President of the Senate. Mr. Austin Zvoma is the current Clerk of
Parliament. The main duties of the Clerk of Parliament are broadly procedural and administrative.

Departments under the Clerk’s Office

The Office of the Clerk of Parliament is headed by the Manager, Mr.Ndamuka Marimo, who acts
as the personal assistant and advisor to the Clerk of Parliament on all matters regarding the
operations of the institution. There are also other departments that report directly to the Clerk on
a daily basis given their strategic functions in the day-to-day operations of Parliament. These are
Public Relations, Internal Audit, Parliamentary Programme Coordination Unit and Security.

Procedural functions of the Clerk

The Clerk is the Chief Advisor to Parliament on procedures of the House of Assembly and the
Senate. He is the Chief Clerk-at-the Table and is responsible for keeping a record of proceedings
and decisions of both Houses in the Journal of Parliament. This requires the Clerk to attend
sittings of both Houses, particularly on important occasions such as the delivery of addresses by
the Head of State. Standing Orders of both the House of Assemblyand Senate vest in the Clerk of
Parliament powers to swear in Members of Parliament (MPs) and to preside over election of the
Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly and the President and Deputy President
of the Senate, after a general election. In performing these duties, the Clerk of Parliament is
assisted by Deputy and Assistant Clerks and other senior officers.The Clerk of Parliament also
provides procedural advice to select committees, portfolio committees and other committees of
Parliament.In terms of Standing Orders, it is the duty of the Clerk to authenticate Bills passed by
Parliament before they are presented to His Excellency, the President for assent. The Clerk of
Parliament is also responsible for the enrolment of Acts in the High Court as provided for in
Section 53 (1) of the Constitution.

Administrative functions of the Clerk

The Clerk of Parliament is the Accounting Officer of the institution as per the provisions of the
Audit and Exchequer Act [Chapter 22:03], and is, therefore, responsible for the management of
all human, material and financial resources of Parliament. In executing these managerial duties,
the Clerk is assisted by Deputy Clerks as well as Principal Directors responsible for Human
Resources and Administration; Finance; External Relations;Information Services and Legal
Counsel.The Clerk is also responsible for formulation, implementation and monitoring of strategic
plans to ensure that theinstitution performs its role and functions effectively. In other words, the
Clerk is responsible for ensuring quality control by constantly reviewing systems and procedures
for the efficient delivery of Parliamentary supportservices.

Tenure of Office
Section 48 (2) of the Constitution provides for the appointment of the Clerk of Parliament and his
tenure of office.

Location of the Clerk’s Office
The Clerk’s Office is located on the first floor, and is accessed through his Secretary’s Office,
Office No. 112. The
office of the Manager-Office of the Clerk of Parliament, who is available to assist MPs and
other stakeholders, is also located on the first floor, Office No. 163.

To top