QUET TIME STARTER BIBLE READING PLAN by xscape

VIEWS: 11 PAGES: 2

									QUIET TIME STARTER/ BIBLE READING PLAN

The purpose behind our 2008 Bible Reading Plan (BRP) is not to just get you into the
Bible but to get the Bible into you! The key to our BRP is repetition, so each week you
will focus on getting a handle on one chapter by reading it every day and using some
simple study techniques. We will work our way through sections of God’s Word that you
will find have clear and direct application to all areas of your life. Each day as you begin,
pray and ask God to help you understand and to act on what you learn.

DAY 1
Read the entire chapter in one reading. Since it will only take 5-7 minutes, you can do
this a couple or more times today.

DAY 2
Repeat reading through the entire chapter like you did on DAY 1.

DAY 3
As you read, underline or highlight key words that stand out as important to you. What
words are repeated? Are there any you don’t understand? If so, look up the meaning in a
dictionary. Does a word or phrase remind you of something you’ve heard before?

DAY 4
Read though the chapter again with your highlighted and underlined words. What are
some key themes or big ideas that you notice? If there something that the writer seems
to be majoring on? Is there a topic that this reading has gotten you to think about?

DAY 5
This is application day. Read the chapter again and look for one thing that God is
showing you in this chapter. Here are some questions to help you find something:

Is there something to be grateful for?
Is there a sin to confess or avoid?
Is there an attitude I need to change or adopt?
Is there an example I should follow?
Is there a new thought about God to guide my prayer?
Is there a promise to claim from God?

DAY 6
Read the chapter and underline a verse or verses that have meant the most to you this
week. Copy them onto a note card and put it in a place where you will see if often –
refrigerator door, computer screen, dashboard, daily planner, bathroom mirror…


People who used the plan the first quarter said:
  - "It helps keep me on track as well as keeping temptation at bay"
  - "I feel more connected God if I get some time in His Word"
  - "It only takes about 10 minutes a day."
Week 1                                   Week 7
  Day 1   Monday, Oct 6      Gen 1         Day 1   Monday, Nov 17      Proverbs 15
  Day 2   Tuesday, Oct 7     Gen 1         Day 2   Tuesday, Nov 18     Proverbs 15
  Day 3   Wednesday, Oct 8   Gen 1         Day 3   Wednesday, Nov 19   Proverbs 15
  Day 4   Thursday, Oct 9    Gen 1         Day 4   Thursday, Nov 20    Proverbs 15
  Day 5   Friday, Oct 10     Gen 1         Day 5   Friday, Nov 21      Proverbs 15
  Day 6   Saturday, Oct 11   Gen 1         Day 6   Saturday, Nov 22    Proverbs 15
  Day 7   Day Off                          Day 7   Day Off

Week 2                                   Week 8
  Day 1   Monday, Oct 13     Gen 2         Day 1   Monday, Nov 24      Proverbs 16
  Day 2   Tuesday, Oct 14    Gen 2         Day 2   Tuesday, Nov 25     Proverbs 16
  Day 3   Wed., Oct 15       Gen 2         Day 3   Wednesday, Nov 26   Proverbs 16
  Day 4   Thursday, Oct 16   Gen 2         Day 4   Thursday, Nov 27    Proverbs 16
  Day 5   Friday, Oct 17     Gen 2         Day 5   Friday, Nov 28      Proverbs 16
  Day 6   Saturday, Oct 18   Gen 2         Day 6   Saturday, Nov 29    Proverbs 16
  Day 7   Day Off                          Day 7   Day Off

Week 3                                   Week 9
  Day 1 Monday, Oct 20       Gen 3         Day 1   Monday, Dec 1       Matt 1
  Day 2 Tuesday, Oct 21      Gen 3         Day 2   Tuesday, Dec 2      Matt 1
  Day 3 Wednesday, Oct 22    Gen 3         Day 3   Wed, Dec 3          Matt 1
  Day 4 Thursday, Oct 23     Gen 3         Day 4   Thursday, Dec 4     Matt 1
  Day 5 Friday, Oct 24       Gen 3         Day 5   Friday, Dec 5       Matt 1
  Day 6 Saturday, Oct 25     Gen 3         Day 6   Saturday, Dec 6     Matt 1
  Day 7 Day Off                            Day 7   Day Off

Week 4                                   Week 10
  Day 1 Monday, Oct 27       Psalm 51      Day 1   Monday, Dec 8       Matt 2
  Day 2 Tuesday, Oct 28      Psalm 51      Day 2   Tuesday, Dec 9      Matt 2
  Day 3 Wednesday, Oct 29    Psalm 51      Day 3   Wed, Dec 10         Matt 2
  Day 4 Thursday, Oct 30     Psalm 51      Day 4   Thursday, Dec 11    Matt 2
  Day 5 Friday, Oct 31       Psalm 51      Day 5   Friday, Dec 12      Matt 2
  Day 6 Saturday, Nov 1      Psalm 51      Day 6   Saturday, Dec 13    Matt 2
  Day 7 Day Off                            Day 7   Day Off

Week 5                                   Week 11
  Day 1   Monday, Nov 3      Psalm 77      Day 1   Monday, Dec 15      Luke 1
  Day 2   Tuesday, Nov 4     Psalm 77      Day 2   Tuesday, Dec 16     Luke 1
  Day 3   Wednesday, Nov 5   Psalm 77      Day 3   Wed, Dec 17         Luke 1
  Day 4   Thursday, Nov 6    Psalm 77      Day 4   Thursday, Dec 18    Luke 1
  Day 5   Friday, Nov 7      Psalm 77      Day 5   Friday, Dec 19      Luke 1
  Day 6   Saturday, Nov 8    Psalm 77      Day 6   Saturday, Dec 20    Luke 1
  Day 7   Day Off                          Day 7   Day Off

Week 6                                   Week 12
  Day 1 Monday, Nov 10       Psalm 139     Day 1   Monday, Dec 22      Luke 2
  Day 2 Tuesday, Nov 11      Psalm 139     Day 2   Tuesday, Dec 23     Luke 2
  Day 3 Wednesday, Nov 12    Psalm 139     Day 3   Wed, Dec 24         Luke 2
  Day 4 Thursday, Nov 13     Psalm 139     Day 4   Thursday,Dec 25     Luke 2
  Day 5 Friday, Nov 14       Psalm 139     Day 5   Friday, Dec 26      Luke 2
  Day 6 Saturday, Nov 15     Psalm 139     Day 6   Saturday, Dec 27    Luke 2
  Day 7 Day Off                            Day 7   Day Off

								
To top