Now entering its 9th year, the Women in Technology

Document Sample
Now entering its 9th year, the Women in Technology Powered By Docstoc
					                                Media RELEASE
                             For immediate release – 11 September 2008.

“Finalist announced for the 11th annual Women in Technology
On 27 September WiT will announce the winners of this years WiT awards. The judging for this year was quite
difficult with a large selection of successful and accomplished women in a diverse range of technology fields.

Nine categories including Optus ICT Outstanding Achievement Awardand, Biotech Outstanding Achievement
Award and the QLD Government Executive Award.

The 2008 WiT Award finalists in nine categories are as follows (in alphabetical order):

Office for Women ICT Career Start Award
Angela Olyslager (Bowen Hills) - Emerson Network Power, Tracy Whitelaw (Pimpama) – MyCyberTwin

New Horizons ICT Professional Award
Jenny Legge (Mt Pleasant) - Jobfit Systems Pty Ltd, Sheree Smallman - Department of Justice and Attorney-
General, Virginia Tobias(Ormiston) - Touchbase

Optus ICT Outstanding Achievement Award
Judi Cook (Aspley) – Productivity Partners, Janine Garrett - Charm Health, Tammy Halter – Absolute Data
Group, Shontelle Lewis (Bundaberg) - Coasting into Robotics Project, Carol Woodhouse (Southport) - IBM

QCTN Biotech Rising Star Award
Jane Fitzpatrick (Eight Mile Plains) - Cleveland Biosensors, Emma McComb (Morningside) - IMBcom, Lavinia
Proctor (Indooroopilly) - Replikun

UQ Biotech Research Award
Jo Bowles - Institute for Molecular Biology, Neena Mitter - Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries,
Tracey Mynott (Stones Corner) - Incitive Limited
Biotech Outstanding Achievement Award
Suzy Baxter (Mt Gravatt East) - PricewaterhouseCoopers, Cherrell Hirst (Fig Tree Pocket) - Queensland
Biocapital Funds, Neena Mitter - Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries, Kathy Nielson (Chapel Hill)
Queensland Biocapital Funds, Maree Smith - TetraQ

Griffith Biotech PhD Career Start
Margaret Gentz - University of Queensland, Caroline Hopkins (St Lucia) - Institute for Molecular Bioscience,
Melinda Kambouris (Norman Park) - University of Queensland

QLD Government Executive Award
Suzy Baxter (Mt Gravatt East) - PricewaterhouseCoopers, Ruth Drinkwater (Toowong) teQstart, Judi Halliday -
UniQuest, Carol Woodhouse (Southport) - IBM

UNISYS ICT Student Award
Jacinta Fitzgerald (Toowong) – UQ Student, Nicola Holmes (New Farm) – UQ Student, Sarah McDowell (Oxley)
UQ Student

The outstanding women who are moving leaps and bounds will be represented and a winner will be chosen on
27 September 2008 which promises to be a stand out event with more applications than ever.

Women in Technology recognise women who are excelling or who have demonstrated leadership in their field
of technology (See WiT's 2007 Award Winners).

Proudly sponsored by

                ########### End ###########
For more information …about WiT, the awards….or to arrange an interview with an outstanding woman in
technology or past winner, please contact.

Alice Orozco    | Operations Manager WiT         |
0430 219 091    |

We’re doing this to…?

       Put a spotlight on the talented women in the industry.
       Recognize the women striving forward with technology to make something better
       Raise awareness of the diversity of Women in IT.
       Promote organizations and companies involved in and supporting WIT, through scholarship
       Encourage young women to pursue a technology career.

The awards history & why we continue to run the program?

There are many people who go unrecognized for their talent and impact on an environment and WiT created
the awards program to recognize these outstanding women.

The programs have been running since 1997 with 3 awards to the current 9 categories this year. The support
from industry leaders such as Unisys and The University of Queensland has also influenced the success and
prestige of the program.

In its lifetime, 72 awards have been made with the winners sharing in over $500,000.

The prizes from each of the categories are designed to build the winners profession through study grants and
professional development services.

Women in Technology History                 

Women In Technology (WiT) is one of Queensland's most respected and active technology industry
Founded in 1997 by Industry entrepreneur Sonja Bernhardt with the support of just 10 women. The association
has now grown our membership to over 600 women and men. Sonja retains the title of WIT Founder and is still
working tirelessly for the cause of women in technology industries. Most recently she has taken on the role of
Chair of AWISE – Australian Women in IT and Science Entity.

In 2002 Women in Information Technology became Women in Technology; recognising the relationship
between IT and emerging fields of science and engineering.

In 2005 WiT launched Women in BioTech and InfoTech, separate chapters to cater to the needs of our growing
membership. This allows the organization to deliver effective programs for women of all career levels whether
they are starting out of looking to develop their executive board level experience.

WiT is an icon in the industry to many women and represents the interests of all women in InfoTech & Biotech