Members of the Council of the American Ornithologists= Union - PDF by gabyion

VIEWS: 109 PAGES: 6

									                        AMERICAN ORNITHOLOGISTS’ UNION
              OFFICERS, COMMITTEES, STAFF & APPOINTMENTS, 2010-2011

Members of the Council of the American Ornithologists’ Union
Officers
John R. Faaborg, President                      faaborgj@missouri.edu
Susan M Haig, President-Elect                   susan_haig@usgs.gov
Sara R. Morris, Secretary                       morriss@canisius.edu
Jim Herkert, Treasurer                          james.herkert@illinois.gov

Elective Councilors

Class of 2011
Mary Bomberger Brown                            mbrown9@unl.edu
Janis L. Dickinson                              jld84@cornell.edu
Rebecca L. Holberton                            rebecca.holberton@maine.edu
Amanda D. Rodewald                              rodewald.1@osu.edu
Bonnie S. Bowen (1 year replacement for Haig)   bsbowen@iastate.edu

Class of 2012
Peter Arcese                                    arcese@interchange.ubc.ca
J. Michael Reed                                 Michael.reed@tufts.edu
Michael S. Webster                              msw244@cornell.edu

Class of 2013
Ronald L. Mumme                                 rmumme@allegheny.edu
Jennifer C. Owen                                owenj@msu.edu
Ernesto Ruelas Inzunza                          ernesto.ruelas@dartmouth.edu
Brett K. Sandercock                             bsanderc@ksu.edu

Past Presidents
Wesley E. Lanyon, 1976-1978                     wlanyon@aol.com
Frances C. James, 1984-1986                     james@bio.fsu.edu
Brina Kessel, 1992-1994                         ffbxk@uaf.edu
Richard C. Banks, 1994-1996                     banksr@si.edu
Frank B. Gill, 1998-2000                        fbgill@earthlink.net
John W. Fitzpatrick, 2000-2002                  jwf7@cornell.edu
Fred Cooke, 2002-2004                           f.cooke1@btopenworld.com
James A. Kushlan, 2004-2006                     jkushlan@earthlink.net
Erica H. Dunn, 2006-2008                        erica.dunn@ec.gc.ca
Edward H. Burtt, Jr., 2008-2010                 ehburtt@owu.edu
                        AMERICAN ORNITHOLOGISTS’ UNION
              OFFICERS, COMMITTEES, STAFF & APPOINTMENTS, 2010-2011

Chairs and Members of Standing and Special Committees

AUDIT
   Chair:        Doug Phillips (2009-2010)                     foggy10@att.net
   Members:      John W. Fitzpatrick (ex officio), Jim Herkert (ex officio), Scott Gillihan (ex officio)

BIRD COLLECTIONS
    Co-Chairs: Kim Bostwick (2009-2010)                 ksb6@cornell.edu
               A. Town Peterson                         town@ku.edu
    Members: John M. Bates, Robb T. Brumfield, Carla Cicero, Meade Krosby (S), B. Patricia
               Escalante-Pliego, Sean M. Williams

BNA LIAISON
    Chair:   Erica H. Dunn (2010-2011)                ericahdunn@gmail.com
    Members: Alan Brush, Michael Gochfeld, David Winkler, Carla Cicero, Alan Poole (ex officio),
             Scott Gillihan (ex officio)

BYLAWS
   Chair:        Scott Lanyon (2009-2010)                      lanyo001@tc.umn.edu
   Members:      Edward H. Burtt, Jr., Daniel A. Cristol, William E. Davis, Jr.

CLASSIFICATION AND NOMENCLATURE - NORTH & MIDDLE AMERICA
   Chair:      R. Terry Chesser (2009-2010)                chessert@si.edu,
   Members: F. Keith Barker; Carla Cicero (co-chair, subspecies); Jon L. Dunn; Andrew W. Kratter;
               Irby J. Lovette; Pamela C. Rasmussen; J. V. Remsen, Jr.; James D. Rising; Douglas F.
               Stotz; Kevin Winker
   Technical Advisors: Normand David, Daniel D. Gibson, Michel Gosselin, Michael A. Patten

CLASSIFICATION AND NOMENCLATURE - SOUTH AMERICA
   Chair:      J. V. Remsen, Jr. (2009-2010)              najames@lsu.edu
   Members: Carlos Daniel Cadena, Alvaro Jaramillo, Manuel A. Nores, José Fernando Pacheco,
               Mark B. Robbins, Thomas S. Schulenberg, , F. Gary Stiles, Douglas F. Stotz, Kevin J.
               Zimmer
   Technical Advisors: José Maria Cardoso da Silva, Gary R. Graves, Steven L. Hilty, Richard O.
               Prum, Robert S. Ridgely, Bret M. Whitney

CONSERVATION
   Chair:   J. Michael Reed (2009-2010)                michael.reed@tufts.edu
   Members: Bob Askins, Steve Beissinger, David E. Blockstein, Gerald Hough, Alicia King, David
            Mehlman, Terrell D. Rich, Mike Scott

DEVELOPMENT
   Chair:   B.A. Schreiber (2009-2010)                  schreibere@aol.com
   Members: Sandy Gaunt, Frank B. Gill, Peter Stettenheim, Jim Herkert (ex officio)
                        AMERICAN ORNITHOLOGISTS’ UNION
              OFFICERS, COMMITTEES, STAFF & APPOINTMENTS, 2010-2011


HISTORICAL RECORDS
    Chair:   Carla Dove
    Members: Richard C. Banks, Fred Lohrer, Judith W. McIntyre

INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS
    Chair:   Thomas W. Sherry (2009-2010)               tsherry@tulane.edu
    Members: D. Brent Burt, Felipe Chavez-Ramirez, Mercedes S. Foster, Susan Haig, Vinodkumar
             Saranathan, Ernesto Ruelas Inzunza, Fred C. Schaffner, George E. Wallace, David W.
             Winkler

INVESTING TRUSTEES
    Chair:      John W. Fitzpatrick (2009-2010)             jwf7@cornell.edu
    Members: Edward E. Crawford, Edwin H. Morgens
    Consultant: Doug Phillips

LOCAL ARRANGEMENTS, 2011
   Chair:   Peter Frederick                              pfred@ufl.edu
   Members: Doug Levey (scientific program), Scott Robinson (scientific program), Andrew Kratter
            (field trips), John Humphrey (food and socials), Mike Avery (food and socials), Eric
            Tillman (greening the meeting), Katie Sieving (lodging and arrangements), Mike
            Moulton (lodging and arrangements), Peter Frederick (fund raising)

LOCAL ARRANGEMENTS, 2012 (NAOC)
   Chair:  Kathy Martin                                     kmartin@interchange.ubc.ca

MEETINGS
   Chair:        Susan M. Haig                                susan_haig@usgs.gov
   Members:      Melanie Colon (Student Affairs Committee rep), Peter Frederick (2011 meeting), Scott
                 Gillihan (ex officio), Barb Kus (2010 meeting), Peter E. Lowther (ex officio), Kathy
                 Martin (2012 meeting)

MEMBERSHIP
   Chair:   Jackie Augustine                            jnooker@live.com
   Members: Ian J. Ausprey, Tara J. Conkling, Alan H. Krakauer, Chris L. Merkord, Ellen I. Paul

MEMORIALS
   Chair:        Alan H. Brush                               brushes2@juno.com
   Members:      Walter E. Bock, William E. Davis, Jr., Jerome A. Jackson, Alan Poole, Francois
                 Vuilleumier

NOMINATION OF OFFICERS AND ELECTIVE COUNCILORS
   Chair:   Susan M. Haig                              susan_haig@usgs.gov
   Members: Bonnie S. Bowen, Robert C. Fleischer, Geoffrey E. Hill, Bridget J. Stutchbury, Scott
            Gillihan (ex officio).

NOMINATION OF HONORARY FELLOWS
   Chair:   Walter J. Bock                          wb4@columbia.edu
   Members: Dominique G. Homberger, Ross Lein, François Vuilleumier, John C. Wingfield
                        AMERICAN ORNITHOLOGISTS’ UNION
              OFFICERS, COMMITTEES, STAFF & APPOINTMENTS, 2010-2011


NOMINATION OF FELLOWS AND ELECTIVE MEMBERS
   Chair:   A. Town Peterson                              town@ku.edu
   Members: Adolfo G. Navarro S., Carla Cicero, Christina Miyaki, Dale Clayton, Gary Stiles, Bette
            Loiselle, Scott Lanyon, Scott Gillihan (ex officio).

PUBLICATIONS
   Chair:   Rebecca Holberton                          rebecca.holberton@maine.edu
   Members: Gary R.Graves, Helen F. James, Peter E. Lowther, Kevin Winker, Bethany L.
            Woodworth, Rebecca Heiss (S), Jason Luscier (S), James Rivers (S). Ex officio: Scott
            Gillihan, Kim Smith, Spencer Sealy, Alan Poole, John Faaborg

PUBLIC RESPONSIBILITY
   Chair:   Joel L. Cracraft                          jcl@amnh.org
   Members: David Blockstein, Mercedes Foster, Betty-Ann Schreiber, Kim Smith, Kimberly S.
            Bostwick

RESEARCH AWARDS
   Chair:   Reed Bowman                               rbowman@archbold-station.org
   Members: Raoul Boughton, Charles R. Brown, Brian D. Peer, Stephen G. Pruett-Jones, Scott K.
            Robinson, Beth Slikas, Charles F. Thompson, Gary A. Voelker, Linda Whittingham,
            Scott Gillihan (ex officio).

SCIENTIFIC AWARDS
    Chair:   Lynn B. Martin                           lmartin@cas.usf.edu
    Members: Dee Boersma, Mike Scott, Karen L. Wiebe, Scott Gillihan (ex officio).

SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM 2009
    Co-Chair: John Rotenberry                            john.rotenberry@ucr.edu
    Members: Kris Preston, Amber Oneal, Bill Kristan, Cindy Shannon

SPECIAL AFFAIRS (AOU HISTORY)
    Chair:   William E. Davis, Jr. (2009-2010)          wedavis@bu.edu
    Members: Walter J. Bock, C. Stuart Houston, Jerome A. Jackson, David W. Johnston, George E.
             Watson

SPECIAL AFFAIRS (MEMBERSHIP TASK FORCE)
    Chair:   Jen Owen                                    owenj@msu.edu
    Members: Mary Garvin, Ellen Ketterson, John Fitzpatrick, Kim Sullivan, John Kricher, Beth
             Schultz, Kristina Paxton, Melissah Rowe, and Ellen Paul

STUDENT AFFAIRS
   Chair:   Melissa Blundell (2009-2010)             mablundell@gmail.com
   Members: Lynnette Dornak, Stephanie Wright, Wendy Lenhart, Christopher L. Merkord (web
            editor).
                        AMERICAN ORNITHOLOGISTS’ UNION
              OFFICERS, COMMITTEES, STAFF & APPOINTMENTS, 2010-2011

STUDENT AWARDS (MEETING TRAVEL AND PRESENTATION)
   Chair:   Rebecca T. Kimball                       rkimball@ufl.edu
   Members: Daniel R. Ardia, Studds Colin, Ron Mumme, Chris Witt, Diane L. Neudorf, Dan Kim,
            Kerri Vierling, Troy Murphy, Kim Snipes

STUDENT AWARDS (MEMBERSHIP)
   Chair:  Daniel J. Mennill                                dmennill@gmail.com

WEB
   Chair:        Vinodkumar Saranathan (confirmed)                vinodkumar.saranathan@yale.edu
   Members:      Bob Curry, Jay Packer, Christopher Merkord (Web Editor, ex officio), Sara R. Morris
                 (Secretary, ex officio), Scott Gillihan (ex officio),



Other Appointments and Positions

ASSISTANT TO THE SECRETARY
    Andy Jones (Recording Secretary)                        ajones@cmnh.org

AOU WEB EDITOR
   Christopher L. Merkord                                   CLMerkord@mizzou.edu

EDITOR OF THE AUK:
Michael Murphy (editor-elect)                             murphym@pdx.edu
    NOTE: This address should be used for AOU / Council business; messages regarding manuscripts
    or Auk editorial matters should be sent to:           auk_editor@umanitoba.ca



EDITOR OF THE ORNITHOLOGICAL MONOGRAPHS
Michael Morrison                                            mlmorrison@ag.tamu.edu

ORNITHOLOGICAL WORLDWIDE LITERATURE (OWL)
   Project Manager - vacant
   Jay M. Sheppard, Managing Editor       jmsheppar@aol.com

REPRESENTATIVE TO THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR ZOOLOGICAL NOMENCLATURE
    Richard C. Banks                        banksr@si.edu

REPRESENTATIVES TO THE AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES
    Joel Cracraft                           jlc@amnh.org
                         AMERICAN ORNITHOLOGISTS’ UNION
               OFFICERS, COMMITTEES, STAFF & APPOINTMENTS, 2010-2011

REPRESENTATIVE TO BIOONE
    Scott Gillihan                                               ExecutiveOfficer@aou.org

REPRESENTATIVES TO THE BIRD CONSERVATION ALLIANCE
    David E. Blockstein                    oc@ncseonline.org
    J. Michael Reed                        michael.reed@tufts.edu

REPRESENTATIVE TO THE NATURAL SCIENCE COLLECTIONS ALLIANCE
    Kimberly S. Bostwick                   ksb6@cornell.edu

REPRESENTATIVE TO THE BIOLOGICAL COLLECTIONS RESEARCH COORDINATION
NETWORK
    Kevin Winker                           ffksw@uaf.edu

REPRESENTATIVES TO THE NORTH AMERICAN BANDING COUNCIL
    Elizabeth A. Schreiber                 SchreiberE@aol.com
    Alternate: Trina Fitzgerald            trina.fitzgerald@acadiau.ca

REPRESENTATIVES TO THE ORNITHOLOGICAL COUNCIL
    David E. Blockstein                    oc@ncseonline.org
    Christopher Farmer                     farmer@hawkmtn.org

REPRESENTATIVES TO THE OSNA BOARD OF DIRECTORS
    Jim Herkert, AOU Treasurer (ex officio)            jherkert@tnc.org
    Scott Gillihan, AOU Executive Officer (ex officio) executiveofficer@aou.org


Staff of The American Ornithologists' Union

AOU EXECUTIVE OFFICER
   Scott Gillihan                                                executiveofficer@aou.org

PUBLICATIONS MANAGING EDITOR & REVIEW EDITOR, The Auk
   Mark Penrose                            managingeditor@aou.org

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, ORNITHOLOGICAL SOCIETIES OF NORTH AMERICA*
   Helen Schneider Lemay                    business@osnabirds.org

OSNA NEWSLETTER EDITOR*
   Cheryl L. Trine                                               ctrine@andrews.edu

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, ORNITHOLOGICAL COUNCIL*
   Ellen I. Paul                            ellen.paul@verizon.net


*Staff affiliated with, but not reporting to, the AOU Business Office, by virtue of partnerships.

								
To top