A Qualifications Framework by keara


									             Trainers’ Network – National Conference

Higher Education and Training
       Awards Council
Higher Education and Training
Awards Council

The Higher Education and Training Awards Council
was established on 11 June 2001, under the Qualifications
(Education and Training) Act 1999.

The Council is the national qualifications awarding
body for higher education and training outside the
university sector in Ireland, other than the Dublin
Institute of Technology.
Council Awards             - Existing

•   Doctor of Philosophy
•   Master Degree
•   Graduate Diploma
•   Bachelor Degree
•   Diploma for Art and Design Teachers
•   National Diploma
•   National Certificate
•   One - Year Certificate
 National Framework of Qualifications
        Initial Major Award-Types

Level    Award-Type
 10      Doctoral Degree
 9       Masters Degree & Postgraduate Diploma
 8       Honours Bachelor Degree & Higher Diploma
 7       Ordinary Bachelor Degree
 6       Advanced Certificate & Higher Certificate
 5       Level 5 Certificate
4/5      Leaving Certificate
 4       Level 4 Certificate
 3       Level 3 Certificate & Junior Certificate
 2       Level 2 Certificate
  1      Level 1 Certificate
         HETAC ’s main functions include:
•   Make and recognise awards
•   Setting standards for higher education and training awards.
•   Validation of higher education and training programmes.
•   Monitoring and evaluation of institutional quality assurance
•   Delegation of awarding powers to recognised institutions.
•   Ensuring that student assessment procedures are fair and
•   Ensuring that providers implement policies and processes for
    access, transfer and progression.
•   Ensuring that arrangements are in place in commercial education
    and training institutions to protect learners where programmes
    validated by HETAC cease to be provided.
Schedule for Policy Development/ Implementation

•Awards policy

•Determination of Standards

• Fair and consistent assessment

•Validation (Taught and Research)

•Quality Assurance
    Quality Assurance – Scope

The scope of quality assurance covers a number of dimensions:

•    International
•    National
•     Institutional/Provider
    Quality Assurance – National/International

•    Bologna Process

•    Qualifications(Education and Training )Act 1999
        Quality Assurance –International Dimension

Bologna Process – 1999 Declaration of the European Ministers of Education

•   Creation of a European HE area by 2010

•   Easily readable and comparable degrees; Diploma

•   System of two main cycles

•   Promotion of mobility

•   Co-operation in quality assurance
Quality Assurance – National Dimension

Qualifications (Education &Training )ACT 1999.

‘ a provider of a programme of education and
training, whose programme has been validated by
the Council….shall establish procedures for
quality assurance …..and agree those procedures
with the Council’

‘the Council shall…review the effectiveness of the
    Quality Assurance – National Dimension

•    Purpose of further improving and maintaining
     the quality of education and training
•    Operated by the provider
•    Must be agreed with HETAC
•    Includes evaluation by learners
•    Includes evaluation of services
Quality Assurance – National Dimension

Qualifications (Education &Training )ACT 1999.

•NQAI establishes procedures for the conduct of
 HETAC functions and reviews those procedures
 from time to time.
          Quality Assurance –Provider Dimension

Council’ current providers:
• Recognised institutions
   – with delegated authority
   – without delegated authority

• Other providers
  – national institutions
  – other colleges and institutions
        Quality Assurance –Provider Dimension

• Recognised institutions (13)
  Institutes of Technology

• Other providers(25)
  Institute of Public Administration, Garda and Military
  Colleges, American College, IMI, Griffith and
  Portobello Colleges, HSI, Milltown Institute of
  Theology and Philosophy
           Quality Assurance –Provider Dimension

QA agreement process:

• Providers prepare submissions against the Council’s
  Guidelines and Criteria for QA

• Submissions are evaluated by an independent expert
  panel which recommends agreement if appropriate

• Council formally agrees the procedures

• Council reviews of the effectiveness of procedures
         Quality Assurance – Provider Dimension

Provider requirements:
•   Quality Policy/Manual

•   QA system should:
        _ clear indication of QA management system
        – reflects the provider’s mission
        – relate to all relevant asppects of providers
        – provide for adequate resources
        – involve evaluation of effectiveness
       Quality Assurance – Provider Dimension

Essential QA procedures required:
•   Design, approval and review of programmes
•   Access, transfer and progression
•   Fair and consistent assessment
•   On-going monitoring
•   Evaluation at regular intervals
•   Selection, appointment, appraisal, development of staff
•   Evaluation of premises and facilities
•   Evaluation of effectiveness of QA procedures
      Quality Assurance – Summary

HETAC Quality assurance policy reflects:

   International commitments and developments in
   higher educaton & training.

   National statutory obligations.

   Provider focus which balances best practice,
   flexibilty, repsonsibility and accountability.

To top