Docstoc

Connecticut Minimum Wage Law

Document Sample
Connecticut Minimum Wage Law Powered By Docstoc
					Connecticut has one of the highest minimum wage rates in the country.

According to the United States Department of Labor, Connecticut has a minimum
wage rate that exceeds the federal minimum wage. Connecticut pays $1 per hour
higher than the federal standard. If the federal rate equals or exceeds the state's rate,
Connecticut will automatically raise the minimum wage to ½ of 1 percent of the Fair
Labor Standards Act rate.

       Standard Minimum Wage
   1. The minimum wage in Connecticut is $8.25 per hour, as of January 1, 2010.
      This represents a $0.25 per hour increase over the previous year.

       Wait Staff
   2. Wait staff receive a minimum wage of $5.69 per hour as of January 1, 2010.

       Bartenders
   3. Bartenders receive a minimum wage of $7.34 per hour.

       Minors
   4. Minors who work in government or agriculture make 85% of the minimum
      wage. In any other industry, a minor makes 85% of the minimum wage for the
      first 200 hours of work.

       Overtime
   5. The standard workweek is 40 hours. After 40 hours in a week, the employer
      must pay one and one-half times the hourly wage.

				
DOCUMENT INFO