EXCEL - Livermore Heritage Guild by wanghonghx

VIEWS: 603 PAGES: 64

									                      LIVERMORE HERITAGE GUILD PHOTOGRAPH INDEX
FILE NAME     COLLECTION      TITLE                                              DESCRIPTION                                         DATE
lhg0001.tif   Aerial Photos   Looking West, down 2nd street, with Livermore  Aerial Photograph of Livermore, about 1960 or           1961
                              Ave at bottom. Lists 1950s, but flagpole is at 1961, looking west. The flagpole is at its
                                                                             current location (moved 3/31/1959).
                              current location, so must be 1959 or later. Holy
                              Cross does not appear to be there (built in    The intersection of First and Livermore Ave. is
                              1962).                                         very clearly seen at the bottom of the photo a
                                                                             little right of center.
                                                                             L Street
lhg0002.tif   Aerial Photos   Looking West, with East Ave. going from bottom Aerial Photograph of Livermore in about 1963,           1963
                              to center. Hillcrest goes left to right near   looking west. East Ave runs from the bottom
                              bottom. Memorial Cemetary with circle is       to the center of the photo. Hillcrest runs east
                              promanent. Track behind East Ave school is no to west about 1/4 of the way from the bottom.
                              longer there. Holy Cross is present.           East Ave. Middle School can be seen with the
                                                                             track oval behind it. The
lhg0003.tif   Aerial Photos   #12 is same picture, but better.               Aerial view of Livermore about 1930-32.. The            1931
                                                                             flagpole is at its original location. Near the
                                                                             bottom middle, Stanley and Holmes curve into
                                                                             First Street. College Ave. is on the right. East
                                                                             Ave is at the top center. The Winegar place is
                                                                             near the bottom r
lhg0004.tif   Aerial Photos   Junction Ave. School.                          Junction Ave. School, Livermore, California in          1975
                                                                             the late 1970s or later, looking north.. Junction
                                                                             Ave. angles from the left towards the bottom,
                                                                             crossing the railroad tracks, and ending at Old
                                                                             1st Street. There are two sets of railroad
                                                                             tracks, with the uppe
lhg0005.tif   Aerial Photos   Veterans Hospital from air, close up, 1955-60  Veterans Hospital from air, close about 1970,           1970
                                                                             looking East South East.
lhg0006.tif   Aerial Photos   Veterans Hospital from further back. "Probably Veterans Hospital from further back in the              1962
                              early 50s"                                     early 1960s, looking South east. Arroyo Road
                                                                             runs across from the left, then curves back to
                                                                             the upper left. The Cresta Blanca Facility is
                                                                             across Arroyo Road near the left. The Arroyo
                                                                             Road TB Sanitarium buildin
lhg0007.tif   Aerial Photos   1928 downtown. Sliver of First Street. South   Taken from the air, looking South-East                  1928
                              Downtown., looking SE                          Livermore downtown, looking South East,
                                                                             1928. A Small slice of First Street can be
                                                                             seen in the lower left corner.
                                                                             East Ave. goes straight up at the top, near the
                                                                             left side.
                                                                             L street runs right through the middle fro
lhg0008.tif   Aerial Photos   Lab and Sandia                                 Livermore, California looking South West in             1963
                                                                             1963. Lawrence Livermore Lab is on the left,
                                                                             Sandia National Lab is on the right. The 4th
                                                                             side has not yet been added to the Sandia
                                                                             Engineering building. The intersection near
                                                                             the lower right is Vasco Rd. and E

lhg0009.tif   Aerial Photos   Looking SW, Portola Ave near bottom. Enos          Aerial Photo of Livermore, California in about      1960
                              Way curves off Portola, and onto Junction.         1960, looking SW. Portola Ave is at the
                              Junction Ave. School near the center.              bottom. Enos Way curves off Portola, and
                                                                                 onto Junction Ave., which runs left to right just
                                                                                 below the middle of the photo. Junction Ave.
                                                                                 School is the group of building

lhg0010.tif   Aerial Photos   Airport from the air. Only 1 building.             Livermore Airport, looking west, between            1968
                                                                                 about 1966 and 1969. The terminal building,
                                                                                 not present in this photo, was built in 1969. It
                                                                                 is located west of the hanger that is shown,
                                                                                 north of where most of the planes are sitting.
                                                                                 The runway has since been e
lhg0011.tif   Aerial Photos   Poster of Livermore, drawn. 1889                Poster of Livermore from January 1889                1889
                                                                              Livermore Valley, California
                                                                              In January 1889, Looking Southwest (the
                                                                              drawing actually states "Southeast")
                                                                              Published by William Pitt Bartlett, who owned
                                                                              the Livermore Herald at the time.
                                                                              Areas and buildings are numbere
lhg0012.tif   Aerial Photos   Looking SW. Flag pole at original location.     Aerial view of Livermore about 1930-32.. The         1931
                              "Copy of photo in Livermore Fire Dept".         flagpole is at its original location. Near the
                                                                              bottom middle, Stanley and Holmes curve into
                                                                              First Street. College Ave. is on the right. East
                                                                              Ave is at the top center.
                                                                              On the far left, about a third of the w
lhg0013.tif   Aerial Photos   Looking NNE. Oversize. Holy Cross not           Aerial photo of Livermore, about 1955, looking       1955
                              present. WP depot is there. Brickyard is there) almost straight north (slightly east)
                              Sanitarium appears to be there (Cedar Grove     The brickyard is still present, which was used
                              property)                                       until 1949, but remained for a while. Aaron
                                                                              and Marguerite Streets (lower left west of
                                                                              Holmes, north of the Arroyo Mocho).

lhg0014.tif   Aerial Photos   Looking West. Oversize. Junction Ave school      Aerial view of Livermore, looking west, about       1976
                              in center. First St. is "Old First".             1976. Junction Ave. School is in the center.
                                                                               First Street (prior to being moved) comes in
                                                                               from the right center going toward the upper
                                                                               left. The railroad tracks dominate this picture.
                                                                               It is likely that this p

lhg0015.tif   Cresta Blanca   Pressing Grapes and pumping juice into tanks.    Pressing grapes and pumping juice into tanks        1911
                                                                               at Cresta Blanca Winery, Livermore,
                                                                               California in 1911. Same image as #85,
                                                                               scanned from a different print
lhg0016.tif   Cresta Blanca   Washing Fiasco-type bottles at Cresta Blanca     Washing Fiasco-type bottles at Cresta Blanca        1911
                              Winery                                           Winery, Livermore, California in 1911

lhg0017.tif   Cresta Blanca   Sorting and Pressing Grapes in 1911              Sorting and Pressing Grapes at Cresta Blanca        1911
                                                                               Winery, Livermore, California in 1911

lhg0018.tif   Cresta Blanca   Man securing barrel.                             Securing a barrel at Cresta Blanca Winery in        1948
                                                                               the late 1940s or early 50s.
                                                                               The barrel being secured has a carving on the
                                                                               front. Above his left elbow it reads "Cresta
                                                                               Blanca 1882".
                                                                               When Wente took over the Cresta Blanca
                                                                               facility, most of the wine barrels h
lhg0019.tif   Cresta Blanca   Cresta Blanca from hill. Old faded photo. See    Cresta Blanca, taken from the hillside south of     1895
                              #22                                              the winery around 1896. The picture is
                                                                               looking south, down Arroyo Road. On the
                                                                               right, beyond the house is the site of the future
                                                                               Arroyo Sanatarium. The gap in the hill on the
                                                                               right is now the location of
lhg0020.tif   Cresta Blanca   Cresta Blanca hill                               Cresta Blanca hill, inspiring the name of the       1897
                                                                               Winery. Taken from the Arroyo del Valle
                                                                               creek bed in 1897. Livermore, California,
                                                                               1897. The winery if behind the trees on the
                                                                               right.
lhg0021.tif   Cresta Blanca   Loading Grapes. 1911                             Loading Grapes onto a conveyer to be taken          1911
                                                                               to the presses. Marked as "Cresta Blanca
                                                                               Winery in 1911" but this may not be correct.

lhg0022.tif   Cresta Blanca   Cresta Blanca from a hill. From a card. Same as Cresta Blanca, taken from the hillside south of      1896
                              19                                              the winery around 1896. This picture is from
                                                                              the Herald Midwinter Edition, 1896. The
                                                                              picture is looking south, down Arroyo Road.
                                                                              On the right, beyond the house is the site of
                                                                              the future Arroyo Sanitarium.

lhg0023.tif   Cresta Blanca   Cresta Blanca Parade Float                       Cresta Blanca Parade float for the Rodeo            1947
                                                                               Parade. Probably about 1946-48.
lhg0024.tif   Cresta Blanca          Cresta Blanca Bottling. At center, Wrapping        Cresta Blanca Bottling. At center, Wrapping       1911
                                     bottles, at left: bins of aging wine.              bottles, at left: bins of aging wine. Cresta
                                                                                        Blanca Winery, Livermore, California, 1911

lhg0025.tif   Cresta Blanca          Loading the press, circa 1900                      Loading the press, 1911. Cresta Blanca            1911
                                                                                        Winery, Livermore, California.
lhg0026.tif   Cresta Blanca          Tunnels at Cresta Blanca. "Wine tunnels dug        The wine tunnels dug into the hillside at         1911
                                     into hillside winery premisis. Left: Clarence      Cresta Blanca in 1911. Left: Clarence
                                     Wetmore, Right: Frank Minoggio (Identified by      Wetmore, Right: Frank Minoggio
                                     Ernest Wente, July 1974.
lhg0027.tif   Cresta Blanca          Pumping wine from one cask to another in 1911 Pumping wine from one cask to another.                 1911
                                                                                    Cresta Blanca Winery, Livermore, California.
                                                                                    1911
lhg0028.tif   Livermore Businesses   American Bank Post Card.                       American Bank in the Masonic Building,                1932
                                                                                    corner of First St. and Livermore Ave.
                                                                                    Livermore, California
lhg0029.tif   Livermore Businesses   Well Digging. Fred Brinzell's Rig. March 69 on Fred Brenzel's Rig, drilling a well. Probably         1900
                                     photo which wouild be the date of this copy    about 1900.

lhg0030.tif   Livermore Businesses   HJ Rees business "Photo by Jack Santos,           HJ Rees' Sporting Goods in 1935. Located in        1935
                                     Livermore"                                        the building directly to the east of the Bank of
                                                                                       Italy building (The Independent Newspaper).
                                                                                       Livermore Cyclery is now in that location, as
                                                                                       well as the building to the right. This building
                                                                                       is the only portion o
lhg0031.tif   Livermore Businesses   Sunset Telephone Office. Between 1st & 2nd on Sunset Telephone Office. Between 1st & 2nd             1896
                                     South Livermore Ave. From Midwinter Herald, on South Livermore Ave., Livermore,
                                     1896, Bancroft Library, UCB                       California. From Midwinter Herald, 1896
lhg0032.tif   Livermore Businesses   Arrow Bakery Interior, 1913. Joe Caratti at right Arrow Bakery Interior, 1913. Joe Caratti at        1913
                                                                                       right, John Caratti to the left of the right
                                                                                       counter at the back.
                                                                                       Located in the building which still exists at
                                                                                       2136 1st St., that was the original library in
                                                                                       Livermore, built in 1878.
                                                                                       Sign at left: "Fresh Milk
lhg0033.tif   Livermore Businesses   Joe Duarte at the Hub. Scanned the foam           Joe Duarte at the Hub, located at the NW           1930
                                     backed picture                                    corner of First St. and Livermore Ave., where
                                                                                       the fountain is now. Probably about 1930.
                                                                                       Glass cases contain mostly cigars.
                                                                                       "San Felice - America's Finest 5 cent Cigar"
                                                                                       "Red Dot", "Cremo"


lhg0034.tif   Livermore Businesses   Bank of Livermore                                  McLeod Building flooded, 1906-07. L-R             1906
                                                                                        standing 1. ? 2. Fred Mathison, cashier. 3.
                                                                                        Fred Lassen, 4. Dr Savage Sr.
lhg0035.tif   Livermore Businesses   McLeod Building, 1st & Livermore. "Now City        McLeod Building flooded, 1906-07. L-R             1906
                                     Hall Site" (note: Bank of Italy at this site)      standing 1. ? 2. Fred Mathison, cashier. 3.
                                                                                        Fred Lassen, 4. Dr Savage Sr. In carriage is
                                                                                        Mrs Del Savage (front), her daughter May, &
                                                                                        Del Savage's Grandchildren. Photo 248 is the
                                                                                        same image, scanned from a less cro

lhg0036.tif   Livermore Businesses   Diamond Flour Mill on first St, opposite fire      Diamond Flour Mill on the north side of East      1936
                                     house. HP Hansen on Platform. "See Herald          First St, opposite Independence Hall (First &
                                     11/27/36 (11/23??/36)                              McLeod). HP Hansen on Platform. November
                                                                                        1936. This mill was erected in 1884, after the
                                                                                        Stevens mill burned.
                                                                                        Sign reads:
                                                                                        "Tip Top Flour, Bran, Middlings, Rolled Ba
lhg0037.tif   Livermore Businesses   Inside Grain Mill                                  Inside a Grain Mill. Probably the Diamond         1920
                                                                                        Flour Mill
lhg0038.tif   Livermore Businesses   Murray Butcher Shop George Collier & Dan           Murray Butcher Shop George Collier & Dan          1920
                                     Marray, Butchers. Circa 1885-1930                  Marray, Butchers. Circa 1885-1930.
                                                                                        Livermore, California.
lhg0039.tif   Livermore Businesses    Theo Gorner Store. Dry Goods & Furniture.          Theo Gorner Store. Dry Goods & Furniture.
                                      Mrs. Dora Meyers & Mrs ???. Store was located      Store was located on North side of 1st St.
                                      on North side of (first) between J & K sts. (Odd   between J & K Streets, in the IOOF building.
                                      Fellows Building).                                 There is still a plaque in the sidewalk at the
                                                                                         entrance of the IOOF building for this store.
                                                                                         Baby carriages are on the left

lhg0040.tif   Livermore Businesses    Livermore French Steam Laundry                  Livermore French Steam Laundry owned by
                                                                                      Frank Begbedier. Located on the south side
                                                                                      of 2nd St, east of J, beside the McVicar
                                                                                      building (which can be seen on the right edge
                                                                                      of the picture). Both buildings burned down
                                                                                      August 24, 1919.
lhg0041.tif   Livermore Businesses    Livermore Creamery C 1900. No West cornder Livermore Creamery c. 1900. North West                     1900
                                      of 6th & Maple. Left center: Fred Young, ?      corner of 6th & Maple. Left: Fred Young,
                                      ,Archie Young founder & owners at time of       younger brother of Archie - assumed
                                      photo. The boiler from this creamery is curated ownership in about 1912. Center ?? Right:
                                      at the highway garage.                          Archie Young - founder & owner at the time of
                                                                                      the photo
lhg0042.tif   Livermore Businesses    Livermore Barrel Factory (Canton Barrel         Livermore Barrel Factory (Canton Barrel               1939
                                      Factory), present site of Livermore Bowl (now   Factory), in the building of the former Pioneer
                                      Granada Bowl). 1939-1940. Ernest Cigliuti 2nd Winery. On the north side of Railroad Ave
                                      from right.                                     between N and O, where the Bank of America
                                                                                      is now, 1939-1940. Ernest Cigliuti 2nd from
                                                                                      right.
                                                                                      Sign at far right: "Office of
lhg0043.tif   First Street Flagpole   Horse Show on Lizzie St. Mill Square, 1908.     Horse Show on Lizzie St (Livermore Ave).              1908
                                      Page 25 upper                                   Looking East to Flagpole and the Livermore
                                                                                      Hotel. The flagpole is at its original location,
                                                                                      slightly to the north of the current location,
                                                                                      with First Street taking a hard jog at Livermore
                                                                                      Ave. Livermore, Calif
lhg0044.tif   First Street Flagpole   Flagpole dedication, Admission Day 1905,        Flagpole dedication, September 9, 1905. The           1905
                                      Looking East                                    Livermore Hotel is behind. This picture was
                                                                                      most likely taken from a building on the south
                                                                                      side of 1st St, near J St. St. Michael's (which
                                                                                      burned Aug 4, 1916) can be seen just to the
                                                                                      left of the Livermore Hot
lhg0045.tif   First Street Flagpole   Flagpole dedication, Admission Day 1905,        Livermore Flagpole Dedication, September 9,           1905
                                      Looking East                                    1905. Looking north east. Livermore Hotel in
                                                                                      the background. This photo was probably
                                                                                      taken shortly after #44, after the flag was
                                                                                      raised.
lhg0046.tif   First Street Flagpole   1st St. Flagpole (flag going up?)               Livermore Flagpole Dedication, September 9,           1905
                                                                                      1905. Looking south. Probably taken from the
                                                                                      McLeod building, from a window on the 2nd
                                                                                      floor (the boards at the bottom being the
                                                                                      overhang). The building to the left of flagpole
                                                                                      is Mary Sarah Anthony's hardware s

lhg0047.tif   First Street Flagpole   Flagpole dedication, Sep 9, 1905                   Livermore Flagpole Dedication, September 9,        1905
                                                                                         1905. Looking east. Livermore Hotel in the
                                                                                         background. This photo was most likely taken
                                                                                         just after #44 and just before #45.

lhg0048.tif   First Street Flagpole   Flag pole looking W. 1910?                         The start of the 1911 motorcycle race.             1911
                                                                                         Looking west from around the Livermoer
                                                                                         Hotel. #232 is the same image, scanned from
                                                                                         a different copy of the print.
lhg0049.tif   First Street Flagpole   Horse Show on Lizzie St. Mill Square, 1908.        Horse Show on Lizzie St (Livermore Ave).           1908
                                      Page 25 upper                                      Looking East to Flagpole and the Livermore
                                                                                         Hotel. The flagpole is at its original location,
                                                                                         slightly to the north of the current location,
                                                                                         with First Street taking a hard jog at Livermore
                                                                                         Ave. Livermore, Calif
lhg0050.tif   First Street Flagpole   Flagpole dedication, Sept 9, 1905                  See #46                                            1905
lhg0051.tif   First Street Flagpole   Flag Half Mast following assasanation of           Flag Half Mast following assassination of          1963
                                      President Kennedy 11/ /63                          President Kennedy November, 1963.
                                                                                         Livermore California The flagpole is at its
                                                                                         current location.
lhg0052.tif   First Street Flagpole   Flagpole 1911. Political rally? Organization?    Looking south east across 1st St, onto              1911
                                      RC Sweet pointed out. Picture from Charles       Livermore Ave, with the flagpole on the left.
                                      Sweet. Event is possibly by some organization    The event is believed to be a Portuguese Holy
                                      that they belonged to.                           Ghost festival in May 1911. A crown is being
                                                                                       put on the person in white at the center of the
                                                                                       stage..
                                                                                       The Ryan Brothers Li
lhg0053.tif   First Street Flagpole   Flag being put up, looking west. "Getting a good Flag being put up, looking west. Officer Bruce      1973
                                      Grip" written on photo. Bruce Jensen pointed     Jensen on the right. Mid 70's. Livermore,
                                      out. Mid 70's (the Hub came down ~74 or 75)      California

lhg0054.tif   First Street Flagpole   Flag Pole dedication. Flag going up              See #46                                             1905
lhg0055.tif   First Street Flagpole   Flag Pole                                        Flagpole dedication, September 9, 1905. The         1905
                                                                                       Livermore Hotel is behind. This picture was
                                                                                       most likely taken from a building on the south
                                                                                       side of 1st St, near J St. St. Michael's (which
                                                                                       burned Aug 4, 1916) can be seen just to the
                                                                                       left of the Livermore Hot
lhg0056.tif   First Street Flagpole   Flag Pole, Barber shop                           Flag Pole, Livermore, CA. Livermore Hotel           1920
                                                                                       Building is in the background. The wooden
                                                                                       canopy was removed in about 1916. About
                                                                                       1920. This photo is from a print that is a
                                                                                       cropped version of #207.
lhg0057.tif   First Street Flagpole   Flag Pole about 1910, looking west               Looking west, from slightly south of the            1910
                                                                                       Livermore Hotel at around 1910. This gives
                                                                                       an indication of where the original location
                                                                                       was. It is currently about 15 or 20 feet to the
                                                                                       left. The building behind the flag pole is The
                                                                                       Hub, where the fountain is c
lhg0058.tif   First Street Flagpole   Fountain being cleaned, looking south            Fountain being cleaned, looking south
lhg0059.tif   First Street #2         Fisrt St. Looking East 12/26/52. Pioneer Society First Street looking East taken from between
                                      of CA                                            M and L. At the very end of the street, just to
                                                                                       the left is the Livermore Hotel, with the
                                                                                       flagpole just to its right (these are hard to see
                                                                                       on this sized picture). On the far right is the
                                                                                       corner of the Valley H

lhg0060.tif   First Street #2         Cars on First St.                                 1940s Rodeo Parade on First Street looking
                                                                                        east. Two story building near the center is the
                                                                                        Yin Yin now. "J. C. Penney" on the far right
                                                                                        building. Mally's is just to the right of the
                                                                                        closets telephone pole.
lhg0061.tif   First Street #2         Installing Sewer pipe. Looking East Between       Installing Sewer pipe around 1909. Looking         1909
                                      1905 and 1909 (no Masonic bldg)                   East. The IOOF building is near the left. The
                                                                                        old library building is at the far left with the
                                                                                        pitched roof. The Livermore Hotel is at the
                                                                                        end of the street at an angle, with the flagpole
                                                                                        at its right edge. Th
lhg0062.tif   First Street #2         Installing Sewer pipe. Looking East               Installing Sewer pipe around 1909. Looking         1909
                                                                                        East. The Livermore Hotel is at the far left
                                                                                        edge. The far right building has sign that says
                                                                                        "Livermore Restaurant" under the overhang.
                                                                                        The top of the building reads "Mally's Block"

lhg0063.tif   First Street #2         First Street, Looking east toward flagpole        See #69                                            1920
                                      ~1930. Livermore Hotel is still there, so it is
                                      before July 1928.
lhg0064.tif   First Street #2         First st looking east. Old cars.                  First St looking east from a little east of L      1900
                                                                                        street at about 1900.. The Livermore Hotel
                                                                                        (very end of the street left of the water tower)
                                                                                        and IOOF buildings are visible. Sign on far
                                                                                        left says "....oman Saloon". There does not
                                                                                        appear to be any automobile
lhg0065.tif   First Street #2   South side 1st St between J & So L. 1935?         South side of First St, between J and               1935
                                                                                  Livermore Ave. Far left building is across
                                                                                  Livermore Ave. Next building is Masonic
                                                                                  Building (corner of First and Livermore).
                                                                                  Schenone building is the State Theatre
                                                                                  entrance at this point. ~1935
                                                                                  Signs:
                                                                                  On Masonic Hall
lhg0066.tif   First Street #2   First Street looking east 1940s? Bus in picture First Street, Looking east from about K street        1954
                                                                                  in about 1954. The Chevron station is where
                                                                                  the Livermore Hotel used to be (at the far side
                                                                                  of flagpole). State Theatre sign is on the
                                                                                  Schenone Building. Mally's is on the right.
                                                                                  The clock on the right sid
lhg0067.tif   First Street #2   Post card. "West First Street" 1960? (probably Taken from the west side of K street. Clock            1954
                                much earlier)                                     appears to read 1:07, but it is very hard to
                                                                                  read (resolution of the above picture makes it
                                                                                  hard to even see the clock, which is just
                                                                                  above the car on the right). This picture is
                                                                                  probably the same year as #66
lhg0068.tif   First Street #2   First St. So Side between K & J St.               First St. So Side between K & J St. Corner of       1920
                                                                                  Mally's on far right. About 1920. This is a
                                                                                  closeup of #72
lhg0069.tif   First Street #2   In the Heart of the Business District for Herald. First Street, Looking east toward flagpole.         1920
                                Elliott Dopkins Photography 10/29/79              About 1920. The Livermore Hotel is on the
                                                                                  left, with the flagpole at its right edge. The
                                                                                  Masonic building and the Schenone building
                                                                                  are on the right. The Schenone building is the
                                                                                  Bell Theatre entrance. The
lhg0070.tif   First Street #2   First Street south side, between K & So           First Street south side, between K & So             1920
                                Livermore. Bar & Grill ~30s? #72 and #73          Livermore. Mally's Hotel & Grill. Sign reads
                                photos appear to be crops of this photo, with     "Merchants Lunch 60 cents". About 1920.
                                much more readable text.                          Closeup of #72
lhg0071.tif   First Street #2   EJ Lawless Druggist. 1st & K Looking east,        EJ Lawless Druggist. 1st & K Looking east,          1930
                                early 1920s or 1918. This appears to be a         about 1930. Cropped version of #76
                                photo is a crop of #76.
lhg0072.tif   First Street #2   First St. South side between K and So             The south side of 1st St looking east. Taken        1920
                                Livermore                                         from about K St. Livermore Ave. is on the left,
                                                                                  and the middle of the block between J and K
                                                                                  on the right. Mally's is on the right, which can
                                                                                  also be seen in the two pictures above. Front
                                                                                  of awning reads "Ma
lhg0073.tif   First Street #2   First St. looking east from end of J St.          This appears to be the same original                1920
                                                                                  photograph as above, scanned from a
                                                                                  different print which was cropped. The signs
                                                                                  are much more readable here, even on the
                                                                                  original print. Cars are for rent. The sign on
                                                                                  the back of the car reads: "Why Walk? This

lhg0074.tif   First Street #2   Bird's Eye View of Livermore from Masonic         East 1st Street. This picture was taken in          1896
                                Temple, Looking West Appears to be picture of     1896 from the McLeod building, (which was
                                newspaper. Actually looking east from the         being used as the Masonic hall at the time),
                                McLeod building                                   looking east (the inscription is incorrect). The
                                                                                  building on the right is Independence Hall (the
                                                                                  Bank of Livermore at that

lhg0075.tif   First Street #2   1st & K lookine east. 1935                        1st & K looking east. 1935                          1935
lhg0076.tif   First Street #2   Cars on 1st & K looking east. From end if K St.   First St. at the corner of K looking east. About    1930
                                About 1930. Must be before July 1928 as the       1930. IOOF building on left. Livermore Hotel
                                Livermore Hotel is still there                    to the left of the flagpole. The other flag is on
                                                                                  top of Mally's. E J Lawless Drugs is on the
                                                                                  right. #71 is a cropped version of this image,
                                                                                  scanned from a

lhg0077.tif   Wineries          Ruby Hill & vineyards                             Ruby Hill winery & vineyards, looking south
                                                                                  from around Vineyard Ave.
lhg0078.tif   Wineries          Raboli Winery, 2nd St. Near K? About 1935         Raboli Winery, corner 2nd St. & K. Knodt's          1935
                                                                                  Flowers occupies this building now. About
                                                                                  1935 The Wolfmeier house is on the left.
lhg0079.tif   Wineries   Chateau Bellevue Winery. Text on picture:        Residence of Alexander Duvall, of Chateau        1896
                         "Residence of A. Duvall, near Livermore"         Bellevue Winery. Three winery buildings were
                                                                          also constructed, 2 of which are now the
                                                                          Thomas Coyne winery. The house was built
                                                                          in 1886 and razed in the 1940s. Same image
                                                                          as #88, scanned from a different print.

lhg80a.tif    Wineries   Jos Altschul's Residence. Scanned cardboard      Residence of Dr. Joseph Altschul, owner of       1896
                         copy. From 1896 Midwinder ediction of            Vienna Winery. 1896 This house is now a
                         Livermore Herald                                 private residence, located east of Highway 84
                                                                          east of the Ruby Hill housing area.
lhg80b.tif    Wineries   Same as 80a, from larger photo. Jan 25, 1896     Residence of Dr. Joseph Altschul, owner of       1896
                                                                          Vienna Winery. 1896 This house is now a
                                                                          private residence, located east of Highway 84
                                                                          east of the Ruby Hill housing area.
lhg0081.tif   Wineries   Vienna Winery Estate. From 1896. Livermore       Vienna Winery Estate of Dr. Joseph Altschul.     1896
                         Herald p17                                       1896. The house is shown from a different
                                                                          angle below. The winery is to the left of the
                                                                          house. To the right of the house is the
                                                                          carriage house. The house was built in 1896
                                                                          and still remains. The winery was
lhg0082.tif   Wineries   Primier Winery. Owned by California Wine         Pioneer Winery. The sign on the right building
                         Association. Sign says "Pioneer Winerey"         reads "California Wine Association - Pioneer
                                                                          Winerey" (with the extra "e").
                                                                          The sign is difficult to read even when
                                                                          zooming on the full resolution picture,
                                                                          although the "Pioneer Winerey" portion (with
                                                                          the ex
lhg0083.tif   Wineries   Mont Rouge. From Alameda County Illustrated      Adrien Chauche's Mont-Rouge Vineyard &
                         P165. 4 pictures. "Mont Rouge Vineyard &         Winery, Livermore. Located on the west
                         Winery, Livermore"                               slope of Oak Knoll cemetery near Granada
                                                                          High School. The buildings were built in 1885
                                                                          and burned in 1931. Chauche died about
                                                                          1896 and his brother-in-law Charles Bon took
                                                                          ove
lhg0084.tif   Wineries   Vienna Winery, Jos Altschul, Proprietor.         Vienna Winery, Jos Altschul, Proprietor. 1896    1896
                         Midwinter Herald, 1896, p17
lhg0085.tif   Wineries   Pumping wine.                                   Pressing grapes and pumping juice into tanks      1911
                                                                         at Cresta Blanca Winery, Livermore,
                                                                         California in 1911. Same image as #15,
                                                                         scanned from a different print
lhg0086.tif   Wineries   Mont-Rouge AG Chauche on building signs.        Mont-Rouge. AG Chauche. Mont-Rouge
                         Mont-Rouge Winery at Oak Wood                   Winery at Oak Wood. Located on the west
                                                                         slope of Oak Knoll cemetery near Granada
                                                                         High School.
lhg0087.tif   Wineries   Post card "Beautiful California. Wine Industry, Post card "Beautiful California. Wine Industry,   1910
                         Grapes arriving at Winery." Turrill & Miller    Grapes arriving at Winery." Turrill & Miller
                         Photo. June 30, 1910 post mark. One cent        Photo. June 30, 1910 post mark. One cent
                         postage                                         postage
lhg0088.tif   Wineries   Residence of A. Duvall, Near Livermore. From Residence of Alexander Duvall, of Chateau            1896
                         Midwinter Edition - Livermore Herald, Jan 25,   Bellevue Winery in 1896. Three winery
                         1896                                            buildings were also constructed, 2 of which
                                                                         are now the Thomas Coyne winery. The
                                                                         house was built in 1886 and razed in the
                                                                         1940s.
lhg0089.tif   Wineries   Mont-Rouge cellars, Chas Bon Propr., near       Mont-Rouge cellars, Chas Bon Propr., near
                         Livermore. Picture of water tower & winery from Livermore. Picture of water tower & winery
                         the side.                                       from the side. Located on the west slope of
                                                                         Oak Knoll cemetery near Granada High
                                                                         School.
lhg0090.tif   Wineries   Ruby Hill Wine Cellars Livermore Herald 1896 Ruby Hill Wine Cellars, 1896. Looking east.          1896

lhg0091.tif   Wineries   Ernest Ferrario of Ruby Hill Winery. Copied      Ernest Ferrario of Ruby Hill Winery.
                         from collection of Mrs. Norma Pritchard.
lhg0092.tif   Wineries   Ruby Hill. Close up.                             Ruby Hill Winery
lhg0093.tif   Wineries   Ruby Hill. Photo of winery (recent)              Ruby Hill Winery, after the 1989 fire.           1990
lhg0094.tif   Wineries   Ruby Hill. Looking down road to house - Palm     Ruby Hill. Looking down road to house - Palm     1990
                         Trees                                            Trees
lhg0095.tif   Wineries   Ruby Hill. House & Winery                        Ruby Hill. House & Winery after the 1989 fire.   1990
lhg0096.tif   Livermore, Robert & family   Robert Livermore. Born 1799 or 1800 Died Feb        Robert Livermore. 1855-56                           1856
                                           14 1858 "Large photo in 1929 given to library by
                                           'Bank of Italy'"
lhg0097.tif   Livermore, Robert & family   Robert Livermore's House "Round the Horn"           Robert Livermore's House "Round the Horn"           1953
                                           House in 1953 just before it was torn down on       House in 1953 just before it was torn down on
                                           ranch of Chester Anderson. Arroyo Las Positas       ranch of Chester Anderson. Arroyo Las
                                           in foreground                                       Positas in foreground
lhg0098.tif   Livermore, Robert & family   Post Card type order form for book. Robert &        Post Card type order form for book. Robert &
                                           Josefa Livermore. Las Positas Rancho                Josefa Livermore. Las Positas Rancho
lhg0099.tif   Livermore, Robert & family   Robert Livermore Jr's House & Barn. Photo is        Robert Livermore Jr's House & Barn about
                                           mounted on brown cardboard                          1890. The house burned in 1915, and was
                                                                                               located north of 580 about half way between
                                                                                               Walmart and Target.
lhg0100.tif   Livermore, Robert & family   Staircase in Robert Livermore Home. Bill            Staircase in Robert Livermore Home. 1953            1953
                                           Stroble, March 5, 1953
lhg0101.tif   Livermore, Robert & family   Robert Livermore's House                             Robert Livermore's house. Probably in the          1955
                                                                                                1953 to 1955 timeframe.
lhg0102.tif   Livermore, Robert & family   Robert Livermore's original residence as             Robert Livermore's original residence as           1955
                                           photographed in 1955                                 photographed in 1955
lhg0103.tif   Livermore, Robert & family   Robert Livermore Jr charcoal drawing                 Robert Livermore Jr charcoal drawing
lhg0104.tif   Rock House                   Joe'sville during Korean War with crowd from         The bar at Joesville during Korean War with        1952
                                           Camp Parks - a multiple? wedding. Joe                crowd from Camp Parks - a wedding. Joe
                                           Carratis' son Albert at the bar. (Anita said that it Carratis' son Albert at the bar. Various
                                           was not a multiple wedding - the man and             porcelain items collected by Joe on top of the
                                           woman side at the front of the bar were              cabinets at the back include a Snow White set
                                           married). Snow White set above Albe                  at the right. An item on the wall wh

lhg0105.tif   Rock House                   Joe Caratti in front of the House, which is now     Joe Caratti in front of the House, which is now
                                           the Castle Rock Restaurant.                         the Castle Rock Restaurant.
lhg0106.tif   Rock House                   Joe's Inn. Joe Caratti Builder. Interier picture.   The interior of Joesville. The fireplace is on
                                           This was the old building.                          the left, which was built by Joe Caratti, as
                                                                                               were the booths on the right. An old Juke Box
                                                                                               is in the center, which was lost in a fire.

lhg0107.tif   Rock House                   Rock House. November 1977. The old building Joe Caratti built the arches in front of the                1977
                                           was in bad shape, with a leaky roof, etc. and         building. This picture was taken in 1977 when
                                           was torn down, leaving the fireplace, the back of the old building was removed. It was in bad
                                           the bar (can be seen in middle of 2nd from right shape, with structural problems. It was
                                           arch), and the arches. The house behind it later replaced with the current building. Three of
                                           burned down in                                        Joe's rock creations were retai
lhg0108.tif   Rock House                   Joe'sville. Joe's Inn. Lunches, Dinners, (other Joesville, at a later date than #109. Note the
                                           signs). In front is Joe Caratti with his children (L- house on the far right, also seen in #107. Joe
                                           R) Richard, Anita, and Albert. This is the            and his children are in front (L-R): Richard,
                                           original building. It was located in front of the     Joe, Anita, Albert. Anita is the proprietor of
                                           current building, on what is now Portola (the         the Rock House and Castle Rock Steak
                                           street,                                               House. "Golden Glow Beer"
lhg0109.tif   Rock House                   Joe'sville Bakery & Restaurant. After 1924.           The original building, now named Joesville.       1924
                                                                                                 The building has now been moved back to the
                                                                                                 current location. Note that there are now
                                                                                                 steps in front. This is due to the contour of
                                                                                                 the land with a low spot in the front.
                                                                                                 Signs in windows read (L-R): "Groceri

lhg0110.tif   Rock House                   Arrow Highway Inn. 1917 This is the original        The original Rock House building, 1917. The         1917
                                           building. It was located in front of the current    sign in front says "Arrow Highway Inn." It was
                                           building, on what is now Portola (the street, the   located in front of the current building, on what
                                           Lincoln Highway, was then in the grassy area        is now Portola (the street, Highway 50, or the
                                           south of the current location). The building was    Lincoln Highway, was then in the grassy area
                                           moved in about                                      south of the current
lhg0111.tif   Rock House                   Arrow Highway Inn. 1917 Different angle of          Arrow Highway Inn. 1917 See #110 for more           1917
                                           #110 (not at same time - note sign on 111, not      detail.
                                           on 110)
lhg0112.tif   Rock House                   Postcard. Bar at Joe'sville. About 1935 (from       The Bar at Joesville. Approximately 1935.           1935
                                           Anita)                                              This is at the opposite wall from the fireplace.
                                                                                               The stone back of the bar still remains,
                                                                                               including the mirrors in the center two arches.
                                                                                               The left most arch is open in this picture, but
                                                                                               is now filled in with r
lhg0113.tif   Rock House               Fireplace at Joe'sville. Post card                Fireplace at Joe'sville. Post card, Text reads:
                                                                                         The Fireplace at Joesville. Visitors claim for
                                                                                         this fireplace, one of the most unusual to be
                                                                                         seen anywhere. Truly a masterpiece of
                                                                                         workmanship by the proprietor, unexcelled for
                                                                                         beautiful design. The roc

lhg0114.tif   Rock House               Back of post card in #113 Text reads: The         Back of post card in #113 Text reads: The
                                       Fireplace at Joesville. Visitors claim for this   Fireplace at Joesville. Visitors claim for this
                                       fireplace, on of the most unusual to be seen      fireplace, on of the most unusual to be seen
                                       anywhere. Truly a masterpiece of workmanship      anywhere. Truly a masterpiece of
                                       by the proprietor, unexcelled for beautiful       workmanship by the proprietor, unexcelled for
                                       design. The rocks used in                         beautiful design. The rocks used in
lhg0115.tif   Rodeo                    Rodeo, 1935. See text in 115a                     Livermore Rodeo. "Livermore Rodeo, 1935.          1935
                                                                                         View of Grand Entry just breaking up in the
                                                                                         arena and photo shows almost half of the
                                                                                         grandstands. Paid attendance 14,784 that
                                                                                         Sunday, June 10th. Probably with contestants
                                                                                         and families there were over 16,000 peo

lhg115a.tif   Rodeo                    Back of 115. Text reads: "Livermore Rodeo,
                                       1935. View of Grand Entry just breaking up in
                                       the arena and photo shows almost half of the
                                       grandstands. Paid attendance 14,784 that
                                       Sunday, June 10th. Probably witn contestants
                                       and families there were over 16
lhg0116.tif   Southern Pacific Depot   SP Depot                                          The Southern Pacific Depot, Prior to the 1906     1905
                                                                                         earthquake (the chimney is still in place).
                                                                                         Taken from across L street looking North
                                                                                         East. The steeple of the original St. Michaels
                                                                                         church (North side of East First near Church
                                                                                         Street) can be seen on the rig
lhg0117.tif   Southern Pacific Depot   SP Depot                                          The Southern Pacific Railroad depot on L          1905
                                                                                         street near Railroad. Taken sometime after
                                                                                         1906 earthquake since the brick chimney is
                                                                                         gone. The tracks, on the left side, were
                                                                                         realigned in the early 1970s.
lhg0118.tif   Southern Pacific Depot   SP Depot with steam engine ~1920                  The Southern Pacific Railroad depot on L          1920
                                                                                         street near Railroad Ave around 1920.
lhg0119.tif   Southern Pacific Depot   SP Depot, after 1906 when the brick chimney       The Southern Pacific Railroad Depot in            1906
                                       was demolished by the earthquake                  Livermore, after 1906 when the brick chimney
                                                                                         was demolished by the earthquake Looking
                                                                                         North, and slightly to the east.

lhg0120.tif   Southern Pacific Depot   So Pacific Depot and Park 1890?                 The Southern Pacific Depot and Park,                1892
                                                                                       believed to be around 1890. Looking east
lhg0121.tif   Southern Pacific Depot   Altamont Depot (SP)                             The Southern Pacific Depot at Altamont in           1955
                                                                                       May of 1955. At bottom: "Southern Pacific
                                                                                       No. 401 with engine 4229, a 4-8-8-2, at
                                                                                       Altamont, Calif, May 1955"
lhg0122.tif   Southern Pacific Depot   SP Depot                                        SP depot, probably around 1973 prior to the         1973
                                                                                       renovation. Looking West No Trespassing
                                                                                       signs are posted on the building. Most of the
                                                                                       freight depot is gone in this picture, replaced
                                                                                       by a loading ramp. The tracks are probably
                                                                                       still in place. The signal wi
lhg0123.tif   Southern Pacific Depot   SP Depot Reconstruction                         Reconstruction of the Southern Pacific Depot        1973
                                                                                       in Livermore around 1973.
lhg0124.tif   Southern Pacific Depot   SP Depot, bathtub part way out upstairs window Reconstruction of the Southern Pacific Depot         1973
                                                                                       in Livermore around 1973.
lhg0125.tif   Southern Pacific Depot   SP Depot Reconstruction from esat - almost      Reconstruction of the Southern Pacific Depot        1973
                                       finished                                        in Livermore around 1973.
lhg0126.tif   Southern Pacific Depot   SP Depot Reconstruction                         Reconstruction of the Southern Pacific Depot        1973
                                                                                       in Livermore around 1973.
lhg0127.tif   Southern Pacific Depot   Central Pacific engine "The Rambler" near       Central Pacific engine "The Rambler" near
                                       Anspacher Whse "Very Early" (note that a larger Anspacher Warehouse (note the "AN" on the
                                       copy is in the max case)                        roof at right). This is probably looking south
                                                                                       east from Railroad Ave between L and M
                                                                                       streets.
lhg0128.tif   Western Pacific Depot         Western Pacific Depot                             Western Pacific Depot in Livermore, on south
                                                                                              side of tracks half way between K & L. It was
                                                                                              closed as a passenger terminal after WWII,
                                                                                              and torn down in 1956.
lhg0129.tif   Western Pacific Depot         Same picture as above                             Western Pacific Depot in Livermore, on south
                                                                                              side of tracks half way between K & L.
                                                                                              Looking South East. It was closed as a
                                                                                              passenger terminal after WWII, and torn down
                                                                                              in 1956.
lhg0130.tif   Western Pacific Depot         WP Depot                                          Western Pacific Depot in Livermore, on south
                                                                                              side of tracks half way between K & L.
                                                                                              Looking North East. It was closed as a
                                                                                              passenger terminal after WWII, and torn down
                                                                                              in 1956.
lhg0131.tif   Western Pacific Depot         WP Depot                                          Western Pacific Depot in Livermore, on south
                                                                                              side of tracks half way between K & L.
                                                                                              Looking South East. It was closed as a
                                                                                              passenger terminal after WWII, and torn down
                                                                                              in 1956.
lhg0132.tif   Western Pacific Depot         WP Depot Dedication, 1910                         Dedication of the Western Pacific Depot in         1910
                                                                                              Livermore in 1910. Likely August 22, when
                                                                                              the first passenger train came throuth
lhg0133.tif   Western Pacific Depot         WP Depot Dedication, 1910, Post Card              Dedication of the Western Pacific Depot in         1910
                                                                                              Livermore in 1910. Likely August 22, when
                                                                                              the first passenger train came through.
lhg0134.tif   Railroads                     Train Wreck near Livermore. Overturned box        Train Wreck near Livermore, probably in the
                                            card has "Rock Island" insignia on the left side. Altamont. Overturned box card has "Rock
                                                                                              Island" insignia on the left side.
lhg0135.tif   Railroads                     Train Wreck near Livermore Post Card              Train Wreck near Livermore, probably in the
                                                                                              Altamont. "Western Pacific" is written on one
                                                                                              of the cars.
lhg0136.tif   Railroads                     Railroad Tunnel. Train #210 Newspaper train       Train #210 Newspaper train leaving eastern
                                            leaving eastern entrance of tunnel 22 (probably entrance of tunnel 22. Probably the Niles
                                            in Niles canyon)                                  Canyon tunnel on the Western Pacific line.
lhg0137.tif   Railroads                     Railroad Tunnel. Co I Guarding RR - WWI           Railroad Tunnel. Co I Guarding RR - WWI.
                                                                                              Probably the WP tunnel in Niles Canyon.
lhg0138.tif   Railroads                     Relocation of railroad Friday 8/1, Murrieta Blvd Relocating the Southern Pacific railroad
                                            East                                              tracks. Taken at Murrieta Blvd looking east.
                                                                                              On the right is the original SP alignment. New
                                                                                              tracks go from the center to the left, along the
                                                                                              Western Pacific alignment. The SP tracks
                                                                                              were later pulled up. Stanley B
lhg0139.tif   Railroads                     SP Depot (repeat) might be more origional         The Southern Pacific Railroad depot on L           1920
                                                                                              street near Railroad Ave around 1920.
lhg0140.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   Downtown Before redevelopment - First & J         First & J Streets Looking Westerly 1955. The       1955
                                            Streets Looking Westerly 1950                     building behind the "Furniture" sign is Mally's
                                                                                              Hotel. Same image as #149, scanned from a
                                                                                              different print. #149 is a better copy.

lhg0141.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   Main St. Valley Hotel from L looking west about The Valley Hotel from L looking west on 1st          1910
                                            1910 Post card                                  St. about 1910. The vehicle at the right
                                                                                            appears to be an automobile.
lhg0142.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   First, looking West from about Livermore Ave.   First, looking West from about Livermore             1957
                                                                                            Ave., 1957

lhg0143.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   West First St.                                    West First St., 1954                               1954
                                                                                              Same image as #67, scanned from a different
                                                                                              print
lhg0144.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   The Hub                                           The Hub in about 1950, where the fountain at       1953
                                                                                              First & Livermore is now. First Street now
                                                                                              cuts the corner through the right side of where
                                                                                              the Hub was. The Hub was built in 1892 and
                                                                                              was torn down about 1974-75.
                                                                                              The streets appear to be decorated for Christ
lhg0145.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   The Hub of Livermore 1950 First & Livermore. The Hub of Livermore, 1950. First &                       1950
                                            From Calendar                                 Livermore. This picture is to the right of #144,
                                                                                          with some overlap. They were not taken at
                                                                                          the same time. There are no Christmas
                                                                                          decorations in this picture.
                                                                                          On the far left is The Hub sign (NW corner)
                                                                                          with only the 2
lhg0146.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   Post office. N side of 1st St & J early 1900s Post office. N side of 1st St & J early 1900s.           1902
                                            #151 is better                                The post office wsa located here from 1904 to
                                                                                          1914, when it was moved over to the ease
                                                                                          side of Livermore Ave. behind what is now the
                                                                                          Independent Building. Building across the
                                                                                          street on the left is on the SW

lhg0147.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   East First St, looking west towards Mills Square. East First St, looking west towards Mills
                                            McLeod building on right, beyond dutcher's        Square. McLeod building on right, beyond
                                            store. From end of McLeod St.                     Dutcher's Hardware (far right). The Sweeney
                                                                                              Opera House is on the far left. Taken from
                                                                                              end of McLeod St. The flag pole can be seen
                                                                                              coming up from behind a building slightl

lhg0148.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   First St. Looking West. IOOF building on right      First St. Looking West. IOOF building on right     1910
                                                                                                The building on the far left remained until
                                                                                                about 1932, when it was replaced by the
                                                                                                current building. The building to its right was
                                                                                                replaced by the Schenone Building in 1913.
                                                                                                This photo is probably from t

lhg0149.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   1st sSt looking west                                First & J Streets Looking West about 1955.         1955
                                                                                                IOOF building to the right of center. The
                                                                                                building behind the "Furniture" sign is Mally's.
                                                                                                Same image as #140, scanned from a
                                                                                                different print.
lhg0150.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   State Theater. About 1930 or 1932                   State Theater. About 1932. Note location of        1931
                                                                                                flagpole (its original location).
                                                                                                The building between the Masonic and
                                                                                                Schenone buildings was constructed in 1932.
                                                                                                Signs:
                                                                                                Masonic building: "Livermore Branch - Bank -
                                                                                                American Trust Company"
                                                                                                Between: "....n New

lhg0151.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   Post offic shot (repeat)                            Post office. N side of 1st St & J early 1900s.     1902
                                                                                                The post office wsa located here from 1904 to
                                                                                                1914, when it was moved over to the ease
                                                                                                side of Livermore Ave. behind what is now the
                                                                                                Independent Building. Building across the
                                                                                                street on the left is on the SW

lhg0152.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   First st - Note on back: "Printed Backwards?". It   First street decorated for the rodeo. Around       1932
                                            is NOT printed backwards. Rodeo sign can be         1932 or 1933
                                            read properly. "…RLD'S" at top, "RODEO" at
                                            bottom. Probably reads "World's Fastest
                                            Rodeo".
lhg0153.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   Hay being Spooled Sign for Feidler's Fashion      First Street looking West                            1890
                                            Stable in upper right                             Scan of a print that is a closeup of 154 & 155.
                                                                                              See 155
lhg0154.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   First St. Hay Wagon (as above but back further) Same image as 155, scanned from a different            1890
                                                                                              print. See 155
lhg0155.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   Same as 154, maybe more original. First St.       First St. Looking west from flag pole area           1890
                                            Looking west from flag pole area. North end of around 1890. North end of J St on left. The
                                            J St on left. IOOF building can be seen on right. building on the left is has a sign that says
                                            The cable stretched across the street is a        "Palace Restaurant" under the overhang. The
                                            telephone cable                                   two story building to the right of it is Mally's
                                                                                              (with the sign on top that pe
lhg0156.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   McLeod Building NE corner Lizzie St. Mrs.       McLeod Building flooded, 1906-07. L-R            1907
                                            Savage in Carriage. Bank in lower corner        standing 1. ? 2. Fred Mathison, cashier. 3.
                                            space. Mrs. Dutcher at back.                    Fred Lassen, 4. Dr Savage Sr. In carriage is
                                                                                            Mrs Del Savage (front), her daughter May, &
                                                                                            Del Savage's Grandchildren.
                                                                                            Same image as 248, scanned from a different
                                                                                            print. #248
lhg0157.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking West   E First St. showing McLeod building & Dutcher's East First St. showing the right side of the     1918
                                            Hardware Store. Herald office in McLeod Bldg McLeod building around 1918. In the center is
                                                                                            The Herald office. Above the Herald sign is
                                                                                            another that reads "K B Medical Experts -
                                                                                            Bloodless surgery". On the windows under
                                                                                            the awning on the right is "L. Sch

lhg0158.tif   Lvr, First St. Looking East   E 1st St. Looking east from flagpole           East 1st St. Looking east from flagpole around    1918
                                                                                           ~1920. This is a cropped version of the one
                                                                                           above, showing a section of the left side. The
                                                                                           far left is the edge of Dutcher's Hardware.
                                                                                           The Valley Garage is the white building to the
                                                                                           right of Dutcher's. It
lhg0159.tif   Livermore Buildings           Forester Building. Horses & buggies            Forester's building about 1920. NW corner of      1920
                                                                                           2nd & J. Built in 1914 Sign reads: "Geo.
                                                                                           Beck Sons Groceries" "Bakery?"
                                                                                           Same image as #166, scanned from a
                                                                                           different image.
lhg0160.tif   Livermore Buildings           Masonic building & Bell theater. Early cars.   Masonic Building and Schenone Building.           1920
                                            Looks like a photocopy of a photo              Around 1920, when the Schenone building
                                                                                           opened.
                                                                                           Masonic Building windows:
                                                                                           "Livermore Valley Savings Bank" (window to
                                                                                           right of front doors)
                                                                                           "First National Bank" (next window to the
                                                                                           right)
                                                                                           "Dr. G.A. Therkof Dentist"
lhg0161.tif   Livermore Buildings           From McLeod building looking North (photo      From McLeod building (which at that time          1896
                                            states from Masonic building, but this is not  served as the Masonic Temple) looking North
                                            correct). From Midwinter Edition of the Herald on Livermore Ave. Farmer's Union Theater on
                                            1/25/1896. Farmer's Union Theater (see 168) left at NW corner of Livermore and Railroad.
                                                                                           1896.
                                                                                           The buildings in the foreground on the left and
                                                                                           right are labeled "Livermo
lhg0162.tif   Livermore Buildings           The old Sweeney Home (upstairs) John           The old Sweeney Home (upstairs). John
                                            Sweeney operated the Sweeney Opera House. Sweeney operated the Sweeney Opera
                                            In street is Ed Sweeney, son of John           House. In street is Ed Sweeney, son of John.
                                                                                           The building was on East 1st Street, just west
                                                                                           of the Sweeney Opera House. The 1917
                                                                                           Sanborn map shows this building as a
                                                                                           restaurant, w
lhg0163.tif   Livermore Buildings           Livermore Builders Supply H Thomas collection Livermore Builder's Supply Co. on the SE           1967
                                                                                           corner of Railroad and L St. looking south.
                                                                                           Railroad Ave is in the foreground with L street
                                                                                           on the far right. The SP railroad depot is
                                                                                           behind these buildings. The chimney on the
                                                                                           far right seen over the rear buil

lhg0164.tif   Livermore Buildings           Masonic Hall & Bell Theater. Same as 160, but Masonic building & Bell theater around 1920.       1920
                                            this is a real photo & is cropped. First St So Same image as #160, scanned from a
                                            side between So Livermore & K St.              different print. See #160 for description.

lhg0165.tif   Livermore Buildings           Bell Theater. Looking east (actually looking    Masonic Hall & Bell Theater. Looking east        1920
                                            SW)                                             Cropped print of #69
lhg0166.tif   Livermore Buildings           Forester's building                             Forester's building about 1920. NW corner of     1920
                                                                                            2nd & J.
                                                                                            Same image as 159, scanned from a different
                                                                                            print.
lhg0167.tif   Livermore Buildings           Veterans Memorial. Post Card                    Veterans Memorial. Post Card. 1932. On the       1932
                                                                                            south east corner of 4th and L
lhg0168.tif   Livermore Buildings           Bottom floor remains of old Farmers Union       Bottom floor remains of old Farmers Union        1939
                                            Building. RR & North Livermore Ave.             Building. RR & North Livermore Ave. The
                                                                                            building was razed in March 1939
lhg0169.tif   Livermore Buildings        Building roof being reparied. East side of        Building roof being reparied. East side of         1942
                                         Livermore. Might be Hank's. Old Court House       Livermore Ave.. Might be Hank's. Old Court
                                         on right. Leer Finler Ford Building               House on right (Lear Kimler Ford Building).
                                                                                           Sign on old court house says "Cresta Blanca
                                                                                           Wine Co"
lhg0170.tif   Livermore Buildings        Valley Garage. H Thomas collection                The back of the Valley garage on the north         1932
                                                                                           side of east 1st St. Aylward? & Phillips, Prop.
                                                                                           This building is still there, but is vacant
                                                                                           awaiting redevelopment. This view can be
                                                                                           seen from the temporary ACE parking lot on
                                                                                           Railroad. ~1930s.
lhg0171.tif   Livermore Buildings        Old Court House                                   Lear-Kimler Building, which was the Old Court
                                                                                           House on the west side of Livermore Ave,
                                                                                           between 1st and Railroad. It was originally
                                                                                           built as an automotive garage for Lear and
                                                                                           Kimler's Ford Dealership. Torn down in 2001.

lhg0172.tif   Livermore Buildings        Masonic building                                  The First National Bank in the center. "Foreign    1911
                                                                                           & Domestic Exchange" "Save Deposit Boxes"
                                                                                           The sign on the left says "Billiards". The sign
                                                                                           by the hall entrance can't be read.
                                                                                           Upper floor has "Dr. G.A. Therkof - Dentist"
                                                                                           The streets are not paved yet.
                                                                                           Tak

lhg0173.tif   Livermore Buildings        Masonic Building. Dirt roads. About same time Taken near the same time as above. The                 1911
                                         as 172                                           "Billiards" sign as well as the sign by the hall
                                                                                          entrance are not present.
                                                                                          The bank and dentist are present.
                                                                                          The streets are obviously not paved.
                                                                                          Taken between 1908 and 1913
                                                                                          This photo was taken by Frank Hogle, who
lhg0174.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Brenzell's Well-Drilling Rig                     Fred Brenzel's Rig, drilling a well. Probably       1900
                                                                                          about 1900.
lhg0175.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   The Arrow Bakery & Ice Cream. Between L &        The Arrow Bakery & Ice Cream, in 1913 when          1813
                                         K, North side of 1st St. 1920? (interior picture it opened. Between L & K, North side of 1st
                                         has 1913 written on it (#32))                    St. Joe Caratti of "Joesville" (see photos) is in
                                                                                          the truck. John Caratti is standing. It is not
                                                                                          known who the woman is.
                                                                                          Liv Herald 2/1/1913: "G. O. Darrow is prepa

lhg0176.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   7/8/1897 A committee awarded prizes for floats Grand Central Market around 1897. Located             1897
                                         in 4th of July Parade. Grand Central Market goton the north side of 1st St between J and K,
                                         2nd prize. 12/23/1897 "Frank Fennon has a fine just west of the original library building (photo
                                         display of Christmas meats at Grand Central    #175)
                                         Market"                                        Signs (on the hanging meat): "Happy New
                                                                                        Year", "Merry Christmas"
                                                                                        Quotes written on the back of the photo,
                                                                                        proba
lhg0177.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   California Market                              California Market This appears to be the
                                                                                        same building as the above market.
lhg0178.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Livermore Creamery See 180                     Livermore Creamery See 180                            1900
lhg0179.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   A. Bistorious' Furniture & Notion Store 1896   A. Bistorious' Furniture & Notion Store in the        1896
                                         Herald photo                                   first floor of the IOOF building. 1896 Herald
                                                                                        photo.
                                                                                        More chairs hanging from the ceiling. Just
                                                                                        about everything on the tables.
lhg0180.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Livermore Creamery c. 1900. North West         Livermore Creamery c. 1900. North West                1900
                                         corner of 6th & Mable. Left: Fred Young,       corner of 6th & Mable. Left: Fred Young,
                                         younger brother of Archie - assumed ownership younger brother of Archie - assumed
                                         in about 1912. Center ?? Right: Archie Young - ownership in about 1912. Center ?? Right:
                                         founder & owner at the time of the photo       Archie Young - founder & owner at the time of
                                                                                        the photo
lhg0181.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Livermore Commercial, just west of the Hub. L-   Livermore Commercial around 1914, just west     1914
                                         R: Leo Jacker, Joe Callaghan, ?, Charles Beck.   of the Hub. L-R: Leo Jacker, Joe Callaghan,
                                         An entrance on First & on Livermore (wrapped     ?, Charles Beck. An entrance on First & on
                                         around the Hub)                                  Livermore (wrapped around the Hub).
                                                                                          Paper at the left: "Grand Military Ball",
                                                                                          "Company I, N.G.C.", "Thanksgiving Eve".
                                                                                          Date

lhg0182.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Schrader's Blacksmigh Shop. Where Civic          Schrader's Blacksmigh Shop. Where Civic         1911
                                         Building is now. Note the tall column of         Building is now. Note the tall column of
                                         Hourseshoes                                      Hourseshoes. Prior to 1913, when Fred
                                                                                          Schrader died.
lhg0183.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Valley Garage on E First St (North side).        Valley Garage on E First St (North side).       1924
                                         Opposite old city Hall 1924. West of Ozzie       Opposite old city Hall 1924. West of Ozzie
                                         Davis. L-R: Geo Jackson, John Neinburg,          Davis. L-R: Geo Jackson, John Neinburg,
                                         Harry "Skinny" Johnson                           Harry "Skinny" Johnson
                                                                                          Wood box on floor: "Sherwin-Williams Paints
                                                                                          and Varnishes"
                                                                                          Sign on wall appears to read "No Tools
                                                                                          Loaned" (
lhg0184.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   The California Transfer Company                  The California Transfer Company. "Anything
                                                                                          Moved Any Where". Located slightly east of L
                                                                                          Street between Railroad and 1st (south east
                                                                                          of the SP railroad station).

lhg0185.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Shrader's Blacksmith Shop. West? side of So      Shrader's Blacksmith Shop. Where the Civic      1911
                                         Livermore. Where Civic building is now           Building is now. Probably later than #182.
                                                                                          Yard is full of farm machinery.
                                                                                          Sign on building in back: "Smoke Old Judge
                                                                                          Cigarettes". "Warehouse" is below. The area
                                                                                          in between can't be read. Prior to 1913.

lhg0186.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   California Restaurant Menu (2 pictures scanned   California Restaurant Menu (2 pictures          1915
                                         together)                                        scanned together) Around 1910 to 1920.
lhg0187.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Livermore Creamery 1905. Archie & Fred           Livermore Creamery 1905. Archie & Fred          1905
                                         Young, Norman Sweet. NW corner 6th &             Young, Norman Sweet. NW corner 6th &
                                         Maple. Butterchurn.                              Maple. Butterchurn is shown.
lhg0188.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Livermore Cheese Co.                             Livermore Cheese Co. at around 1925-1928        1927
                                                                                          on North Livermore Ave, just south of the
                                                                                          current railroad tracks. Near where Aamco is
                                                                                          now.
                                                                                          Side of truck at left: "Livermore Cheese MFG
                                                                                          CO. Livermore CAL Phone 265"
                                                                                          Sign on truck at right: "Livermore Cheese Fac

lhg0189.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Typical Service Station.                        Livermore Service Station in 1930. NE corner     1930
                                                                                         of 1st & L. Street sign says South L St. There
                                                                                         is still a service station there.
                                                                                         Sign at top of service island: "Livermore
                                                                                         Service Station"
                                                                                         Signs in front: "Rich..eli"?, "Quaker State
                                                                                         Motor Oil Certified Guar
lhg0190.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Interior of Arrow Bakery. Joe Caratti at right  Arrow Bakery Interior, 1913. Joe Caratti at      1913
                                                                                         right, John Caratti to the left of the right
                                                                                         counter.
                                                                                         Located in the building which still exists at
                                                                                         2136 1st St., that was the original library in
                                                                                         Livermore, built in 1878.
                                                                                         Sign at left: "Fresh Milk & Cream for
lhg0191.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Anspachers "Probably not Anspachers but the Will Taylor's store. This photo is probably          1912
                                         later W. Taylor shop on the site of Anspachers" before 1915 when he moved to the
                                                                                         Anspachers location.
                                                                                         Part of sign at top: "Glove Fitting"
                                                                                         Below that (on back wall): "...... Corsets" (2
                                                                                         words prior might be "Glove Fitting")
lhg0192.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   McVicar's Machine Shop                          McVicar's Machine Shop
lhg0193.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Lassen Bros Flour, Feed, Grain & Coal           Lassen Bro's Flour, Feed, Grain & Coal                1906
                                                                                         Located on L St, between 1st and the railroad
                                                                                         tracks.
                                                                                         Sign above door: "Poultry Food Prepared
                                                                                         Here"
                                                                                         The building on the left is probably
                                                                                         Anspacher's warehouse.
                                                                                         It appears to be raining, with a lot of water on
                                                                                         the gro
lhg0194.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Valley Hardware Co. Next to Odd Fellows Hall. Valley Hardware Co. Next to Odd Fellows                 1925
                                         1924-26. Carl Clark, owner. John Jensen, Chas Hall. 1924-26. Carl Clark, owner. John
                                         Bankhead, Carl Clarke                           Jensen, Chas Bankhead, Carl Clarke
lhg0195.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   The Popular Restaurant 1920                     The New Popular Restaurant and Oyster                 1920
                                                                                         Grotto. 1920
                                                                                         Right door reads: "Ladies Entrance"
lhg0196.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   JH Dutcher Carriage Factory. Midwinter Edition JH Dutcher Carriage Factory, 1896                      1896
                                         Herald, 1/25/1896                               Located on the south side 2nd between J and
                                                                                         K.
                                                                                         This building was torn down about 1956-57
                                                                                         when the lot was cleared for the new B of A
                                                                                         building (no longer B of A).
                                                                                         The site is now a parking lot.
                                                                                         "Paint Shop", "General Repai
lhg0197.tif   Livermore Businesses (2)   Livermore French Laundry. L St. near First.     Livermore French Laundry. L St. between
                                         Rheimers to the "left" of Laundry. Mr. & Mrs La First and 2nd, where the Frazee Paint building
                                         Fon (sp?) in front of Laundry, Bonne's Laundry is now. Rheimers to the "left" of Laundry. Mr.
                                         there first. Lee Canziaui's mother sold the     & Mrs LaFon in front of Laundry. Originally
                                         whole building                                  was Leon Bonne's Laundry, built in 1930 and
                                                                                         later sold it to the LaFons.

lhg0198.tif   Livermore Hotels           Livermore Hotel. Located in the center of town   Livermore Hotel in 1910, looking north east          1910
                                         the Livermore Hotel never changed its name in    down East 1st St. Probably taken from in
                                         the 50+ years it existed. Many of the early      front of The Hub, or slightly north of that spot.
                                         photographs of Livermore were shot from its      Located in the center of town the Livermore
                                         balconies. Torn down in July 1928 the site is    Hotel never changed its name in the 50+
                                         now a park where the city                        years it existed. Many of the ear
lhg0199.tif   Livermore Hotels           Farmers Exchange drawing. Property of Meritz     Drawing of the Farmers Exchange Hotel from           1878
                                         Hupers                                           the Tompson and West Alameda County Atlas
                                                                                          in 1878. "Property of Meritz Hupers,
                                                                                          Livermore, Alameda Co. Cal." L Street is in
                                                                                          front of the hotel. Along the left is part of a
                                                                                          wide area that at times had side track

lhg0200.tif   Livermore Hotels           Callaghan house on East Ave beyond Dolores       Callaghan house at 3057 East Ave beyond
                                         (still there) Henry Callaghan. Built 1810        Dolores (still there) Henry Callaghan. Built
                                                                                          1810
lhg0201.tif   Livermore Hotels           Washington Hotel. A Bardellini residence         Drawing of the Washington Hotel from the             1878
                                                                                          Tompson and West Alameda County Atlas in
                                                                                          1878. A Bardellini residence. SE corner of
                                                                                          1st & L.
lhg0202.tif   Livermore Hotels           Greyhound station                                This is the Farmer's Exchange Hotel, now the         1955
                                                                                          Greyhound bus station. The Hotel has been
                                                                                          modified and stuccoed, and has a very
                                                                                          different look. The hotel was eventually called
                                                                                          the Lutz Hotel, run by Bill Lutz. It is located on
                                                                                          the east side of L Street be

lhg0203.tif   Livermore Hotels           Livermore Hotel. Repeat of 198                  Livermore Hotel. See 198                              1910
lhg0204.tif   Livermore Hotels           Crest Hotel. Lot 10. Block #2 Northern Addition The Crest Hotel. Lot 10. Block #2 Northern
                                         on N Livermore Ave.                             Addition on N Livermore Ave.
                                                                                         This hotel was on the west side of Livermore
                                                                                         Ave between Railroad and the WP tracks.
                                                                                         It was built in 1880 and demolished in 1975.


lhg0205.tif   Livermore Hotels           Livermore Hotel JNO Wilkenson, Propr             The Livermore Hotel. Probably the best view          1912
                                                                                          of the hotel. Most photos show only the front.
                                                                                          Prior to 1916.
lhg0206.tif   Livermore Hotels   Mally's Hotel Annex. Army Recruiting              Mally's Hotel Annex. Army Recruiting. This
                                                                                   building was originally the Washington Hotel

lhg0207.tif   Livermore Hotels   Livermore Hotel. Dutchers Hardware on left        The Livermore Hotel and Flagpole, about              1920
                                 with Bay Windows. Further along E First the 2     1920. Just to the left of the hotel, well up the
                                 story building of Denis Bernal's Mill             street, is the Denis Bernal's Diamond Flour
                                                                                   Mill with the sloped roof (#158 is a closeup of
                                                                                   this). The far left side is the portion of the
                                                                                   McLeod building which was
lhg0208.tif   Livermore Hotels   Palace Hotel. Post Card. Date from PML list.      Palace Hotel. Post Card SE corner of 1st &           1935
                                                                                   L. Was originally the Washington Hotel.
lhg0209.tif   Livermore Hotels   Hotel Valley (Valley Hotel (Germania Hotel)       Valley Hotel main entrance.
                                 Note: this may be incorrect. Valley Hotel at time
                                 of #211
lhg0210.tif   Livermore Hotels   Valley Hotel 1900. Note: Annex was built in       The Valley Hotel, sometime between 1908 to           1912
                                 1908.                                             1916. The Valley Hotel was on the South
                                                                                   West corner of 1st & L Streets, across L from
                                                                                   the Washington Hotel. Built around 1872 or
                                                                                   1873, it was originally the Morning Star Hotel,
                                                                                   then the Commercial Hotel, the na

lhg0211.tif   Livermore Hotels   Valley Hotel                                      The Valley Hotel.The overhang is now gone,
                                                                                   meaning that it is probably post 1916. The
                                                                                   name on the window reads "Hotel Valley".
                                                                                   Above the door reads "Steam Heat - Rooms
                                                                                   with Bath".
lhg0212.tif   Livermore Hotels   Greyhound                                         This is the Farmer's Exchange Hotel, now the         1955
                                                                                   Greyhound bus station. The Hotel has been
                                                                                   modified and stuccoed, and has a very
                                                                                   different look. The hotel was eventually called
                                                                                   the Lutz Hotel, run by Bill Lutz. It is located on
                                                                                   the east side of L Street be

lhg0213.tif   Washington Hotel   Palace Hotel, SE corner 1st & L                   The Washington Hotel, about 1908. The                1908
                                                                                   Washington Hotel was built around 1871 at
                                                                                   the South East corner of 1st and L Streets.
                                                                                   An Annex to the hotel was completed in 1903.
                                                                                   It became the Palace Hotel in August 1914. It
                                                                                   was sold to Mallys in April 1916, and

lhg0214.tif   Washington Hotel   Washington Hotel. A Bardellini residence          The Washington Hotel, about 1908. The                1908
                                                                                   Washington Hotel was built around 1871 at
                                                                                   the South East corner of 1st and L Streets.
                                                                                   An Annex to the hotel was completed in 1903.
                                                                                   It became the Palace Hotel in August 1914. It
                                                                                   was sold to Mallys in April 1916, and

lhg0215.tif   Washington Hotel   Brod & Mack ?? June 1910                          The Washington Hotel, about 1910. The                1910
                                                                                   Washington Hotel, was built around 1871 at
                                                                                   the South East corner of 1st and L Streets.
                                                                                   An Annex to the hotel was completed in 1903.
                                                                                   It became the Palace Hotel in August 1914. It
                                                                                   was sold to Mallys in April 1916, an

lhg0216.tif   Washington Hotel   Washington Hotel 1908                             The Washington Hotel, about 1908. The                1908
                                                                                   Washington Hotel was built around 1871 at
                                                                                   the South East corner of 1st and L Streets.
                                                                                   An Annex to the hotel was completed in 1903.
                                                                                   It became the Palace Hotel in August 1914. It
                                                                                   was sold to Mallys in April 1916, an

lhg0217.tif   Washington Hotel   Looking East                                      The Washington Hotel, looking East about             1908
                                                                                   1908. The Washington Hotel, was built around
                                                                                   1871 at the South East corner of 1st and L
                                                                                   Streets. An Annex to the hotel was completed
                                                                                   in 1903. It became the Palace Hotel in August
                                                                                   1914. It was sold to Mallys in A
lhg0218.tif   Washington Hotel    Looking East - Looks closed down.                 The Palace Hotel. Originally the Washington
                                                                                    Hotel. The hotel was eventually torn down in
                                                                                    May of 1941, apparently catching fire about a
                                                                                    week after demolition began.

lhg0219.tif   Farmers Exchange    Farmers Exchange Hotel. The closest hotel to      Farmers Exchange Hotel, located on the east
                                  the railroad Depot, the Farmers Exchange Hotel    side of L Street between 1st and Railroad, just
                                  was illustrated in the Atlas of Alameda County.   south of the SP railroad depot (Where KFC is
                                  The hotel was renamed Travelers Hotel In the      now). The closest hotel to the railroad Depot,
                                  1920s and served as the Greyhound bus depot       the Farmers Exchange Hotel was illustrated in
                                  for many years before be                          the Atlas of Alameda Coun

lhg0220.tif   Brickyard           Pile of bricks at Brickyard                       Livermore Firebrick Company. Looking North
                                                                                    East across a stack of the finished product.
                                                                                    The Livermore Firebrick Company was
                                                                                    located at what is now appropriately called the
                                                                                    Brickyard shopping center (North side of
                                                                                    Stanley, across from Valley Memorial Hosp


lhg0221.tif   Brickyard           Brickyard ~1937                                   Livermore Firebrick Company looking north at       1937
                                                                                    about 1937.
                                                                                    See #220 for general description.
lhg0222.tif   Brickyard           Livermore Fire Brick Co. about 1915               Livermore Fire Brick Coompany about 1915           1915
                                                                                    looking east
                                                                                    Same image as #227, scanned from a
                                                                                    different print that is not cropped.
                                                                                    See #220 for general description.
lhg0223.tif   Brickyard           Brickyard before shed was built. Before 1929      Livermore Fire Brick Coompany before shed          1925
                                                                                    was built. Before 1929. Looking south west.
                                                                                    See #220 for general description.

lhg0224.tif   Brickyard           Livermore Fire brick Co. before 1929              Livermore Fire Brick Coompany looking north        1925
                                                                                    east from the around the SP tracks prior to
                                                                                    1929
                                                                                    See #220 for general description.
lhg0225.tif   Brickyard           Firebrick                                         Livermore Fire Brick Company, looking west.
                                                                                    The Southern Pacific tracks and Stanley Blvd
                                                                                    are to the left. The Western Pacific tracks are
                                                                                    to the right. Oakknoll Pioneer Memorial Park
                                                                                    is the mound to the left of Stanley Blvd (in the
                                                                                    distance, between the

lhg0226.tif   Brickyard           Livermore Firebrick                               Livermore Fire brick Company looking south.
                                                                                    See #220 for general description.

lhg0227.tif   Brickyard           Livermore Firebrick Co.                           Livermore Fire brick Company about 1915            1915
                                                                                    looking east
                                                                                    Same image as #222, scanned from a
                                                                                    different print that was cropped.
                                                                                    See #220 for general description.
lhg0228.tif   Brickyard           Brick Works                                       Livermore Fire brick Co. probably looking
                                                                                    north west
                                                                                    Same image as #229, scanned from a
                                                                                    different print that was cropped.
                                                                                    See #220 for general description.
lhg0229.tif   Brickyard           Same as 228, maybe more original                  Livermore Fire brick Co. probably looking
                                                                                    north west
                                                                                    Same image as #228, scanned from a
                                                                                    different print.
                                                                                    See #220 for general description.
lhg0230.tif   Lvr, Mills Square   Drawing of Mill. Block I Livermore Property of    Drawing of Livermore Valley Mills. "Block 1        1874
                                  CJ Stevens                                        Livermore Property of CJ Stevens" NW
                                                                                    corner of 1st and Livermore. About 1874.
                                                                                    The mill burned on October 16, 1881.
                                                                                    The street on the far left is 1st St. In the
                                                                                    foreground is Livermore Ave.
                                                                                    The train is on th
lhg0231.tif   Lvr, Mills Square      Mill                                              Photo from roughly the same angle as the
                                                                                       drawing (#230), but lower elevation. An
                                                                                       overhang is now added to the center building.
                                                                                       There are a lot of bags of flour stacked in front
                                                                                       of the buildings, and on the cart.
                                                                                       The mill burned on October 16, 1881 and wa


lhg0232.tif   Lvr, Mills Square      1 st Mill Sq                                      The start of the 1911 motorcycle race.              1911
                                                                                       Looking west from around the Livermoer
                                                                                       Hotel. #48 is the same image, scanned from
                                                                                       a different print
lhg0233.tif   Lvr, Mills Square      4th of July. Sometime after 1909                  4th of July at the flagpole                         1910
lhg0234.tif   Lvr, Mills Square      Mills Sq looking E.                               The Hub of Livermore, 1950. First &                 1950
                                                                                       Livermore. This picture is to the right of #144,
                                                                                       with some overlap. They were not taken at
                                                                                       the same time. There are no Christmas
                                                                                       decorations in this picture.
                                                                                       On the far left is The Hub sign (NW corner)
                                                                                       with only the 2
lhg0235.tif   Sweeney Opera House    Sweeney Opera House                               Sweeney Opera House. Note the corner of
                                                                                       Independence Hall on the far left.
                                                                                       John Sweeney's house is on the right. It
                                                                                       appears to be one story in this photo, but it is
                                                                                       difficult to tell.
                                                                                       Sweeney Opera House was on the South
                                                                                       West corner of East 1st and McLe
lhg0236.tif   Sweeney Opera House    Sweeney Opera House. SW Corner of E 1st & Sweeney Opera House. 3/7/1908 SW Corner                     1908
                                     McLeod. The Judges for a Livermore Horse          of E 1st & McLeod. The Judges for a
                                     Show. L-R McNally - had a winery & vineyard; Livermore Horse Show. L-R McNally - had a
                                     Christensen - ran the Altamont Hotel; Berlin, had winery & vineyard; Christensen - ran the
                                     a saloon & restaurant in Independence Hall;       Altamont Hotel; Berlin, had a saloon &
                                     Garner, Sold furniture & ?; D                     restaurant in Independence Hall; Garner, Sold
                                                                                       furnitu
lhg0237.tif   Sweeney Opera House    Inside Sweeney Opera House in 1905 (First &       Inside Sweeney Opera House in 1905 (First &         1905
                                     Maple) at the Hayseed Ball. Aug 19, 05            McLeod) at the Hayseed Ball. Aug 19, 05
                                     (Saturday), Photo #235 shows that it was          (Saturday).
                                     located on McLeod, as Independence Hall can See #235 for a general description.
                                     be seen at the left edge of the photo.
lhg0238.tif   McLeod Building        McLeod Building. More distant                     McLeod Building, on the North East corner of
                                                                                       1st & Livermore, looking north. Dutcher's
                                                                                       Hardware store is the two story building on the
                                                                                       right. The Farmers Union building (Railroad &
                                                                                       Livermore Ave) can just barely be seen on the
                                                                                       left (3 upstairs windows w
lhg0239.tif   McLeod Building        McLeod Building, closer up                        McLeod building. NE corner of 1st &
                                                                                       Livermore. Looking NE. This is NOT the
                                                                                       same image as #238.
lhg0240.tif   Mally's Hotel          Mally's Hotel 1915 First St.                      Mally's Hotel Annex 1st & L St. Was
                                                                                       Washington Hotel and Palace Hotel. See
                                                                                       #215 for expanded description.
lhg0241.tif   Livermore Soda Works   Livermore Soda Works delivering wagon (Ice). Livermore Soda Works delivering wagon
                                     Standing "Ernie" Ernest Utundorffer, later a city (Ice). Standing "Ernie" Ernest Utundorffer,
                                     councilman in Livermore                           later a city councilman in Livermore
                                                                                       Sign on wagon (actually more readable in the
                                                                                       reflection): "Livermore Soda Works and Union
                                                                                       Ice Co."
lhg0242.tif   Livermore Soda Works   Livermore Soda Works building. On K Street.       Livermore Soda Works building. On K Street.
                                     By window: "Ernie" Ernest Utendorffer. By door: By window: "Ernie" Ernest Utendorffer. By
                                     George Tubbs                                      door: George Tubbs
lhg0243.tif   Livermore Soda Works   E Utendorffer in wagon delivering bottle goods. E Utendorffer in wagon delivering bottle
                                     Livermore Soda Works                              goods. Livermore Soda Works
                                                                                       Sign on Building: "Livermore Soda Works -
                                                                                       Warren Lamb Prop."
                                                                                       Boxes of bottles say "From Livermore Soda
                                                                                       Works".
                                                                                       The bottles appear to be about half gallon or
                                                                                       so, with values on top. Clo
lhg0244.tif   Weather                Arroyo Rd about 1950, looking south. Snow on Arroyo Rd about 1950, looking south. Snow                1950
                                     ground                                            on ground
lhg0245.tif   Weather             Taken about 1950 from Arroyo Road, Looking         Taken about 1950 from Arroyo Road, Looking        1950
                                  across the road down to Olivina, Wetmore Rd        across the road down to Olivina, Wetmore Rd
                                  on Right (Looking West) from post card. Snow       on Right (Looking West) from post card.
                                                                                     The trees are along the driveway to the
                                                                                     Olivina house (no longer there). The "Olivina"
                                                                                     sign would be to the right.

lhg0246.tif   Weather             Masonic Building & State Theater - Square          Masonic Building & State Theater - Square         1938
                                  flooded. 2/11/38. 1.35 inches in 24 hours          flooded. 2/11/38. 1.35 inches in 24 hours
lhg0247.tif   Weather             Stereograph. McLeod building flooded "Flooded      Stereograph. McLeod building flooded              1907
                                  conditions at Bank of Livermore. With shovel -     "Flooded conditions at Bank of Livermore.
                                  Fred Mathiesen, cashier of Bank. About 1900        With shovel - Fred Mathiesen, cashier of
                                  another says 1912-1913.                            Bank. 1906-07
lhg0248.tif   Weather             McLeod Building flooded. About 1904 others         McLeod Building flooded, 1906-07. L-R             1907
                                  say ~1912. L-R standing 1. ? 2. Fred Mathison,     standing 1. ? 2. Fred Mathison, cashier. 3.
                                  cashier. 3. Fred Lassen, 4. Dr Savage Sr. In       Fred Lassen, 4. Dr Savage Sr. In carriage is
                                  carriage is Mrs Del Savage (front), her daughter   Mrs Del Savage (front), her daughter May, &
                                  May, & Del Savage's Grandchildren                  Del Savage's Grandchildren

lhg0249.tif   Weather             Holmes St fording Mocho Creek about 1935.          Holmes St fording Mocho Creek about 1935.         1935

lhg0250.tif   Weather             Carnegie Building - snow, fountain frozen      Carnegie Building - snow, fountain frozen             1922
                                  1/30/22                                        1/30/22
lhg0251.tif   Laddsville          Laddsville Jewler DF Badgley                   Laddsville Jeweler, DF Badgley.
                                                                                 Signs on windows: "Jeweler DF Badgley"
                                                                                 "All Kinds of Jewelery - Repairing done"
                                                                                 ("Jewelery" spelled as it appears on the
                                                                                 window)
                                                                                 Signs at bottom of deck: "..... Bitters", "C & S
                                                                                 Axle Grease", "Jesse Moore ...."
lhg0252.tif   Laddsville          Laddsville Exchange South side of E. First St. Laddsville Exchange South side of E. First St.
                                  Near WP Tracks                                 Near WP Tracks
lhg0253.tif   Laddsville          Laddsville Exchange                            Laddsville Exchange. South side of E. First
                                                                                 St. Near WP Tracks.
                                                                                 Sign on corner: "Livermore Steam Beer" Is
                                                                                 this what they are enjoying in the picture?
lhg0254.tif   Independence Hall   Independence Hall SE corner E First &          Independence Hall with a horse show in
                                  McLeod. Livermore Horse show in progress. (2 progress.
                                  people identified)                             N.D. Dutcher (of Dutcher's Hardware) and
                                                                                 Dennis Bernal (Livermore Brewery) are
                                                                                 pointed out in the photo.
                                                                                 Note that the bell is in place but not the sirens.
                                                                                 The building looks weathered in this picture.

lhg0255.tif   Independence Hall   Independeence Hall. Later city Hall & Fire         Looking slightly more weathered again. This
                                  station.                                           is probably latest of these three. The utility
                                                                                     pole has been painted on the bottom, a Street
                                                                                     light and street size have been added. The
                                                                                     fire house is now labeled.
lhg0256.tif   Independence Hall   Independence Hall                                  Sirens are in place here. The building
                                                                                     appears to be cleaned up in this picture.
lhg0257.tif   Independence Hall   Independence Hall - new. After 1936 WPA            This is the same building after renovation by     1937
                                  renovaton                                          the WPA in 1936. The windows are very
                                                                                     different, and there are 7 rows instead of 3 on
                                                                                     the west side. The fire station has two bays.
                                                                                     The same street light is still present as in
                                                                                     #255

lhg0258.tif   Theaters            Bel Theater - Schenone building 1914               Bell Theater - Schenone building around 1920      1920
                                                                                     This photo is a cropped version of #160,
                                                                                     scanned from a different print. See #160 for
                                                                                     description.

lhg0259.tif   Theaters            State Theater with rodeo decorations 1931          State Theater with Rodeo decorations in           1931
                                                                                     1931.
                                                                                     Croce's Restaurant is on the right side.
                                                                                     "Lily Da?mita This is the Night"
                                                                                     "Now Playing Chas Ruggles"
lhg0260.tif   Theaters          Moving Picture House SE corner 2nd & J.          McVicar's Hall. SE corner 2nd & J. Roller
                                Burned in 1917. Where Montgomery Wards is        skating rink by day, Moving Picture House by
                                "now" (1968) entrance on J St.                   night. Burned August 24, 1919 along with the
                                                                                 Livermore French Steam Laundry next door.
                                                                                 Note says "Where Montgomery Wards is
                                                                                 'now'" (1968). The entrance is on J St.
                                                                                 S

lhg0261.tif   Wetmore           Clarence Wetmore standing near the wine press    Clarence Wetmore standing near the wine
                                that made the wine for the Paris Exposition.     press that made the wine for the Paris
                                The Charles Wetmore house (at Cresta Blanca      Exposition. The Charles Wetmore house (at
                                Winery) is in the background                     Cresta Blanca Winery) is in the background

lhg0262.tif   Wetmore           Chas Wetmore                                     Charles Wetmore
lhg0263.tif   Wetmore           Arroyo Rd at entrance to Cresta Blanca           Arroyo Rd at entrance to Cresta Blanca
lhg0264.tif   Stables           Eugene Day's Livery Stable                       Eugene Day's Livery Stable Burned in 1895.          1890

lhg0265.tif   Stables           Ryan Bros Livery Stable                          Ryan Bros Livery Stable on the East side of
                                                                                 Livermore Ave, just south of First street
                                                                                 (across from the Masonic Hall). The
                                                                                 Livermore Hotel would be off to the left.
lhg0266.tif   Stables           J Ryan Livermore Livery Stable "Livermore in     J Ryan Livermore Livery Stable "Livermore in        1895
                                the 1890s"                                       the 1890s"
lhg0267.tif   Stables           Feidler's Fashion Livery on N side of 1st St.    Feidler's Fashion Stable, on the north side of      1885
                                Near Of Odd Fellows Hall 1880s to 1890s          1st St just east of the IOOF building (which
                                                                                 can be seen on the left). Feidler's can also be
                                                                                 seen in #155, at the right side. Also on #557

lhg0268.tif   Stables           Livery Stable Main St. About 1911 Delmar         Livery Stable on Main St. About 1911 Delmar         1911
                                Hanson.                                          Hanson.
                                                                                 Signs on left read "Sloan's Sure Colic Cure"
                                                                                 and Sloan's Liniment
lhg0269.tif   Tesla Coal Mine   Tesla Coal Mine - Livings quarters?              Tesla Coal Mine about 1898. Coal was                1898
                                                                                 discovered in Corral Hollow in 1855, with
                                                                                 mining operations off and on until 1911.
                                                                                 This photo is of the Tesla Coal Mining
                                                                                 operation owned by John and James
                                                                                 Treadwell.
                                                                                 Photo #270 shows an area just to the right of
                                                                                 this
lhg0270.tif   Tesla Coal Mine   Tesla Coal Mine                                  Tesla Coal Mine about 1898.. Coal was               1898
                                                                                 discovered in Corral Hollow in 1855, with
                                                                                 mining operations off and on until 1911.
                                                                                 This photo is of the Tesla Coal Mining
                                                                                 operation owned by John and James
                                                                                 Treadwell.
                                                                                 Photo #269 shows an area just to left right of
                                                                                 thi
lhg0271.tif   Tesla Coal Mine   Tesla Cola Mine. Same angle as 270               Tesla Coal Mine. Similar photo to #270, but
                                                                                 taken at a different time. Some buildings are
                                                                                 different, and the structure on the right side of
                                                                                 #270 is there there on this photo.

lhg0272.tif   Tesla Coal Mine   Tesla Coal mine                                  Tesla Coal Mine about 1898. This photo              1898
                                                                                 would have been taken from the hill to the left
                                                                                 of #269, looking across photos #269 and
                                                                                 #270. Note the small building with a pole
                                                                                 protruding and the buildings near it (this
                                                                                 picture and the #269) and the mine itself

lhg0273.tif   Tesla Coal Mine   Tesla Coal mine. The main hoisting engine over   Tesla Coal mine. The main hoisting engine           1898
                                the main shaft. This engine had 20" x 60"        over the main shaft. This engine had 20" x 60"
                                cylinders and had 750 hourspowers (DL            cylinders and had 750 hourspowers. After
                                Mosier). 1890s. After 1905 (DM)                  1905
lhg0274.tif   Tesla Coal Mine   Mining tractor. Bunkers, tractors.               Mining tractor at the Western magnesite mine
                                                                                 (Westvaco mine), on Mines Road, southeast
                                                                                 of Livermore.
lhg0275.tif   Tesla Coal Mine   Mining tractor overturned                        Mining tractor overturned at the Western
                                                                                 magnesite mine (Westvaco mine), on Mines
                                                                                 Road, southeast of Livermore.
lhg0276.tif    Tesla Coal Mine   Mining tractor overturned                              Mining tractor overturned at the Western
                                                                                        magnesite mine (Westvaco mine), on Mines
                                                                                        Road, southeast of Livermore.
lhg0277.tif    Tesla Coal Mine   Tesla House Stove                                      Tesla House Stove
lhg0278.tif    Dutcher           Dutcher's and Son. 1949 or 50. "Built 1880"            Dutcher's Hardware store in about 1949 or          1949
                                                                                        1950. 1st St, east of Livermore Ave, north
                                                                                        side. The left half was built in 1880, with the
                                                                                        right half about 1885 or 1886.
lhg0279.tif    Dutcher           Dutcher's. Same image is in 1896 Modwinder             Dutcher's Hardware, 1886. This same image          1896
                                 Edition                                                was in the Jan 1886 Herald Midwinter Edition.

lhg0280.tif    Dutcher           Dutcher's Inside. See scan of back.. 1914              Inside Dutcher's Hardware, 1914. Left to           1914
                                                                                        right: Norris D. Dutcher Sr, N.D. Dutcher Jr
                                                                                        (Agnes' husband), Dan Luce, John J Jensen
                                                                                        Sr.
                                                                                        Sign in middle: "Infallible"
                                                                                        On Left: Company I NGC+G4 Military Ball,
                                                                                        Thanksgiving Eve sign. This sign appears in
                                                                                        Live
lhg280_back.tif                  back of 280
lhg0281.tif     Dutcher          Dutcher's. 1906. Says 1896 on back.                    Dutcher's Hardware store, about 1906.              1906
lhg0282.tif     Dutcher          Dutcher's tin shop (old location). 1876.               Dutcher's tin shop in 1876. This is the old        1876
                                 Livermore Ave just north 1st.                          location on Livermore Ave north of 1st St (just
                                                                                        north of the site currently occupied by the
                                                                                        Bank of Italy Building).
lhg0283.tif    Dutcher           Dutcher's. First half of the existing building.        Dutcher's Hardware around 1884. Only half          1884
                                 1880. Other half was built in 1882.                    of the left half is present, with the other half
                                                                                        built shortly after. The photo is labeled 1880,
                                                                                        and indicates that the other half was built in
                                                                                        1882, but the presence of the McLeod building
                                                                                        on the left indicates
lhg0284.tif    Dutcher           Photo of Norris D Dutcher. See scan of back.           Photo of Norris Dutcher from the Livermore         1896
                                 1896                                                   Herald Midwinter Edition, January 25, 1896.
                                                                                        Label reads:
                                                                                        Norris D. Dutcher -- Native of New York State,
                                                                                        came to Livermore 1868. Began as store
                                                                                        clerk and blacksmith until 1876. He and
                                                                                        brother opened a tin shop
lhg284_back.tif                  back of 284
lhg0285.tif     Dutcher          Dutcher Fair Float. 1903. ND Dutcher       Dutcher Fair Float. 1903. ND Dutcher                           1903
                                                                            Pleasanton celebration c 1900 on way to Pltn
                                 Pleasanton celebration c 1900 on way to Pltn
                                                                            4th of July taken in front of Liv shop on Lizzie
                                 4th of July taken in front of Liv shop on Lizzie St.
                                 c1903.                                     St. c1903.
                                                                            Reads: "Pleasanton Fair and Racing
                                                                            Association. Races July 27, 28, 29, 30"
lhg0286.tif    Altamont          Summit School House. July 21, 1969         Summit Public School in the Altamont, which                    1969
                                                                            operated from 1894 to 1955. Taken July 21,
                                                                            1969. The School has since been torn
                                                                            down.The "Summit Public School" sign in the
                                                                            photo below is now displayed in the Duarte
                                                                            Garage in Livermore.
lhg0287.tif    Altamont          Summit School House. July 21, 1969         Summit School in the Altamont. July 21,                        1969
                                                                            1969. See #286.
lhg0288.tif    Altamont          Summit School House from front. Elliott    Summit School in the Altamont. July 21,                        1969
                                 Dopkins Photography                        1969. See #286.
lhg0289.tif    Altamont          Altamont School. Elliott Dopkins.          Summit School in the Altamont. July 21,                        1969
                                                                            1969. See #286.
lhg0290.tif    Altamont          Altamont School from front                 Summit School. This photo is older than the
                                                                            others. The building looks in pretty good
                                                                            shape here. The sign, fence, and flagpole are
                                                                            still in place. See #286
lhg0291.tif    Altamont          Altamont School chalk board. July 21, 1969 Inside the Summit School in the Altamont.                      1969
                                                                            July 21, 1969. See #286.
lhg0292.tif    Altamont          Altamont Summit Hotel. From Tom Knox Album Altamont Summit Hotel                                          1969

lhg0293.tif    Altamont          Altamont Summet Hotel.                                 Altamont Summit Hotel
lhg0294.tif    Altamont          Men in the Altamont, concrete pipes. "taken in         Men in the Altamont, concrete pipes. "taken in     1953
                                 the Altamont Hills - only man known is 3rd from        the Altamont Hills - only man known is 3rd
                                 right - George Jackson". 2-5-53                        from right - George Jackson". 2-5-53
lhg0295.tif   Altamont            Altamont Library. Lawrence F Germaine,           The Altamont Library. In operation from 1912     1969
                                  photographer.                                    to 1947. The building was originally a
                                                                                   Dunkard Church.
lhg0296.tif   Altamont            Altamont Library. Elliott H Dopkins photography. Altamont Library. See #295                       1969

lhg0297.tif   Altamont            Altamont Library from front. Elliott H Dopkins   Altamont Library. See #295                       1969
                                  photography.
lhg0298.tif   Altamont            Altamont Rock Concert Number 5. Herald           Altamont Rock Concert, held at the Altamont      1969
                                  photo                                            Speedway near the I5/205 split. The concert
                                                                                   was orgaized by the Rolling Stones and is
                                                                                   known as one of the biggest tragities in Rock
                                                                                   and Roll History for the violence caused by
                                                                                   the security. It was held on Dece

lhg0299.tif   Altamont            Altamont Rock Concert. Dec 7, 1969. Herald     Altamont Rock Concert. See #298 12/6/69.           1969
                                  photo.                                         Photo was in the herald on 12/7
lhg0300.tif   Anspacher Bros      Anspacher Warehouse and Lumber Yard. 1st       Anspacher Warehouse and Lumber Yard. 1st
                                  along rr (SP), west of L.                      along rr (SP), west of L, where Groth Brothers
                                                                                 is now. Likely taken from on top of the SP
                                                                                 railroad station. From the Herald Midwinter
                                                                                 Edition, 1/25/1896.
lhg0301.tif   Anspacher Bros      Anspacher Warehouse and Lumber Yard.           Anspacher Warehouse and Lumber Yard. 1st           1896
                                  Same image as #300. From Midwinter Jan 25, along rr (SP), west of L, where Groth Brothers
                                  1896.                                          is now. Likely taken from on top of the SP
                                                                                 railroad station. From the Herald Midwinter
                                                                                 Edition, 1/25/1896.
lhg0302.tif   Anspacher Bros      Anspacher Bros Hay and Grain. Located along Anspacher Bros Hay and Grain. Located
                                  SP spur track west of L St.                    along SP spur track west of L St.
lhg0303.tif   Anspacher Bros      Anspacher. Manager seller and his force of     Anspacher. Manager seller and his force of         1896
                                  clerks.                                        clerks.
                                  S. Sell, manager of Anspacher Brothers Stores S. Sell, manager of Anspacher Brothers
                                  was also treasurer of the firm. Jan 25, 1896   Stores was also treasurer of the firm. 2nd
                                  Midwinter.                                     from left in front row is Wimmiam H. Taylor.
                                                                                 G. Gerst and J.C. Wallmann also shown. Jan
                                                                                 25, 1896 Midwinter.
lhg0304.tif   Arroyo Sanitarium   Del Valle Sanitorium in the hills south of     Del Valle Sanitarium in the hills south of
                                  Livermore with the Children's Preventorium in  Livermore with the Children's Preventorium in
                                  the foreground. The valley's reputation of a   the foreground. The valley's reputation of a
                                  healthful climate and environment persisted.   healthful climate and environment persisted.
                                  This facility was established for treatment of This facility was established for treatment of
                                  tuberculosis patinents in 1                    tuberculosis patinents in 1
lhg0305.tif   Arroyo Sanitarium   Alameda County Tuberculosis Hospital. Closed Del Valle Sanitarium. See #304. Taken from
                                  in 1957. Taken from more or less from corner near the corner of the VA property. ~1945-
                                  of VA property. ~1945-1957                     1957.
lhg0306.tif   Blacksmiths         Bernhardt and Calldedeih Blacksmith shop. 2nd Bernhardt and Calldedeih Blacksmith shop
                                  & L St (SW corner)                             around 1920. 2nd & L St (SW corner)
                                  1. Henry Calldeweih                            1. Henry Calldeweih
                                  2. ?                                           2. ?
                                  3. Roy Bernhardt                               3. Roy Bernhardt
                                  4. Tony Silva                                  4. Tony Silva
                                  5. Al ?                                        5. Al ?
lhg0307.tif   Blacksmiths         McVicar's Blacksmith shop. RR ave & No I.      McVicar's Blacksmith shop. RR ave & No I.
                                  Manf Hay presses. About 1906.                  Junior Monarch Hay presses. About 1906.

lhg0308.tif   Bridges             Old bridge across Arroyo Del Valle at Cresta     Old bridge across Arroyo Del Valle at Cresta
                                  Blanca. Herald.                                  Blanca. Looking north, at the sourh side of
                                                                                   the bridge. Herald photo. This bridge can
                                                                                   also be seen in #513.
lhg0309.tif   Bridges             View of old Mocho bridge at Wilson Ranch.        View of old Mocho bridge at Wilson Ranch.
lhg0310.tif   Bridges             Bridge over Arroyo Del Valle on Vallacitos Rd.   Bridge over Arroyo Del Valle on Vallacitos Rd.
                                  1896 Midwinter.                                  1896 Midwinter. This bridge is about 100 feet
                                                                                   southeast of the present concrete bridge. The
                                                                                   old abutments are still in place, and can be
                                                                                   seen from the Zone 7 access road.

lhg0311.tif   Bridges             Arroyo Rd bridge over Arroyo Mocho when it       Arroyo Rd bridge over Arroyo Mocho when it
                                  collapsed from heavy rain.                       collapsed from heavy rain. Around 1985?
lhg0312.tif   Bridges             Arroyo Rd bridge over Arroyo Mocho when it       Arroyo Rd bridge over Arroyo Mocho when it
                                  collapsed from heavy rain.                       collapsed from heavy rain. Around 1985?
lhg0313.tif   Bridges                Arroyo Rd bridge over Arroyo Mocho when it        Arroyo Rd bridge over Arroyo Mocho when it
                                     collapsed from heavy rain.                        collapsed from heavy rain. Around 1985?
lhg0314.tif   Bridges                Arroyo Rd bridge over Arroyo Mocho when it        Arroyo Rd bridge over Arroyo Mocho when it
                                     collapsed from heavy rain.                        collapsed from heavy rain. Around 1985?
lhg0315.tif   Calif Transfer         Calif Transfer Co. First St. near L               Calif Transfer Co. Located slightly east of L
                                                                                       Street between Railroad and 1st (south east
                                                                                       of the SP railroad station).
lhg0316.tif   Calif Transfer         Calif Transfer Co. trucks move tank to VA         Calif Transfer Co. trucks move tank to VA
                                     Hospital.                                         Hospital.
lhg0317.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle Resevoir construction.                  Del Valle Reservoir construction.
lhg0318.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle Resevoir construction.                  Del Valle Reservoir construction.
lhg0319.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle Resevoir construction.                  Del Valle Reservoir construction.
lhg0320.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle Resevoir construction.                  Del Valle Reservoir construction.
lhg0321.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle Resevoir construction.                  Del Valle Reservoir construction.
lhg0322.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle Resevoir construction.                  Del Valle Reservoir construction.
lhg0323.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle Resevoir construction.                  Del Valle Reservoir construction.
lhg0324.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle Resevoir construction.                  Del Valle Reservoir construction.
lhg0325.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle Resevoir construction.                  Del Valle Reservoir construction.
lhg0326.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle Resevoir construction.                  Del Valle Reservoir construction.
lhg0327.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle Resevoir construction.                  Del Valle Reservoir construction.
lhg0328.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle Resevoir construction.                  Del Valle Reservoir construction.
lhg0329.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle Resevoir construction.                  Del Valle Reservoir construction.
lhg0330.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle postcard add for "Measure E". Nov 7     Del Valle postcard add for "Measure E". Nov
                                     election.                                         7 election.
lhg0331.tif   Del Valle Res          Del Valle                                         Del Valle
lhg0332.tif   Lear-Kimler Building   Lear-Kimler Building. Built 1927, torn down       Lear-Kimler Building. Built 1927, torn down
                                     ~2002. Other photo shows "Cresta Blanca           ~2002. Located on Livermore Ave, north of
                                     Wine Co" (reroof of Hanks?).                      1st St on west side, slightly north of where the
                                                                                       Rattlesnake Café is now. At this time of this
                                                                                       photo it is labeled "Cresta Blanca Wine Co" on
                                                                                       the front, although it a
lhg0333.tif   Buckley Estate 1       Buckley Estate. One of the Redemptionist          Buckley Estate. One of the Redemptionist
                                     Father's in center. Fathers took over in 1921 -   Father's in center. Fathers took over in 1921 -
                                     naming Ravenswood "Villa San Clemente"            naming Ravenswood "Villa San Clemente"

lhg0334.tif   Buckley Estate 1       Buckley Estate. From Alameda County               Buckley Estate. From Alameda County
                                     Illustrated, Oakland Tribune, 1898.               Illustrated, Oakland Tribune, 1898.
lhg0335.tif   Buckley Estate 1       Buckley Estate. From Alameda County               Buckley Estate. From Alameda County
                                     Illustrated, Oakland Tribune, 1898.               Illustrated, Oakland Tribune, 1898.
lhg0336.tif   Buckley Estate 1       Buckley Estate.                                   Buckley Estate.
lhg0337.tif   Buckley Estate 1       Buckley residence - Buckley High Chair            Buckley residence - Buckley High Chair
lhg0338.tif   Buckley Estate 1       Marble topped chest, towards furnishing the       Marble topped chest, towards furnishing the
                                     Buckley museum. Gift of Mrs. CA Buckley Jr.       Buckley museum. Gift of Mrs. CA Buckley Jr.

lhg0339.tif   Buckley Estate 1       One of the chandeliers from the main building,    One of the chandeliers from the main building,
                                     of brass and cloisonne.                           of brass and cloisonne.
lhg0340.tif   Buckley Estate 1       Winery, 1984                                      Buckley Winery, 1984
lhg0341.tif   Buckley Estate 1       Ruins of winery, 1984                             Ruins of Buckley winery, 1984
lhg0342.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Gown of Mrs. Buckley Sr. Closeup                  Gown of Mrs. Buckley Sr. Closeup
lhg0343.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Gown of Mrs Buckley Sr. Full Gown view            Gown of Mrs Buckley Sr. Full Gown view
lhg0344.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Fireplace in dining room of main house            Fireplace in dining room of main house
lhg0345.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Ravenswood property ~1940s. Concannon             Ravenswood property ~1940s. Concannon
                                     Photo, from north (looking south)                 Photo, from north (looking south)
lhg0346.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Talen by Janet Newton, probably 1960              Taken by Janet Newton, probably 1960
lhg0347.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Probably 1940s, concannon photo from east         Probably 1940s, Concannon photo from east
                                     (looking west)                                    (looking west)
lhg0348.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Winery ruins, 1984                                Winery ruins, 1984
lhg0349.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Gown that belonged to Mrs CA Buckley Sr.          Gown that belonged to Mrs CA Buckley Sr.
                                     Mostly red with lace trim                         Mostly red with lace trim
lhg0350.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Old Photo of Ravenswood                           Old Photo of Ravenswood
lhg0351.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Old Photo of Ravenswood. Concannon photo,         Old Photo of Ravenswood. Concannon
                                     probably taken in the 1940s.                      photo, probably taken in the 1940s.
lhg0352.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Ravenswood, south side (looking south)            Ravenswood, south side (looking south)
lhg0353.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Ravenswood. Foreground - cottage                  Ravenswood. Foreground - cottage
lhg0354.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Ravenswood, south side (looking south)            Ravenswood, south side (looking south)
lhg0355.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Ravenswood picking crew, probably 1940s.          Ravenswood picking crew, probably 1940s.
                                     Concannon photo                                   Concannon photo
lhg0356.tif   Buckley Estate 2       Ravenswood property ~1940s. Concannon             Ravenswood property ~1940s. Concannon
                                     Photo, from north (looking south)                 Photo, from north (looking south)
lhg0357.tif   Buckley Estate 2       House                                             Ravenswood House
lhg0358.tif   Buckley Estate 2    Carriage House 1984                                 Ravenswood Carriage House 1984
lhg0359.tif   Buckley Estate 2    Cottage                                             Ravenswood Cottage
lhg0360.tif   Buckley Estate 2    Oct 1978. Photo by TE Peiffer                       Oct 1978. Photo by TE Peiffer
lhg0361.tif   Buckley Estate 2    Taken when Crhis St. Leger-Barter lived in it.      Taken when Chris St. Leger-Barter lived in it.
                                  "Shows stained glass over door - later lost."
                                  Note: This is the stained glass that is still
                                  present in the dining room south. A different
                                  stained glass was lost.
lhg0362.tif   Buckley Estate 2    Picture that was in Buckley House                   Picture that was in Buckley House
lhg0363.tif   Buckley Estate 2    Picture that was in Buckley House                   Picture that was in Buckley House
lhg0364.tif   Buckley Estate 2    Picture that was in Buckley House                   Picture that was in Buckley House
lhg0365.tif   Buckley Estate 2    Picture that was in Buckley House                   Picture that was in Buckley House
lhg0366.tif   Buckley Estate 2    Picture that was in Buckley House                   Picture that was in Buckley House
lhg0367.tif   Buckley Portraits   Blind Boss Buckley. From Livermore Herald.          Blind Boss Buckley. From Livermore Herald.
                                  Jan 25, 1896. Gift from Dr. Wm A Bullough           Jan 25, 1896.
                                  December 13, 1978
lhg0368.tif   Buckley Portraits   Buckley Sr in a fire company uniform in SF.         Buckley Sr in a fire company uniform in SF.
                                  Probably taken in 1880. Gift from Dr. Wm A          Probably taken in 1880.
                                  Bullough.
lhg0369.tif   Buckley Portraits   Buckely Sr                                          Buckley Sr
lhg0370.tif   Buckley Portraits   Mrs. CA Buckely Sr                                  Mrs. CA Buckley Sr
lhg0371.tif   Buckley Portraits   Mrs. CA Buckley - Note from Maryalice Faltings:     Listed as Mrs. CA Buckley, but: it has been
                                  "it is definitely NOT Annie Marie Buckley; it MAY   noted: "it is definitely NOT Annie Marie
                                  be Elizabeth Buckley, (there's even a remote        Buckley; it MAY be Elizabeth Buckley, (there's
                                  possibility that it might be Sally Buckley) but     even a remote possibility that it might be Sally
                                  there is no proof that the pictured woman ever      Buckley) but there is no proof that the pictured
                                  was one of the t                                    woman ever was one of th

lhg0372.tif   Buckley Portraits   SF examiner Oct 2, 1896. Gift from Dr Wm A          Buckley Would Now a Farmer Be cartoon
                                  Bullough, 1979                                      from SF examiner Oct 2, 1896.
lhg0373.tif   Buckley Portraits   Drawing Room, Buckley Res                           Drawing Room, in the Buckley Main House
lhg0374.tif   Buckley Portraits   Mrs Buckley Jr. Opening of Ravenswood by            Mrs Buckley Jr. Opening of Ravenswood by
                                  LARPD?                                              LARPD?
lhg0375.tif   Buckley Portraits   Janet Newton & Mrs CA Buckley Jr (Estelle).         Janet Newton & Mrs CA Buckley Jr (Estelle).
                                  Dec 15, 1984 at Ravenswood                          Dec 15, 1984 at Ravenswood
lhg0376.tif   Buckley Portraits   Chris Buckley Jr. U of C "Blue & God Yearbook       Chris Buckley Jr. U of C "Blue & God
                                  for 1917                                            Yearbook for 1917
lhg0377.tif   Buckley Portraits   Buckley Jr. Dog Purchased by family in 1901         Buckley Jr. Dog Purchased by family in 1901

lhg0378.tif   Buckley Portraits   Chris A Buckley Jr & his mother                     Chris A Buckley Jr & his mother
lhg0379.tif   Buckley Portraits   Buckley Jr, 1896                                    Buckley Jr, 1896
lhg0380.tif   Buckley Portraits   Buckley Jr                                          Buckley Jr
lhg0381.tif   Buckley Portraits   Buckley Jr                                          Buckley Jr
lhg0382.tif   Buckley Portraits   Buckley Jr                                          Buckley Jr
lhg0383.tif   Concannon           Concannon Entrance                                  Concannon Entrance Sign in front reads:
                                                                                      Concannon Vineyard. Visitors Welcome.
                                                                                      Tours Mon. thru Fri. 9, 10, 11am, 1,2,3pm.
                                                                                      Tasting and Sales. Monday thru Saturday 9am-
                                                                                      4pm, Sunday 12 noon-4:30pm
lhg0384.tif   Concannon           Drawing of Concannon Vineyards. Art                 Drawing of Concannon Vineyards. Art
                                  Concepts. 510 area code. May 5 is a Sunday          Concepts.

lhg0385.tif   Concannon           Flagpole dedication @ Concannon house. JS  Flagpole dedication at Concannon house. JS
                                  Concannon (center. Sgt WE Conyees?, Sgt AH Concannon (center). Sgt WE Conyees?, Sgt
                                  Wergenttau? (right). 5/24/39               AH Wergenttau? (right). 5/24/39

lhg0386.tif   Concannon           Wedding of Nina Ferrario to Jos Concannon,          Wedding of Nina Ferrario to Jos Concannon,
                                  1925. "Nina and Eva". At Ravenswood                 1925. "Nina and Eva". At Ravenswood

lhg0387.tif   Concannon                                                      1925 Wedding of Nina Ferrario to Jos Concannon,
                                                                                  1925 at Ravenswood
lhg0388.tif   Concannon                                                      1925 Wedding of Nina Ferrario to Jos Concannon,
                                                                                  1925 at Ravenswood
lhg0389.tif   Concannon           1925 Decorating the machine for the bride and 1925 Decorating the machine for the bride
                                  groom                                           and groom
lhg0390.tif   Concannon           Joe Concannon. 8/16/78? H news                  Joe Concannon. 8/16/78? H news
lhg0391.tif   Concannon                                                16-Aug-70 Concannon Plaque and Bell, on south side of
                                                                                  the winery building. 8/16/1970
lhg0392.tif     Concannon             Concannon Post Card. Back of card reads:         Concannon Post Card. Back of card reads:
                                      Concannon Vineyards Livermore California         Concannon Vineyards Livermore California
                                      Classic Concannon wines are grown and            Classic Concannon wines are grown and
                                      produced here at Concannon Vineyard,             produced here at Concannon Vineyard,
                                      California historical landmark #641. Select      California historical landmark #641. Select
                                      wines include Petite Sirah, Zinfandel Rose',     wines include Petite Sirah, Zinfandel Rose',
                                      Mosell                                           Mosell
lhg392_back.tif                       Back of 392
lhg0393.tif     Mendenhall, William   Mendenhall House, College Ave. ~1870? Or 80?     William Mendenhall residence located in what
                                                                                       is now Forest Glades development southwest
                                                                                       of College and L Sts. House was built in 1876
                                                                                       by Julius L. Beilbye. House was used as
                                                                                       nurses' quarters during Livermore Sanitorium
                                                                                       days. Only the watertower minus t

lhg0394.tif     Mendenhall, William   Mendenhall House                                 William Mendenhall residence. See #393
lhg0395.tif     Mendenhall, William   Mendenhall House                                 William Mendenhall residence. See #393
lhg0396.tif     Mendenhall, William   Mendenhall House                                 William Mendenhall residence. See #393
lhg0397.tif     Mendenhall, William   William and Mary Mendenhall                      William and Mary Allen Mendenhall at
                                                                                       Mendenhall Springs, probably around 1895.
lhg0398.tif     Mendenhall, William   Wm Mendenhall                                    William Mendenhall sketch taken from Wood's
                                                                                       1883 Alameda County History.
lhg0399.tif     Mendenhall, William   Wm Mendenhall                                    William Mendenhall, probably about 1900
lhg0400.tif     Mendenhall, William   Mendenhall grave (initial is wrong - should be M Mendenhall grave. Iinitial is wrong - should be
                                      instead of A). Photo from Jack Mendenhall,       M instead of A. Wallace W should be listed
                                      grand nephew                                     instead of William Jr.
lhg0401.tif     Mendenhall, William   Mendenhall grave (initial is wrong - should be M Mendenhall grave. Initial is wrong - should be
                                      instead of A). Photo from Jack Mendenhall,       M instead of A. Wallace W should be listed
                                      grand nephew                                     instead of William Jr.
lhg0402.tif     Mendenhall, William   Mendenhall grave. Photo from Jack                Mendenhall grave.
                                      Mendenhall, grand nephew
lhg0403.tif     Steam Heat Hotel      Steam Heat Hotel at Joesville. No end of L       Steam Heat Hotel at Joesville. North end of L
                                      street at Portola (1978). Formally highway 50, street at Portola.. Formally highway 50, thru
                                      thru Livermore Ave, then Portola                 Livermore Ave, then Portola
lhg0404.tif     Windmills             Postcard of Windmills                            Postcard of Windmills
lhg0405.tif     Wente                 Wente Winery, old photo                          Wente Winery, around 1894-95
lhg0406.tif     Wente                 Earliest known photo of Wente Bros Winery.       Wente Winery, around 1895. Likely taken
                                                                                       from the roof of the George Wegener house
                                                                                       directly west of the Wente's place
lhg0407.tif     Wente                 Wente Winery & Residence                         Wente Winery & Residence around 1938-40

lhg0408.tif     Wente                 Wente, 5/2/69                                 Wente Vineyards
lhg0409.tif     Wente                 Louis Mel's Estate "Olea Vista". Now part of  Louis Mel's Estate "Olea Vista". Now part of
                                      Wente Estate. From 1896 Herald.               Wente Estate. From 1896 Herald. This
                                                                                    picture was taken to the north toward Tesla
                                                                                    Road. The house in the distance may be the
                                                                                    Conacannon house.
lhg0410.tif     Wente                 From Alameda Co Illustrated, Oakland Tribune, From Alameda Co Illustrated, Oakland
                                      1898. "The Berhard Vineyard". Residence of    Tribune, 1898. "The Berhard Vineyard".
                                      CH Wente, Livermore                           Residence of CH Wente, Livermore. Taken at
                                                                                    the same time as #406, but from the roof of
                                                                                    the Weste house looking south.
lhg0411.tif     Wente                 Bottling wine, Wente                          Bottling wine, Wente
lhg0412.tif     Wente                 E G (Ernie) Wente                             E G (Ernie) Wente
lhg0413.tif     Wente                 Louis Mel                                     Louis Mel
lhg0414.tif     Wente                 Herman L Wente. VP & Gen Manager. ~1955 Herman L Wente. VP & Gen Manager.
                                                                                    ~1955
lhg0415.tif     Wente                 Karl Wents. 10/16/76                          Karl Wente. 10/16/76
lhg0416.tif     Banks & Banking       Bank of Italy Interior. Late 20s, early30s    Bank of Italy Interior. Late 20s, early30s
lhg0417.tif     Banks & Banking       First National Bank. James Rolf (center)      First National Bank. James Rolf (center).
                                                                                    This may be the opening of the bank in 1912.

lhg0418.tif     Banks & Banking       Post card - Bank of Italy                  Post card - Bank of Italy around 1925
lhg0419.tif     Banks & Banking       color pic or Bank of Italy                 color pic or Bank of Italy                              1980
lhg0420.tif     Barns                 Barn. Used in LHG calendar march 1987. May Barn. Used in LHG calendar march 1987.
                                      be Elliott Dopkins photo
lhg0421.tif     Barns                 Barn on Tesla                              Barn on Tesla                                           1982
lhg0422.tif     Carnegie Bldg         Post card                                  The Carnegie Building. Post Card
lhg0423.tif     Carnegie Bldg         Library                                    The Carnegie Building when it was the Library
lhg0424.tif      Carnegie Bldg    Post Card. Pink locust trees & benches. On or The Carnegie Building when it wsa the
                                  before? Dec? 41                               Library. Post Card. Pink locust trees &
                                                                                benches. On or before? Dec? 41
lhg0425.tif      Carnegie Bldg    Library. Some sort of celebration             The Carnegie Building when it was the
                                                                                Library. Appears to be a concert or
                                                                                celebration.
lhg0426.tif      Carnegie Bldg    color photo. April 17, 1981. Henry Thomas     Carnegie Building. 1981. Door glass reads
                                  photo.                                        "LAA Gallery". Open door probably reads
                                                                                "History Center"
lhg0427.tif      Carnegie Bldg    Library. Gift of Elliott Dopkins 5/14/81      The Carnegie Building when it was the Library

lhg0428.tif      Carnegie Bldg    Third St. Entrance before restoration. Tony      Carnegie Building. Third Street Entrance
                                  Balander, young Historian                        before restoration. "Tony Balanber, young
                                                                                   Historian"
lhg0429.tif      Carnegie Bldg                                                     The Carnegie Building when it was the Library

lhg0430.tif      Carnegie Bldg                                                     The Carnegie Building when it was the Library

lhg0431.tif      Carnegie Bldg    Darker photo. Bill Owens. "no to be              The Carnegie Building, probably when it is the
                                  reproduced…."                                    History Center. Marked Do Not Reproduce.

lhg0432.tif      Carnegie Bldg    Winter snow. Jan 20, 1933.                       Carnegie Building with snow. January 20,
                                                                                   1922 (note says 1933, but other photos
                                                                                   labeled 1922)..
lhg0433.tif      Carnegie Bldg    Winter snow. 1/20/22 ????                        In front of the Carnegie Building with snow.
                                                                                   1/20/22
lhg0434.tif      Carnegie Bldg    old photo - Library                              The Carnegie Building, probably when it is the
                                                                                   History Center. Marked Do Not Reproduce.

lhg0435.tif      Carnegie Bldg    color of carnege building                      Carnegie Building. Door glass reads "LAA
                                                                                 Gallery".
lhg0436.tif      Drug Store       JO McKown                                      JO McKown, about 1925
lhg0437.tif      Drug Store       JO McKown - Secretary of Livermore League of JO McKown - Secretary of Livermore League
                                  Progress. Member of McKown & Mess drug & of Progress. Member of McKown & Mess
                                  stationary business. Fraternal leader & former drug & stationary business. Fraternal leader
                                  Postmaster. Midwinter 1896                     & former Postmaster. Midwinter 1896

lhg0438.tif      Drug Store       Interior of Lawless Drug Store. SE corner 1st & Interior of Lawless Drug Store. SE corner 1st
                                  J. 1918-20                                      & J. 1918-20. Items: on the left are a
                                                                                  number of hot water bottles, center: perfume
                                                                                  (19 cents), right: cigars.
                                                                                    Although this photo was labeled with the
                                                                                  same date range as #439, the one of them is
                                                                                  after a
lhg0439.tif      Drug Store       Interior of Lawless Drug Store. SE corner 1st & Interior of Lawless Drug Store. SE corner 1st
                                  J. 1918-20                                      & J. 1918-20. Perfume and pens can be
                                                                                  seen at the front.
lhg0440.tif      Drug Store       Beazell's. Formally McKown & Mess. 1935?? Beazell's. Formally McKown & Mess. 1935??
                                  Detail of 620.1                                 SE corner of 1st & J.
lhg0441.tif      Drug Store       Davisons the corner                             Davisons Pharmacy. SE corner of 1st & K.
                                                                                  Signs in window read "Film Scoop, 5 rools for
                                                                                  1.00" (can't actually read the .00 so it may be
                                                                                  a dollar and something).
lhg0442.tif      Drug Store       Davisons. SE corner 1st & K                     Davisons Pharmacy. SE corner of 1st & K.
lhg0443.tif      Drug Store       D Rickard Ress (see back)                       D. Richard Rees. California native son born
                                                                                  at Vallecito, Calaveras-co in 1869. Came to
                                                                                  Livermore with family in 1875 and educated in
                                                                                  public schools. Started drug business as
                                                                                  clerk under N. Gray 1887; three years later he
                                                                                  entered California College of

lhg443_back.tif                   back of 443
lhg0444.tif     Field Artillery   1926 Battery E. 143rd Field Artillery. Camp Del 1926 Battery E. 143rd Field Artillery. Camp
                                  Monte from Livermore                            Del Monte from Livermore
lhg0445.tif      Grocery Stores   Del Valle Mercontile                            Del Valle Mercantile located in Foresters Hall,
                                                                                  NW corner of 2nd & J.
lhg0446.tif    Grocery Stores        George Beck's Store. (See back)                  George Beck's store, north side of first near
                                                                                      the flagpole (2212-2216 1st Street is the
                                                                                      current address numbers for this location).
                                                                                      Archie Bowles behind counter. Marshall Pratt,
                                                                                      and Roy Beck.
                                                                                      The rope in front of the counter was pulled
                                                                                      from the basement
lhg446_back.tif                      back of 446
lhg0447.tif     Grocery Stores       Livermore Commercial. (See back)                 Livermore Commercial, located west and
                                                                                      north of The Hub at 1st & Livermore (it
                                                                                      wrapped around The Hub with entrances on
                                                                                      both 1st and Livermore). Joe Callaghan in
                                                                                      photo. Joe Callaghan and Bob Worth left
                                                                                      Livermore Commercial and went into business
                                                                                      for the
lhg447_back.tif                      back of 445
lhg0448.tif     Grocery Stores       Purity store. SE corner 1st & L. Feb 19, 1950.  Purity store. SE corner 1st & L. Feb 19,         1950
                                     Hank Stratmann                                  1950. Hank Stratmann
lhg0449.tif    Grocery Stores        Purity store. SE corner 1st & L. Feb 19, 1950.  Purity store. SE corner 1st & L. Feb 19,         1950
                                     Hank Stratmann                                  1950. Hank Stratmann
lhg0450.tif    Grocery Stores        Safeway                                         Safeway, at the Arcade shopping Center.          1975
                                                                                     Taken from the "So Pac Co" Annual report for
                                                                                     1975
lhg0451.tif    Highway Garage        Garage (no writing)                             Highway Garage in Livermore
lhg0452.tif    Highway Garage        Royal Crown Cola Robert C Myers photo.          Royal Crown Cola sign on the Highway
                                                                                     Garage. This sign is still at the garage.
lhg0453.tif    Highway Garage        cylinder grinder corp                           Cylinder Grinder Corporation poster, for the
                                                                                     Highway Garage.
lhg0454.tif    Highway Garage        Copy of Painting by Merilyn Calhoun             Photo of a Painting of the highway garage by
                                                                                     Merilyn Calhoun
lhg0455.tif    Highway Garage        Copy of Painting by Merilyn Calhoun             Photo of a Painting of the highway garage by
                                                                                     Merilyn Calhoun
lhg0456.tif    Highway Garage        Highway Garage before 1984                      Aerial photo of the Highway Garage. Prior to
                                                                                     1984
lhg0457.tif    Highway Garage        Frank Duarte. See pic                           Frank Duarte, looking through garage window
                                                                                     at what is now Portola Ave.
lhg0458.tif    Highway Garage        Showing EFG and his Star auto with trombone & Earnie Gohler and his Star auto with trombone
                                     alto horn of Livermore Municipal band about     & alto horn of Livermore Municipal band about
                                     1925. EF Gohler                                 1925. EF Gohler
lhg0459.tif    Highway Garage        old cars at garage. Color
lhg0460.tif    Highway Garage        old pic of front of Duarte Garage. View from
                                     front through door
lhg0461.tif    Highway Garage        Garage w/old cars                               Highway Garage, about 1918
lhg0462.tif    Highway Garage        Garage ~1925. From EF Gohler Sr. Ernie with Ernie Gohler with his Star Auto. Spare Tire
                                     Star Auto, spare tire cover from Duarte Garage. cover from the Duarte Garage.

lhg0463.tif    Highway Garage        Garage Interior                                Duarte Highway Garage interior
lhg0464.tif    Highway Garage        Garage Interior                                Duarte Highway Garage interior
lhg0465.tif    Highway Garage        1920 Seagrane Firetruck the day it was towed   1920 Seagraves Firetruck the day it was
                                     from the field near the sewer farm to the      towed from the field near the sewer farm to
                                     highway garage. Oct 1976. From Valley Times    the highway garage. Oct 1976. From Valley
                                                                                    Times. This was Livermore's first gasoline-
                                                                                    powered fire truck.
lhg0466.tif    Highway Garage        Fire Truck. L-R front seat: Susan Junk, Nancy 1944 Mack pumper.. L-R front seat: Susan
                                     Bireley, Jerry Bireley                         Junk, Nancy Bireley, Jerry Bireley
lhg0467.tif    Highway Garage        Early Vintage Fire Truck                       The 1920 Seagraves Pumper
lhg0468.tif    Highway Garage        Fire Truck. L-R front seat: Susan Junk, Nancy The 1920 Seagraves Pumper
                                     Bireley, Jerry Bireley
lhg0469.tif    Highway Garage        Mack Firetruck being brought into Garage. L-R: 1944 Mack Firetruck being brought into
                                     Kilsy Junk, Susan Junk, Jerry Bireley          Garage. L-R: Kilsy Junk, Susan Junk, Jerry
                                                                                    Bireley
lhg0470.tif    Highway Garage        Lincoln Highway officials … see pic            Lincoln Highway Officials, engaged in first
                                                                                    hand investigatoin of besert conditions in
                                                                                    1917. Encountered Difficulties
lhg0471.tif    Highway Garage        Car showing spare tire cover from Duarte       Car showing spare tire cover from Duarte
                                     Garage. From EF Gohler Sr.                     Garage. From EF Gohler Sr.
lhg0472.tif    St. Paul's Hospital   St. Paul's Hospital                            St. Paul's Hospital, established in 1927 by Dr.
                                                                                    Paul Dolan
lhg0473.tif    Livermore Cannon      Cannon. Color                                  Town cannon, provenance unknown, and
                                                                                    stolen from Rincon Fire station about 1990.
lhg0474.tif        Livermore Cannon        Cannon. Color                                  Town cannon, provenance unknown, and
                                                                                          stolen from Rincon Fire station about 1990.
lhg0475.tif        Livermore Cannon        Cannon                                         Town cannon, provenance unknown, and
                                                                                          stolen from Rincon Fire station about 1990.
lhg0476.tif        Livermore Cannon        Cannon in Carnegie Park (different cannon from Cannon in Carnegie Park
                                           above)
lhg0477.tif        Lvr Centennial          Time Capsule. See back 1 & 2                   Livermore Time Capsule sealing at City Hall.
                                                                                          Taking part in the ceremony to place the
                                                                                          contents into the Centennial Time Capsule on
                                                                                          April 17, 1974 were the following, fromleft:
                                                                                          Mayor Bob Pritchard, Nerald News
                                                                                          photographer Lee Estes, Councilman Don
                                                                                          Miller
lhg477_back.tif    Lvr Centennial          Back of 477
lhg477_backb.tif   Lvr Centennial          Back of another image of 477
lhg0478.tif        Lvr Centennial          Plaque, centennial                             Centennial Plaque.
lhg0479.tif        Lvr Centennial          L-R: Paul Heppner, Joe Concannon, Glenn        L-R: Paul Heppner, Joe Concannon, Glenn                1969
                                           Coffey, Karl Wente. Sept 4, 69                 Coffey, Karl Wente. Sept 4, 69
lhg0480.tif        Lvr Centennial          Dedication of Mills Sq Park                    Dedication of Mills Sq Park
                                           Back of 480
lhg0481.tif        Lvr Centennial          Livermore Beautification. From about 1969.     Livermore Beautification. Feb 28, 1969                 1969
                                           Feb 28, 1969
lhg0482.tif        Lvr Fire Dept           City Hall fire station                         City Hall Fire Station, probably in the mid 50s        1955

lhg0483.tif        Lvr Fire Dept           Firetrucks                                      Fire trucks at the Independence Hall fire
                                                                                           station
lhg0484.tif        Lvr Fire Dept           Fire Chief Al Binne & Mayor Louis Gardella      Fire Chief Al Binne & Mayor Louis Gardella
lhg0485.tif        Lvr Fire Dept           Alameda County Fire Patrol. July 15, 1938       Alameda County Fire Patrol. July 15, 1938
lhg0486.tif        Lvr Naval Air Station   aircraft construction                           This appears to be the construction of training
                                                                                           aircraft in one of the hangers.
lhg0487.tif        Lvr Naval Air Station   NAS marching                                    Cadets marching July 15, 1943. Looking west           1943
                                                                                           down Second Street.. This photo was taken
                                                                                           from the top of the administrative building.
                                                                                           The hangers would be behind and to the right,
                                                                                           with East Ave parallel to this street, to the left.


lhg0488.tif        Lvr Naval Air Station   Marching. Flight training. Cadets marching      This parade picture was taken several                 1943
                                           July 15, 1943                                   minutes before the one above. It is looking
                                                                                           north-east. The administrative building is
                                                                                           behind the flag. This building is still present at
                                                                                           the lab. One of the hangers can be seed to its
                                                                                           left. July 15, 1943
lhg0489.tif        Lvr Naval Air Station   From Air                                        Probably early 1942, during the initial               1942
                                                                                           construction, looking east. East Ave. is to the
                                                                                           right. The airfield would be to the left of this
                                                                                           photo. Several buildings of this shape remain
                                                                                           at the lab. It appears that the building on the
                                                                                           left is still at the
lhg0490.tif        Lvr Naval Air Station   air field from air                              Livermore Naval Air Station airfield looking
                                                                                           north east, with the intersection of Vasco and
                                                                                           East Ave. at the bottom. Greenville road is on
                                                                                           the far side, going from the right toward the
                                                                                           upper left. It crosses the WP railroad tracks
                                                                                           near the upper left, j
lhg0491.tif        Lvr Naval Air Station   from air - Airplanes                            This picture was taken from the air toward the
                                                                                           north west, at the eastern end of the air
                                                                                           station. A mixture of biplanes and single wing
                                                                                           planes can be seen near the hanger. There
                                                                                           appears to be a lot of construction material
                                                                                           around.
lhg0492.tif        Lvr St. & Roads         Sidewalk by Yin Yin. Old wooden pipe            Sidewalk by Yin Yin. Old wooden pipe                  1988
                                           discovered.                                     discovered.
lhg0493.tif        Lvr St. & Roads         Sidewalk by Yin Yin. Old wooden pipe            Sidewalk by Yin Yin. Old wooden pipe                  1988
                                           discovered.                                     discovered.
lhg0494.tif        Lvr St. & Roads         No. Livermore Ave. from chestnut to rr ave.     North Livermore Ave from Chestnut to                  1974
                                                                                           Railroad Ave.
lhg0495.tif        Lvr St. & Roads         colorized first st.                             Colorized version of photo #59
lhg0496.tif        Lvr St. & Roads         ? Road. H Thomas. 1974                          Unknown Location. 1974?
lhg0497.tif     Lvr St. & Roads               South side 2nd st between J & K                      Originally Jay Dutcher Carriage factory.
                                                                                                   Demolished in 1958 to build Bank of America,
                                                                                                   now US Bank on Second St between J and K.

lhg0498.tif     Lvr St. & Roads               Underpass, Livermore Ave I think                     Livermore Ave underpass, removing the                1975
                                                                                                   grade crossing at the WP tracks. The taller
                                                                                                   building on the right was the Crest Hotel,
                                                                                                   demolished in 1978. the next building is the
                                                                                                   Gardemeyer which currently contains a tattoo
                                                                                                   parlor. The little white building on

lhg0499.tif     Lvr St. & Roads               Livermore Pass US Hw50                               Livermore Pass US Hw50
lhg0500.tif     Lvr St. & Roads               L st at fir left is old Wahington Hotel. Mrs Grace   L St, at First, looking south. The Washington
                                              Sweeney                                              Hotel is at the left.
lhg0501.tif     Lvr St. & Roads               Probably East Ave at present LLNL Entrance           East Ave, at present LLNL Entrance.
lhg0502.tif     Lvr St. & Roads               Plowing up 2nd street on east side of So             Plowing up Second Street on east side of
                                              Livermore (see back)                                 South Livermore Avenue to divert flood
                                                                                                   waters. Aunt Lizzie Oliver's home is in the
                                                                                                   foreground. The Pacific T&T Co building now
                                                                                                   on same ground. Plow outfit owned by Dave
                                                                                                   McDonald, the man stepping over the plow (

lhg502_back.tif                               Back of 502.
lhg0503.tif     Lvr St. & Roads               East Ave near lab. Tree identified by Mal            Backwards photo of #501
                                              Sweet.
lhg0504.tif     Lvr St. & Roads               P St. Underpass construction                         P St Underpass Construction. ~1976?
lhg0505.tif     Lvr St. & Roads               P sSt.Underpass contruction Henery Thomas            P St Underpass Construction. ~1976?
                                              Photo
lhg0506.tif     Lvr St. & Roads               P St. Underpass construction                         P St Underpass Construction. ~1976?
lhg0507.tif     From Gary - Aerial                                                                 Downtown from the air, looking east north
                                                                                                   east. Flagpole at original location. The Hub is
                                                                                                   still there. North half of post office is present.
                                                                                                   Sweeney Opera house is gone.
lhg0508.tif     From Gary - Aerial                                                                 Downtown, looking west. WP station is still
                                                                                                   present, Sweeney Opera House is gone.

lhg0509.tif     From Gary - Aerial                                                                 Downtown looking north. College Ave near
                                                                                                   the bottom. Sweeney Opera House appears
                                                                                                   to be there, as is WP station. Washington
                                                                                                   Hotel is gone
lhg0510.tif     From Gary - Aerial                                                                 Downtown, looking west. WP depot appears
                                                                                                   to be present. Sweeney Opera House is not.

lhg0511.tif     From Gary - Roboli House       Roboli House                                        Roboli House
lhg0512.tif                                    Arroyo
                slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium Sanitarium - Livermore                         Arroyo Sanitarium, looking south. Arroyo
                                               General View                                        Road in the forground. Del Valle Dam area
                                                                                                   (not constructed yet) is just above buildings
                                                                                                   on the left.
lhg0513.tif                                    Arroyo
                slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium Sanitarium - Livermore                         Same image as #512, but less cropped. The
                                               Hospital Group from the Superintendants             bridge is over the Arroyo Del Valle.
                                               Residence (this seems wrong for this view)
lhg0514.tif                                    Arroyo
                slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium Sanitarium - Livermore                         Arroyo Sanitarium. Infirmary building on the
                                               Medical Building Infirmary & Service Bldg           left, service building on the right. Cresta
                                                                                                   Blanca hill is behind the service building.

lhg0515.tif                                    Arroyo
                slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium Sanitarium - Livermore                         Slightly different angle, from further back from
                                               Hospital Group from the Superintendants             #514.
                                               Residence
lhg0516.tif                                    Arroyo
                slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium Sanitarium - Livermore                         Arroyo Sanitarium Infirmary Building. This is
                                               Infirmary Building                                  the building on the left in #514 & 515.
lhg0517.tif                                    Arroyo
                slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium Sanitarium - Livermore                         Arroyo Sanitarium - Livermore
                                               Dormatory for Ambulant Patients                     Dormitory for Ambulant Patients
lhg0518.tif                                    Arroyo
                slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium Sanitarium - Livermore                         Arroyo Sanitarium - Livermore
                                               Dormatory for Ambulant Patients                     Dormatory for Ambulant Patients Same
                                                                                                   building as #517, but from a different angle.
lhg0519.tif                                    Arroyo
                slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium Sanitarium - Livermore                         Arroyo Sanitarium - Livermore
                                               Service Building                                    Service Building
                                                                                                   Building on the right in #514
lhg0520.tif                                    Arroyo
                slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium Sanitarium - Livermore                         Arroyo Sanitarium - Livermore
                                               Children's Building                                 Children's Building
lhg0521.tif                                  Arroyo
              slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium Sanitarium - Livermore                        Arroyo Sanitarium - Livermore
                                             Nurses Home                                        Nurses Home
lhg0522.tif                                  Arroyo
              slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium Sanitarium - Livermore                        Arroyo Sanitarium - Livermore
                                             Employee's Building                                Employee's Building
lhg0523.tif                                  Arroyo
              slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium Sanitarium - Livermore                        Arroyo Sanitarium - Livermore
                                             Women Employee's Building                          Women Employee's Building
lhg0524.tif                                  Arroyo
              slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium Sanitarium - Livermore                        Arroyo Sanitarium - Livermore
                                             Recreational Room and Vocational Therapy           Recreational Room and Vocational Therapy
                                             Exibit                                             Exibit
lhg0525.tif                                  Del Valle Farm for Children
              slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium                                               Del Valle Farm for Children, part of the
                                             Livermore, California                              Livermore Sanitarium. The infirmary buildings
                                                                                                of the Sanitarium are shown up the hill.

lhg0526.tif                                  Two
              slide from Gary - Arroyo Sanitarium images                                        Del Valle Farm for Children, part of the
                                             Service Building - Del Valle Farm for Children     Livermore Sanitarium
                                             Del Valle Farm for Children
lhg0527.tif   Livermore Parades              PFL Parades
lhg0528.tif   Livermore Parades                                                            1933
lhg0529.tif   Livermore Parades                                                            1933
lhg0530.tif   Livermore Parades                                                            1933
lhg0531.tif   Livermore Parades              "The Holm Kids" in wagons pulled by a horse.
                                             June 15, 1937 on Bear Photo Service mark on
                                             back.
                                             L-R: Leslie Holm, Bobby Holm, Frank Holm (twin
                                             brother of Tillie Calhoun), Carl Stebbins, Shirley
                                             Miller, Merilyn Holm (now Tillie Calhoun), Richie
                                             Holm, Jmmy
lhg0532.tif   Livermore Parades              L. Passeales??
lhg0533.tif   Livermore Parades              Children's Rodeo Parade 6/9/35
                                             In front is Louis Santucci, born 1928, Nephew of
                                             Max Baer
lhg0534.tif   Livermore Parades              Parade on 1st St. Bush Variety (Marx-                                                              1930
                                             Rosenthal Bldg) in center background.
lhg0535.tif   Livermore Parades              1st & L looking NW. Building in forground:
                                             Smallcomb Cheverolet? Overland? Bldg -
                                             Lassen Grocery? (606 shows HW Lassen
                                             Transfer & Storage). This is a post card
lhg0536.tif   Livermore Parades              Livermore Rodeo Parade. Fred Shidakeron
                                             roan horse "Cotti" as escort to float. Either the
                                             Farmers or Cattleman's Protective Assn
                                             (probably Farmers, as word is not long enough
                                             to be Cattlemans)
lhg0537.tif   Livermore Parades              E First Street looking east. Sweeny Opera
                                             House R at corner of McLeod also old city hall
                                             (formerly a hotel & and bank). Lastly the police
                                             Bldg.
lhg0538.tif   Livermore Parades              Livermore High & Grammer Schools Band. 176
                                             lawless photo
lhg0539.tif   Livermore Parades              Part of 12 photo contact sheet
              Livermore Parades              Part of 12 photo contact sheet
              Livermore Parades              Part of 12 photo contact sheet
              Livermore Parades              Part of 12 photo contact sheet
              Livermore Parades              Part of 12 photo contact sheet
              Livermore Parades              Part of 12 photo contact sheet
              Livermore Parades              Part of 12 photo contact sheet
              Livermore Parades              Part of 12 photo contact sheet
              Livermore Parades              Part of 12 photo contact sheet
              Livermore Parades              Part of 12 photo contact sheet
              Livermore Parades              Part of 12 photo contact sheet
              Livermore Parades              Part of 12 photo contact sheet
lhg0551.tif   Livermore Parades              Home Coming Celebration at Livermore July 4,
                                             1919 "Livermore CFL" ??
lhg0552.tif   Livermore Parades              Odd Fellows Hall
lhg0553.tif   Livermore Parades              Drum Major may be Art Isensee. 1936 or 37
lhg0554.tif   Livermore Parades              Children's Rodeo Parade 6/9/35. 6/14/35 on
                                             photo development stamp (Bear). Veterans Hall
                                             in background.
lhg0555.tif   Livermore Parades              Horribles Parade. On first St, appears to be a
                                             night.
lhg0556.tif   Livermore Parades              Cresta Blance Float
lhg0557.tif    Livermore Parades    no writing on photo. Military band on 1st St..
                                    Very old. No cars. Feidler's Fashion Stable on
                                    right.
lhg0558.tif    Livermore Parades    1955. Appears to be rodeo parade, on 1st St (at
                                    IOOF)
lhg0559.tif    Livermore Parades    Foresters float. Bill Elliott's Studio. 1953
lhg0560.tif    Livermore Parades    Merchant: A Bistorious Bazaar and his 1896          1896
                                    Parade float - Livermore
lhg0561.tif    Livermore Parades    Scouts
lhg0562.tif    Livermore Parades    No text on photo. Crowd & Band. Probaby at
                                    gas station at 1st & L.
lhg0563.tif    Livermore Parades    No text on photo. Very old parade. St.
                                    Michael's visible. E 1st St.
lhg0564.tif    Livermore Parades    Parade on First St. World War veterans
lhg0565.tif    Livermore Parades    No text. 1st St. Lions Club float. Another float    1935
                                    has 1835 -1935 on it.
lhg0566.tif    Livermore Parades    E First St. showing old city hall at SE corner of
                                    McLeio. Sweeney's opera house at SW corner.

lhg0567.tif    Livermore Parades    4th of July Parade float
lhg0568.tif    Livermore Parades    E First St. showing old city hall at SE corner of
                                    McLeio. Sween's opera house at SW corner.

lhg0569.tif    Livermore Parades    Parade moving east on First St., near Marx-         1920
                                    Rosenthal Bldg, circa mid 20s.
lhg0570.tif    Livermore Parades    Lion's Club Freight Wagon in 1932 parade,           1920
                                    heading east on 1st St. in front of Dutcher Bldg.

lhg0571.tif    Livermore Parades    Margaret McCuruber, Dick Mason, Rodeo               1935
                                    parade entry Farm Bureau 1935. Aug 30, 1935
                                    on developing stamp (Bear)
lhg0572.tif    Livermore Parades
lhg0573.tif    Livermore Parades    Parade float on 2nd St next to the Golden Rule      1936
                                    Creamery.
lhg0574.tif    Livermore Parades    IDES Float, Early 30s                               1930
lhg0575.tif    Livermore Parades    Rodeo float in intersection of First & So.          1936
                                    Livermore Av. Bank of Am building in
                                    background. Developing print: June 16, 1936
lhg0576.tif    Livermore Parades    4th of July Parade E 1st City Hall & Sweeneys
                                    Might be 1905??
lhg0577.tif    Livermore Parades    Parade heading east on Main St. toward the flag
                                    pole would have been early 1920s or late teens

lhg0578.tif    Livermore Parades    Camp fire girls float. Rodeo parade 1933?
                                    Elizabeth Mack & Wilda Lemay - standing at
                                    tent. Mary Warren-Virginia Wolf & Alice Nelson
                                    in front of tent. Dorothy Young at Loom.

lhg0579.tif    Livermore Parades    Livermore High & Grammar School Band '76
                                    (or 176) Lawless Photo
lhg0580.tif    Livermore Parades    Drum Major may be Art Isensee
lhg0581.tif    Livermore Parades    Photograph of Eagles Lodge (FOE #609) entries
                                    in the IDES (Holy Ghost) parade in early 1930s.
                                    Donated by John Rogers, 2345 Paul Ave,
                                    Livermore CA 94550-4607 tel 449-1212
                                    He has identified the following people:
                                    #2 Wenhouser (a local furniture dealer) [Hen

lhg581_back.tif                     Description sheet for 581. See photo.
lhg0582.tif     Livermore Parades   Rodeo Parade Farm Bureau 1836
                                    Etta Leferoer? Ogeta Sweet (Burson) Mrs.
                                    Ruter, Helen Johnson
lhg0583.tif    Livermore Parades    LHG 1944 Mack Firetruck. 2/25/82 written on         1982
                                    back.
lhg0584.tif    Livermore Parades    OdHS Livermore Lodge No 13
lhg0585.tif    Livermore Parades    Parade on First St marching east and then
                                    towards the Eagles Hall. IDES the Portuguesa
                                    Society. Picnic.
lhg0586.tif       Livermore Parades   May 16, 1932 development mark, Bear photo
                                      service (on 586 & 587)
                                      Letter with photos 586-603:
                                      June 26, 1998
                                      These photos were located by my brother John
                                      Harville, recently. We felt they might find a
                                      place in your establishment. Our family resided
                                      in Live
lhg0587.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586. This one also has the May 16, 1932
                                      development mark.
lhg0588.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0589.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0590.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0591.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0592.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0593.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0594.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0595.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0596.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0597.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0598.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0599.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0600.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0601.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0602.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg0603.tif       Livermore Parades   See 586.
lhg603_back.tif
lhg0604.tif       Livermore Parades   Red Cross nurses parade on 1st St (Marx            1919
                                      Rosenthal Bldg in background). 1919. Gift of
                                      Philip Rosales. This is a photocopy
lhg0605.tif       Livermore Parades   Gift of Philip Rosales?. This is a photocopy.      1919
                                      Flagpole & McLeod Building. July 4, 1919
lhg0606.tif       Livermore Parades   Patriotic Parade During World War 1.
                                      Livermore Calif Circa 1917. Donated by
                                      Margaret Azevedo Roemer
                                      This is a photocopy
                                      H W Lassen Transfer & Storage
lhg0607.tif       Coast Manufac       Seagrave Firetruck. 1920
lhg0608.tif       Coast Manufac       Entrance to Coast Mfg & Supply Co Fuse Works
                                      (Trevarno).
lhg0609.tif       Coast Manufac       Coast Manufacturing from the air, east side.
                                      Looking north
lhg0610.tif       Coast Manufac       Coast Manufacturing from the air, west side,
                                      including Trevarno Rd. Looking north
lhg0611.tif       Coast Manufac       wide shot of 4 photos put together. Looking
                                      north
lhg0612.tif       Coast Manufac       Building - 1929? (photo of back is blurry)
lhg0613.tif       Coast Manufac       Trevarno being paved.
lhg0614.tif       Coast Manufac       Fuse works products.
lhg0615.tif       Coast Manufac       Entrance to Coast Mfg & Supply Co Fuse Works
                                      (Trevarno)
lhg0616.tif       Coast Manufac       Norris House?
lhg0617.tif       Coast Manufac       A conference
                                      Tom Norris, Pres, Center Front
                                      Ralph Merrit, right end, front
                                      Victor Black, Supt, left end back
                                      Rt end back, Robert Irvine, Max Woltz
lhg0618.tif       Coast Manufac       Aerial view showing west side of fuse works and
                                      Trevarno Road.
lhg0619.tif       Coast Manufac       Trevarno road with snow. Looking south.
                                      1929? Note: Other snow photos in Livermore
                                      are dated Jan 20 (or 30), 1922
lhg0620.tif       Coast Manufac       Conference
                                      sitting, 4th from left, TW Norris, President
                                      7th from left, RE Merrit, Vice Pres (later pres)
                                      Standing, 1st: VD Black
                                      5th from left: RJ Irvine, Chemist
                                      6th from left, Max Woltz, Comptroller
lhg0621.tif   Coast Manufac            Text from attached letter:                                    1922
                                       This picture was taken approximately 1922 or
                                       1923. The six girls were all friends who went to
                                       a private boarding school - Miss Merriman's in
                                       Oakland.
                                       From left to right:
                                        1. Marian Browning (not of Lvr)
                                        2. Josephine Healey (no
lhg0622.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   First Model Plane Meet Livermore. Frank Gill in
                                       Charge. Lawless photo 8911
                                       Text from back:
                                       In the early 60's Mr. Ernest Wente told me this
                                       man was one of the local heros from Livermore
                                       from World War II.
                                       Bernard Madden (signed)
                                       owned Davisons Parm pursh
lhg0623.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Text from back:
                                       This is P Picture taken by Lawless who owned a
                                       Parmacy on the corner of first & K during the
                                       30s and 40s.
                                       I think this is where the lab is now located (Ed
                                       note: NOT where the lab is).
                                       Bernard J Madden
                                       I bought the Drugstore called Davisons
lhg0624.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Livermore Skyranch. Nov 5, 1935 development check back        1935
                                       mark. "Livermore CAA station"
lhg0625.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Mrs. Marfreda Coffin (health nurse) and flight   check back   1947
                                       instructor at Skyranch. Wm George, 8/22/47
lhg0626.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Crash landing. Prob is bent. Looks like no                    1937
                                       wheels. Aug 1937
lhg0627.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Livermore Skyranch terminal building. "LASF
                                       33" on back of building.
lhg0628.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Livermore Skyranch. Terminal buildings in                     1935
                                       background. 1935 photo development mark.
                                       May 4, 1935
lhg0629.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Skyranch beacon 2/22/33                                       1933
lhg0630.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Crash landing, as in #625. NC11419.                           1937
                                       8/20/1937
lhg0631.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Crash landing, different view. 8/20/1937                      1937
lhg0632.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Crash landing, different view. 8/20/1937                      1937
lhg0633.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Livermore Skyranch, field and terminal                        1933
                                       buildings.
lhg0634.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Livermore Skyranch, taken from the terminal                   1933
                                       building of a biplane.
lhg0635.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Livermore Skyranch, biplane with pilot inside.                1929
                                       VD Black Jr of CM&S Co in his airplane. His
                                       pilot's license was dated August 1929.
lhg0636.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Livermore Skyranch - hangers and planes.
lhg0637.tif   Lvr Airport (Skyranch)   Livermore Skyranch - runway with planes lined                 1960
                                       up. Hanger in background.
lhg0638.tif   May School               May School, probably when it was in use.
lhg0639.tif   May School               Water Tower at May School - 1915-18. Minnie
                                       Cardoze Foster, Helen Mondot
lhg0640.tif   May School               May School class 1915-18, 1st, 2nd & 3rd grade
                                       students.
                                       Miss Beukers, teacher, Anita Stankey, Billy
                                       Manning, Norma Stanley, Joseph Rose, Ida
                                       Cardoza Taylor, Billy Mondot, John Fannuchi,
                                       Chester Silva, Melvin Christensen, Rosalind
                                       Raymond Ratti, Billy Mur
lhg0641.tif   May School               May School class 1915-18
                                       Back row: Alfred Silva, Irvin Silva, Louise
                                       Fannuchi Fischer, Etta Stankey Anderson, Miss
                                       Deukers, teacher, Edith Raymond Rasmussen,
                                       Katie Stankey, Viola Stankey
                                       2nd row: Billie Mondot, Margaret Ramond
                                       Brown, Frances Murrey, John
lhg0642.tif   May School          Kids in water tower, May School. 1915-18
                                  Edith Raymond Rasmussen, Louise Fannuchi
                                  Fischer, Mabel Rose Meyers, Phyllis Mondot,
                                  Helen Mondot, Margaret Raymond Brown.

lhg0643.tif   May School          May School 1915-18
                                  Rosalind Raymond Ratti, Billy Manning, Helen
                                  Mondot, Joseph Rose, Margaret Raymond
                                  Brown, William Mondot, Mabel Rose Meyers,
                                  John Fannuchi, Edity Raymond Rasmussen

lhg0644.tif   May School          May School 1915-18
                                  Grass Fight
                                  Joseph Rose, Margaret Raymond Brown, Mabel
                                  Rose Meyers, Louise Fannuchi Fischer,
                                  Rosalind Raymond Ratti, Billie Mondot, Ida
                                  Cordoza Taylor.
lhg0645.tif   May School          From the book "Valley Profile - a Photographic
                                  Essay on the Livermore Valley of California

lhg0646.tif   May School          May school former students. Photo by Mr TE
                                  Peiffer.
lhg0647.tif   May School          Wm McDonald, Teacher May District. 1896
                                  Livermore Herald.
lhg0648.tif   May School          Gathering for the restoration of May School. TE
                                  Peiffer (photographer)
lhg0649.tif   May School          May school, boarded up.
lhg0650.tif   May School          May school, boarded up.
lhg0651.tif   May School          May school, boarded up.
lhg0652.tif   May School          May School, roof reconstruction, 1975
lhg0653.tif   May School          May School, reconstruction. From Herald.
lhg0654.tif   May School          Help Restore May School.
                                  L-R: David Nielsen, Dorothy Neilsen, ?? Sign
                                  painter
lhg0655.tif   May School          Help Restore May School
                                  Dorothy Nielsen on right
lhg0656.tif   May School          May School former pupils.
lhg0657.tif   May School          May School reconstruction event? TE Peiffer
                                  photo.
lhg0658.tif   May School          May school, boarded up.
lhg0659.tif   May School          May school, boarded up.
lhg0660.tif   May School          May School after it burned
lhg0661.tif   May School          May School after it burned
lhg0662.tif   May School          May School after it burned
lhg0663.tif   May School          Color Poloriod of May school, the day before it
                                  burned down.
                                  "These were taken the day before the fire. I
                                  hope that they will be of some use. Cpt Ray
                                  Leisner. 1/23/80.
lhg0664.tif   May School          Color Poloriod of May school, the day before it
                                  burned down
lhg0665.tif   May School          Color Poloriod of May school, the day before it
                                  burned down, inside
lhg0666.tif   Joaquin Murrietta   From back of post card:
                                  This picture is claimed to be an actual
                                  photogaph of Joaquine Murrietta, the famous
                                  Mother Lode bandit, taken in 1850 when he was
                                  operating a "gambling tent" on Main Street in
                                  Murphys, California. The original
                                  daguerreotype, as gi
lhg0667.tif   Churches Catholic   St. Michael's Academy, Sept 21, 1913, the day
                                  of its dedication. This building housed the
                                  school classrooms as well as living quarters for
                                  the Dominican Sisters. In 1966, the building
                                  was remodeled to serve as the Parish Education
                                  Center. The building
lhg0668.tif   Churches Catholic   Different print of the same image as 667
lhg0669.tif   Churches Catholic            St. Michael's Church under construction. Built in
                                           1916-1918, Nearly completed in this photo.
                                           Photo from book on St. Michael's History.

lhg0670.tif   Churches Catholic            Same image as above photo.
lhg0671.tif   Churches Catholic            St. Michael's Church.
lhg0672.tif   Churches Catholic            Old St. Michael's Church on 1st St. From
                                           Herald Midwinter Edition, 1/25/1896
lhg0673.tif   Churches Catholic            Old St. Michael's Church. The SP railroad
                                           tracks run in front of the church. Donated by
                                           Mrs. Grace Sweeney.
lhg0674.tif   Churches Catholic            Old St. Michael's church with horse drawn
                                           carriages in front.
lhg0675.tif   Churches Catholic            Old St. Michael's church taken south of the       See back of 35
                                           church.
lhg0676.tif   Churches Catholic            Old St. Michael's church about 1910
lhg0677.tif   Churches Catholic            Old St. Michael's church fire.
lhg0678.tif   Churches Catholic            Old St. Michael's church fire. From book on the
                                           church history.
lhg0679.tif   Churches Catholic            St. Michael's 100th anniversary cake on
                                           September 14, 1978. Mrs. Angelo Schenone
                                           and Janet Newton.
lhg0680.tif   Churches Catholic            St. Michael's Church
lhg0681.tif   Churches Catholic            St. Michael's Church
lhg0682.tif   Churches Catholic            St. Michael's Church. Mar 1969 photo
                                           developing mark. Photo is probaby much older
                                           than that.
lhg0683.tif   Churches Catholic            St. Michael's Church. Mar 1969 photo
                                           developing mark. Photo is probaby much older
                                           than that.
lhg0684.tif   Churches Presby              First Presbyterian Church, SW corner of 4th & K
                                           12/1/1935
lhg0685.tif   Churches Presby              First Presbyterian Church. March 1969 photo
                                           development mark.
lhg0686.tif   Churches Presby              First Presbyterian Church. When entrance was
                                           on K St at SW corner of 4th.
lhg0687.tif   Churches Presby              First Presybterian Church on SW corner K and
                                           rth. Beyond the church the home of Dr. C.G.
                                           Gordon is at the NW corder of K and 4th St.
                                           This house was moved to Tesla Rd at
                                           Concannon Vineyard by Dorothy and David
                                           Nielsen.
lhg0688.tif   Churches Presby              First Presbyterian Church.
lhg0689.tif   Churches Presby              Presbyterian Group at the Carnegie Building
                                           (library) around 1946-50. Elliott H Dopking
                                           photo
lhg0690.tif   Churches Presby              First Presbyterian Church. Same image as 686,
                                           which is better
lhg0691.tif   Churches Presby              First Presbyterian Church entrance.
lhg0692.tif   Churches Presby              William Wallace Brier. Founder in 1871 of First
                                           Presbyterian Church.
lhg0693.tif   Churches Baptist             First Baptist Church
lhg0694.tif   Churches Baptist             Trinity Baptist Church (old building)
lhg0695.tif                                This
              Churches Christian & Missionary was originally the Episcopal church. NE
                                           corner of 5th & J. Later the Christian Missionary
                                           Alliance Church. Currently (2004) Good
                                           Shephard Lutheran Church. It is difficult to read
                                           the sign, but it appears to say Episcopal on it.

lhg0696.tif                                Christian Missionary Alliance church. Much later
              Churches Christian & Missionary
                                           than 695
lhg0697.tif   Churches Episcopal           First Episcopal church, NE corner of 5th & J.
                                           Photo from Mrs. Grace Sweeney.
lhg0698.tif   Churches Episcopal           First Episcopal church.
lhg0699.tif   Churches Methodist           Methodist Church, 3rd & I Streets. 1878?
lhg0700.tif   Churches Methodist     Methodist Church, with additions. Notes on
                                     6/12/05: The church can be seen on photo
                                     #0001 at the very bottom left corner. An email
                                     said that the church sold it and moved to East
                                     Ave June 1961. It became the site of the Herald
                                     News.
lhg0701.tif   Churches Methodist     Methodist Church. Print photo mark March
                                     1969, but photo is much older.
lhg0702.tif   Churches Methodist     Methodist Church, after additiona. EJ Lawless
                                     photo. Postcard
lhg0703.tif   Churches Methodist     Methodist Church, side view
lhg0704.tif   Churches Methodist     Methodist Church, back view, with parsonage.
                                     From Herald Midwinter Edition, Jan 25, 1896

lhg0705.tif   Olivina                Olivina Pasture.
lhg0706.tif   Olivina                Same image as above.
lhg0707.tif   Olivina                Olivina Sign at SW corner of Arroyo Rd &
                                     Wetmore.
lhg0708.tif   Olivina                Drawing of the Olivina Winery. 'Wine Cellar,
                                     Crushing House and Distillery, "Olivina."' From
                                     Bancroft Library.
lhg0709.tif   Olivina                Olivina Winery, Collage of photos of the Olivina
                                     Winery, Grapes, and the house. From Alameda
                                     County Illustrated, Oakland Tribune, 1898. "The
                                     Olivina Vineyard, Livermore". P139

lhg0710.tif   Olivina                Olivina sign, taken looking north
lhg0711.tif   Olivina                Olivina Vineyard drawing, with winery building.
                                     From Bancroft Library
                                     "Olivina" Vineyards and Orchards, Livermore
                                     Valley
lhg0712.tif   Olivina                Drawing of Olivina vineyards. From Bancroft
                                     Library.
                                     Vintage Time on "Olivina"
lhg0713.tif   Olivina                Olivina Wine Tunnels, with Champagne bottles
                                     in riddling racks. Tunnels were behind the
                                     winery.
lhg0714.tif   Olivina                Julius Paul Smithof Olivina
lhg0715.tif   Olivina                Sara B Smith of Olivina. From History of the
                                     San Francisco Bay Region by Bailey Millard.
lhg0716.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Livermore Sanitarium Hydro building. From
                                     1904 booklet about the Lvr Sanitarium.
lhg0717.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Livermore Sanitarium Hydropathic Building.
                                     Copyright Bill Owens
lhg0718.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Livermore Sanitarium Gym. EJ Lawless.
lhg0719.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Mendenhall House on the Livermore Sanitarium.
                                     Henry Thomas. June 1979 (photo probably
                                     earlier).
lhg0720.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Some sort of construction
lhg0721.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   The Gables. From 1904 book about the
                                     Livermore Sanitarium.
lhg0722.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   House being moved at the Livermore
                                     Sanitarium. Henry Thomas, June 1979
lhg0723.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Building at the Livermore Sanitarium
lhg0724.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Livermore Bible College, 1977? Housing near
                                     arroyo.
lhg0725.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Livermore Sanitarium buildings.
lhg0726.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Livermore Sanitarium, distance shot. Gables at
                                     right, Mendenhall house in middle with water
                                     tower behind it. Solarium on left. This photo is
                                     looking south from across College Ave, probably
                                     from the roof of a house on M St.

lhg0727.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Mendenhall House on the Livermore Sanitarium.

lhg0728.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   The Mendenhall grounds, later Livermore
                                     Sanitarium.
lhg0729.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Patio in interior of the Livermore Sanitarium
                                     formerly located at southeast corner of College
                                     Ave & South L St. Taken 6/1/1936
lhg0730.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Pentecostal Bible College "Prayer Tower".
                                     Water tower on at the Livermore Sanitarium.
lhg0731.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Livermore Sanitarium. From Herald Midwinter
                                     Edition, 1/25/1896 page 14. Thie building
                                     ….Livermore Collegiate Institute, or Livermore
                                     College. The college closed soon after the
                                     Livermore Union Hight School opened (The HS
                                     district was formed in 1891). I
lhg0732.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Livermore Sanitarium. Solarium on the right
lhg0733.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Livermore Sanitarium.
lhg0734.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Livermore Sanitarium.
lhg0735.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Livermore Sanitarium.
lhg0736.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Patient room in the Livermore Sanitarium
lhg0737.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Patient room in the Livermore Sanitarium
lhg0738.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Inside the Livermore Sanitarium
lhg0739.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Patient room in the Livermore Sanitarium
lhg0740.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Inside the Livermore Sanitarium
lhg0741.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Livermore Herald photo showing the same
                                     pation as 729.
lhg0742.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Post card of the Hydro Building. Sent to Mr.
                                     Ernest G Wente, 1412 Market St, San
                                     Francisco, care of Grand Central Hotel
                                     California. Postmarked Feb 12, 1914.
                                     Text:
                                     Dear Cousin Ernest,
                                     If it is not too much trouble for you to bring the
                                     dog, I would like t
lhg0743.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   After fire.
lhg0744.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Hydro Building
lhg0745.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Hrdropathic Building, 1890s ?
lhg0746.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Fire at the Livermore Sanitarium
lhg0747.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Postcard of the Gym and Hydro building.
                                     Lawless
lhg0748.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Palm tree path to the Hydro building.
lhg0749.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   The Gymnasium, Livermore Sanitarium. EJ
                                     Lawless. Probably taken from the top of the
                                     Hydro building.
lhg0750.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   The Terapeutic Application of Physical
                                     Education. Add
lhg0751.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Department for the care and treatment of
                                     diseases of the mind. Add
lhg0752.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   The Livermore Sanitarium. Livermore
                                     California. For the treatment of Neurasthenia,
                                     Nervous Dyspeposia, Alcoholism, Morphinism,
                                     and the functional neuroses. Add

lhg0753.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Solarium, Mendenhall House, Gables. From
                                     Herald Midwinter Edition.
lhg0754.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Listed as Gymnasium and Solarium. From
                                     Midwinter Edition.. On back listed as Sanitarium
                                     Gym Solarium.
lhg0755.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Dr. John W Robertson. From Herald Midwinter
                                     Edition
lhg0756.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   The Livermore Sanitarium. From Herald
                                     Midwinter Edition.
lhg0757.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   The red house in the read - all padded for the
                                     bad ones. Photo from Mrs. Grace Sweeney.
                                     This copy from 2/4/1953
lhg0758.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Photo from the air looking north. Arroyo road
                                     runs through the center vertically. Hydro
                                     building to the right of Arroyo Road, with the
                                     Gym further to the right (near right edge). The
                                     water tower can be seen well to the left of
                                     Arroyo Rd. Just to the r
lhg0759.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Solarium, Mendenhall House, Gables. From
                                     Herald Midwinter Edition.
lhg0760.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Gymnasium, fron a distance.
lhg0761.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Destruction of a building. "Herald photo - not to
                                     be reproduced without permission"
lhg0762.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Hydro Building. Very low palm trees.
lhg0763.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Hydro building, palm trees about 5 feet tall
lhg0764.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Hydro building, palm trees are much taller
lhg0765.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   White Cottage - Livermore Sanitarium. Horse &
                                     Buggy
lhg0766.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Water Tower in disrepair. There are some semi
                                     trucks near it. Taken from about where the
                                     Mendenhall house would have been
lhg0767.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Color photo of the water tower. It is in pretty
                                     good shape.
lhg0768.tif   Saloons                The Hub from across first St. around the 1950s,
                                     at Christmas See #144
lhg0769.tif   Saloons                The Hub from the opposite corner of 1st &
                                     Livermore. Power poles are now gone on 1st
                                     St. Buildings beside the Hub, which appear in
                                     #768, are now gone, with the building that
                                     remains today (Sansar) shown. Railroad bridge
                                     on Livermore not yet in.
lhg0770.tif   Saloons                Inside The Hub ?
lhg0771.tif   Saloons                Inside The Hub ? Very different looking than
                                     770 & 771
lhg0772.tif   Saloons                Inside The Hub ?. Sign on wall near right:
                                     "Everybody Drinks Dubonnet". Another says
                                     "Cognac"
lhg0773.tif   Saloons                Wallies Place
lhg0774.tif   Sports                 McGLinchey Brothers Basketball team (runners
                                     up to national champs). From left: John, Joe,
                                     Francis, Bill, Jim
lhg0775.tif   Sports                 McGlincheys (Billy, Joe, Joe Aurrecoechea,
                                     Jimmy, Jack. Cowboys Basketball
lhg0776.tif   Sports                 McGlinchey Family basketball team 1920? See
                                     788
lhg0777.tif   Sports                 1902 Livermore Baseball Club. Beck Drug Co
                                     on uniforms
                                     top row, L-R: Frank Fitzgerald, Robert Worth,
                                     Andrew Anderson, Thomas McMurray, Elmo
                                     Leonhardt, Joe Callaghan, Joe Peters
                                     Seated L-R: John Peters, George Beck, Chester
                                     Langdon
lhg0778.tif   Sports                 1906 Livermore baseball Club.
                                     Ernest Utendoffer, Jim Lamb, Joe Callahan,
                                     Elmo Leonhardt, William Loenthal
                                     Andrew Anderson, Bob Worth, Mark Draghe, Al
                                     Watchers, Charles Taylor
                                     Ray Lamb
lhg0779.tif   Sports                 1908 Baseball Club
                                     L-R: standing: ?, Joe Cavagnaro, ?, ?, Charles
                                     Oswell
                                     Sitting: far right: Willard Barber.
                                     Photo from Vernon J Sappers
lhg0780.tif   Sports                 Livermore Band. Harry Oswell stands at right
                                     with horn.
                                     From Vernon J. Sappers
lhg0781.tif   Sports                 Red men Baseball Team, 1931
lhg0782.tif   Sports                 Girls with swimming trophies.
                                     Carolyn Wattenburger, Nancy Farnam, Judy
                                     Meyers. The Livermore Herald. Elliott H.
                                     Dopking Photography.
                                     Emblem on shirt reads "Aquacowboys".
                                     Trophies on right side read Champion, in middle
                                     read Second Place.
lhg0783.tif   Sports   Johnnie Schneider trophies
                       Saddle, photo, 2 trophies & letter. Trophies very
                       hard to read:
                       Left trophy:
                       ….Royal Easter Show
                       S…y, 1936
                       Most Sucessful Competitor in the Atlantic Steer
                       Riding Competition
                       …
                       International Bulldogging Contest
                       Awarded to Johnny
lhg0784.tif   Sports   Bill Raelunich? of SJ State. 8/19/1938
lhg0785.tif   Sports   Letter attached (undated):
                       Livermore High School Football team, 1909.
                       Front L-R: You kno who (I remember those line
                       spiral punts you used to kick, high, to give
                       Charlie Sweet and myself time to get down
                       under them); Doc O'Donnell, tackle, lives in
                       Oakland
lhg0786.tif   Sports   Listed as Bocci Ball court, SE corner of 2nd & J.
                       Actually playing horseshoes. #795 lists as
                       Horseshoe court
lhg0787.tif   Sports   Horseshoe Courts, SE corner of 2nd & J.
lhg0788.tif   Sports   Family Ball Team, 6 sons. 1920.
                       Top row right: McGlinchey
                       Middle Left: John McGlinchey, 3rd: McGlinchey

lhg0789.tif   Sports   1903 Livermore Baseball Team.
                       Top row L-R: Mark Draghs, George Tubbs,
                       Ernest Utendorffer, Elmo Leonhardt, Andrew
                       Anderson.
                       Middle: Robert Worth, Warren Lamb (manager),
                       Leslie Wright.
                       Bottom: Joe Callaghan, Ray Lamb (mascot),
                       and James Lamb.
lhg0790.tif   Sports   Taller on right: Ernest Utendorffer (pitcher),
                       shorter George Tubbs, catcher.
lhg0791.tif   Sports   1906 Livermore Baseball Club
                       Standing L-R: Charles Oswell, Henry Hupers,
                       Battling Nelson, Ernest Utendoffer, then 2
                       friends of Battling Nelson and Charles Cullom
                       Center William Loenthal, Charles Taylor, Mark
                       Draghe, Ervin Wagoner
                       Front: Joe Callaghan, Wil
lhg0792.tif   Sports   Same as 791
lhg0793.tif   Sports   Livermore High School Football Team ~1905
lhg0794.tif   Sports   Livermore High School Baseball Team. In rear,
                       Jim Lamb, Ernie Utendorffer. Next row, 5th of 6
                       is George Tubbs
lhg0795.tif   Sports   Opening of Horseshoe Courts, Southeast corner
                       of Second & J Streets
lhg0796.tif   Sports   Livermore Baseball team, 1916?
lhg0797.tif   Sports   Livermore Basketball team
                       "The team that made Livermore Famous".
                       Appears to be the McGlenchey Brothers. EJ
                       Lawless photo
lhg0798.tif   Sports   Livermore Baseball team. One in front is Ernest
                       Utendorffer.
lhg0799.tif   Sports   Livermore Baseball Team. Several are labeled
                       on the photo.
lhg0800.tif   Sports   Norris Dutcher III with Speed Boat Trophies.
                       About 1946
lhg0801.tif   Sports   Swimming Baths. Swimming pool on West 4th
                       St between R & S north Side. HP Winegar (later
                       RA Hansen)
lhg0802.tif   Sports   Company I Basketball Team, 1913
                       L-R: Smith, Herbert Sweet, Anthony O Donnell,
                       Dick Moore, Norman Sangmaster
lhg0803.tif   Sports                Company I Basketball Team, 1913.
                                    L-R: Dick Moore, Smith, Norman Sangmaster,
                                    Herbert Sweet, Anthony O'Donnell

lhg0804.tif   Sports                Livermore Baseball.
                                    Back row second from left is Ernest Utendorffer

lhg0805.tif   Sports                Livermore Baseball, 1910
lhg0806.tif   Sports                Livermore Baseball, 1906
                                    L-R standing: Chas Oswill, Henry Hupers?,
                                    Batting Nelson Champion lightweight of the
                                    world, Ernest Uttendoffer, Sparring Partner of
                                    Nelson, Perry - with Nelson has ??, Chas
                                    Cullom?
                                    Center: Wm Lorventhal, Chas Taylor, Mark
                                    Draghe?,
lhg0807.tif   Sports                Company I Basketball team, 1910
                                    Postcard. Back reads:
                                    Dean Brother
                                    The boys are coming down on the 11:3 Try &
                                    get cib to stay over. This is cod. Basketball
                                    champions of Alameda Co. Edith is standing
                                    near me and wants to be remembered. Come
                                    home when
lhg0808.tif   Sports                Basketball team.
                                    Charlie's Picture.
                                    To prow L-R: Maitland Henry, DeMilt Dutcher,
                                    Charlie Sweet, Leo Jacky, Edwin Kennedy,
                                    Anthony O'Donnell, Arthur Holms, Erwin
                                    Wagner
lhg0809.tif   Sports                Company I Basketball 1912
                                    A.E. O'Donnell, LA Jackson? Manager, Edwin
                                    Kennedy, MR Henry, Arthur Holm, Ervin
                                    Wagoner, Chas Sweet
lhg0810.tif   Sports                Livermore Baseball Team
                                    4th: G Tubbs, Catcher
                                    5th E Uttendorffer, Pitcher
                                    8th Art Holm
lhg0811.tif   Schools Elementry 1   5th St School. Kids in Class. 5/12/78
lhg0812.tif   Schools Elementry 1   5th St School. Kids on steps
lhg0813.tif   Schools Elementry 1   Elementry School about 1910
lhg0814.tif   Schools Elementry 1   5th St School, 1896
lhg0815.tif   Schools Elementry 1   Livermore's first School Bus, in front of 5th St
                                    School. C1934?
lhg0816.tif   Schools Elementry 1   5th St School kids in classroom
lhg0817.tif   Schools Elementry 1   Trustees fo rthe Livermore District School.
                                    Albert Weymouth, H.H. Pitcher, George Beck.
                                    From Dec 1896 Edition of Livermore Herald.

lhg0818.tif   Schools Elementry 1   5th St. School. Commercial Studios, Oakland.

lhg0819.tif   Schools Elementry 1   Class in front of school. 1951-52. Bill Elliott
                                    Studio
                                    Back identifies all of the kids (scanned)
lhg0820.tif   Schools Elementry 1   The "Old Grammer School" - where we used to
                                    go. 5th St. School
lhg0821.tif   Schools Elementry 1   5th St. School.
lhg0822.tif   Schools Elementry 1   5th St. School
lhg0823.tif   Schools Elementry 1   1953 Faculty - Livermore Grammer (Fifth Street)
                                    School staff. Some are labeled.
lhg0824.tif   Schools Elementry 1   Class Picture, names on back (scanned) 1905

lhg0825.tif   Schools Elementry 1   Class at 5th St. School.
lhg0826.tif   Schools Elementry 1   Class at 5th St. School., 1908 Names on back.

lhg0827.tif   Schools Elementry 1   5th Grade.1905, 5th st school. Names on back.

lhg0828.tif   Schools Elementry 1   Mrs. Crane's Class, 5th St. School, 1923.
                                    Names on attached note (scanned)
lhg0829.tif   Schools Elementry 1   1939 class. Names on back, but some may not
                                    be readable.
lhg0830.tif   Schools Elementry 1   Junction Ave Elementry School
lhg0831.tif   Schools Elementry 1   Kids lined up for rings on playground
lhg0832.tif   Schools Elementry 1   A school. Don't know which.
lhg0833.tif   Library               Original Library. "Darrow Bakery Ice Cream &
                                    Coffee Parlor". Other copies above
lhg0834.tif   Library               Miss Sarah Waltenbough. Teacher Townsend
                                    District
lhg0835.tif   Library               Mrs. Mae I. Beck, President of Ladies' League of
                                    Progress of Livermore Valley. From Herald
                                    1896 Midwinter Edition.
lhg0836.tif   Library               Mrs. Emma B. Coffman, Vice President, Ladies
                                    League of Progress. Herald 1896 Midwinter
                                    Edition.
lhg0837.tif   Library               Mrs. Bistorious, Secretary. Ladies League of
                                    Progress. Herald 1896 Midwinter Edition.
lhg0838.tif   Library               Mrs. Martha Gordon, Treasure, Ladies League
                                    of Progress
lhg0839.tif   Library               Don Nolte? Livermore Librarian
lhg0840.tif   Library               Freddie Wondolowski - Library Volunteer.
                                    Herald News, Photo by Diana Wallario
lhg0841.tif   Library               Carnegie Library
lhg0842.tif   Library               Carnegie Library, Same image as above, but
                                    sepia tone.
lhg0843.tif   Company I             Company I in San Francisco ready to come
                                    home after serving one month during the
                                    earthquake and fire April 20 to May 20 1906.
                                    Norman Sweet.
lhg0844.tif   Company I             Company I, 1904. John E. Jenson (probably
                                    photo donor). Beazell's Drug Store (mounting?).

lhg0845.tif   Company I             Company I. Atascadero, 1904. Nat Guard, Co.
                                    I?
                                    L-R: Kent Madden, Joe Callaghan, Art Knox,
                                    Mark Sanderson?, Ben Carroll, Dewitt Dutcher.
                                    John E. Jenson (probably photo donor),
                                    Beazell's Drug Store (mounting?). Names
                                    written on front, but hard to read.

lhg0846.tif   Company I             Company I in San Francisco, April 1906.
                                    Norman Sweet (probably photo donor).
lhg0847.tif   Company I             Company I at Healsburg, CA, 1903. Norman
                                    Sweet (probably photo donor).
lhg0848.tif   Company I             Company I
lhg0849.tif   Company I             Company I. Wm Rees (photo donor?)
lhg0850.tif   Company I             Company I
lhg0851.tif   Company I             Company I
lhg0852.tif   Company I             Company I. Members sho served in SF fine in
                                    1906, at 1966 reunion
                                    Thos Elliott, Wm Walker, Robert Lefever, H.J.
                                    Callaghan
lhg0853.tif   Company I             Company I 50th Reunion. 5/13/79. Negative in
                                    Herald Collection.
lhg0854.tif   Company I             Company I at Farmers Union Building. About
                                    1890?. "Company I 5th Reg, National Guard

lhg0855.tif   Company I             Company I Basketball Team about 1910.
                                    Top: M.R.Henry, N.D Dutcher Jr.
                                    Middle, Chas Sweet, L.A. Jackson, Edwin
                                    Kennedy.
                                    Bottom - A.E.O'Donnell, Arthur Holm, Ervin
                                    Wagoner
lhg0856.tif   Company I             Company I Old Guard 1967
lhg0857.tif   Company I             Company I. From John E. Jensen
lhg0858.tif   Company I             Company I at Sacramento (McKinley Park?),
                                    1916 after returning from Nogales, Arizona.
                                    Seated in front - Capt H.A. Mehrn? (now live at
                                    Seabright)
lhg0859.tif   Company I         Livermore Guard. May 7, 1907? (0 is hard to
                                read)
lhg0860.tif   Company I         Company I leaving for Nogales, Arizona, 1916,
                                from C.G. Clarke outside Sweeney's Opera
                                House.
lhg0861.tif   Company I         Company I. Same image as 854
lhg0862.tif   Company I         Dedication of Flagpole Honoring R.A. Hansen.
                                1966 Reunion.
                                At left with right hand raised - CQ Clarke,
                                President Old Guard.
                                Hoisting Flag - J.Rod Harvey (left). Le? Roy
                                Allen.
                                To right of Allen - Theo. Mess, who read
                                dedication prayer written by Rev Clev
lhg0863.tif   Company I         See scan of back.
                                Company I Old Guard at 1967 Reunion. Photo
                                by James C. Lewis
lhg0864.tif   Company I         Company I from Livermore Area in San
                                Francisco - April 1906 - Earthquake Duty.
                                Jefferson Square. From Mrs. Grace Sweeney.

lhg0865.tif   Company I         Company I Basketball Team
lhg0866.tif   Schools, Elem 2   5th St. School, Livermore 1910, O'Donnell, Be
                                Harvey, Jvy Iverson
lhg0867.tif   Schools, Elem 2   Livermore Grammer School
lhg0868.tif   Schools, Elem 2   5th Street School
lhg0869.tif   Schools, Elem 2   Inside a Livermore School. From M.R.Henry
lhg0870.tif   Schools, Elem 2   William's Class - 1913, 7th Grade
lhg0871.tif   Schools, Elem 2   St. Michael's Academy. 12/1/35. Post card
lhg0872.tif   Schools, Elem 2   Livermore 3-2.
lhg0873.tif   Schools, Elem 2   Roundup Club 7L? 4H Groups. 10/10/47?
                                Livermore Herald
lhg0874.tif   Schools, Elem 2   Class of 1942. "Livermore Herald. Wanted:
                                Thuraday, June 4th."
lhg0875.tif   Schools, Elem 2   George Beck - Town trustee in 1896 and
                                member of Beck and Co., general store.
                                Crossed the plains in 1863 and first settled in
                                Nevada. Came to California in 1866 and
                                finished education in Oakland College.
                                Associated himself with C.J. Stephens and
                                when S
lhg0876.tif   Schools, Elem 2   1949-50. Elliott H. Dopking photo. See scan of
                                back for complete list of students
lhg0877.tif   Schools, Elem 2   5th St. School, before 1922
lhg0878.tif   Schools, Elem 2   Fifth Street School, 1873-74
lhg0879.tif   Schools, Elem 2   5th Street School
lhg0880.tif   Schools, Elem 2   H. H. Pitcher - Capitalist, cashier and manager
                                of Bank of Livermire, is president of the
                                Livermore League of Progress. From Herald
                                Midwinter Edition.
lhg0881.tif   Schools, Elem 2   5th Street School teachers, c. 1947. See scan
                                of back.
lhg0882.tif   Schools, Elem 2   Judge M. J. Clark, Ronnie Accioroli?, Frank
                                Ruerson?, Dr. Paul E Dolan.
lhg0883.tif   Schools, Elem 2   Livermore School, 1895.
lhg0884.tif   Schools, Elem 2   Fifth Street Grammer School. 7th Grade.???
lhg0885.tif   Schools, Elem 2   St. Michael's School. Photocopy
lhg0886.tif   Schools, Elem 2   May School, 1915. 2.5 acre grounds with
                                Cypress Trees. From The Western Journal of
                                Education.
lhg0887.tif   Mining            Tesla Coal Mine Group Photo
lhg0888.tif   Mining            Mining Districe Map
lhg0889.tif   Mining            James J. Cummins. Magnesite Mine.
lhg0890.tif   Mining            Glory Hole at entrance to Magnesite mine
lhg0891.tif   Mining            Magnesite mine. Warehouses at mine.
lhg0892.tif   Mining            Means of transportation to Livermore (James
                                Cummings Jr on right. Magnesite Mine
lhg0893.tif   Mining            Magnesite Mine, 4th of July
lhg0894.tif   Mining            Magnesite Mine, 4th of July
lhg0895.tif   Mining            Magnesite Mine Tractor
lhg0896.tif   Telephones                     Telephone Switchboards. Livermore Herald
lhg0897.tif   Telephones                     Livermore Telephone Office. 1915 Gertrude
                                             Cardosa Hock (back), May (Mary?) Kelly
                                             Devany (rt standing), Josie Higuera? Or __
                                             Fitzgerald? (seated), Ozeta Smith Sweet Burson
                                             (seated front). Another photo lists seated back
                                             as Josie Fitzgerald Higuera, Mrs.

lhg0898.tif   Telephones                   Sunset Telephone Office, Livermore. 1896
                                           Midwinter Edition
lhg0899.tif   Drug Stores, 1st St.         McKown& Mess Circa 1905. Rose Kelly
                                           Twohey
lhg0900.tif   Drug Stores, 1st St.         John Sarboraria & cash register given to LHG
lhg0901.tif   Schools, Grammer??           (not in an envelope). Livermore Grammer
                                           School
lhg0902.tif                                Bayou?? School. From Jack Mendenhall Family
              Schools - Elem - Rural Schools
                                           album.
lhg0903.tif                                Mountain House School. 5/10/1924
              Schools - Elem - Rural Schools
lhg0904.tif                                The Mocho School. Formerly the Nilson Diss?
              Schools - Elem - Rural Schools
                                           School
lhg0905.tif                                Photo by Harold G Write of a horse back ride up
              Schools - Elem - Rural Schools
                                           the "Bio" with Joseph Duarte, manuels older
                                           brother in about 1921. The scene is the school
                                           teacher's cabin. The school originally dtood at
                                           the site of the flat bench land opposite the exit of
                                           Je R. Pointe?
lhg0906.tif                                Antone School (near Tassajara) 1922
              Schools - Elem - Rural Schools
lhg0907.tif                                Inman School.
              Schools - Elem - Rural Schools
lhg0908.tif                                From Jack Mendenhall's family album. Bayon?
              Schools - Elem - Rural Schools
                                           School
lhg0909.tif                                Green School 1906. See scan of back.
              Schools - Elem - Rural Schools
lhg0910.tif                                Herald Photo, 7/21/1969. School's arches.
              Schools - Elem - Rural Schools
lhg0911.tif                                Herald Photo, 197?. Inman School.
              Schools - Elem - Rural Schools
lhg0912.tif                                Site of Vista School. Color photo
              Schools - Elem - Rural Schools
lhg0913.tif   Schools, Townsend            Tounsend School. c 1906, 1908
                                           Agnes Vallace Dutcher Rees, Teacher. Bill
                                           Armstrong, front row, 2nd from right. __ Ruess
                                           girl 3rd row, 2nd from right.
lhg0914.tif   Schools, Townsend            Townsend School, Nick's first school & teacher,
                                           Mrs. Wallace
lhg0915.tif   Schools, elementary          4 schools. Inman Dist, May Dist, Green Dist,
                                           Townsend Dist. From Herald Midwinter
lhg0916.tif   High Schools 1               Detachment of Livermore High School Cadet
                                           Compnay in World War II in ceremony for
                                           former student of school killed in war.
lhg0917.tif   High Schools 1               Livermore High School where (I) finished my
                                           education, except for the various night schools,
                                           business colleges, etc. which I later attended.

lhg0918.tif   High Schools 1                 Dedication Livermore Hight School Plaque in
                                             memory of former students killed in World War
                                             II. Jack Bonetti Anderson.
                                             Brigadier General Jos. T. Smith, U.S. Marine
                                             Corp (ret).
                                             Master-Sgt Elliott Dopking. US Air Force, both
                                             LHG Graduates
lhg0919.tif   High Schools 1                 Livermore Herald photo, Edw Rundstrom - Vice
                                             Principal LHG
                                             Lloyd Beebe
                                             Herbert Colt
                                             R.T. Wattenburger, Principal, LHS
lhg0920.tif   High Schools 1                 LHS Basketball Team, 1921-22. See scan of
                                             back for names
lhg0921.tif   High Schools 1                 Amador vs Livermore Baseball. March 1933
lhg0922.tif   High Schools 1                 Granada High School looking south from Oak
                                             Knoll Cemetery. 1969. Stamped April 23, 1969

lhg0923.tif   High Schools 1                 Livermore High School
lhg0924.tif   High Schools 1                 ??? School
lhg0925.tif   High Schools 1                 Miss Agnes Hoffman. LVHS. May 1933
lhg0926.tif   High Schools 1   Livermore Union High School Property built
                               1982. Picture taken 1896.
lhg0927.tif   High Schools 1   Howard Vierra. LHS and Liv Elem school music
                               teacher. Elliott H. Dopking photo.
lhg0928.tif   High Schools 1   ??? school
lhg0929.tif   High Schools 1   May Nissen (center) at 7th st high school. The
                               men are teachers at the school
lhg0930.tif   High Schools 1   Livermore High School? Pool
lhg0931.tif   High Schools 1   Livermore High School? Pool
lhg0932.tif   High Schools 1   Old High School. 7th & H St.
lhg0933.tif   High Schools 1   Dr. Ray Gurney (left) LHS Trustee. Howard
                               Vierra, LHS Music director. About 1955. Elliott
                               H. Dopking photo.
lhg0934.tif   High Schools 1   Livermore High School, 1969, built 1930 (not
                               sure of date of actual photo. The copy was
                               probably 1969).
lhg0935.tif   High Schools 1   LHS 130lb Basketball Team. 1912-13. Smith,
                               K. Pride, Mayo, McGlinchey, L Pride,
                               Sangmaster.
lhg0936.tif   High Schools 1   LHS Athletic Field Light ~1949
lhg0937.tif   High Schools 1   LHS Board of Trustees. Elliott's Studio.
lhg0938.tif   High Schools 1   Livermore H.S. class, 1905. MRS's Class
lhg0939.tif   High Schools 1   J.W. Connell. President of Livermore Union
                               High School in 1896. Herald Midwinder Edition

lhg0940.tif   High Schools 1   Elliott H. Dopking Photo. Livermore Herald.
lhg0941.tif   High Schools 1   Basketball Team.
lhg0942.tif   High Schools 1   Livermore's 1952 Senior Girls - Receive jewelry
                               boxes from Kamp's. From 1987 Calendar.

lhg0943.tif   High Schools 1   LHS 1951 Coaches. May 18, 1951. Iro Trafin,
                               K.G. "Spike" Hunter, Herm Mettler? Tony Winn,
                               Ben Snyder, & Prin R.T. Wattenburger. Elliott
                               H. Dopking photo.
lhg0944.tif   High Schools 1   E.E. Rundstorm, principal, LHS. Bill Elliott's
                               Studio. Livermore Herald
lhg0945.tif   High Schools 1   First Livermore High School.
lhg0946.tif   High Schools 1   First Livermore High School. From Mrs. Grace
                               Sweeney
lhg0947.tif   High Schools 1   A.L. Young (left) and Chas Rothbone at
                               dedication of lights on LHS football field, 1948.
                               Last surviving members of first LHS team
                               (1894). Young obituary - Herald 1/17/58

lhg0948.tif   High Schools 1   First Livermore High School.
lhg0949.tif   High Schools 1   Livermore High School. No date.
lhg0950.tif   High Schools 1   Basketball Team. July 1933. Ellsworth
                               Cragholm, Bobby Haera, Joe Vialli, Bobby
                               Santos, Johnny Roderick.
lhg0951.tif   High Schools 1   Del Valle H.H. where 5th St School
lhg0952.tif   High Schools 1   Livermore Union High School.
lhg0953.tif   High Schools 1   Livermore Union High School, from Herald
                               Midwinter.
lhg0954.tif   High Schools 2   1911 Graduates from Livermore High School.
                               Left to right (standing) -- Alma Christensen,
                               Dorothy Mess, Hazel Verue, Oliver Barker and
                               Herman Wente. (seated): Ray Lamb, May
                               Ormand, Nellie McDonald, Bess Monahan, and
                               Desmond Teeter.
lhg0955.tif   High Schools 2   Student Body, 1905. See scans of key. 63 is
                               Ernest Maclean (was written on back of key)

lhg0956.tif   High Schools 2   Senior Class, LHS of 1921. See scan of back
                               for names.
lhg0957.tif   High Schools 2   LHS Senior Class, 1935
lhg0958.tif   High Schools 2   Livermore High School. First High School in the
                               state. Now site of rec center. 8th & H
lhg0959.tif   High Schools 2   Livermore Union High School
lhg0960.tif   High Schools 2   Livermore High School Class of 1957. From
                               LHG 1987 Calendar
lhg0961.tif   High Schools 2   Livermore High School class of 1950
lhg0962.tif   High Schools 2   Class of 1896. Livermore Union High School.
lhg0963.tif   High Schools 2   Class of ??
lhg0964.tif   High Schools 2   Back: ?, ?, Edith Monahan Wente, "Doc"
                               O'Donnel, ?, Maitland Henry, ?, ?, Chas S
                               Sweet, ?
                               Mid: ?, ?, ?, __Waggoner.
                               Front: ?, ?, ?, __Fitzgerald, ?
lhg0965.tif   High Schools 2   Student Body, 1900. Original owned by Wm. P.
                               Falon of Pleasanton. He died 3/1968
lhg0966.tif   High Schools 2   Livermore High School 1904
lhg0967.tif   High Schools 2   Livermore High School Class of 1904. April
                               1904
lhg0968.tif   High Schools 2   Livermore High School Faculty.
lhg0969.tif   High Schools 2   The first men graduates of the Livermore Union
                               High School June 1893. Left to right: Chester
                               Young, Geo Furbush, Will Bailey
lhg0970.tif   High Schools 2   LHS Directors? 1896. Midwinter Edition
lhg0971.tif   High Schools 2   LUHS Class 1935. Miss Nissen on R.
lhg0972.tif   High Schools 2   Post card. Football Team
lhg0973.tif   High Schools 2   Charlie on steps of Livermore High 7th Street.
                               Names on back, but hard to read (did no scan).
                               Circa 1908.1908
                               lhg0974.tifHigh Schools 21959 DVAL_EBD
                               Champs. Undefeated - Untied. Won 9, Lost
                               0.1959
                               lhg0975.tifHigh Schools 2Livermore
                               Cowboys 1950 Varsity with coaches Mettler,
                               rear right, and Hunter. From LHG 1987
                               Calendar.1950
                               lhg0976.tifHigh Schools 2LUHS Varsity,
                               1931. See scan of back for names1931
                               lhg0977.tifHigh Schools 21952 LHS senior
                               girls & jewelery boxes from Kam's. In Eliott
                               Dopking Photo. Stampled Bill Elliott's
                               Studio.1952
                               lhg0978.tifSchneider, JohnieMr. & Mrs.
                               Johnie Schneider (first wife, Julia Freitas).
                               Cowboy Champion of the World
                               lhg0979.tifSchneider, JohnieInstallation of
                               the Johnie Schneider plaque
                               lhg0980.tifSchenone BuildingSchenone
                               Building, 1914. From old post card.1914
                               lhg0981.tifSchenone BuildingSchenone
                               building being renovated. 9/5/781978
                               lhg0982.tifSchenone BuildingSchenone
                               building being renovated. 9/5/781978
                               lhg0983.tifTotem PoleTotem pole. May 18,
                               1974. H. Thomas1974
                               lhg0984.tifTotem PoleLivermore Totem
                               Pole
                               lhg0985.tifTotem PoleLivermore Totem
lhg0988.tif   Town Halls       Pole
                               Dedication of Livermore City Hall (1st &
                               McLeod). Post card.
lhg0989.tif   Town Halls       Town Hall. Fire Station.
lhg0990.tif   Town Halls       City Hall at 1st and McLeod, bought by city
                               1905. remodelled as WPA project and
                               dedicated 2/2/36. See history of building in
                               Livermore (History) folder.
lhg0991.tif   Town Halls       City hall at 1st and McLeod.
lhg0992.tif   Town Halls       City hall after remodel
lhg0993.tif   Town Halls       City Hall Flag at half mast following
                               assassination of President Kennedy.
lhg0994.tif   Town Halls       Current City Hall
lhg0995.tif   Time Capsules    Dedication of Time Capsule, 1/14/2000            2000
lhg0996.tif   Time Capsules    Dedication of Time Capsule, 1/14/2000            2000
lhg0997.tif   Time Capsules    Dedication of Time Capsule, 1/14/2000            2000
lhg0998.tif   Time Capsules    Dedication of Time Capsule, 1/14/2000            2000
lhg0999.tif   Time Capsules    Dedication of Time Capsule, 1/14/2000            2000
lhg1000.tif   Time Capsules    Dedication of Time Capsule, 1/14/2000            2000
lhg1001.tif   Time Capsules      Dedication of Time Capsule, 1/14/2000               2000
lhg1002.tif   Time Capsules      Dedication of Time Capsule, 1/14/2000               2000
lhg1003.tif   Transportation     Valley Cab
lhg1004.tif   Transportation     Yellow Cab
lhg1005.tif   Transportation     Motorcycle run to Livermore starting from
                                 Oakland
lhg1006.tif   Transportation     Motorcycle run to Livermore starting from
                                 Oakland
lhg1007.tif   Transportation     Dr. Taylor and the first auto in Livermore (about   1906
                                 1906). Picture looks east on Livermore Avenue,
                                 between Fifth and Sixth Streets (pencil note:
                                 Picture taken on College Ave opposite
                                 Livermore Sanitarium).
lhg1008.tif   Transportation     Greyhound Depot (formerly the Farmer's
                                 Exchange Hotel)
lhg1009.tif   Transportation     Bicycle days -- ready for parade.
                                 Left to right: ?, ?, J. Callaghan, Ed Aylward,
                                 Sam Johnson, Jack Aylward. Livermore Scene.
                                 2-4-53. Mrs. Grace Sweeney
lhg1010.tif   Transportation     picnic. From Mrs. Grace Sweeney.
lhg1011.tif   Transportation     Michael Maxfield, 2nd place winner
lhg1012.tif   Transportation     2/23/80. "…Virginia Fellingham (Livermore           1980
                                 Rancher) at the reins of the famed W.F.
                                 stagecoach… She keeps W.F. coaches &
                                 horses at her Tesla Rd Ranch, & transports
                                 them in a special diesel van…" Coaches similar
                                 to this were used extensively in the West by

lhg1013.tif   US Vets Hospital   Hostel and Nursery. USVA Hospital, Livermore,
                                 CA. Post Card
lhg1014.tif   US Vets Hospital   Dedication Day - USVB Hospital
lhg1015.tif   US Vets Hospital   USVA Hospital
lhg1016.tif   US Vets Hospital   Trucking tanks to veterans Hospital from RR in
                                 Livermore. C1924
lhg1017.tif   US Vets Hospital   Trucking tanks to the veterans Hospital. USVA
                                 Hospital under construction in background.

lhg1018.tif   US Vets Hospital   Dedication Day - USVB Hospital
lhg1019.tif   US Vets Hospital   Aeroplane View, US Vet Hospital. EJ Lawless
                                 Photo, 1925
lhg1020.tif   US Vets Hospital   Aeroplane View, US Vet Hospital. EJ Lawless
                                 Photo
lhg1021.tif   US Vets Hospital   Dr. Wm Cassidy, Manager, Livermore Veterans
                                 Administration Hospital. Elliott Dopking Photo

lhg1022.tif   US Vets Hospital   Cottages 8-11 USVA Hospital. Post Card
lhg1023.tif   US Vets Hospital   H.L. Potter. Vest Hospital Livermore
lhg1024.tif   US Vets Hospital   Ward at Livermore Veterans Admin                    1936
                                 HospitalApril 18, 1936 Bear Photo Stamp.
lhg1025.tif   US Vets Hospital   Livermore Herald article on the Vets Hospital       1924
                                 contrace awarded. January 4, 1924.
lhg1026.tif   US Vets Hospital   Veterans Hospital
lhg1027.tif   US Vets Hospital   Veterans Hospital, Dec 1, 1924. Building #2.        1924
lhg1028.tif   US Vets Hospital   US Veterans Hospital
lhg1029.tif   US Vets Hospital   US Veterans Hospital
lhg1030.tif   US Vets Hospital   US Veterans Hospital
lhg1031.tif   US Vets Hospital   US Veterans Hospital
lhg1032.tif   US Vets Hospital   US Veterans Hospital
lhg1033.tif   US Vets Hospital   US Veterans Hospital. Poppy Days 1952.              1952
                                 Marie Rumberger, Jean Tonlan? 5/23/52.
lhg1034.tif   US Vets Hospital   General Francis W Rollins, Manager VA               1946
                                 Hospital confers with Mrs. S.E. Sonset? From
                                 Gray Ludey? & Mr Gold??Kintz? 10/18/46

lhg1035.tif   US Vets Hospital   82 and still helping. Mrs. Theresa M. Doten -
                                 "Dotie" to the men and women patients at the
                                 U.S. Veterans Hospital in Livermore - is an
                                 octogenarian but she's logged some 13,500
                                 hours of volunteer Red Cross service in the past
                                 decade. Here, she's shown w
lhg1036.tif   US Vets Hospital          Charles Shelden of Alameda, entertainment         1937
                                        chairman for the US Livermore Hospital
                                        Christmas Committee shows Mus Lulu Webster
                                        (also of the committee) pictures of the stage
                                        entertainers who will perform at the hospital
                                        during Christmas week, the show and gif

lhg1037.tif   US Vets Hospital          Addressing over 400 patients at the Livermore
                                        Veterans Administration Hospital, Manager
                                        Francis W. Rollins, thanks the California
                                        Federationof Women's Clubs for the 16mm
                                        sound projector and screen which they recently
                                        presented to the hospital. Representi

lhg1038.tif   US Vets Hospital          Boxing match at the Vets Hospital. Scan of a
                                        photocopy on plain paper.
lhg1039.tif   warehouses                Hay Harehouse. West 1st Street Warehouse,
                                        about 1915. Another copy lists 1st & P St.

lhg1040.tif   warehouses                Henry Thomas photo, July 17, 1980 (photo
                                        much older)
lhg1041.tif   Wells & Well Drilling     Frank Silva's Artesian Well. Seven miles west
                                        of Livermore. Reporduced from Bancroft
                                        Library. 1896 Midwinter Edition.
lhg1042.tif   Wells & Well Drilling     A Well Drilling outfit in the early 1900's near   1900
                                        Livermore. F.W. Brenzell, well-borer.
lhg1043.tif   Wells & Well Drilling     F. Brenzell's Well-Drilling Rig
lhg1044.tif   Semi-Tripical Lvr         Semi-Tropical Livermore emblem. 1887?             1887
                                        Repro through Bancroft Library.
lhg1045.tif   Semi-Tripical Lvr         Entrance to Joaquin's Cave. Repro through
                                        Bancroft Library.
lhg1046.tif   Semi-Tripical Lvr         Fan-Leaf Plam in Grounds of John Aylward ,
                                        Livermore. Four years from planting. Repro
                                        through Bancroft Library.
lhg1047.tif   Semi-Tripical Lvr         Scene in a Livermore Vineyard, 30 months after
                                        planting. From a photograph. Repro through
                                        Bancroft Library.
lhg1048.tif   Semi-Tripical Lvr         Excavating Wine Cellars in the Livermore
                                        District. A scene on Chas A. Wetmore's Cresta
                                        Blanca Estate.
lhg1049.tif   Semi-Tripical Lvr         Scene in Olive Orchard on "Cresta Blanca,"
                                        Livermore Valley, 4 years from planting. From a
                                        photograph. Repro through Bancroft Library.

lhg1050.tif   Semi-Tripical Lvr         Livermore College - A Private Classical School.
                                        Repro through Bancroft Library.
lhg1051.tif   Semi-Tripical Lvr         Public School Building, Livermore. Repro
                                        through Bancroft Library.
lhg1052.tif   Masonic Building          Masonic Building under construction, 1908
lhg1053.tif   Masonic Building          Masonic Building
lhg1054.tif   Masonic Building          Masonic Building, built 1908, about 1915.         1915
lhg1055.tif   Masonic Building          Masonic Building. Probably in the 1950s.
lhg1056.tif   Ryan Bros Livery Stable   Ryan Livery Stable & Tesla Stage. Lizzie (So
                                        Livermore) E side, near 1st Street.
lhg1057.tif   Ryan Bros Livery Stable   Ryan Livery Stable.
lhg1058.tif   Ryan Bros Livery Stable   Ryan Livery Stable. Built 1885.
lhg1059.tif   Ryan Bros Livery Stable   From 1896 Herald. Reproduced from bancroft        1896
                                        Library. Very poor quality.
lhg1060.tif   Ryan Bros Livery Stable   Eugene Day's Livery Stable. Gift of John R.
                                        Day
lhg1061.tif   Ryan Bros Livery Stable   P.F. Ryan Bros Livery Stable. From? Adele
                                        Kruger
lhg1062.tif   Ryan Bros Livery Stable   Livermore French Steam Laundry (misfiled?)
lhg1063.tif   Jack London   The 9.27 acre ranch at 442 Alden Lane that
                            belonged to Jack London's family from 1883 to
                            1886, has had several owners since then. Most
                            of the present house is not part of the original
                            structure, but some parts are. This photograph
                            was taken around 19211921
                            lhg1064.tifJack LondonJack London, aged
                            10, with dog Rollo
                            lhg1065.tifJack LondonJack Longon's home,
                            about 1921-22. Scanned from Original photo.
                            Gift of Mrs. Bartle.
                            lhg1066.tifJack LondonJack London house,
                            north? Side, Livermore. J. Newton photo
                            lhg1067.tifJack LondonJack Longon house,
                            livermore, 1print 1987. Mike Nicholson
                            photo1987
                            lhg1068.tifJack LondonLondon House.
                            Interior, 1982. Janet Newton photo1982
                            lhg1069.tifJack LondonLondon House, 1982,
                            Alden Lane, west side, showing what was
                            probably the original house.1982
                            lhg1070.tifJack LondonJack London site,
                            looking West
                            lhg1071.tifJack LondonPost Card. Jack
                            London (1876-1916). A wonderful study of
                            America's most popular young author. His
                            winsome personality and love for mankind made
                            him thousands of friends."

lhg1072.tif   Jack London   Jack London, age 10, with his dog Rollo.
lhg1073.tif   Jack London   Another of the above
lhg1074.tif   Jack London   Post card. Jack London (1986-1916). Photo by
                            Jimmy Hare of Colliers in Manchuria, Russo--
                            Japanese War.
lhg1075.tif   Jack London   Post card. Jack London (1986-1916). Jack's
                            favorite transportio. The dog is "Brown" who
                            became famous in "Brown Wolf"
lhg1076.tif   Jack London   Post card. Jack London (1986-1916). Jack is
                            showing off his prize stallion "Neuadd Hillside".

lhg1077.tif   Jack London   Post card. Jack London (1986-1916). In 1911
                            Jack, Charmian and Nakata drove over 15000
                            miles on their trip to Oregon
lhg1078.tif   Jack London   Post card. Jack London (1986-1916). This
                            picture was taken on the grounds of Wake
                            Robin Lodge. Many of London's stories were
                            written here on the banks of the Wild Water.
lhg1079.tif   Jack London   Post card. Jack London (1986-1916). Jack and
                            Charmian in the rigging of the "Snark" during
                            their famous cruise to the South Seas 1907-
                            1909.
lhg1080.tif   Jack London   Large post card. Jack London (1876-1916).
                            Young Jack is about to mount his "wheel" and
                            head out for a picnic with his sweetheart "Bess
                            Maddern".
lhg1081.tif   Jack London   Large post card. Jack London (1876-1916). A
                            favorite picture of everybody. It was taken
                            during Jack's days at Oakland High School in
                            1895.
lhg1082.tif   Jack London   Jack loved to work on his writings outdoors.
                            Jack London ranch in Glen Ellen
lhg1083.tif   Jack London   Large post card. Jack London (1876-1916).
                            The wold famous young author poses for Tesio
                            in Oakland, California
lhg1084.tif   Jack London   History Center, 4/20/80, visitor from IONE ?        1980
                            Jack London Meeting, with Russ Kingman in
                            East Room of Carnegie Building.
lhg1085.tif   Jack London   Large post card. Jack London (1876-1916).
                            Jack and Charmian posed for this picture in their
                            beloved Hawaiian Islands.
lhg1086.tif   Jack London    Large post card. Jack dreamed of the day when
                             the Wolf House would be completed so he
                             would have a place to entertain his many
                             friends. Instead it was burned to the ground by
                             his enemies before the London's could move in.
                             His hope of rebuilding was nev
lhg1087.tif   Jack London    Large post card. (1876-1916). Jack had a
                             keen, searching mind and the ever present plea
                             in his eyes was "tell me more".
lhg1088.tif   Jack London    Jack London
lhg1089.tif   Jack London    April 20, 1980. Jack London Meeting. Russ          1980
                             Kingman, Becky London, Janet Newton in
                             Carnegie Building
lhg1090.tif   Jack London    Jack London Books. Russ Kingman?
lhg1091.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Albert Wigmouch?? House? 4th & M, SE
                             corner?
lhg1092.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Tobbsville. Photo by Neil Hanshaw? For Herald      1982
                             11/19/82 16:5
lhg1093.tif   Lvr Houses 1   No Description
lhg1094.tif   Lvr Houses 1   No Description
lhg1095.tif   Lvr Houses 1   From Thompson & Wort Atlas 1878. Repro             1878
                             through Bancroft Library
lhg1096.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Post #47s Clubhouse. The Legion News
lhg1097.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Family in front of house. I think it is on East
                             Ave.
lhg1098.tif   Lvr Houses 1   House, built on NE corner of 7th & So L Sts. By
                             B.D. Morrill. Moved to middle of block N side of
                             7th between L & K Sts. Later the Wagoner
                             home, then Judith Berry's? home. Burned circa
                             1884.
lhg1099.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Mo West corner 5th & So H. Joe Callaghan's
                             home. 1930s, 40s…
lhg1100.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Mountain Home on Mines road, "far out". Stage
                             stop?? Ferrario.
lhg1101.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Home of F.R. Fassett. Circa 1890 6th & So M.       1890
                             SW corner. Built circa 1888
lhg1102.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Dr. John Robertson's house, College & So. L,
                             SW Side
lhg1103.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Dr. John Robertson's house, College & So. L,
                             SW Side
lhg1104.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Christensen, Mabel. SE Corner of 2nd & K St.

lhg1105.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Christensen, Mabel. SE Corner of 2nd & K St.

lhg1106.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Christensen, Mabel. SE Corner of 2nd & K St.

lhg1107.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Christensen, Mabel. SE Corner of 2nd & K St.

lhg1108.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Christensen, Mabel. SE Corner of 2nd & K St.

lhg1109.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Taylor Home, 6th & So L Sts.
lhg1110.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Keddedy House, So. Iv Ave between 3rd & 4th
                             west side. Methodist Parsonage in background
                             on Right
lhg1111.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Old Christensen Ranch off 580. S. Side of
                             Altamont east bound grade. 3/2000. Niel Heara

lhg1112.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Old Christensen Ranch off 580. S. Side of
                             Altamont east bound grade. 3/2000. Niel Heara

lhg1113.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Pix of OLD Huffschnieder Fletcher House.
                             Corner of College & So Liv St.
lhg1114.tif   Lvr Houses 1   See 1113
lhg1115.tif   Lvr Houses 1   See 1113
lhg1116.tif   Lvr Houses 1   See 1113
lhg1117.tif   Lvr Houses 1   See 1113
lhg1118.tif   Lvr Houses 1   See 1113
lhg1119.tif   Lvr Houses 1   See 1113
lhg1120.tif   Lvr Houses 1   See 1113
lhg1121.tif   Lvr Houses 1   See 1113
lhg1122.tif   Lvr Houses 1   See 1113
lhg1123.tif   Lvr Houses 1   See 1113
lhg1124.tif   Lvr Houses 1   See 1113
lhg1125.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Navy Housing. Sun Feb 3, 1946                        1946
lhg1126.tif   Lvr Houses 1   256 McLeod
lhg1127.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Lily & Will Taylor house. Built 1898 585 So L.

lhg1128.tif   Lvr Houses 1   L.N. & Leah MacDonald House. Aka Am Legion
                             Clubhouse 256 McLeod. Built 1910
lhg1129.tif   Lvr Houses 1   So West Corner 5th & So Livermore - Built by         1930
                             "Sonny" Victor of Victor & Baughman.
                             Residence for A.F. Isensee LUHS Supt in
                             1930's.
lhg1130.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Holmes / Baughman House. SW corner 3rd & L
                             Sts.
lhg1131.tif   Lvr Houses 1   From 1904 booklet about Livermore Sanitarium.        1904
                             Mendenhall House
lhg1132.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Werner House
lhg1133.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Beautiful Home of Dr. J W Robertson
lhg1134.tif   Lvr Houses 1   House built by N.N. Holmes, SW corner of third
                             & So L St. Later the home of Jack and Hazel
                             Baughman. Now moved to 11450 Tesla Road,
                             where it is the home of Roger & Anna Brown.

lhg1135.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Gome House. 487 No Livermore Av.
lhg1136.tif   Lvr Houses 1   California Historical Society 12-26-52               1952
lhg1137.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Mountain Home of Mr. & Mrs Joseph Tickel in
                             Livermore Hills. Left to Right: Mrs. Tickel (Ellen
                             Egan Tickel), Mrs. John Aylward, Anita Aylward,
                             Blanche Collier, Jack, Grace. From Mrs. Grace
                             Sweeney, 595 Sycamore St., Oakland. 2-4-53

lhg1138.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Residence of Dr. John W Robertson, in Course
                             of Construction. From Midwinter Edition.

lhg1139.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Livermore Cottages. 1914 Year Book. E 6th St
                             between S Lvr? & H St.
lhg1140.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Built circa 1864. May 1976 photo for program of      1976
                             house tour - home of Judith Beery. Garden of
                             Berry (Wagoner) home on 7th St.

lhg1141.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Residence of H.H. Pitcher, Livermore. From
                             Midwinter
lhg1142.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Res & Farm of George May, Livermore. From
                             Thompson & West.
lhg1143.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Dr. S.L. Savage's Residence, Livermore. From
                             Midwinter
lhg1144.tif   Lvr Houses 1   Residence of Christopher Smith, Livermore.
                             From Midwinter Edition.
lhg1145.tif   Lvr Houses 2   McClain House, Wente St.
lhg1146.tif   Lvr Houses 2   A Livermore Neighborhood
lhg1147.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Cannot read most of back. Restoration 1/4/78
                             291 McLeod
lhg1148.tif   Lvr Houses 2   291 McLeod house restoration
lhg1149.tif   Lvr Houses 2   House at 291 McLeod St. 1978
lhg1150.tif   Lvr Houses 2   5/9/78. 291 McLeod St.                               1978
lhg1151.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Local Tradition has it htat Henry Meyers,
                             prominent Bay Area architect, designed this
                             house at 585 South L Street in 1898 as a
                             wedding gift for his sister Lilly and her new
                             husband, Will Taylor. On back of March 1989
                             calendar.
lhg1152.tif   Lvr Houses 2   The George Kennedy house on Lizzie St. (4th &
                             Livermore Ave). Methodist Church in
                             background. Methodist manse? Next to windmill
                             in background.
lhg1153.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Rees House 702 So M St.
lhg1154.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Home of H.P. Winegar, Livermore
lhg1155.tif   Lvr Houses 2   American Legion Building, N. E Corner 3rd &
                             McLeod. Tennis court foreground. Residence
                             of Dr. W Meyers. 1930's 40's after extensive
                             remodeling.
lhg1156.tif   Lvr Houses 2   D.J. Murphy House, built circa 1884 Photo by
                             Gordan Clark, Aug 21, 1982. Butterfield house
                             at 291 McLeod to be designated a Livermore
                             City Landmark.
lhg1157.tif   Lvr Houses 2                                              1933
lhg1158.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Home of Carmelus Owens. NE corner 7th & So
                             K Sts.
lhg1159.tif   Lvr Houses 2   314 North K Street. Geo E. Titzgerald. Lot 5-6
                             Blk 16 McLeod? Taken Wednesday, June 6,
                             1945
lhg1160.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Anspacher House
lhg1161.tif   Lvr Houses 2   A Typical Livermore Neighborhood
lhg1162.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Livermore Sanitarium, Mendenhall Home on
                             Grounds. Later Robertson's Sanitarium. From
                             Mrs. Grace Sweeney, 2-4-53
lhg1163.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Residence George E. Kennedy, Livermore.
                             From Midwinder Edition.
lhg1164.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Ramke - Gandolfo House, June 1975. Dopking
                             photo
lhg1165.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Ramke - Gandolfo House, June 1975. Dopking
                             photo
lhg1166.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Ramke - Gandolfo House, June 1975. Dopking
                             photo
lhg1167.tif   Lvr Houses 2   No Description
lhg1168.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Old Anderson Home on So K St.
lhg1169.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Old Anderson Home on So K St.
lhg1170.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Ramke - Gandolfo House. Front-east side
lhg1171.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Ramke - Gandolfo House. June 1975 South           1975
                             Side & Back
lhg1172.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Ramke - Gandolfo House. June 1975 South           1975
                             Side
lhg1173.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Ramke - Gandolfo House. June 1975 View of         1975
                             old highway looking east
lhg1174.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Ramke - Gandolfo House. June 1975 South           1975
                             Side
lhg1175.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Ramke - Gandolfo House. June 1975 This was        1975
                             the old highway near Livermore, looking east.

lhg1176.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Ramke - Gandolfo House. June 1975 Old             1975
                             Highway, Looking East
lhg1177.tif   Lvr Houses 2   Blacksmith shop on Gandolfo property. Was
                             once on main highway
lhg1178.tif   Lvr Houses 2   View to the east from Gandolfo (Ramke) House

lhg1179.tif   Scouts         Boy Scout leaders & instructors. Seated: Harry    1946
                             Beckowotz?, Dr. Morris Rubensteen; L. Herman
                             Wood. Standing: Murice June?? Of ??; Leo?
                             Callaghan. 8/9/46
lhg1180.tif   Scouts         Richard Owens. Eagle Scout. Wed, Feb 6,           1950
                             1950. For 2/10/50 Herald
lhg1181.tif   Scouts         Livermore Herald Feb 21, 1947, 1:3 (Page 1,       1947
                             column 3?)
lhg1182.tif   Scouts         Cub Robert Guifrice? Advance to Boy Scout;        1946
                             others include Jack Wallace, Leo Callaghan, Mr.
                             B.S. Horton [Den mom]; Billy Beckowitz & O.F.
                             Guchrie? Herald 4/5/46 1:3
lhg1183.tif   Scouts         From Herald
lhg1184.tif   Scouts         Delphame Bankhead, Judy Wood, Andren Perry
                             Jr. Livermore Herald
lhg1185.tif   Scouts         Chow time at Los Mocho Boy Scout Camp.
lhg1186.tif   Scouts         Girl scouts (Brownies?)
lhg1187.tif   Scouts         Troup 3, Girl scouts. "School mates? Overseas"    1950
                             program Herald, 3/24/50 1:3. Elliott H. Dopking
lhg1188.tif   Scouts                    Pouring cement for the floor of Los Mocho           1950
                                        Wilderness Camp Boy Scout swimming pool
                                        under construction 19 miles from Livermore last
                                        Saturday morning and afternoon. The pool is 40
                                        by 105 feet and took 4200 square feet of cement
                                        to cover the floor of the poo
lhg1189.tif   Scouts                    Al Correia; Belly Ferreiro; Kenneth Baker; Roy      1951
                                        nel Maesta? Practice 1st aid for Scouts in Action
                                        Show. Herald 2/2/51 - 1:3. Elliott Dipking

lhg1190.tif   Scouts                    Scoutmaster Bruce McLaughlin (seated) of
                                        Livermore Troop 1 tells scouts to "get busy" on
                                        sonstruction of new bike stands for convenience
                                        of theatre goers. This is one scout "Good Deed"
                                        which will last more than "for a day". Troup
                                        committeemen Roy Jensen

lhg1191.tif   Baer, Max, Buddy, et al   Buddy Baer at Louis Santucci home in
                                        Livermore
lhg1192.tif   Baer, Max, Buddy, et al   Milton Stockdale, Buddy Baer, Elmer Miles.          1938
                                        Herald, 4/22/38
lhg1193.tif   Baer, Max, Buddy, et al   Same as image below.
lhg1194.tif   Baer, Max, Buddy, et al   Livermore Herald. This is the original.
lhg1195.tif   Baer, Max, Buddy, et al   Parade
lhg1196.tif   Baer, Max, Buddy, et al   Mr. & Mrs. George K. Taylor from Livermore on
                                        their recent visit to the Metro-Goldwyn Mayer
                                        studios as guest of Cecil Holland meed Max
                                        Baer on the "Prizefighter and the Lady" set. His
                                        current M.G.M. Picture.
lhg1197.tif   Baer, Max, Buddy, et al   To the Chamber of Commerce of Livermore             1934
                                        Calif - I've fullfilled my promise and I am on my
                                        way back with the Championship. Sincerely, A
                                        Livermore Cowboy, Max Baer, 6/29/34. Note:
                                        This is a copy of the original. See scan of back

lhg1198.tif   Cemeteries                Cemetery on top of Oak Knoll about 1960             1960
lhg1199.tif   Cemeteries                May 30, 1983. Henry Thomas (imprint).               1983
lhg1200.tif   Cemeteries                May 30, 1983. Henry Thomas (imprint).               1983
lhg1201.tif   Cemeteries                Herald, March 5, 1978, page 2, col 3. Photo by      1978
                                        Mike Maloney, Herald.
lhg1202.tif   Cemeteries                GAR Plot Monument, Masonic Cemetery.
lhg1203.tif   Cask & Mask               L-R: Kristopher Welch - Sabina, Kirk McClure -
                                        broadcast official, Bill Hayden - Mr. Antrobus

lhg1204.tif   Cask & Mask               L-R: Kristopher Welch - Sabina, Bill Hayden -
                                        Mr. Antrobus, Joan Baer (Mrs Antrobus).
lhg1205.tif   Cask & Mask               L-R: Kirk McClure - broadcast official, Bill
                                        Hayden - Mr. Antrobus, Kristopher Welch -
                                        Sabina.
lhg1206.tif   Cask & Mask               L-R: Kirk McClure - broadcast official, Bill
                                        Hayden - Mr. Antrobus, Kristopher Welch -
                                        Sabina.
lhg1207.tif   Cask & Mask               L-R: Virginia Gregory - Fortune Teller,
                                        Kristopher Welch - Sabina, Bill Hayden - Mr.
                                        Antrobus.
lhg1208.tif   Cask & Mask               Bob Freis, Don Hubbard (conveners), Glenn
                                        BuBose - director
lhg1209.tif   Camp Frost                Camp Frost. Up Mines Rd. 14 mi. 40 - 60
                                        years ago. Up to 1920
lhg1210.tif   Camp Bessie               Jim Waupin? at camp Bessie
lhg1211.tif   Camp Bessie               Camp Bessie. Up Mines Rd. 14 mi. 40 - 60            1918
                                        years ago. Up to 1920
lhg1212.tif   Agriculture               Aylwards Hay Press works
lhg1213.tif   Agriculture               Winners of 4-H carnaval?: Betty Koge?, Elaine       1946
                                        Brcenin?, Mary Ann Gegers, Betty Ralph, Billy
                                        Ralph, Terry Rooney, Don Frisk. Herald
                                        10/11/46 1:2.
lhg1214.tif   Agriculture               Jim Connell? at ranch c 1906. Patterson Pass        1906
                                        & Cross Rd. [PP Rd - White line left of barn).
lhg1215.tif   Agriculture   Mrs Bill Ralph with her two children about 1935    1935
                            on Bill Ralph's ranch.
lhg1216.tif   Agriculture   Ernie's father-R                                   1924
                            L Marie Ralph
                            Ernie
                            1924.
                            L-R Marie, Earnie Gohler then their father.
                            Laughlin Rd.
lhg1217.tif   Agriculture   Sheep Camp at Shidaker place
lhg1218.tif   Agriculture   Hay Press Crew
lhg1219.tif   Agriculture   This picture shows the Belgian horses Mr.
                            Charles Gardella used to plow the ground where
                            Junction Avenue School is now. The machine
                            the horses are pulling was used to plant the
                            seeds in the ground.
lhg1220.tif   Agriculture   Horse Powered threshing machine
lhg1221.tif   Agriculture   Stationary Thresher
lhg1222.tif   Agriculture   Header & Header Wagons (Harvester)
lhg1223.tif   Agriculture   Stationary Thresher & Grain Cleaner. About         1920
                            1920.
lhg1224.tif   Agriculture   Bill Ralph & his horse powered harvester, about    1924
                            1924
lhg1225.tif   Agriculture   ??
lhg1226.tif   Agriculture   Wm. Ralph Ranch. Bill Ralph on left. Hay           1929
                            Wagon. About 1929 Gift of E.F. Gohler.
lhg1227.tif   Agriculture   18?? Horse combine harvester. Charles              18??
                            Gardella is probably the teamster.
lhg1228.tif   Agriculture   Hay press crew moving through the farms &          1920
                            ranches bailing hay. Power to press the hay into
                            bales was furnished by the two horses on the
                            "sweep", which tightened the press as the
                            horses went "round and round". Photo taken
                            about where Granada High School
lhg1229.tif   Agriculture   Harding Grass - Now Vineyard. Wente's.
                            From ease Ave - to south. Wente's Winery
                            water tower light sopt right of center. E.C.
                            Burson photo. From M. Sweet
lhg1230.tif   Agriculture   Poultry project
lhg1231.tif   Agriculture   The Gohler home on Laughlin Rd. About 1924
                            A pump jack to pump water. The engine is
                            inside the building. Gift of E.F. Gohler

lhg1232.tif   Agriculture   W. Ralph's team pulling a harvester, 1924. 16      1924
                            horses. In Livermore. Gift of E.F. Gohler.
                            Samuel Hauberd also listed on back.
lhg1233.tif   Agriculture   Bill Ralph & mowing hay, about 1929. Gift of       1929
                            E.F. Gohler
lhg1234.tif   Agriculture   Harold Moller & Calf.
                            Photo by Diana Vallario, Herald news.
lhg1235.tif   Agriculture   Haypress Crew & Cook House. On Greenley
                            ranch. 2 miles east of Altamont lealif?. Tom
                            Greely, Gerry Young, Sam Sweet, George
                            Garter.
lhg1236.tif   Agriculture   Bill Ralph's horse-powered harvester, about        1924
                            1924. Horse pulled, engine powered.
lhg1237.tif   Agriculture   Horse Powered harvester. Header wagon &
                            team.
lhg1238.tif   Agriculture   No Description
lhg1239.tif   Agriculture   Branding Cattle. Location not known.
lhg1240.tif   Agriculture   Charlie Gardella's horses at Ladd ~J? Ave.
lhg1241.tif   Agriculture   From 1889 Panoramic map. Giant Vegetables.         1889

lhg1242.tif   Agriculture   Round-up crew. Location not known
lhg1243.tif   Agriculture   Beadle, J.H. From "Western Wilds 8 the men         1878
                            who redeem them." S.E 1878, title: "California
                            Agriculture". Courtesy Bancroft Library.
lhg1244.tif   Agriculture              Harding Grass Wente's East Ave. From East
                                       Ave to South Crane Ridge - left Cedar Mountain
                                       (Center) Pine Ridge (right). E.C. Burson Photo,
                                       from M Sweet.
lhg1245.tif   Agriculture              Load of Almonda (a side line by a chicken
                                       raiser).
lhg1246.tif   Agriculture              Baling for J cervonter? Crowslanding (by Corral
                                       Hollow?)
lhg1247.tif   Agriculture              No Description
lhg1248.tif   Agriculture              Hay Press Crew
lhg1249.tif   Agriculture              Threshing in the 1890's near Livermore. Left to      1890
                                       right: H. Hazelhorst, H. Lienan, Fred Behn,
                                       Trumbley, A. Ramkee, Henry Hackman, Bill
                                       Lamee, 2 strangers, August Hagemann, Henry
                                       Seeband, Rudolf Lamee, unidentified, Herm
                                       Nienberg, Mr. Olsen, Henry Luders,

lhg1250.tif   Agriculture              No Description
lhg1251.tif   Agriculture              No Description. Another copy of above (1250).
                                       1250 is better.
lhg1252.tif   Agriculture              Team of 8 horses. Look to be discing. Ivan           1920
                                       Brown in flat hat. About 1920.
lhg1253.tif   Agriculture              Horse powered threshing machine
lhg1254.tif   Brushy Peak              Brushy Peak post card. "Once Hide Out of
                                       Joaquine Murietta E.J. Lawless Drugs.
lhg1255.tif   Brushy Peak              Post card of Brusy Peak. Lawless Photo
lhg1256.tif   Brushy Peak
lhg1257.tif   Brushy Peak              Single vs Married men tug of war 9/14/19             1919
lhg1258.tif   Brushy Peak              Single vs Married women Tug of war, 9/14/1919        1919

lhg1259.tif   Brushy Peak              Near Joaquin Muretta's Cave. Picnic, Brushy          1919
                                       Peak. 9/14/1919
lhg1260.tif   Brushy Peak              Tug of War - Brushy Peak - 9/14/1919                 1919
lhg1261.tif   Brushy Peak              Early day outing at Brushy Peak Rocks near
                                       Livermore. Man at right (standing with hat on) is
                                       John Aylward. Man holding arm in air in center
                                       of ground group is Dan McNally. On top of Rock
                                       - Hall Hat - Arthur Fiedler. 2-4-53, Grace
                                       Sweeney
lhg1262.tif   Brushy Peak              1907 Outing on Brushy Peak near Livermore.           1907
                                       Front row: l-r: Henry Burfein, Babe Nevin,
                                       George Farnham. Second row: Frank
                                       Fitzgerald, Ray Bernhart, Les Wright, Bud
                                       Wright. From Vernon J. Sappers.
lhg1263.tif   Brushy Peak              Caves at Brushy Peak
lhg1264.tif   Brushy Peak              L-R - Boy Boyer (Oakland) and Tom Knox. Man
                                       in center with hat on standing: Arthur Fiedler.
                                       Hatless man on Fiedler's right - John Aylward.
                                       Side-whiskered man next to last on right: Dan
                                       McNally. At right in front: Lou Crellin. Early day
                                       picnic on Brush
lhg1265.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   New IOOF, Rebecca presiding officiers Harold &       1947
                                       Mrs Nylen accept gavel from outgoing Ores
                                       Engblom? & Mrs. G. R. Retteg?. Herald 2/7/47
                                       1:3.
lhg1266.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Legion plants tree at Vets Bldg & all names in       1946
                                       Herald 3/29/46 1:3
lhg1267.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Mrs. Mae I. Beck. President of the Ladies'           1896
                                       League of Progress of Livermore Valley in 1896.
                                       From Midwinter
lhg1268.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Mrs. Martha Gordon - treasurer of Ladies'            1896
                                       League of Progress for Livermore Valley.
                                       Midwinter.
lhg1269.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Ars. Albert Bistorious, Secretary of the Ladies'     1896
                                       League of Progress for Livermore Valley. From
                                       Midwinter Edition
lhg1270.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Mrs. Emma Coffman. Vice President of Ladies'         1896
                                       League of Progress of Livermore Valley. From
                                       Midwinter Edition.
lhg1271.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   American Legion Auxiliary. Nellie Peterson
                                       (bottom left), Edna Moon (center), Bobbie
                                       Benton (right). Photo by Diana Vallario, Herald
                                       News.
lhg1272.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Carrie Mauchle & Dr. Judith Ahlem? Elliott's
                                       Studio. Livermore Herald.
lhg1273.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Veterans of Foreign Wars banner. Chester
                                       Stanley, Chi Vukota
lhg1274.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Mrs. Mary Armstrong & Jack Wilson…. (can't
                                       read the rest). Elliott H. Dopking photo.
lhg1275.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Marilyn Carstensen. Preceptor Eta theta prexy.      1983
                                       For 5/24/1983, Herald
lhg1276.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Betty Williford, Las Damas 9/16/1983                1983
lhg1277.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Del Valle Home Economists. Carla Escola,            1982
                                       President. Pat Hoenig, Vice President, Evie
                                       Bakker, President Elect. Photo by Gordon
                                       Clark, Herald. 4/28/1982
lhg1278.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Foresters of America. Back row Left: J.H.
                                       (Hei?ie) Bargmann
lhg1279.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Right: Joe Michell. Herald
lhg1280.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Robert White
lhg1281.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Center: C.J. Fracesse? Herald
lhg1282.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Lions Installation. Manuel Mederios (president).
                                       Judge M.J. Clark. Henry Windhusen. Bill
                                       Elliott's Studio. Herald
lhg1283.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Herald, 5/24/46. 1:3 All in photo IDed in paper.    1946

lhg1284.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   At Livermore Foresters of America.
lhg1285.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   2/15/5?. Elliott H. Dopking. Herald
lhg1286.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Eastern Star Installation. Left: Ann Burkenwitz.
                                       Winnona Brown. ? Rt: State rep for Eastern
                                       Star? Fred Brown
lhg1287.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Philomens Medecros (center) accept gavel of         1949
                                       BPW from Mrs. Elanor Martin (right) as Mrs.
                                       Jeanette Anderson looks on. Herald 4/29/49
                                       1:3
lhg1288.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   A.E. Al Stahe, Keith Rea, Fred Shaffler, ? & AW     1948
                                       Victoria 20-30 temp officers? Herald 1/16/48 1:3
                                       Elliott H. Dopking
lhg1289.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Foresters. Herald, 5/10/46 1:3. Names on            1946
                                       back.
lhg1290.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Country Club Choc. Banquet Daughters of             1945
                                       America. 1945.
lhg1291.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Wanda McFadden & Mrs. Helen Hughes. Bill            1952
                                       Elliott's Studio. Herald. July 4, 1952
lhg1292.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Mary Podstata, Pleasanton, elected State            1930
                                       President, PEO at Oakland 5/6/30
lhg1293.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Herald, 5/3/46. Names on back.                      1946
lhg1294.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Sorophurst? Installation. 7/10/1953                 1953
lhg1295.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Eagles & Auxiliary Installaion, June 27, 1952       1952
                                       Names are listed
lhg1296.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Livermore American Legion. Post 47. Elliott H.
                                       Dopking. Herald.
lhg1297.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Eastern Star Lodge. C 1945                          1945
lhg1298.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Mrs. Elsie Sandall of Seattle. Dr. Judith Ahlern,
                                       Pres. Dr. Ruth Thomas of Sacramento Elliott's
                                       Sudio. Herald.
lhg1299.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Enterprize. Carol Schoonover, Dorothy Bishop.
                                       Del Valle Home Ec. Photo by Gordon Clark.
                                       Herald.
lhg1300.tif   Asso, Clubs, Societies   Bruce Brenton, new Legion ?? & Mrs. Wallace         1948
                                       Walker, aux pres. Herald 8/13/48 - 1:3. Elliott
                                       H. Dopling.
lhg1301.tif   Crosby Ranch             Crosby Ranch "Mulfontes" in the Arroyo Valle, in
                                       Livermore. The second house they built.. L-R:
                                       Mania, Isabella, Wm Crosby, Bill, Hired girl, an
                                       orphan
lhg1302.tif   Crosby Ranch             Crosby Picnic at Mulfontes. See scan of back
                                       for some names.
lhg1303.tif   Crosby Ranch      Crosby Ranch, Arroyo Del Valle. Left, behind
                                wagon: Probably Mary Crosby, on wagon:
                                Oliver, Capt Crosby, Isabel. Horses: Florrie
                                (back) & Cress
lhg1304.tif   Crosby Ranch      Crosby Ranch, middle house
lhg1305.tif   Crosby Ranch      Crosby Ranch, Florri & Cress (horses). Capt
                                Crosby & Mr. Boyd - minister withoug portfolio -
                                used to come to hunt.
lhg1306.tif   Crosby Ranch      Photograph of 'Casita' - honeymoon cottage on
                                Crosby Ranch "Mulfontes". Arroyo Del Valle.
                                The baby is Isabella Crosby McGeeham?

lhg1307.tif   Crosby Ranch      A banquet of the Loyal Legion of the US at the       1913
                                Fairmont Hotel, SF, about 1913. Capt Crosby is
                                the man with the blond beard, directly under the
                                chandelier a the left.
lhg1308.tif   Crosby Ranch      Crosby Ranch, looking south in spring
lhg1309.tif   Crosby Ranch      Crosby Ranch - From Ben Oats looking towards
                                Cedar Mountain.
lhg1310.tif   Crosby Ranch      Writeup on the Crosby Ranch
lhg1311.tif   Crosby Ranch      Crosby Ranch - Mulfontes from hill west of it.       1963
lhg1312.tif   Crosby Ranch      1963. Crosby Ranch, 1908 house.                      1963
lhg1313.tif   Crosby Ranch      1963. Crosby Ranch, 1908 house.                      1963
lhg1314.tif   Crosby Ranch      1967, Crosby Ranch. L-R: Ralph Newton, Doris         1967
                                Crosby, Zylpha Beck, Isabella Crosby
                                McGecham?
lhg1315.tif   Crosby Ranch      1963. Crosby Ranch, 1908 house.                      1963
lhg1316.tif   Crosby Ranch      1963. Crosby Ranch, 1908 house.                      1963
lhg1317.tif   Crosby Ranch      View up the Arroyo del Valle, from 1908 Crosby       1963
                                House. 1963 photo
lhg1318.tif   Crosby Ranch      Ben Oats - Crosby Ranch 1963.                        1963
lhg1319.tif   Crosby Ranch      Mulfontes, 4/27/66. View to the north Isabella &     1966
                                Ralph.
lhg1320.tif   Crosby Ranch      Mulfontes, showing the beams of the maple tree     4/27/1966
                                trunks, View through the library from the living
                                room. 4/27/66
lhg1321.tif   Crosby Ranch      View of the large trees around the middle house    4/27/1966
                                (& spring) at Mulfontes. 4/27/66
lhg1322.tif   Crosby Ranch      Mulfontes. View into the front bedroom,            4/27/1966
                                showing the maple tree beams in living room.
                                4/27/66
lhg1323.tif   Crosby Ranch      Mulfontes, photo of bookcases in library.          4/27/1966
                                4/27/66
lhg1324.tif   Crosby Ranch      Crosby Ranch, looking east through front door.       1965
                                1965
lhg1325.tif   Crosby Ranch      Crosby Ranch, 1908 house, center fireplace.          1965
                                1965
lhg1326.tif   Crosby Ranch      Crosby Ranch, 1908 house, lookine East. 1965         1965

lhg1327.tif   Crosby Ranch      Crosby Ranch, 1908 house, lookine East. 1965         1965

lhg1328.tif   Crosby Ranch      Crosby Ranch, 1908 house. 1965                       1965
lhg1329.tif   Gravel Industry   Gravel Industry
lhg1330.tif   Bucheye, Camp     Mines Road, across from the Maitland Henry's
                                Pines lodge.
lhg1331.tif   Beck              L. Zyepha Beck in buggy on First St. The baby
                                brother is in his godmother's lap. 1st St.
                                Livermore about ??. Oddfellows Building in
                                background.
lhg1332.tif   Beck              Zylpha Beck outside her cottage on Third St.,
                                The former C.C. Smith house pictured above.
lhg1333.tif   Beck              Beck House. 1935                                     1935
lhg1334.tif   Beck              Beck House
lhg1335.tif   Beck              Beck House, 1910-1915. NE corner 4th & J             1913
lhg1336.tif   Beck              Beck House. NE corner of 4th & J
lhg1337.tif   Beck              George Beck. Assemblyman. Photo from                 1925
                                obituary, Herald 10/23/25.
lhg1338.tif   Beck              John? Beck. From Herald Midwinter Edition.           1896
lhg1339.tif   Beck            Madison Beck - Junior member of firm of               1896
                              George Beck & Co. Livermore. Born in Perrin
                              County, Indiana in 1859. Married Anna Inman,
                              third daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Daniel Inman of the
                              valley in 1886. From Herald Midwinter Edition

lhg1340.tif   Beck            George Beck, Livermore, 1918                          1918
lhg1341.tif   Art & Artists   Geo Walchmaker & Tilli Calhoun. Herald,               1979
                              9/6/1979, 17:3
lhg1342.tif   Art & Artists   ??
lhg1343.tif   Art & Artists   Rise Over Run / Solar sight Line. Sam                 1982
                              Richardson Sculpter. On lawn at Livermore City
                              Hall, 1982. Henry thomas photo.
lhg1344.tif   Post Cards      Originally the Farmer's Exchange Hotel, prop M.
                              Hupers. Later the Bus Terminal. On the east
                              side of L St just No of First. Gift to the LHG by
                              David Bentham.
lhg1345.tif   Post Cards      Srroyo Rd, Livermore about 1950. Looking              1950
                              south
lhg1346.tif   Post Cards      Community Center. Gift from David Bentham
lhg1347.tif   Post Cards      Library Park - Livermore, Jan 30, 1922. EJ            1922
                              Lawless Photo-Druggist
lhg1348.tif   Post Cards      Same as above. This one was sent. Has 1cent           1922
                              stamp on back.
lhg1349.tif   Post Cards      Livermore Presbyterian Church about 1955.
                              Lawless Photo
lhg1350.tif   Post Cards      Mt. Diable in Winter, Livermore, Calif. KcKown
                              & Mess, Pub.
lhg1351.tif   Post Cards      Taken about 1950 from Arroyo Rd looking               1950
                              across the Rd down to Olivina. Wetmore Rd on
                              Right. Looking West.
lhg1352.tif   Post Cards      Fifth St. School. Dr. John Robertson's House.
                              First St. Livermore Hydropathic Hosp.

lhg1353.tif   Post Cards      Doe & Twins. VSVA Hospital, Livermore. Gift
                              of David Bentham
lhg1354.tif   Post Cards      Hydropathic Building - Sanitarium, Livermore
lhg1355.tif   Post Cards      1st & J Sts. Livermore, CA About 1930                 1930
lhg1356.tif   Post Cards      1932 Show Decorations. Livermore Herald               1932
lhg1357.tif   Post Cards      Vote Yes at Grammer School
lhg1358.tif   Post Cards      LHS Football Team, 1910.                              1910
lhg1359.tif   Post Cards      The Old Floyd Place on the Arroyo del Valle,
                              Livermore.
lhg1360.tif   Post Cards      Concannon Vineyard
lhg1361.tif   Post Cards      Old Livermore Grammer School on site of
                              present Fifth Street School
lhg1362.tif   Post Cards      Livermore High School. On block between 7th
                              and 8th G and H. Built 1893 - used until 1930,
                              when new building on Maple Street was built

lhg1363.tif   Post Cards      Del Valle Ranch, Livermore. Lawless Photo.
lhg1364.tif   Post Cards      Cedarbrook Lodge on Mocho Creek about 10
                              miles south of Livermore at foot of Cedar
                              Mountain.
lhg1365.tif   Post Cards      Washington Hotel, Livermore Cal.
lhg1366.tif   Post Cards      Livermore Public Library. An atmosphere for
                              quiet study and recreational reading is
                              enhanced by the richly-landscaped grounds
                              surrounding Livermore's library. In addition to a
                              collection of over 27000 volumes, library
                              facilities include a periodical lou
lhg1367.tif   Post Cards      First Presbyterian Church, Livermore
lhg1368.tif   Post Cards      I am terribly rushed
lhg1369.tif   Post Cards      Livermore Carnegie Library
lhg1370.tif   Post Cards      VS Veterans Hospital, Livermore
lhg1371.tif   Post Cards      Arroyo Sanitarium, Livermore
lhg1372.tif   Post Cards      First Street looking east from South Livermore
                              Ave. First bulding on left city hall (formerly Bank
                              of Italy, later Bank of America).
lhg1373.tif   Post Cards              Bank of America, Dutcher's. 12/1/35                 1935
lhg1374.tif   Post Cards              Cresta Blanca, Livermore Cal
lhg1375.tif   Post Cards              Thanksgiving Day 1909, LUHS Brooklyns
lhg1376.tif   Post Cards              Bill Stingeon's Shack at southeast corner 8th st    1922
                                      and So Livermore, 1922.
lhg1377.tif   Post Cards              1914 Theater Building. Louis Schenone
                                      Building, south side of 1st between So
                                      Livermore & J St. This photo might have been
                                      taken at the time the buliding was finished. Note
                                      the wooden sidewalk awning to the left that is
                                      missing from later photos.
lhg1378.tif   Post Cards              1381 First Street, Livermore Cal. About 1900.       1900

lhg1379.tif   Post Cards              Foresters Hall, Livermore, Cal. Lawless Photo

lhg1380.tif   Post Cards              Livermore Sanitarium. 12/1/35                       1935
lhg1381.tif   Post Cards              Livermore High School.
lhg1382.tif   Post Cards              Car at Highway Garage? Robert C Myers.
lhg1383.tif   Post Cards              Car at the Highway Garage. Robert C Myers.
lhg1384.tif   Post Cards              Car at the Highway Garage. Robert C Myers.
lhg1385.tif   Post Cards              Flying A sign at the Highway Garage. Robert C
                                      Myers.
lhg1386.tif   Arroyo Del Valle        Bridge at Cresta Blanca on Arroyo Valle. Early,     1925
                                      before 1930
lhg1387.tif   Arroyo Del Valle        Old Swimming hole at Cresta Blanca. 1925?           1925
lhg1388.tif   Camp Parks, Shoemaker   Left to right: Rear Admiral Hugo W. Osterhaus,      1944
                                      USN, (Ret.), commanding officer of the U.S.
                                      Naval Training Center, Treasure Island, Captain
                                      O. M. Forster, USN, commanding officer of the
                                      new Naval Personel Distribution Center,
                                      Pleasanton, and Commander Joh

lhg1389.tif   Camp Parks, Shoemaker   L-R: Mayor and Mrs. Don M. Leidig of Hayward,       1943
                                      Captain O. M. Forster, USN, commanding
                                      officer of the Naval Personnel Distribution
                                      Center, Pleasanton, and Mayor Androse Rivolta
                                      of Pleasanton. 1943
lhg1390.tif   Camp Parks, Shoemaker   Maillane Henry, Bart Carter, Bill Kelly? (or Gatz
                                      Wagner), Bob Moclean, Steve Palmer, Richard
                                      Callaghan, Ray Gurney, Harald Kamp.

lhg1391.tif   Dania                   Dania Hall. "Where I Stood Guard over dead
                                      soldier. Post card
lhg1392.tif   Dania                   Livermore Dania Hall Building Committee, 1911.      1911
                                      Back row L-R: Hans C. Madsen, Chris H.
                                      Fredriksen, (unidentified), and Ole R. Groth.
                                      Front row L-R: Hans Therkelsen Madsen, Henry
                                      P. Madison and Carl Holm.
lhg1393.tif   Dania                   Dania Hall. Dedication?                             1911
lhg1394.tif   Dania                   Inside Dania Hall
lhg1395.tif   Dania                   Dania Hall, likely shortly after/during
                                      construction.
lhg1396.tif   Dania                   Fredensborg
lhg1397.tif   Dania                   1909 Dania. Photocopy of a photo.                   1909
lhg1398.tif   Dania                   1921 picnic, Dania. Photocopy of a photo.
                                      (Appears to be a Ruby Hill Winery.- BN)
lhg1399.tif   Dania                   Dainia, 1911. Photocopy of a photo.                 1911
lhg1400.tif   Dania                   Grundstenen Nedlaegges.
lhg1401.tif   Dania                   Dania Hall. Dedication?                             1911
lhg1402.tif   Dania                   Dannevang AFD No. 7
lhg1403.tif   Chequerstor             Livermore Hatchery. Chequerstor. (I believe
                                      that this is on the NE corner of L and Railroad -
                                      the Boys Ranch thrift store now - note the RR
                                      crossing sign reflection in the glass - BN)

lhg1404.tif   Chequerstor             Livermore Hatchery. Chequerstor, Feb 2, 1956        1956

lhg1405.tif   Chequerstor             Livermore Hatchery. Chequerstor, Feb 2, 1956
lhg1406.tif   Chequerstor               Frank Munoz. Livermore Hatchery.
                                        Chequerstor, Feb 2, 1956
lhg1407.tif   Chequerstor               Livermore Hatchery. Chequerstor, Feb 2, 1956

lhg1408.tif   Chequerstor               Livermore Hatchery. Chequerstor. These
                                        appear to be the hatchery lockers (see other
                                        photos).
lhg1409.tif   Chequerstor               Livermore Hatchery. Chequerstor. "Dept. of
                                        Instructional Materials Alameda County Schools.

lhg1410.tif   Chequerstor               Chequerstor float in parade. David's Studio.
lhg1411.tif   Chequerstor               Appears to be a party at Chequerstor store.
lhg1412.tif   Chequerstor               Appears to be a party at Chequerstor store..
                                        Foreground: Helen Shirley & Helen Thompson.

lhg1413.tif   Chequerstor               Appears to be a party at Chequerstor store.
lhg1414.tif   Chequerstor               Appears to be a party at Chequerstor store.
lhg1415.tif   Chequerstor               Chequestor Store. Herald Photo.
lhg1416.tif   Chequerstor               Connie & Bert Duke. Chequestor Store. Herald        1982
                                        Photo. Photo by Gordon Clark. July 29, 1982

lhg1417.tif   Chequerstor               Chequerstor Store, outside. On the far right, the
                                        Livermore Builder's Supply can be seen (across
                                        Railroad Ave).
lhg1418.tif   Chequerstor               Chequerstor Store, outside.
lhg1419.tif   Chequerstor               Chequerstor Store, inside.
lhg1420.tif   Chequerstor               Chequerstor Store, inside.
lhg1421.tif   Chequerstor               Chequerstor Store, inside.
lhg1422.tif   Chequerstor               Chequerstor Store, inside.
lhg1423.tif   Chequerstor               Chequerstor Store, inside.
lhg1424.tif   Chequerstor               Chequerstor Store, inside.
lhg1425.tif   Chequerstor               Chequerstor Store, inside.
lhg1426.tif   Chequerstor               ?? LRL Livermore Graphic Arts Dept. "Not for
                                        Publication without permission"
lhg1427.tif   Chequerstor               Chequerstor Store, inside. "Livermore Hatchery
                                        & Feed" truck can be seen outside through the
                                        window.
lhg1428.tif   Chequerstor               Chequerstor Store, inside. Feed Store portion.

lhg1429.tif   Festivals, Celebrations   Liberty Bell, Livermore Cal. July 16, 1915,
                                        11:00PM. Post Card.
lhg1430.tif   Festivals, Celebrations   Margaret Morteen & Margaret Eneiicla?
                                        5/11/82. Photo by Diana Vallario. Herald News.
                                        Herald Negative, "downstairs". In 5/27/82
                                        Herald, 25:1
lhg1431.tif   Hetch Hetchy              Hauling gravel from Mocho Creek bed not far
                                        from where H.J. Kaiser began his gravel
                                        operations. Now site of Valley Memorial
                                        Hospital. Filed under Hetch Hetchy because the
                                        copy of this photo has "? For Hetch Hetchy" on
                                        it.
lhg1432.tif   Hetch Hetchy              L-R: Stanley M Jarrett - instructor. Frank
                                        Holmes - Captain, James Daffer, John F White,
                                        H.H. Hammel, Hubert Hughes, Howard Kezar,
                                        PA Peterson, Camp Surp Mocho Camp?

lhg1433.tif   Hetch Hetchy              No writing.
lhg1434.tif   Holidays                  Pleasanton Race Track? May Day? Poor
                                        quality photo
lhg1435.tif   Holidays                  Day Day? Probably at the fair grounds track.
                                        Post Card.
lhg1436.tif   Holidays                  Goddess of Liberty. Livermore 4th of July
                                        Celebration. About 1901. Daisy Righter.
lhg1437.tif   Holidays                  Eureka and her attendants in the Livermore
                                        Fourth of July Celebration. L-R: Miss Matie
                                        Fennon, Goddess of Liberty; Miss Mayme
                                        Gallgher, Miss Henrietta Wagoner, Miss Dollie
                                        McKown, Miss Anna Wagoner, Miss Ella
                                        Concannon, Miss May Wente, who will be "Eur
lhg1438.tif   Horse Shows          Sweeney's Opera House, E 1st St. at McLeod.
                                   McNally, winery bineyard, Christensen, Altamont
                                   Hotel, Berlin, Saloon & restaurant in
                                   Independence Hall (where Firehouse is now -
                                   1968), Goemer, furniture business, Gene Day,
                                   driver, owned a livery stable.

lhg1439.tif   Horse Shows          No writing.
lhg1440.tif   Hunters & Hunting    Jay Bruce & 3 lions Killed in Orestimba? Canyon
                                   on 1/8/25
lhg1441.tif   Hunters & Hunting    Hunting Lodge in the Livermore Mountains
                                   about 1930. Vic Black on left. Gift of E.F.
                                   Gohler.
lhg1442.tif   Hunters & Hunting    Jos Concannon Jr. Jas Dolan. At 14 mile
                                   House on Mines Road about 1950. Crocekey,
                                   Prop. In center.
lhg1443.tif   Livermore Ark Club   Livermore 4th of July Celebration. Livermore
                                   Ark Club. ?,?,Alex McDonald,?,Hank Subard?,
                                   ?,?,?,?,?,HJ Callaghan,?,?,?. Sign on float: "C.
                                   Iverson will give an Exebition of Fancy Shooting
                                   Them Up Immediately after the parade."

lhg1444.tif   Livermore Ark Club   Same image as above. Above is original, this is    1920
                                   copy. 1920?
lhg1445.tif   Livermore Bands      Livermore Cornet Band. "Wm Rees".
lhg1446.tif   Livermore Bands      Livermore Band, 6/7/25. Center Frank E
                                   Higueria, drum major. At his right - Louis
                                   Sachau, director.
lhg1447.tif   Livermore Bands      Eagles Drum Corps. 6/8/1985.                       1985
lhg1448.tif   Livermore Bands      No writing.
lhg1449.tif   Livermore Bands      Livermore Band, 1927 See back for listing of       1927
                                   most of the members
lhg1450.tif   Livermore Bands      Livremore Band, 1927. Same image as 1449.          1927
                                   This one is probably more original. See back.

lhg1451.tif   Livermore Bands      Livermore Concert Band, May 31, 1908. See          1908
                                   back for band members
lhg1452.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        Frances Calaghan - Cater Colors. Photo by
                                   Diana Vallario, The Herald
lhg1453.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        Tillie Calhoun. No writing on photo
lhg1454.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        Livermore Art Assocoation. Outside First Club      1955
                                   House on No Livermore Ave. 1955 or 1956.
                                   Janet Newton, Portraitist. Robert C. Myers
                                   photo.
lhg1455.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        Livermore Art Assocoation. Outside First Club      1955
                                   House on No Livermore Ave. 1955 or 1956.
                                   Janet Newton, Portraitist. Robert C. Myers
                                   photo.
lhg1456.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        Art in the Vineyard. Donna Wilcox, Jon             1982
                                   Christenson, Nelda Spear. April 22, 1982.
                                   Photo by Neil Hanshaw, Tri Valley Herald
lhg1457.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        Marsha Bell?? Photo by Neil Hanshaw, Herald.       1982
                                   9/3/1982
lhg1458.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        Muriel Doggett (L), Jean Hawley (R), Ruth
                                   Burden(Bottom). Livermore Art League. Herald
                                   Photo
lhg1459.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        Carolyn Ramsey, Merilan (Tilli) Calhoun. Photo
                                   by Neil Hanshaw
lhg1460.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        Sharon Flores, Edmee Keele. Staff Photo. April     1982
                                   9, 1982
lhg1461.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        No writing.
lhg1462.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        Augusta Holm, Ellen Olsen. Photo by Gorden
                                   Clark, The Herald
lhg1463.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        Photo by Neil Hanshaw. Ruth Burden. Herald.

lhg1464.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        Norma Webb. Al Walburg - Rotary. Corn Roast
                                   - Herald. Photo by Diana Vallario
lhg1465.tif   Lvr Art Asso.        Lois Kause. Photo by Gordon Clark, Herald.         1982
                                   Sept 8, 1982
lhg1466.tif   Lvr Art Asso.            Taui Hedstram, Rt. With warped wool - Wool          1983
                                       weaving friends. June 9, 1983. Photo by
                                       Gordon Clark, Herald
lhg1467.tif   Lvr Art Asso.            Sharon Gardener (L) cards & Anne Emery              1983
                                       Spins. Photo by Gordon Clark, the Herald.
                                       6/9/1983
lhg1468.tif   Lvr Art Asso.            Livermore Art Assocoation. Outside First Club
                                       House on No Livermore Ave. Janet Newton,
                                       Portraitist. Robert C. Myers photo.
lhg1469.tif   Lvr Art Asso.            Livermore Art Assocoation. Outside First Club       1955
                                       House on No Livermore Ave. 1955-56 L-R:
                                       Polly McMaster, Model for portrait, (again), ?Mgt
                                       McErven, Janet Newton. Robert C. Myers
                                       photo.
lhg1470.tif   Lvr Art Asso.            Livermore Art Assocoation. Outside First Club       1955
                                       House on No Livermore Ave. 1955-56. Robert
                                       C. Myers photo.
lhg1471.tif   Streets, Roads           Highway 50
lhg1472.tif   Streets, Roads           Probably a 580 underpass? Sign indicates "21
                                       North"
lhg1473.tif   Streets, Roads           Dublin Grade, I-580. Primitive Baptist Church
                                       on right.
lhg1474.tif   Streets, Roads           Livermore Pass, US Highway Route 50
lhg1475.tif   US Armed Forced          Camp of the 30th Inf at Rodeo Grounds. May          1936
                                       10&11, 1936
lhg1476.tif   US Armed Forced          John J. Kelly. Post Card
lhg1477.tif   US Armed Forced          30th infantry in Livermore - camped at Rodto        1936
                                       grounds. Edw Durta (VFW), W. Gatzmer
                                       Wagoner (American Legion), Col I J Phillapson -
                                       Commanding 30th Inf. Geo F Tubbs, Mayor. Dr
                                       Chesley Bush, Pres Liv Chamber of Commerce.
                                       Wm Rees C of C. 5/12/36

lhg1478.tif   US Armed Forced          Sgt Hiram? Meyers. Livermore Herald.
lhg1479.tif   US Armed Forced          Camp Williams, Utah, 1938                           1938
lhg1480.tif   Valley Streets & roads   this is the back road to Mt. Hamilton from
                                       Livermore (Mines Road) about 1870 to
                                       1880.
                                       lhg1481.tifWater SupplyDel Valle Reservoir.
                                       1979 Appears to be from a magazine.1979
                                       lhg1482.tifLLNL1Third from left: Herbert
                                       York, Director Lawrence Radiation Laboratory.
                                       Fourth from left: Dr. Fiedler, HEC San
                                       Francisco. Livermore Herald.
                                       lhg1483.tifLLNL1Entrance to Livermore
                                       Radiation Laboratory.
                                       lhg1484.tifLLNL1US Naval Air Station,
                                       Livermore. Official US Navy Photograph".

lhg1485.tif   LLNL1                    Louise Simone - South Pass office, LLNL.            1982
                                       Livermore Herald, 8/28/82 (published). 8/25/82
                                       photo.
lhg1486.tif   LLNL1                    11/24/1982. Protest at the lab. (Lab Pow            1982
                                       Wow).
lhg1487.tif   LLNL2                    President George Bush (Sr) visit to LLNL, 1990.
                                       LLNL Photo. The file also has a lab memo
                                       about the visit.
lhg1488.tif   LLNL2                    President George Bush (Sr) visit to LLNL 1990.
                                       LLNL Photo.
lhg1489.tif   LLNL2                    President George Bush (Sr) visit to LLNL 1990.
                                       LLNL Photo.
lhg1490.tif   LLNL2                    President George Bush (Sr) visit to LLNL 1990.
                                       LLNL Photo.
lhg1491.tif   LLNL2                    President George Bush (Sr) visit to LLNL 1990.
                                       LLNL Photo.
lhg1492.tif   LLNL2                    President George Bush (Sr) visit to LLNL 1990.
                                       LLNL Photo.
lhg1493.tif   LLNL2                    President George Bush (Sr) visit to LLNL 1990.
                                       LLNL Photo.
lhg1494.tif   Mission San Jose       Mission San Jose by Henry Miller. Bancroft
                                     Library
lhg1495.tif   Mission San Jose       The Gravestone of Robert Livermore at Mission       1981
                                     San Jose, 1981. At this time is was outside,
                                     beside the wooden church. That church has
                                     since been moved, and the gravesite is now
                                     inside the newly built replica church.

lhg1496.tif   Mission San Jose       Father Wm. Aheloe pointing to the site of Robert    1981
                                     Livermore's grave - before the wooden church
                                     was moved.
lhg1497.tif   Oil & Gas Wells        1912 - Hamilton Ranch - now G Wagoner.
lhg1498.tif   Pine Camp              Pine Camp, in the valley of the Arroyo Mocho
lhg1499.tif   Pine Camp              Pine Camp in Livermore hills. "See Tom Knox
                                     Story"
lhg1500.tif   Post Offices           DeForest (Deforest) Post office in San Antone       1910
                                     Valley about 1910
lhg1501.tif   Post Offices           Dedication of the Post Offiece Copy says March      1940
                                     2, 1940 See Herald 3/8/40 1:3
lhg1502.tif                          The Old Post Office, North side of First St.        1945
lhg1503.tif   Post Offices           Post office and Pac Tel Building, Livermore.
                                     Probably in 1940s
lhg1504.tif   Post Offices           Postmaster Morton M Day of Deforest post
                                     office, Calif, who words for Uncle Same for $10
                                     a year.
lhg1505.tif   Post Offices           Wm. R. McKinnon - retiring Livermore
                                     Postmaster. Peter M Murray, his successor.
                                     Ellliott H Dopking Photography.
lhg1506.tif   Schools - Summit       Altamont (Summit) School. From poster in
                                     Armstrong Collection
lhg1507.tif   Schools - Summit       Altamont School, photographed in 1974               1974
lhg1508.tif   Schools - Summit       Altamont (Summit) School.
lhg1509.tif   Schools - Summit       Horse Shed, Summit School. Stamp on back:           1951
                                     Commercial Studios, December 11, 1951

lhg1510.tif   Schools - Summit       5th St School class 5/12/78 - Misfiled!!!           1978
lhg1511.tif   Schools - Summit       Summit School class. "Commercial Studios,           1951
                                     Dec 11, 1951"
lhg1512.tif   Schools - Summit       Miss Lula Alynard, Altamont School Teacher
lhg1513.tif   Schools - Summit       Summit School - 1915 class                          1915
lhg1514.tif   Schools - Summit       Summit School class, 1933. Extreme Top -            1933
                                     Miss Leona Lassen
                                     Top: Reading left to right: Evelyn Mohr, Gertrude
                                     Egan, Rae Madsen, Ruddy Tachner, and Dan
                                     Fachner. Middle row: Stella Fachner,
                                     Georgiana Allen, Verna Fachner and Margaret
                                     Mohr.
                                     Bottom row: Jea
lhg1515.tif   Schools - Summit       Bill Armstrong Jr, Summit School, Altamont Cal,     1932
                                     Age 12. Taken Jan 21, 1936. Note at scan:
                                     Guessing that Bill Armstrong is top right in
                                     comparing to #1514 above.
lhg1516.tif   Schools - Summit       Summit School 1897 class.                           1897
lhg1517.tif   Schools - Summit       Summit School. W.H. Donahue Teacher. 1890.          1890
                                     See scan of back
lhg1518.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1519.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1520.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1521.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1522.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1523.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1524.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1525.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1526.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1527.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1528.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1529.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1530.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1531.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1532.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                                       1956
lhg1533.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1956
lhg1534.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1956
lhg1535.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1956
lhg1536.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1956
lhg1537.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1956
lhg1538.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1956
lhg1539.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1956
lhg1540.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1956
lhg1541.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1956
lhg1542.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1956
lhg1543.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1544.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1545.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1546.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1547.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1548.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1549.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1550.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1551.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1552.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1553.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1554.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1555.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1556.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1557.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1558.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1559.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1560.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1561.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1562.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1563.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1564.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1565.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1566.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1567.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1568.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1569.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1570.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1571.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1572.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1573.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1574.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1575.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1576.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1577.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1578.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1579.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1580.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1581.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1582.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1583.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1584.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1585.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1586.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1587.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1588.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1589.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1590.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1591.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1592.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1593.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1594.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1595.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1596.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1597.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1598.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1599.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1600.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1601.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1602.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1603.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   1957
lhg1604.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1605.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1606.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1607.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1608.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1609.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1610.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1611.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1612.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1613.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1614.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1615.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1616.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Dining Room                                1957
lhg1617.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Nurses Quartrers                           1958
lhg1618.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Pete & Jane Ramsdell                       1958
lhg1619.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1958
lhg1620.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1958
lhg1621.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1959
lhg1622.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   VAH Livermore                              1962
lhg1623.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Purchased Livermore March 25, 1958. A.V.
                                     Simmays? Car & Cottage
lhg1624.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   DV? Simmays Cottage
lhg1625.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1626.tif   Livermore Sanitarium                                              1957
lhg1627.tif   Livermore Sanitarium   Jane Ramsdell. Office
lhg1628.tif   Livermore Sanitarium

								
To top