Preakness Stakes Betting - Famous Preakness Horses

Document Sample
Preakness Stakes Betting - Famous Preakness Horses Powered By Docstoc
					There have been a number of famous horses to grace the Preakness. It becomes a
question of what makes one great. Is it merely their own wins or that of their children?
Is it their ability to win at particular races or all races? Is it their ability to satisfy the
Preakness Race bettors?

Man O’War is a name known even outside of racing circles. He set a high bar having in
21 starts, 20 wins and only 1 second place. He set multiple records, breaking them often
by multiple seconds. While many believe his life as a sire was mismanaged, they had
him breeding with his own mares he did produce War Admiral, a Triple Crown winner.

Who can forget Secretariat? The year Secretariat won the Triple Crown, 1973, he set
course records at both the Derby and the Preakness, not to mention a world record at
Belmont Stakes, winning by 31 lengths. His record for 1 ½ miles is still not broken. The
first Triple Crown winner in the era of television horse racing, CBS hardly had a lens that
could catch the distance between Secretariat and the second place horse, putting every
Horse bettor on the edge of their seats.

Seattle Slew remains the only undefeated Triple Crown winner. Now, he did come in
second in two races and unplaced in one, but those were after his big win. Seattle Slew
won the Triple Crown with an amazing 9-0 record. He continued to race through medical
problems, stilling winning almost every time.

Affirmed, the last Triple Crown winner, 1978, came from a long line of winners. The
great-great grandson of War Admiral, and the great-great-great grandson of Man O’War
great things were expected of him. This horse had his very own rival in Alydar. He met
Alydar 10 times. In the Triple Crown races, Affirmed help Alydar become the only horse
to come in second in all those races, a sort of Triple Crown of his own.

War Emblem won the Preakness after having won the Derby and was favored to take the
Triple Crown. But a stumble at the beginning of Belmont destroyed his chances. As a
particularly choosey horse and irritable to boot, he was not able to win after getting
behind. He pushed to hard and lost steam at the end. His attitude continues through the
breeding process, as he will only breed with chestnut colored mares.

And finally, Rachel Alexandra. The first filly to win the Preakness in 85 years. Ridden by
a man who won the Derby, she had not been so lucky there. The Preakness proved to be
her chance to shine as she beat the odds and took the win away from Mine That Bird, who
came in a close second. This upset was a sweet victory for the filly. Flush with history,
and a long list of legendary winners makes Preakness stakes betting an event in itself.
Get over to now to join in the Preakness betting action.

Shared By: