World Environment Day Awards 2005

Document Sample
World Environment Day Awards 2005 Powered By Docstoc

    World Environment Day Awards 2005

                          Winners and Finalists
CPA Australia Triple Bottom Line Award
   • WINNER: Insurance Australia Group (IAG) - ‘Risk Radar for Smash Repairers’
   • Special Commendation: VicSuper Pty Ltd – ‘Sustainability at VicSuper: An Integrated

National Australia Bank Business Enterprise Awards
– Best Specific Environmental Initiative
   • WINNER: Computershare Pepper SRM Pty Ltd – ‘eTree: Helping Shareholders contribute
       to a more sustainable future’
   • Pot Recyclers Pty Ltd – ‘Working Today for a Better Tomorrow- Developing Sustainable
   • Sensis Pty Ltd – ‘BookMuncher Directory Recycling Program’
– Environmental Best Practice Program
   • WINNER: Southern Rocklobster Ltd – ‘Clean Green Program’
   • Australian Arrow Pty Ltd – ‘The Relentless Pursuit of the Shrinking Environmental
   • The Cape Otway Centre for Conservation Ecology

Muller Industries Green Building Award
   • Joint WINNER: Canberra International Airport – ‘Brindabella Business Park and
        Australia’s First Green Star Building’
   • Joint WINNER: The City of Melbourne – ‘CH2 Project’
   • Special Commendation: Kangan Batman TAFE – ‘Automotive Centre of Excellence’
   • Peter Ho (PHOOEY Architects) – ‘Zedi Hair’

Green Cities Award
   • WINNER: Banyule City Council – ‘Leader in Environmental Management’
   • Capital City Committee Adelaide – ‘Adelaide Green City Program’
   • Knox City Council – ‘Working for a Sustainable Future’

Excellence in Marine and Coastal Management Award
   • WINNER: Ocean Watch Australia: ‘SeaNet Extension Service’
   • EPA Victoria – ‘New Initiatives to Manage Domestic Ballast Water’
   • SA Urban Forest Biodiversity Program – ‘Adelaide Metropolitan Coast Park Vegetation
       Management Project’
Excellence in Water Management Award
   • WINNER: Visy Pulp and Paper Pty Ltd – ‘Water Management: A Non-Consuming Passion’
   • City of Stonnington – ‘Sustainable Urban Water Management in the City of Stonnington’
   • Kogarah Council – ‘Total Water Cycle Management Strategy’

Local Government Awards
 – Excellence in Overall Environmental Management
   • WINNER: Banyule City Council – ‘Leader in Environmental Management’
   • City of Joondalup – ‘Envirocare’
   • Hume City Council – ‘Excellence in Overall Environmental Management’
   • Strathfield Municipal Council (on behalf of Bankstown, Burwood, Canterbury, City of
       Sydney, Marrickville, Rockdale and Strathfield Councils) – ‘Cooks River Foreshores
       Working Group’
 – Best Specific Environmental Initiative
   • WINNER: Moreland City Council (Northern Alliance for Greenhouse Action) – ‘Public
       Lighting Greenhouse Action Plan’
   • Hornsby Shire – ‘Hornsby Earthwise – Sustainable Energy Management’
   • Hornsby Shire – ‘A Sustainable Nursery and Parks Depot for the Hornsby Community’

Education/School Award
   • WINNER: Urrbrae Agricultural High School – ‘Environmental Focus’
   • Special Commendation: North Dandalup Primary School – ‘Pathway to Nature’
   • Dandaragan Primary School – ‘Living, Learning, Leading the way in Sustainable,
       Environmental Education’
   • Footscray West Primary School – ‘Project Snap’

Community Award
   • WINNER: Trees for Life – ‘The Tree Scheme’
   • Birds Australia Gluepot Reserve – ‘Birds Australia Gluepot Reserve’
   • Friends of Berowra Valley Regional Park – ‘A Guide to Berowra Valley Regional Park’

Individual Award
    • WINNER: Christian Bell – ‘Marine Conservation’
    • Arron Wood – ‘River Health Program’
    • Stuart Wenham – ‘Global Leadership in Solar Energy’

Media Award for Environmental Reporting
  • WINNER: Phillip Adams, Annabelle Quince and Paul Gough- Late Night Live, (ABC Radio
      National) – ‘The Murray River- A Journey’
  • Lindsey Arkley (SBS Radio) – ‘Making a future from the past: Budj Bim’s heritage’
  • Melissa Fyfe (The Age) – ‘Global Warming and the Kyoto Protocol’