SCHOOL CLOSURE BY-LAWS RECEIVE FIRST READING

Document Sample
SCHOOL CLOSURE BY-LAWS RECEIVE FIRST READING Powered By Docstoc
					  SCHOOL CLOSURE BY-LAWS RECEIVE FIRST READING
The Board of Education of School District No. 85 approved first reading of three School
Closure By-laws at its February 8, 2010 Board meeting. The Board of Education is now
entering into the public consultation phase with respect to closing Robert Scott
Elementary School, Cheslakees Elementary School and Woss Lake Elementary School,
effective June 30, 2010. Three readings of a school closure by-law must be approved in
order to close a school.

On March 15, 2010, the Minister of Education will announce how much funding the
school district will receive for next year. The Board will consider this information at its
March 22, 2010 meeting, to be held at 6:30 p.m. in the North Island Secondary School
Library in Port McNeill. At that time, the Board will decide whether to approve second
reading of the three School Closure By-laws. Community members may request delegate
status at this meeting by contacting Marilynn Salski, Executive Assistant, at
msalski@sd85.bc.ca or 250-949-6618, Ext. 2235.

Members of the public who wish to communicate in writing with members of the Board
of Education regarding the potential school closures may do so via email, as follows:
       Leightan Wishart, Board Chairperson           lwishart@sd85.bc.ca
       Jeff Field, Vice-Chairperson                  jfield@sd85.bc.ca
       Ann Hory                                      ahory@sd85.bc.ca
       Eric Hunter                                   ehunter@sd85.bc.ca
       Werner Manke                                  wmanke@sd85.bc.ca
       Carol Prescott                                cprescott@sd85.bc.ca
       Victor Tracy                                  vtracy@sd85.bc.ca

According to the School District’s school closure process, final decision to close a school
must be made by April 30th. Third and final reading of the School Closure By-laws, if
required, will occur at the April 12, 2010 Board of Education Meeting. A public
consultation meeting will be scheduled at each of the three schools after second reading,
and before third reading of the School Closure By-laws.

School District No. 85 Press Release
February 9, 2010

                                            – 30 –

				
DOCUMENT INFO