AUCKLAND IPENZ ENGENERATE by gabyion

VIEWS: 246 PAGES: 4

									AUCKLAND IPENZ ENGENERATE
SEPTEMBER PRESENTATION – AUCKLAND WATERFRONT DEVELOPMENT
(Joint with IPENZ Branch)

TIME:                          6.30pm for 7.00pm presentation

DATE:                          Tuesday, 29 September 2009

LOCATION:                      The Drake, 2 Drake Street, Freemans Bay, Auckland

CHARGE TO ATTENDEES:           Free

PROVIDED:                      $4 discount on drinks (house wine, beer and non-alcoholic
                               drinks) and finger food

GIFTS:                         Wine for presenter

ATTENDEES:                     Approximately 50 people; estimate 15-20 engenerate
                               members, remainder IPENZ members. List of RSVP’s
                               follows.

BREAK DOWN OF COSTS

            ITEM                                              COST (Incl. GST)
            Wine for presenter                                    $20.99
            Venue deposit                                        $300.00
            Food and drink                                       $893.00
            Total Cost                                          $1,213.99
            Amount Charged to Engenerate                         $813.99

In addition to the costs above, Michelle Bound, the Branch administrator took RSVPs.

EVENT SUMMARY

The purpose of the dinner was to
   1. Create a networking environment for young engineers
   2. Give the opportunity to learn about the proposed development for the Auckland
       waterfront

The September presentation was held in the upstairs function room of The Drake pub in
Freemans Bay. The setting was quite casual, which catered well for the networking that
took place before the presentation. There was ample space for all of the attendees.

John Duthie, General Manager City Development, Auckland City Council, discussed one of
the ‘hottest Auckland topics’ of 2009: the Waterfront Development. John commented
that it was his first time speaking to an engineering audience and IPENZ. The IPENZ
Branch hopes to host John for a future presentation.

John gave a very interesting and informative presentation titled “Linking People, City and
Sea”. John was well received by the audience, shown by the many questions afterwards,
as he was an enthusiastic speaker with an interesting topic. The key points of John’s
speech were:

       Opening up the city to the harbour
       Ensuring quality of private development
       Land ownership
       Quality of public spaces
       Catalyst projects




NOTES
    A Fresh and Crispy email was sent out on the 22nd of September.
    The event went quite late, so it would’ve been better to start at 6, for a 6.30
      presentation. Especially with the central city location, most people found it easy
      to get to.
    There was too much food for the number of attendees, particularly as people left
      quickly after the presentation and half of the food was being served then. IN
      future it would be better to serve all food first for this type of event, and probably
      serve less.
    There was a good turn out from IPENZ members, but not as many engenerate
      members as we had hoped for.
    In taking RSVPs (see below) most people did not respond to whether they were an
      IPENZ or engenerate member. It would be helpful to follow this up in future.

RSVPs

                                        Engenerate
First Name        Surname                            Email
                                          /IPENZ
Karan             Amin                               Karan.Amin@downerediwater.co.nz
Elena             Bacarji                            ebacarji@ihug.co.nz
Craig             Bell                               Craig.Bell@opus.co.nz
Xeno              Captain
David      Carter              david.carter@beca.com
Logan      Caulfield
Graham     Chapman         I   Graham_Chapman@URSCorp.com
Yee        Chen            E   Yee.Chen@beca.com
Mahabub    Chowdhury           Mahabub.Chowdhury@metrowater.co.nz
Caleb      Clarke          E   caleb@morphum.com
Richard    Collins         E   Richard.Collins@opus.co.nz
Robert     Currie              currie.bobby@gmail.com
Glenn      Dillon          I   glenn.dillon@task-consultancy.co.nz
Amanda     Durrant         E   amanda.durrant@beca.com
Michelle   Harvey              michelle.harvey@aecom.com
Rachel     Henson              HensonR@ap.aurecongroup.com
Marisha    Jaglal          E   Marisha.Jaglal@ghd.com
Carlo      Jaminola            Carlo.Jaminola@transfieldservices.co.nz
Justin     Johnson             JustinJ@fcc.co.nz
Jane       Klopova         E   Jane.Klopova@aecom.com
Matvey     Klopova         E
Kevin      Lee             E   Kevin.Lee@ghd.com
Morgelyn   Leizour             MLeizour@skm.co.nz
Grant      Loney               GLoney@tonkin.co.nz
Gary       Low                 GaryL@fcc.co.nz
Ross       McKenzie        I   ross@mcengineers.co.nz
Kerryn     McLellan        E   KMcLellan@wastemanagement.co.nz
Roger      McRae           I   Roger.McRae@macdow.co.nz
Hamish     Munro               harley99@ihug.co.nz
Nades      Nadesananthan       Nades.Nadesananthan@opus.co.nz
Dale       Paice               Dale.Paice@beca.com
James      Powell          I   JXPowell@skm.co.nz
Richard    Powles          E   Richard.P@msc.co.nz
Nikhil     Prakash             Nikhil.Prakash@ghd.com
James      Rooney              JamesRo@fcc.co.nz
Jagath     Rupasinghe      I   Jagath.Rupasinghe@waitakere.govt.nz
Andrew     Russell             Andrew.Russell@beca.com
Nitin      Sahare              nsahare@gmail.com
Fadia      Sami            I   Fadia.Sami@stephensonturner.com
Arindra    Singh               tilsleyengineering@xtra.co.nz
Shiva      Singh               tilsleyengineering@xtra.co.nz
Ashley     Smith               ashley@structuresmith.co.nz
Gary       Tang                Gary.Tang@waitakere.govt.nz
Miles      Tremlett            miles@vistalitewest.co.nz
Steve      Vaughan             srv@insideoutworks.co.nz
Conny      Wan             E   CWan@skm.co.nz
Dean       Watts               caleb@morphum.com
Geoff   Wicks       Geoff.Wicks@brookfieldmultiplex.com
Kris    Willering   Kris@DaintyAlderton.co.nz

								
To top