Kampala Conference on Cluster Munitions

Document Sample
Kampala Conference on Cluster Munitions Powered By Docstoc
					Kampala Conference on the Convention on Cluster Munitions
Kampala, Uganda
29-30 September 2008

                        KAMPALA ACTION PLAN

Representatives of 42 African States1 gathered in Kampala, Uganda from 29-30
September 2008 for the Kampala Conference on the Convention on Cluster Munitions
and expressed their support for the following actions:

       The Convention on Cluster Munitions should be signed by representatives of all
        African States at the Oslo Signing Conference on 2nd – 4th December 2008 to
        demonstrate the continent’s strong commitment to the eradication of cluster

       Prior to the Oslo Signing Conference, all African States should publicly declare
        their intention to sign the Convention in Oslo on December 3rd- 4th December

       African Governments / States should take all necessary measures to ratify the
        convention as soon as possible.

       Interim measures should be taken now to ensure effective implementation of the
        Convention on Cluster Munitions, including, where relevant, an inventory of any
        stockpiled cluster munitions and preparation of a comprehensive plan for their

       Areas affected by the presence or suspected presence of cluster munitions
        remnants should be reviewed now and clearance plans prepared. Data should be
        collected on cluster munition victims and existing assistance plans reviewed to
        ensure the inclusion of all cluster munitions survivors.

       To ensure public awareness and support for the Convention on Cluster Munitions,
        it is important to act in unison with civil society representatives from the Cluster
        Munition Coalition, other non-governmental organizations, international
        organisations such as the International Committee of the Red Cross, United
        Nations’ entities, the media and other stakeholders.

 Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Republic of
Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Eritrea, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea
Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique,
Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South
Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Shared By: