HAMILTON AWARDS
                                                           BEST COSTUME DESIGN WINNERS
1915   no award given                                                                       1965   Phyllis Dalton for Doctor Zhivago
1916   Clare West for Intolerance                                                           1966   Elizabeth Haffenden, Joan Bridge for A Man for All Seasons
1917   no award given                                                                       1967   Theadora Van Runkle for Bonnie and Clyde
1918   no award given                                                                       1968   Morton Haack for Planet of the Apes
1919   no award given                                                                       1969   Edith Head for Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid
1920   Walter Reimann for The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (Das Kabinett des Doktor Caligari)    1970   Jocelyn Rickards for Ryan’s Daughter
1921   Paul Burns for The Three Musketeers                                                  1971   Milena Canonero for A Clockwork Orange
1922   Mitchell Leisen for Robin Hood                                                       1972   Anna Hill Johnstone for The Godfather
1923   Clare West for The Ten Commandments                                                  1973   Edith Head for The Sting
1924   Mitchell Leisen for The Thief of Bagdad                                              1974   Dorothy Jeakins for Young Frankenstein
1925   Hermann J. Kaufmann for Ben-Hur                                                      1975   Ulla-Britt Söderlund, Milena Canonero for Barry Lyndon
1926   Aenne Willkomm for Metropolis                                                        1976   Alan Barrett for The Seven-Percent Solution
1927   Lucia Coulter for London After Midnight                                              1977   John Mollo for Star Wars
1928   Gottlieb Hesch for Pandora’s Box (Die Büchse der Pandora)                            1978   Yvonne Blake for Superman
1929   Travis Banton for The Love Parade                                                    1979   John Mollo foe Alien
1930   Earl Luick for Little Caesar                                                         1980   John Mollo for Star Wars, Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back
1931   Ed Ware, Vera West for Frankenstein                                                  1981   Deborah Nadoolman for Raiders of the Lost Ark
1932   Travis Banton for Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde                                            1982   Charles Knode, Michael Kaplan for Blade Runner
1933   John Armstrong for The Private Life of Henry VIII                                    1983   Aggie Guerard-Rodgers for Star Wars, Episode VI: Return of the Jedi
1934   Robert Kalloch for It Happened One Night                                             1984   Anthony Powell for Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom
1935   Milo Anderson for Captain Blood                                                      1985   James Acheson for Brazil
1936   Milo Anderson for The Charge of the Light Brigade                                    1986   Emma Porteous for Aliens
1937   Ernest Dryden for Lost Horizon                                                       1987   Marilyn Vance-Straker for The Untouchables
1938   Milo Anderson for The Adventures of Robin Hood                                       1988   James Acheson for Dangerous Liaisons
1939   Walter Plunkett for Gone with the Wind                                               1989   Bob Ringwood for Batman
1940   Orry-Kelly for The Sea Hawk                                                          1990   Milena Canonero for The Godfather, Part III
1941   Orry-Kelly for The Maltese Falcon                                                    1991   Marilyn Vance-Straker for The Rocketeer
1942   Edward Stevenson for The Magnificent Ambersons                                       1992   Eiko Ishioka for Bram Stoker’s Dracula
1943   Orry-Kelly for Casablanca                                                            1993   Gabriella Pescucci for The Age of Innocence
1944   Rene Hubert for Lifeboat                                                             1994   Moidele Bickel for Queen Margot (La Reine Margot)
1945   Howard Greer for Spellbound                                                          1995   Jean-Paul Gaultier for The City of Lost Children
1946   Christian Berard for La Belle et La Bete                                             1996   Penny Rose for Evita
1947   Hein Heckroth, Elizabeth Hennings, Dorothy Edwards, Bob Raynor for Black Narcissus   1997   Jean-Paul Gaultier for The Fifth Element
1948   Jacques Fath, Mattli, Carven, Dorothy Edwards for The Red Shoes                      1998   Liz Keogh for Dark City
1949   Edith Head, Dorothy Jeakins, Elois Jenssen, Gile Steele,                             1999   Kym Barrett for The Matrix
                     Gwen Wakeling for Samson and Delilah                                   2000   Janty Yates for Gladiator
1950   Edith Head, Charles LeMaire for All About Eve                                        2001   Catherine Martin, Angus Strathie for Moulin Rouge
1951   Herschel McCoy for Quo Vadis                                                         2002   Colleen Atwood for Chicago
1952   Margaret Furse and Marjorie Best for The Crimson Pirate                              2003   Kumiko Ogawa, Catherine Marie Thomas for Kill Bill: Vol. 1
1953   Charles LeMaire and Emile Santiago for The Robe                                      2004   Emi Wada for House of Flying Daggers (Shi mian mai fu)
1954   Kohei Ezaki for Seven Samurai (Shichinin no samurai)                                 2005   Janty Yates for Kingdom of Heaven
1955   Irene Sharaff for Guys and Dolls                                                     2006   Sharen Davis for Dreamgirls
1956   Edith Head, Ralph Jester, John Jensen, Dorothy Jeakins,                              2007   Colleen Atwood for Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street
                     Arnold Friberg for The Ten Commandments                                2008   Eiko Ishioka for The Fall
1957   Norma Koch for Sayonara
1958   Cecil Beaton for Gigi
1959   Elizabeth Haffenden for Ben Hur
1960   Valles, Bill Thomas for Spartacus
1961   Irene Sharaff for West Side Story
1962   Phyllis Dalton for Lawrence of Arabia
1963   Irene Sharaff, Vittorio Nino Novarese, Renié for Cleopatra
1964   Margaret Furse for Becket

To top