Earthquakes! by tiw14488


  Laura Cojocari
                                What are earthquakes?
       Earthquakes are caused when there is movement between tectonic plates along the fault lines,
           or cracks in the earth. Along fault lines, these tectonic plates are under pressure and when
           there is too much pressure, the plates are forced to move, and the energy released creates
           a violent shake!
       Here is a picture of the world and where these tectonic plates are located
            What types of faults are there?
          There are four types of faults
        Dip-slip faults are where one of the tectonic plates is either pushed up or it drops.
           If the crust, or plate, moves above the fault line, then its called a normal fault.
           If the piece of crust moves below the fault line, then it is called a reverse
           fault. A thrust fault is when the plate dips 45 degrees or less below the fault
        Strike-slips faults are when the plates slip past each other, neither plate is forced
           up or down.
        Oblique-slip faults have a combination of both dip-slip and strike slip faults.
Do you know your Earthquakes?
 What do you call a fault when the plates
  slide by each other?
Normal Fault
Oblique Fault
Reverse Fault
Strike-Slip Fault
                                                      This is a picture of the San Andreas
                                                      Fault. This is also a fault where plates
                                                      slide by each other.

Congrats! You are the master of fault lines!

Want to try again?? Click the arrow to
    review the information again
This mini-lesson was made by Laura Cojocari in EDT 3470.

Laura is a Junior at Western Michigan University and is pursuing a
   degree in Elementary Education and Spanish.

To top